Working Life in Singapore V5

bellion
post Jan 20 2011, 09:35 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 20 2011, 08:06 PM)
yea, cheap labour is to singapore like crack is to a heroin addict.

One will be hard pressed to find a country on this globe that does not have significant numbers of low-paid foreign workers doing menial jobs.

For the closest example, peer across the causeway north and there are literally MILLIONS of foreign workers dotted all over that country.
bellion
post Jan 20 2011, 10:25 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 20 2011, 08:48 PM)
thanks for sharing...

what is the requirement for a PR to buy a condo in singapore?
As long as you have the funds to do so.

No restrictions pertaining to resdiency status.
bellion
post Jan 21 2011, 09:57 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jan 21 2011, 04:54 PM)
No, there is restriction. PR buying landed house and condo/apartment below 4~5 floor (can't remember) need special approval, negative by default.

[

As per my earlier post, there is no restriction for foreigners buying condominiums and apartments. Restrictions exist only for HDB flats and landed properties.
bellion
post Jan 22 2011, 06:59 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 21 2011, 10:51 PM)
i read from this website..it is stated that condo is for citizen only.... unsure.gif

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/...EC?OpenDocument
As a poster has noted, executive condos are another housing scheme of the Singapore govt which provides condo facilities and living conditions to those who can afford them but they are still cheaper than private condos. Executive condos are available for sale to PRs five years after the keys are handed to the first owner.

Private condos are available to all including foreigners who can afford them.

Added on January 22, 2011, 7:01 pm
QUOTE(charhorfun @ Jan 21 2011, 11:35 PM)
Guys, wanted to ask about this.

I have been trying to find out non-HDB property prices from SG property websites, but it seems all non-HDB property prices are "POA - price on ask" only. Can't get a feel on the price range.

Can you guys share with the price range of the most affordable non-HDB property?

I am planning to work in SG. I am hoping not to rent a place due to the expensive rental (I have a family). I would prefer to buy a property, any decent / not too old / 3-4 rooms flat near MRT will meet my needs. But since I am not a PR, I can't get HDB. And applying PR for myself and my family will take a long time, and I don't want my money to go into rental.

If you guys know of any property website that list the price of non-HDB property please do share with me. Thank you!
Singapore Property guru - it provides a rich listing of all residential properties in Singapore which are for sale. Note that prices are listed ones and can certainly be negotiated so they thend to reflect higher valuations.

What is your budget and what are your preferred locations?

This post has been edited by bellion: Jan 22 2011, 07:01 PM
bellion
post Jan 22 2011, 09:56 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 22 2011, 09:30 PM)
seems like the only choice will be to buy the HDB or executive condo from the resale market...the private condo is too expensive..

is it a must for a PR to get married then only can buy the HDB or exec condo?

i m thinking to get myself a private studio apartment..
Yes, only two married PRs or a PR who is married to a Singaporean is eligible to purchase resale HDB flats and exec condos. Two PRs who are siblings or share a parent-child relationship are also eligible to purchase resale flats.

Prviate condos, even the mass market ones in places like Bishan and Serangoon are fetching SGD1,000+ per sq ft.
bellion
post Jan 23 2011, 10:48 AM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 22 2011, 10:18 PM)
what?...if i never get married...then i will never own a property in singapore ??  cry.gif ....

how about studio apartment? can a single PR buy it from resale market?
You can always opt to purchase private condos.

What's stopping you?

bellion
post Jan 23 2011, 10:28 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 23 2011, 11:05 AM)
private condo costs million SGD...i cant afford it  cry.gif
Then earn the money to purchase a condo.

This forum is a waste of your time in trying to elicit sympathy.
bellion
post Feb 22 2011, 12:07 AM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(smartalec @ Feb 21 2011, 11:32 PM)

Added on February 21, 2011, 11:59 pm
actually even without having a baby, i expect to have at least a terrace house and 2 cars (1 for me, 1 for my wife). a maid is a bonus. and this kind of expectations exclusive to a select minority in sg. however in msia, this is what a normal medium class family would have. sorry if i offend any singaporeans here, but being a msian from a medium class family for the whole of my life, this naturally would be my expectations as well.
I take it that you aren't satisfied with your lot in Singapore. Hence, it would be better for you to return to Malaysia and make your living there.
bellion
post Feb 22 2011, 01:01 AM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(smartalec @ Feb 22 2011, 12:15 AM)
in fact i am seriously considering this option...else will stay in jb instead that would allow me to enjoy best of both worlds, ie earn sgd, spend in RM thumbup.gif
My guess is that you are still in your early stages of your career path. Translate ambition into results in your workplace and Singapore will provide many opportunities which will far and away exceed any that you will get in Malaysia, assuming you are a budding white collar worker.

Added on February 22, 2011, 1:03 am
QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 22 2011, 12:20 AM)
The problem is... the majority of Malaysians working in Singapore are below average.
My guess is most of the forummers in this thread are still in their early stages of their career life and hence, life can be pretty tough in Singapore.

Regarding your below average remark, are you referring to the masses of blue collar workers that cross the border everyday?

This post has been edited by bellion: Feb 22 2011, 01:03 AM
bellion
post Mar 5 2011, 11:01 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 5 2011, 02:13 PM)
Need some help from you guys. Our CEO and CFO are coming to SG and I need to take them on a "city excursion" to fill 3 hours after lunch, before taking them back to the hotel to prepare for dinner.

Do you guys have any suggestions? Something with local flavour but preferably air conditioned, can drive to doorstep ie. not too much walking. It's mid afternoon after all and they will be somewhat jet-lagged.

Tentatively, my thinking is:

- Lunch at MBS
- Casino walkthru
- 1 Activity (current candidates include Artscience museum at Marina Bay, Flyer, River Cruise, Duck Tour... but the latter 2 no aircond!)... looking for more options from you guys.
- Singapore Sling at Long Bar, Raffles Hotel
- If time permits, drivethru Chinatown and Little India on the way back to hotel.

Appreciate any suggestions you have. If there's a superb idea that I can actually use, dinner's on me. Thanks very much.
Since they will be jet-lagged, I suggest a good relaxing spa session after lunch. Try Spa Botanica at Sentosa Island - the ambience is superb.
bellion
post Mar 20 2011, 10:59 AM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ Mar 20 2011, 09:21 AM)
ever wonder how come a lot of singapore topics opened in /k/opitiam lately. it's a pity that singapore receives negative remarks due to historical reason, racial and jealousy.
Excellent. It shows that Singapore has arrived on the map. If Singapore was another 3rd world backwater like Malaysia, then nobody in kopitiam would be bothered with it.

Added on March 20, 2011, 11:01 am
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 20 2011, 10:28 AM)
If you shift through the remarks, there are some valid arguments. Like singaporeans are great complainers and are for the most part, very stingy people. Plus they like to emulate LKY.
So why are you staying and working in Singapore if you are so peeved off with Singaporeans?

Malaysia could do with a LKY at its helm.

This post has been edited by bellion: Mar 20 2011, 11:01 AM
bellion
post Mar 20 2011, 07:50 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 20 2011, 12:07 PM)
I work here for the money and experience since i get to interact with alot more people from different nationalities compared to malaysia, just like everybody else here. I dont really concern myself with the stingy or pompous singaporean. That said there are a few singaporeans who arent in the typical singaporean mindset but those are few and far between sadly.

Many countries have arrived on the "map" but singapore has a special place in malaysia since nobody like's the arrogant prick who complains at the first sign of trouble. For further clarification, please visit the stomp website for singapore 101.

Anybody here stock up on iodine salt to prevent the suppose radiated acid rain which is suppose to fall over here? Just got this stupid sms hoax.
On the contrary, it seems that you are very bothered with "stingy and pompous" Singaporeans judging from your postings in this thread.

There are other places where one gets to work and interact with folks of various nationalities hence it would better for you if you moved to those places.
bellion
post Mar 26 2011, 08:57 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ Mar 26 2011, 01:51 AM)
In addition, I believe working culture in Spore isn't much different from KL. Exposures aren't that significant anyway.
Utterly wrong.

Singapore is a regional hub for services and high-end manufacturing with a very distinct international flavour in its corporate culture, even for Singapore-bred companies.

Malaysian companies can provide nothing of that sort.
bellion
post Mar 30 2011, 05:27 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 30 2011, 04:44 PM)
Our income is not taxed by the malaysian government since were not working in malaysia and malaysia does not tax repatriated monies.

Burmese on the other hand is a different case. I was talking to a filipino and he told me that his country is facing the problem that overseas filipinos who repatriate money back are actually damaging or at best making their own country uncompetitive. Anybody have a theory on this?
The Philippines depend heavily on overseas remittances of funds to prop its economy up - in 2009, total remittances amounted to USD 17.3 billion.

I would say it's beneficial rather than damaging as the Philippines has an acute lack of decent job opportunities for its workers and the money has to come from somewhere.

0.0464sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:47 AM