Working Life in Singapore V5

wseng
post Dec 9 2010, 10:46 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Dec 9 2010, 06:06 AM)
Okay considering the flight is only few weeks from now. The earlier you buy the cheaper. Bus from JB to PG around RM60 if not mistaken.
Anyone knows any good available options to buy bus ticket from KL to SG on CNY weekend ? for a good price.. many quoting around SGD 45. for trip from KL ... they doing it online on SGd ..

Firstcoach already fully booked..
wseng
post Dec 10 2010, 12:06 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 9 2010, 12:05 PM)
mine telling me which date? if same date with me, then mayb u can join my car and help me save some cost tongue.gif I am travelling SG-KL on 4th Feb 2011 evening and KL-SG on 13 Feb 2011 evening.
You going back for CNY rite ? CNY is 3rd & 4th FEB 2011.. my plan back is on 29th jan on sat and return to Singapore on 6th FEb (sun)..

you check wrongly ? ohmy.gif
wseng
post Dec 24 2010, 08:21 PM

270 posts

hi guys..

Wanna check with you all if there's anyone driving back to Singapore from KL / Klang on 6th FEB 2011 ? sunday after CNY..?

Thinking wanna tumpang car pool sharing ?
I have 2 person including me.
wseng
post Jan 5 2011, 11:10 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Jan 5 2011, 09:46 PM)
what about ramly burger and maggi goreng? any good ones to recommend? I normally have to go to jb to satisfy my craving.
haha.. never see ramly burger before.. and their maggi goreng ... so RED !! they cook with their own style perencah.
wseng
post Jan 18 2011, 08:49 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(fbjkl @ Jan 15 2011, 10:52 AM)
anyone is working in Keppel Shipyard/Jurong Shipyard?

which 1 is better? in terms of career advancement, benefits, welfare, bonus?
i'm in marine line but not keppel / jurong. heard so far their bonuses almost alike.. in terms of months.
not sure though about salary. but in my impression Keppel guys looks much better overall.

Exposure is super great ... but workload is the huge turn down. Same for both shipyards.
if you manage to pull through years in shipyard you might be someone great someday

Added on January 18, 2011, 8:51 am
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 18 2011, 08:44 AM)
Dont you know Singapore isnt encouraging people to just take up PR but citizenship. Running upto the GE their sure to placate the citizens by not increasing the number of PR's.

Try your luck after the GE, not before. Any how, it reeks of desperation if one quickly apply for PR as soon as one touches down in a land.
any lucky ones got their PR approved these days .. ?

This post has been edited by wseng: Jan 18 2011, 08:51 AM
wseng
post Jan 18 2011, 04:19 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 18 2011, 02:39 PM)
not really, when i travel back to JB daily, i see a lot of PR taking bike to work daily on Singapore bikes. I can apply PR with a Singapore residential address coz i have relative in Singapore and my official address on my workpass and also all my things in SG is on my aunty's house address. still wondering whether to apply or not. I heard that the chances of getting is quite high coz a lot of people(pinoy) in my company applied and they got it with just 6 months working in SG.
Those Pinoy guys that got their PR approved ?? is it in 2010 year ? Year by year they are getting fewer and fewer with 2010 only 29k people got approved of their PR ...
wseng
post Jan 19 2011, 08:44 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jan 19 2011, 02:11 AM)
This is what i think, so if it somehow offense anyone, i am sorry.

I stay in Malaysia for quite awhile, well from Sarawak to be exact. The reason i think that Singapore won't be a good place for kids is that they will be affected by peer influence, as i work here for 1 year, i notice most of the kids here being pampered by technologies. Even a young kid at the age bout 12 already having iphone 4. For this, i think this is a bad influence.

Also, staying in HDB where you all know that majority of the people here busy on working and have less time for their kid. And due to commitment in work, i notice my house owner don't know much bout their neighbor. So, your kid will ended up most likely in the flat doing nothing, or somehow they will know some kids from the block where their parent don't even care less. This is what i know from where i stay and what i observe. The truth is that Singaporeans are really bad at taking care of their children (no offense for those Singaporean that reading this).

And, Singapore here have too much disease. You call label me as "kia si" but during MRT ride, i notice a lots of people having serious skin disease and the cancer rate in Singapore are quite high. The pollution started as early at 5a.m. Smokers are everywhere at Jurong East (other places also having smokers). Even newspaper had statistics showing that the smokers in Singapore are increasing. Sarawak still having a better air than Singapore.

Lastly, i don't want to grow old in Singapore because once you reach certain age, you won't be able to do anything except watching TV inside the flat and sleep and eat. I rather buy a house in Malaysia where i got a piece of land where i can plant something. Well, at least i have something to do rather than in Singapore.
I'm not really sure if Singapore is a good place for Malaysian kids, but I think there is of course pro and cons..
If speaking of technologies I think it will certainly catch up on our country. In my state selangor its not weird to see school children getting expensive phones and ipods.. thought i haven't seen any ipads yet ... sooner or later sarawak will be the same as parents are so worried about their kids security hence they get them those phones.

I do think the kids here if they really went thru the education system they could be very well accepted globally. Maybe their hunger for success is not high enough. Recently they announce their exam results and it turned out to about 40% of them scoring excellent scores are foreigners especially the top one is from Malaysia. Well, enough said on Malaysian system where the best kids don't get the best opportunities in MY.. But in SG they do value those super bright students. My classmate from secondary school studied in Medicine in Singapore almost entirely free of charge.. of course with bond.

wseng
post Jan 21 2011, 12:00 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 20 2011, 11:19 AM)
Anybody here knows or works for a vendor which supplies "intrinsically safe" video camera system for enclosed spaces?
Radio Holland ?
haha.. not long enough in the industry .. that's the only one I know ..

wseng
post Jan 21 2011, 09:33 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 21 2011, 05:49 PM)
care to share how long ago was that? they are really limiting pr approvals... but i hope the low birth rate news will loosen the requirements  biggrin.gif
do you mind sharing some info on yourself ?
I'm planning to apply too .. but I'm only here for 15 months. many said that I should wait at least 2 years..
I'm in marine line, service engineer. wonder what are my chances also .
wseng
post Jan 26 2011, 09:15 PM

270 posts

WTS bus tickets from SG to Subang Jaya - FIRST COACH !!

Item(s): 2 x First Coach bus ticket SG ( The Plaza ) to Subang @ 10.45am 29/01/11 (Saturday)

Package includes: 2 tickets (Seat 2 and Seat 3)

Price: SGD 72

Dealing method: I will pass you the ticket numbers and you can redeem the tickets at The Plaza

Contact method/details: 9618 6161
wseng
post Jan 27 2011, 09:08 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(magiclover @ Jan 27 2011, 08:28 PM)
The thing is I don't have the luxury to go home before midnight.
Well you'd guess my job by this description. Lol
before midnite ? what job is that ? u working in service industry ?
wseng
post Jan 27 2011, 09:58 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 27 2011, 09:14 PM)
Does anybody which bus i can take from woodlands mrt to larkin?
SMRT 950 goes from Woodlands to Kotaraya

alternative, take MRT to Kranji station. take SBS bus Kranji to Larkin, or 170 also can. the yellow bus also got go.
wseng
post Mar 6 2011, 01:54 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 5 2011, 02:13 PM)
Need some help from you guys. Our CEO and CFO are coming to SG and I need to take them on a "city excursion" to fill 3 hours after lunch, before taking them back to the hotel to prepare for dinner.

Do you guys have any suggestions? Something with local flavour but preferably air conditioned, can drive to doorstep ie. not too much walking. It's mid afternoon after all and they will be somewhat jet-lagged.

Tentatively, my thinking is:

- Lunch at MBS
- Casino walkthru
- 1 Activity (current candidates include Artscience museum at Marina Bay, Flyer, River Cruise, Duck Tour... but the latter 2 no aircond!)... looking for more options from you guys.
- Singapore Sling at Long Bar, Raffles Hotel
- If time permits, drivethru Chinatown and Little India on the way back to hotel.

Appreciate any suggestions you have. If there's a superb idea that I can actually use, dinner's on me. Thanks very much.
Not sure bout your activity.. but i thought of Drinks at Swissotel, highest floor. for a nice Singapore view if you're not going up MBS skypark..
wseng
post Mar 6 2011, 01:58 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 5 2011, 03:26 PM)
The only Key Gibraltar that i know off in keppel fels is only a jackup rig, not semi.

I being assigned to transocean as an NDT and welding consultant so to speak.
Any project name in Keppel for your gibraltar jackup rig ? Bxxx series ?

What is NDT ?
wseng
post Mar 6 2011, 05:08 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 6 2011, 03:21 PM)
Just finish meetup with nokia convert and alakanbunny. Nice chatting with you guys, supposedly short gathering end up more than 2 hours lol
where did u guys meetup ?
wseng
post Mar 8 2011, 10:25 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 8 2011, 10:22 PM)
My peers... well, we cooperate. You scratch my back, I scratch yours.

My subordinates... they know better than to piss off the boss.
is it a norm for your guys to take some time off like this way ??
wseng
post Mar 12 2011, 09:30 PM

270 posts

anyone done the iras e-filling ??

My first time doing it .. and seems nothing for deduction, just press oK and OK .. then finish .. wonder when are they going to send us the amount of tax to pay ?
wseng
post Mar 16 2011, 09:12 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Mar 16 2011, 08:52 PM)
better dont, throw the box away n make it like personal used.

I once carry a new LCD monitor in box thru n got taxed haha, stupid me  biggrin.gif
how did they calculate the tax amount ? you gave them the price ? according to 7% GST ?
wseng
post Mar 16 2011, 10:09 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Mar 16 2011, 09:58 PM)
I also kena hi fi set before...but I said it is a free gift n pocket left 20ringgit then he no choice just offer me a hand written receipt amount of 20 n ask me pay
20 Ringgit ?? Singapore collect the 20 ringgit also ar ?
macam case like kena tahan trafik police in MY haha .
wseng
post Mar 21 2011, 06:56 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 21 2011, 03:52 PM)
ya, my bike is a bit big 1. so 1 tank can take 7 little. normal Honda EX5 can take RM6-7 now.
Lester also like singapore guys all riding big bikes..
what bike ?

0.0449sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:10 PM