Working Life in Singapore V5
L7Awesome
Mar 31 2011, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 30 2011, 05:12 PM) I think you can appeal when you file your tax return for the 2nd year and they will adjust your 2nd year tax payable accordingly to account for a lower tax payable for your 1st year based the fact that your tax residency actually started in your 1st year. Give IRAS a call or go through their website. Seantang, thanks for the hint. I will sure be appealing next year. Added on March 31, 2011, 3:25 pmQUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Mar 30 2011, 10:14 PM) 15%? Are you earning 160K per year? CODE RATES OF TAX FOR YEAR OF ASSESSMENT 2011 Your chargeable income is the amount remaining after deducting from your assessable income the personal reliefs to which you are entitled. If you are a resident in Singapore, the rates of tax chargeable are as follows: "Chargeable Income" Rate Gross Tax Payable $ (%) $ On the first 20,000 0 0 On the next 10,000 3.5 350 On the first 30,000 350 On the next 10,000 5.5 550 On the first 40,000 900 On the next 40,000 8.5 3,400 On the first 80,000 4,300 On the next 80,000 14 11,200 On the first 160,000 15,500 On the next 160,000 17 27,200 On the first 320,000 42,700 Above 320,000 20
Source: http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page01.aspx?id=88
How I wish I am earning that amount of $$. But for now, it's just a wish. Still a long long way to go before I reach that unfortunately. For the first year, if work less than 183 days, will kena a flat rate income tax of 15%. This post has been edited by L7Awesome: Mar 31 2011, 03:25 PM
rickysim84
Mar 31 2011, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(jasperng @ Mar 31 2011, 01:47 PM) haha their office is located at an old and dilapidated building +_+ ...i do see alot of indian and bangla going in and out at the office when i went for interview =( what is NOV btw ? ... thanks for your advice. NOV is = national oilwell varco. Is an oil and gas company
timberlty
Mar 31 2011, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(reign226 @ Mar 30 2011, 09:21 PM) There's two keppels in Tuas. One was 8.5, the other slightly higher =) which one? SY or SM? btw, i'm going for their interviews soon.
Enjoise
Mar 31 2011, 04:35 PM
yo guys been having problem with
<Only Singaporeans and SPR need apply> seems tat 90% of financial sector jobs i view hv this req.
any opinion/suggestion guys? thanks in advance.
ch_teo
Mar 31 2011, 04:53 PM
the working environment in NOV & HFE is not as one's think. no doubt the benefits are good. HFE with big banner but has taken down. WOM no idea.
k8118k
Mar 31 2011, 06:37 PM
Any Senior herecan share info - Which SG Bank CC more benefits?
ingjoo
Mar 31 2011, 09:05 PM
anyone here know there's any room available within 5 minutes walking distance to MRT? thanks
yeahs4.1
Mar 31 2011, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(k8118k @ Mar 31 2011, 06:37 PM) Any Senior herecan share info - Which SG Bank CC more benefits? I'd say citibank, standard chartered and uob. Citibank SMRT works like a ezlink card with auto top up function. Also a lot of additional discounts for shopping. Uob has a lot discount for food. Standard chartered has cash rebate up to 5%
cheeyt
Mar 31 2011, 11:26 PM

anyone here know there's any room available in AMK? thanks
jr`
Mar 31 2011, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(spitzupipu @ Mar 31 2011, 11:13 AM) if PR is that easy to apply for whoever wants to work here, singapore would now become a small version of crowded india. u dont have to be spr to look for a job. but if it states SPR only, u can still send ur resume but 99% chance they wont call u. True, so I'd assume only degree holder or higher with excellent academic qualification and achievements will be chosen to be PR. Not to mention, decent attitude and personality during the interview. However, the processing fee is $1500 and I wonder what are the chances of those who applied in getting it.  So most members here are not SPR?
yeahs4.1
Mar 31 2011, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(jr` @ Mar 31 2011, 11:39 PM) True, so I'd assume only degree holder or higher with excellent academic qualification and achievements will be chosen to be PR. Not to mention, decent attitude and personality during the interview. However, the processing fee is $1500 and I wonder what are the chances of those who applied in getting it.  So most members here are not SPR? what kinda processing fees are you talking about?
Shinichi
Apr 1 2011, 12:03 AM
Anyone used ATM5? I read there's no charges if we withdraw via participating ATM5 networks. Just want to confirm this...
SUSalaskanbunny
Apr 1 2011, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(k8118k @ Mar 31 2011, 06:37 PM) Any Senior herecan share info - Which SG Bank CC more benefits? dbs/posb uob citibank but if u dont care about discounts, then stanchart
Shinichi
Apr 1 2011, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 1 2011, 12:14 AM) dbs/posb uob citibank but if u dont care about discounts, then stanchart For cash rebates, I think POSB Everyday is the best rebate card... but for foreigner minimum income requirements is 45k pa. This post has been edited by Shinichi: Apr 1 2011, 12:20 AM
TSwashabushi
Apr 1 2011, 12:49 AM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Apr 1 2011, 12:03 AM) Anyone used ATM5? I read there's no charges if we withdraw via participating ATM5 networks. Just want to confirm this... U r referring to citibank ATM card? If yes then the answer is no charges
jungleking789
Apr 1 2011, 07:25 AM
Anyone working at Moore Stephens here? Mind to share the working experience with the Company?
nicky87
Apr 1 2011, 07:58 AM

Hmmmn I know this has been asked many times before in many different forms over the past few pages but I need to ask you seniors in the working world...
I am in a slight dilemma because I don't know if I should work in Singapore with a salary of $3000 in total on an S-Pass (because base is $2600... below the new threshold) or to work in Malaysia with a salary of about rm3700~ one is an auditing job and another is a management trainee job... I am fresh graduate and will get my masters soon... the latter job will require me to specialise into the telecommunications industry right away... but I found the interview very fun and exciting. However sometime in the future I actually want to end up in an investment bank...
Shinichi
Apr 1 2011, 07:58 AM
QUOTE(washabushi @ Apr 1 2011, 12:49 AM) U r referring to citibank ATM card? If yes then the answer is no charges Not just Citibank ATM, I think other participating banks like HSBC, MBB. SCB, ANZ, SBI also can enjoy free withdrawals within any ATM from these banks with ATM5 logo... Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atm%E2%81%B5I think they are still free...
seantang
Apr 1 2011, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(nicky87 @ Apr 1 2011, 07:58 AM) I am in a slight dilemma because I don't know if I should work in Singapore with a salary of $3000 in total on an S-Pass (because base is $2600... below the new threshold) or to work in Malaysia with a salary of about rm3700~ one is an auditing job and another is a management trainee job... I am fresh graduate and will get my masters soon... the latter job will require me to specialise into the telecommunications industry right away... but I found the interview very fun and exciting. However sometime in the future I actually want to end up in an investment bank... I won't comment on which option is better if you want to end up in an investment bank. You'll have to do your own research there. On the question of whether you should be in SG or MY,... there are a helluva lot more investment banks in SG with much more banker jobs available.
gabLhowe
Apr 1 2011, 08:55 AM

QUOTE(nicky87 @ Apr 1 2011, 12:58 AM) Hmmmn I know this has been asked many times before in many different forms over the past few pages but I need to ask you seniors in the working world... I am in a slight dilemma because I don't know if I should work in Singapore with a salary of $3000 in total on an S-Pass (because base is $2600... below the new threshold) or to work in Malaysia with a salary of about rm3700~ one is an auditing job and another is a management trainee job... I am fresh graduate and will get my masters soon... the latter job will require me to specialise into the telecommunications industry right away... but I found the interview very fun and exciting. However sometime in the future I actually want to end up in an investment bank... Haha, somethings in life you really have to decide for yourself... 1. Whether you want to specialise into one industry or not. Is that industry your interest? Do you think that your future career path in either industry is sustainable? But I think you may be able to swap from either job to another in the event that you have a change of heart. My recommendation would be to try investment banking first... better to slog it out (receive harsh training) first before returning to something supposedly milder. From there, you'll get a large range of opportunities will open out - then you can specialise. Also, interview was fun and exciting - is it the same beyond the interview room? IMHO lah. 2. If you will get your masters soon, do you think that your salary of $3000 is reflective of it? I'm not asking that you shld "fish" for higher offers but I think it's a bit low lah. This post has been edited by gabLhowe: Apr 1 2011, 08:58 AM