one's chance of obtaining the approval. We collect a non- refundable
processing fee S$1500.00

From smcmc.
crapp0
post Apr 1 2011, 09:08 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Mar 31 2011, 04:53 PM)
the working environment in NOV & HFE is not as one's think. no doubt the benefits are good. HFE with big banner but has taken down.
WOM no idea.
What would you expect from a oil and gas equipment supplier?
Mackiddo
post Apr 1 2011, 09:28 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(k8118k @ Mar 31 2011, 06:37 PM)
Any Senior herecan share info - Which SG Bank CC more benefits?
I used my citibank more, always got perks for dining. DBS mainly for refueling coz have extra discount (partnership with my Co) and occasionally DBS LiveFresh for new party invites.
Gaultier
post Apr 1 2011, 09:35 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(nicky87 @ Apr 1 2011, 07:58 AM)
Hmmmn I know this has been asked many times before in many different forms over the past few pages but I need to ask you seniors in the working world...

I am in a slight dilemma because I don't know if I should work in Singapore with a salary of $3000 in total on an S-Pass (because base is $2600... below the new threshold) or to work in Malaysia with a salary of about rm3700~ one is an auditing job and another is a management trainee job... I am fresh graduate and will get my masters soon... the latter job will require me to specialise into the telecommunications industry right away... but I found the interview very fun and exciting. However sometime in the future I actually want to end up in an investment bank...
after deducting your cost of living, taking in to account being nearer to family. Probably the difference you can save is about 1k plus extra than in msia.

for me, i will stay in msia and gain more experience while looking for a great offer.
TSwashabushi
post Apr 1 2011, 10:36 AM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(jr` @ Apr 1 2011, 09:04 AM)
A foreigner may apply for an in-principle approval for Singapore Permanent
Residence under the Landed PR if he/she is below 45 year-old and holds a
tertiary qualification i.e a Bachelor degree or/and above and not working
in Singapore.

One who meets the above requirements may submit an application through us
for Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA)'s consideration. Kindly note
that the outcome of each application for Landed PR is carefully assessed
and considered on its own merits by ICA. Hence, we are unable to assess
processing fee S$1500.00

From smcmc.
oh...not for us then...since we are holding work passes.
seantang
post Apr 1 2011, 10:46 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(jr` @ Apr 1 2011, 09:04 AM)
A foreigner may apply for an in-principle approval for Singapore Permanent
Residence under the Landed PR if he/she is below 45 year-old and holds a
tertiary qualification i.e a Bachelor degree or/and above and not working
in Singapore.

One who meets the above requirements may submit an application through us
for Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA)'s consideration. Kindly note
that the outcome of each application for Landed PR is carefully assessed
and considered on its own merits by ICA. Hence, we are unable to assess
processing fee S$1500.00

From smcmc.
From the same website:

If you have acceptable professional or tertiary qualifications and are interested in relocating to Singapore but are not yet working in Singapore, you can apply for LPR under this scheme. Successful applicants have ONE (1) year to find a job or relocate their families to Singapore, upon which permanent residence will be granted.

99.99% of the PRs in this thread were already working in Singapore before they applied for their PRs.
jr`
post Apr 1 2011, 12:50 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 1 2011, 10:46 AM)
From the same website:

If you have acceptable professional or tertiary qualifications and are interested in relocating to Singapore but are not yet working in Singapore, you can apply for LPR under this scheme. Successful applicants have ONE (1) year to find a job or relocate their families to Singapore, upon which permanent residence will be granted.

99.99% of the PRs in this thread were already working in Singapore before they applied for their PRs.
Thank you. smile.gif
So as a fresh grad, I should just apply for jobs that doesn't require PR status.
csyap1985
post Apr 1 2011, 09:39 PM

41 posts

how u guys find a room in singapore? website? agent?

i will goin to singapore end of this month. any advise?

looking a room around jurong west area near pioneer MRT.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 1 2011, 10:47 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(csyap1985 @ Apr 1 2011, 09:39 PM)
how u guys find a room in singapore? website? agent?

i will goin to singapore end of this month. any advise?

looking a room around jurong west area near pioneer MRT.
websites u will get agent... from agent u will get to look see... from look see u will get room.... then profit!
nicky87
post Apr 1 2011, 11:03 PM

189 posts

Thank you for replying!!!

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 1 2011, 08:31 AM)
On the question of whether you should be in SG or MY,... there are a helluva lot more investment banks in SG with much more banker jobs available.
Yeah that's why I applied for the auditing job in SG in the first place... I guess it at the moment it's the who interview experience with the telecoms company which is making me think twice about it.

QUOTE(gabLhowe @ Apr 1 2011, 08:55 AM)
Haha, somethings in life you really have to decide for yourself...

1. Whether you want to specialise into one industry or not. Is that industry your interest? Do you think that your future career path in either industry is sustainable? But I think you may be able to swap from either job to another in the event that you have a change of heart. My recommendation would be to try investment banking first... better to slog it out (receive harsh training) first before returning to something supposedly milder. From there, you'll get a large range of opportunities will open out - then you can specialise. Also, interview was fun and exciting - is it the same beyond the interview room? IMHO lah.

2. If you will get your masters soon, do you think that your salary of $3000 is reflective of it? I'm not asking that you shld "fish" for higher offers but I think it's a bit low lah.
Yeah I know...

I believe that there is growth in the telecommunications company which I was offered and that one is probably sustainable. Auditing is a job where I would stay there only for as long as I learn and then move on the greener pastures... hmmmn good point about the interview... will go and ask around my friends if they have friends in the same programme.

Yeah I know it's not exactly a very competitive salary but it's a gateway into Singapore in my eyes more than anything else... besides you don't need a masters to do auditing ^^;;; that's more of a graduate's pay.

This post has been edited by nicky87: Apr 1 2011, 11:04 PM
mercury8400
post Apr 2 2011, 12:31 AM

2,703 posts

If you think yr masters is gonna to make a difference in giving you an edge in empoyment in SG (wheter its investment banking or just banking in general, you are making a huge mistake. Every tom d*** and harry has a Masters in SG. Unless its from the top tier ivy league unis the rest just isn't worth having because the most of the guys fresh off the boat from India (and believe me there are tons of them here) all have a masters degree from one uni or another. Its about experience. And if you want an investment banking job why even consider a telecom industry? Taht would seriously limit yr options in the future. Investment banking specialising in telecom? How small is the market for that? Get yr exp from auditing 2-3 years of auditing background then jump into an investment bank as an entry level position or alternatively jump to corporate banking now then chalk up 2-3 yrs experience then jump over to investment banking (i think there would be some leverage of exp in Corp banking)
stereokumonomu
post Apr 2 2011, 12:33 AM

606 posts

anyone working with HCL Singapore?

im looking for a room or house to rent...

nicky87
post Apr 2 2011, 04:40 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 2 2011, 12:31 AM)
If you think yr masters is gonna to make a difference in giving you an edge in empoyment in SG (wheter its investment banking or just banking in general, you are making a huge mistake. Every tom d*** and harry has a Masters in SG. Unless its from the top tier ivy league unis the rest just isn't worth having because the most of the guys fresh off the boat from India (and believe me there are tons of them here) all have a masters degree from one uni or another. Its about experience. And if you want an investment banking job why even consider a telecom industry? Taht would seriously limit yr options in the future. Investment banking specialising in telecom? How small is the market for that? Get yr exp from auditing 2-3 years of auditing background then jump into an investment bank as an entry level position or alternatively jump to corporate banking now then chalk up 2-3 yrs experience then jump over to investment banking (i think there would be some leverage of exp in Corp banking)
thank you for your reply [while this is just my two cents I think you could have worded your reply nicer... my masters is from a top uni (Uk's ivy league... the Russell group) not just any uni...]

I already have a job offer in Singapore for auditing. I do not think my masters is going to give me an edge in employment in sg. I do however think that it did get me the interview. that said I do understand that it's the experience that counts when it comes to the banking industry especially investment banking where you handle people's money...

I actually think it depends on how you think of the telecommunications industry is it just phones? just handphones? or does it include braodband the new breed of mobile products... As to why I am considering it at all is because I had fun talking about it in the interview also it's in KL with family and friends... As for auditing it would also depend on what I audit isn't it? I could be sent to audit shipyards and oil rigs... that a market that is even smaller than telecommunications... I just wonder if audit experience is really as good as everyone says it is.

anyhows I appreciate your reply cheers mate wink.gif
keelim
post Apr 2 2011, 08:11 AM

941 posts

As long as your master is not distant learning/obtained through part time you should have an edge. Why didn't you seek for job in UK, if this question is relevant at all.

This post has been edited by keelim: Apr 2 2011, 08:12 AM
ba5tard
post Apr 2 2011, 08:50 AM

211 posts

add me to the list... stay at woodland & work in woodland...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 2 2011, 09:13 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Apr 2 2011, 08:11 AM)
As long as your master is not distant learning/obtained through part time you should have an edge. Why didn't you seek for job in UK, if this question is relevant at all.
what's wrong with part time masters? distance learning i understand.... but part time is inferior?
seantang
post Apr 2 2011, 09:53 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Apr 2 2011, 08:11 AM)
As long as your master is not distant learning/obtained through part time you should have an edge.

That really depends.

If it's a very technical field, where the masters' coursework or research is directly relevant to the job, then yes... a full time course is better regarded than part time or distance learning. Same for investment banks who want to hire MBA associates. They usually won't go for part timers or distance learners.

For MNCs however, they are really not that concerned about how you obtained that masters. In fact, delaying your entry into the working world or leaving your current job for a couple years to do a full time course - might indicate escapism from work pressure/environment or give the impression that you took a full time course because you were not very successful in your job before that.

And let's say... if a hiring manager compares 2 people who have completed their bachelors' degree for 10 years, where:

(a) has 10 years full time work experience, got promoted 5 times (every 2 years) during that period to Level 5 (managing a $1B business) and has a distance learning MBA that took 4 years,

/vs.

(b) has 8 years full time work experience, got promoted 4 times (every 2 years) during that period to Level 4 (managing a $0.5B business) and has a full time MBA that took 2 years,

If you are the hiring manager who needs to hire someone for a Level 6 job to manage a new $2B business, who would you pick?

I'd immediately pick the guy who has experience managing the larger business, and can handle loads of pressure in a complex situation ie.multi-task (work & study at the same time) and deliver ie. be successful at both.

This post has been edited by seantang: Apr 2 2011, 09:59 AM
gabLhowe
post Apr 2 2011, 10:45 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(nicky87 @ Apr 1 2011, 04:03 PM)
Yeah I know it's not exactly a very competitive salary but it's a gateway into Singapore in my eyes more than anything else... besides you don't need a masters to do auditing ^^;;; that's more of a graduate's pay.
What is the masters in? Maybe it's not so relevant to the job, hence not under consideration. But nevertheless, I thought that you could ek another 100-300 bucks in pay (furthermore you mentioned that it's from the ivy league). Try calling up and gently probe HR. But its just my own opinion... dont blame me if you overpoke and lose the offer rclxms.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 1 2011, 05:31 PM)
And if you want an investment banking job why even consider a telecom industry? Taht would seriously limit yr options in the future... Get yr exp from auditing 2-3 years of auditing background then jump into an investment bank as an entry level position or alternatively jump to corporate banking now then chalk up 2-3 yrs experience then jump over to investment banking (i think there would be some leverage of exp in Corp banking)
+1

Auditing is good as it opens your eyes to many clients all the way down to the operational level, hence +++experience which is very useful. It's also notorious for work pressure, long hours and tight deadlines so if you ever jump ship, your new boss will love you.
Aloong
post Apr 2 2011, 11:19 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(nicky87 @ Apr 2 2011, 04:40 AM)
thank you for your reply [while this is just my two cents I think you could have worded your reply nicer... my masters is from a top uni (Uk's ivy league... the Russell group) not just any uni...]

I already have a job offer in Singapore for auditing. I do not think my masters is going to give me an edge in employment in sg. I do however think that it did get me the interview. that said I do understand that it's the experience that counts when it comes to the banking industry especially investment banking where you handle people's money...

I actually think it depends on how you think of the telecommunications industry is it just phones? just handphones? or does it include braodband the new breed of mobile products... As to why I am considering it at all is because I had fun talking about it in the interview also it's in KL with family and friends... As for auditing it would also depend on what I audit isn't it? I could be sent to audit shipyards and oil rigs... that a market that is even smaller than telecommunications... I just wonder if audit experience is really as good as everyone says it is.

anyhows I appreciate your reply cheers mate wink.gif
I'm assuming ur pretty fresh here, i.e. less than 3 yrs exp. So lets forget about wat industry.
I think auditing will help u skill sets in terms of due diligence, analytical, being deliberate, able to look into details, and of course able to understand and analysis financial much better (all as compared to mgmt trainee).
Mgmt ind, depends on which dept ur located. If ur in finance/internal audit/operation, better take ur audit job.
If ur in biz development, then u may have better skills interms of marketing, negotiating, interpersonal skills, etc, which would be better than audit.

Bur later on to start in IB, the analysitcal/due diligence skillswould be required for a start for the first few yrs, before u the marketing/interpersonal skills is required. U need to prove ur self in being able to do the nitty gritty of the job first.

seantang
post Apr 2 2011, 11:34 AM

6,624 posts

If you want to be in investment banking, why bother with audit at all? Get an entry level analyst position with a bank straightaway. In terms of further opportunities or promotions, having 3 years of analyst experience will put you wayyy ahead of any former auditor with 3 years audit experience. The 2 are very different, even though dealing mainly with numbers.

126 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:05 PM