8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V5

Lester1987
post Dec 1 2010, 08:36 AM

2,017 posts

u can help me amend also. i no longer staying in Sembawang, moved to JB already tongue.gif Still working in AMK. If anyone wanna know about the current life of working in Singapore and living in JB, can ask me
Lester1987
post Dec 1 2010, 09:06 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Dec 1 2010, 08:45 AM)
Haha.. then please share your current life!
My Routine is like this, Alarm put 5:30am, snooze until around 6:20am, wake up wash face and change cloths. leave my house around 6:40am. Go Taman Pelangi da pao Nasi Lemak (with luncheon meat) RM2. reach Singapore immigration around 7:10am. queue for around 30-40mins (these few days the queue is getting longer and longer, previously is around 20-30mins). enter Singapore at 7:50am. reach my office at 8:05am. Go gym and bath, 9am start work. then 6pm go home, reach JB normally around 7:10pm, then go makan and reach home around 8pm. Basically its not really that bad coz when u are on the queue, just load more drama/anime on ur iPhone, then just watch 1 episode drama and it should be your turn already. Unless its raining, then can only listen to music lo since scare iPhone will get wet if watch drama tongue.gif.
Lester1987
post Dec 1 2010, 12:22 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Dec 1 2010, 11:26 AM)
suggestion.. TS, pls put a V4 in the thread title  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
its actually V5 instead since we got V3a previously. So Anyone wanna car pool with me from KL-SG on 2nd Jan 2011?? I will be driving, looking for some passengers to ease the travel expenses biggrin.gif
Lester1987
post Dec 1 2010, 09:06 PM

2,017 posts

Looks like I am the only 1 working in SG but staying in JB.... haiz~~ what to do... all people here salary high high , only small potato like me got peanut salary and have to commute daily cry.gif
Lester1987
post Dec 2 2010, 09:38 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(asoka007 @ Dec 2 2010, 08:12 AM)
Could you tell about lifestyle near sembawang...i will be working there soon just would liek to know abit. Since i will be working for sembawang shipyard, could you suggest area's where i could find a accomodation.
Basically Sembawang have almost all the necessary there. such as NTUC, Banks, Food and also clinics. not so sure about Shipyard because most of the time, i will be lingering around Sun Plaza and SSC.
Lester1987
post Dec 3 2010, 01:22 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 3 2010, 01:05 PM)
I'm going back on 3rd Jan smile.gif , expected heavy traffic on Plus highway and also very bad traffic jam at causeway on the 2nd.
i think i will be arriving at the Causeway around 1am 2nd Jan, still got jam meh?? 1am wor... those people no nid sleep?
Lester1987
post Dec 3 2010, 01:41 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Dec 3 2010, 01:37 PM)
from wat i heard since the 2 casinos open its jammed even during the wee hours of the morning lol
no la, in the morning around 6:40am, causeway no jam 1 la. every morning i am traveling there now. so i know. only motorcycle will be queuing to pass the causeway.
Lester1987
post Dec 3 2010, 02:24 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 3 2010, 01:46 PM)
As far as the eye can see right?

Plus if its raining, all of you have to slowly push yer motors in the rain.
its not eyes can see la, i am experiencing it everyday now. under certain reason, today the immigration is very smooth. even there is a lot of people, but i queue less than 20 mins can pass already (normally around 30-40mins). so i reach my office in 1 hour time. really nice. regarding raining, you can also see that everyone has their own rain coat la. i even put a pair of slippers in my bike for rain. It actually quite nice. when we are queuing under the rain, the queue will be shorter and also normally the road will be a bit flooded, so can play with the water a little bit while queuing tongue.gif.
Lester1987
post Dec 3 2010, 08:14 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 3 2010, 06:57 PM)
mcdonald?

Added on December 3, 2010, 6:58 pm

I tried surviving the whole month less then 200 dollar

the 1st time i come from malaysia i didnt bring enough money  sweat.gif

by the way, my company hiring customer service exec...
salary should be around SGD2k
my boss ask me to look around for suitable candidates
requirements u may call me...coz i'm working same role...

can let me know the requirement and also what product are you supporting? i got 2 friend looking for job in Singapore. got around 2-3 years exp in Customer service line.
Lester1987
post Dec 6 2010, 08:42 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Dec 5 2010, 10:18 PM)
How you survive with 200?? Pls share.
just add "019" infront the coutnrycode will do
why not? if u exclude rental and bills, $200 can be quite ok already for food. i can survive with $5 a day previously. skip breakfast, then eat rice $2.70 (add rice) in the afternoon, when go back after work, buy 1 bread $1.25 (Fair Price bread). 1 bread can eat 2 days. and of course, buy a bottle of peanut butter (around $3 in value $ store). peanut butter can last around 1 1/2 month. with $200, i think the balance we can use for transportation as well. living standard in SG is quite cheap la. So if include rental $400, phone $70, i can survive with $700 a month. Of course i choose not to survive that way coz I love to eat junk food like those XL chicken chop ($4), so i usually spare $450 for my food. But now i stay in JB, so i will allocate $300 for food, and i can eat like a monster with it everyday tongue.gif
Lester1987
post Dec 8 2010, 09:40 AM

2,017 posts

I got a room for rent in Marsiling. walking distance to MRT. its actually my previous house owner ask me if i got any friends looking for room. They are a family, husband, wife and got 1 7 year old girl + a aunty (wife's friend). only renting to Malaysian Chinese. Rental $500 include PUB (air-cond) and 10mbps wifi. washing machine can use as well.i stayed with them 1 year already but because they sold their old house and moved to this new place, so i moved to JB. They are very nice people. pm me if interested.
Lester1987
post Dec 8 2010, 10:45 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 8 2010, 09:49 AM)
Aren't you the chap who walks 3-4km to work and does a half marathon every evening? tongue.gif Your std of 'walking distance' vs the average person may literally be miles apart.

EDIT: it's washabushi, not you. Tim chor seong  notworthy.gif
ok la, to be exact, its Block 149, Woodlands Street 11. Go check in google maps. if that is not walking distance, then i really don't know how you are going to cycle or drive to MRT with that distance.
Lester1987
post Dec 8 2010, 12:02 PM

2,017 posts

actually its not urgent 1 la. its just that my landlord is very nice last time, won't nag about high electricity or i bath 4 times a day also no problem 1. That's why wanna recommend it to you all only.
Lester1987
post Dec 9 2010, 12:05 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Dec 9 2010, 10:46 AM)
Anyone knows any good available options to buy bus ticket from KL to SG on CNY weekend ? for a good price.. many quoting around SGD 45. for trip from KL ... they doing it online on SGd ..

Firstcoach already fully booked..
mine telling me which date? if same date with me, then mayb u can join my car and help me save some cost tongue.gif I am travelling SG-KL on 4th Feb 2011 evening and KL-SG on 13 Feb 2011 evening.
Lester1987
post Dec 10 2010, 06:41 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Dec 10 2010, 12:06 AM)
You going back for CNY rite ? CNY is 3rd & 4th FEB 2011.. my plan back is on 29th jan on sat and return to Singapore on 6th FEb (sun)..

you check wrongly ?  ohmy.gif
nope, i know CNY is 3rd and 4th, but i need to work on those 2 days. only manage to get my leave on the following week, that's why 4th Feb after work, i straight drive back to KL.
Lester1987
post Dec 13 2010, 10:06 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Dec 13 2010, 08:23 PM)
if i am in probation period, how do i take unpaid leave ar? how to tell the company?? please gimme suggestion as i'm a freshie...
tell them ur grand mother/father pass away.(make sure that it is the 1 that is already pass away 1 so next time if there is 1 really pass away, u won't conflict with ur lie)
Lester1987
post Dec 16 2010, 10:22 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(tinybee @ Dec 16 2010, 07:24 AM)
hi guys, few question i want to ask

1. I have a 3 months holiday and wondering whether i should apply for job over there?

2. What are the chances that they will hire me?(clerk position or any other f&b outlet)

thankk
if u are a Singaporean or PR, then you should apply. If you are a Malaysian, the chances that u will get a 3 months job here is near to 0. because they need to apply work permit for you which is a 2 year permit. also they need to pay for your medical check and insurance (required by mom). If you plan to work here in the future. I personally advice you not to come this trip. cause even if there is an employer willing to hire you (i highly doubt), in the future when you want to fully settle down in SG, MOM might reject your EP/WP application since u have bad record tongue.gif
Lester1987
post Dec 16 2010, 12:53 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(meteor82 @ Dec 16 2010, 12:50 PM)
Will start work in SG next year Jan smile.gif Anyone got room to rent can PM me? Prefer nearby Eunos/Kaki Bukit biggrin.gif  No agent please tongue.gif 

Beside, other than those website show in the 1st page, any good portal for room searching?
before i come down to SG, i go through the 1st page like most of us do. But from my personal experience, the 1st page ads are mostly agents. The most effective way in getting a room is go to that area you desire to stay and look for ads near the bus stops. If you have a relative in Singapore, it is much easier if they have a room or their friend have a room to rent it out. Then you can save a lot of trouble.
Lester1987
post Dec 16 2010, 09:12 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Dec 16 2010, 09:07 PM)
normally i back PJ average once or twice a month. driving back to PJ after work on Fri night from jurong. back on Sun afternoon.  smile.gif
i back when feel syok  tongue.gif
haha, agree, not i not so frequent like u la, mayb once a month. i have to drive back because if not, i go back KL no car use. But i stay in JB, so from JB to KL. hehe. But i poor ppl la, drive myvi only (malaysia car), so i will go home friday, bath then only travel back to KL on night time, arrive KL midnight so can enjoy the 10% toll charge discount also tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Dec 17 2010, 08:45 AM
Lester1987
post Dec 17 2010, 11:14 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(cheeyt @ Dec 17 2010, 11:10 AM)
hi
anybody working in Apple?
is it better to submit resume online or pass by ppl to HR?
its best to get in through recruitment agency. i recommended 3 friend, non of them got a call. my colleague also the same. Submit online, i think the chances are lower. Unless it is a recommendation from a management level people, if not, i think its easiest to get in through recruitment firm.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0421sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:15 PM