Working Life in Singapore V5

user401
post Mar 29 2011, 07:23 PM

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 29 2011, 11:29 AM)
Why do you want to check?
Previos employment data such as salary, position, bonus etc, can this retrieve from the MOM employer website? My 2cents, I was never good in this kind of due diligence:)
seantang
post Mar 29 2011, 07:33 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(user401 @ Mar 29 2011, 07:23 PM)
Previos employment data such as salary, position, bonus etc, can this retrieve from the MOM employer website? My 2cents, I was never good in this kind of due diligence:)

I asked 'why', not 'what'.

user401
post Mar 29 2011, 07:35 PM

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 29 2011, 12:20 PM)
That makes you a creep. Just try and check her facebook page.
No la, she is an Indian lady, a little hot but b****y type. So wanna know a liitle more about her background and know who I'm dealing with:)

Added on March 29, 2011, 7:39 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 29 2011, 07:33 PM)
I asked 'why', not 'what'.
Sry bro, As above smile.gif

This post has been edited by user401: Mar 29 2011, 07:39 PM
seantang
post Mar 29 2011, 07:52 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(user401 @ Mar 29 2011, 07:35 PM)
No la, she is an Indian lady, a little hot but b****y type. So wanna know a liitle more about her background and know who I'm dealing with:)

Sry bro, As above smile.gif

Damn... I second Crappo. You are creepy.
Nokia convert
post Mar 29 2011, 08:05 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Mar 28 2011, 11:29 PM)
I think many are still getting this kind of figure .. as a starting pay

But was it very long ago ? when u started off with your companY ?
Nearly half a year ago. I am allowed to claim OT btw (capped at $450) so I consider myself better off paywise than many of my peers in this industry.
Shinichi
post Mar 29 2011, 09:13 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(walanneh @ Mar 29 2011, 10:38 AM)
Hi all, I'll be starting work at Singapore next month. I'm currently looking for a place to stay and I've some enquiries.

1.) Did you find your place using an Agent?
2.) Is it the norm for a 1 year contract to be signed?
3.) How much was your deposit and is it true that rental in Singapore is 1 month forward?
4.) How much was your Agent fees?

Thanks in advance.
1. Mine is direct thru owner via postings at bus stop
2. No, you ca nego with the owner/agent on the term you prefer, but if thru agent you'll need to pay half month rental as agent fee
3. by default 1 month deposit and 1 month rental, so total 2 months
4. depend on the room/unit you going to rent
toughnut
post Mar 29 2011, 09:43 PM

3,239 posts

my senior colleagues just got their bonus payout slip today... damn envious... some got 7.5 months D:

cant wait for next year around this time. hope i can struggle and survive till then.....
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 29 2011, 10:04 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(alvin227 @ Mar 29 2011, 09:14 AM)
If you can stay then stay, if you can run just run lor. You should be more familiar with this after a while. Nothing is perfect.. stay or run is just a decision, doesn't affect much if you always have a plan B.
afraid new ep wont get approved unsure.gif
QUOTE(user401 @ Mar 29 2011, 10:37 AM)
Hi folks, here's my story:
There is this hot girl, she is new in my company. So chatted with her for a while and she told me she was from X company, holding a decent title and drawing xxx amount of salary. I coudnt believe it. She is currently on EP. So my question is there any way to check the integrity of her information, maybe login into MOM and check, possible? I have friend at HR:)
<<<----- cupid corner that way

hayar, its all confidential la... she can talk all she wants.. just ignore
QUOTE(walanneh @ Mar 29 2011, 10:38 AM)
Hi all, I'll be starting work at Singapore next month. I'm currently looking for a place to stay and I've some enquiries.

1.) Did you find your place using an Agent?
2.) Is it the norm for a 1 year contract to be signed?
3.) How much was your deposit and is it true that rental in Singapore is 1 month forward?
4.) How much was your Agent fees?

Thanks in advance.
1) nope, ex colleague
2) usually 2 years
3) deposite, rental in advance
4) 0, but usually 1 month
QUOTE(Laine @ Mar 29 2011, 10:52 AM)
ahh!! my EP has been approved... =)) applied on 24/3, approved today.
welcome to the club, rosmah
QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Mar 29 2011, 08:05 PM)
Nearly half a year ago. I am allowed to claim OT btw (capped at $450) so I consider myself better off paywise than many of my peers in this industry.
yeaps, i guess... or at least better than me... hahaha
QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 29 2011, 09:43 PM)
my senior colleagues just got their bonus payout slip today... damn envious... some got 7.5 months D:

cant wait for next year around this time. hope i can struggle and survive till then.....
any opening at ur place? share share a bit laugh.gif
reign226
post Mar 29 2011, 10:05 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 29 2011, 09:43 PM)

What industry? Finance?

toughnut
post Mar 29 2011, 10:08 PM

3,239 posts

@alaskanbunny,
currently engineering dept already slowed down. last few month massive hiring.

@reign226
one of the shipyard smile.gif
Samuelton
post Mar 29 2011, 10:37 PM

13 posts

hi,
Anyone,

I am new here, but soon to graduate in the field of accounting and finance and happy to know that, all of you are working in singapore with a depth and wide backgrounds.

Mind to share your experiences to work in accounting firm (how about Big 4 compare to small-medium firm)in singapore? Hoping to know more how was the life on there compare to here(malaysia).

Thanks you for, if someone from there (accounting industry)is able to share.

evilnickwong
post Mar 29 2011, 10:51 PM

- Evil by Nature -
5,065 posts

Hi guys, just a quick question, what's the best way to transfer funds from Singapore to Malaysia account?
Basically I need to move it from my DBS account back to my CIMB Msia account as that one running dry already after a year plus working in Singapore haha. biggrin.gif

chyun3
post Mar 29 2011, 11:37 PM

Hi guys,

I coming to work at Singapore this May, now looking for a common room to stay.

Just let me know is anyone here know / have any info.

BTW, do you guys know what is the rental range arounl this area.

nyc3650
post Mar 30 2011, 02:33 AM

I've worked in Singapore for almost 15 years now. My educational level is still SPM or 'O' level equivalent. I've found a permanent job on my 4th selection. It's an average but long hour job to commit but guess I survives the odds. I've been with the company for 8 year now. Starting salary with basic SGD850 and allowance about SGD450 back in 2004 when I was about 24 year old.

Now, I'm 35 year this year. I'm getting fix pay average SGD3.5K every month now.

So, if you're offered SGD2.4K with much restriction better don't start with that kind of path. SGD2.5K are usually for best POLY student from Singapore.

For a MASTER holder, I advice you to look for something above SGD3.5K. Otherwise, you have a long road ahead just like me. Wasted your youth working without be able to put more time on family and beloved friends.

Average for a Metro Guy, a month expenses is about SGD1.5K a month. Living alone and stay very near to workplace.

Average for a wise but odd looking guy that could've save a lot of cash, a month average expenses is about SGD1K or less but would have spend much on food and entertainment.
[SIZE=7]

This post has been edited by nyc3650: Mar 30 2011, 02:39 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 30 2011, 07:49 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(nyc3650 @ Mar 30 2011, 02:33 AM)
I've worked in Singapore for almost 15 years now. My educational level is still SPM or 'O' level equivalent.  I've found a permanent job on my 4th selection. It's an average but long hour job to commit but guess I survives the odds.  I've been with the company for 8 year now. Starting salary with basic SGD850  and allowance about SGD450 back in 2004 when I was about 24 year old.

Now, I'm 35 year this year. I'm getting fix pay average SGD3.5K every month now.

So, if you're offered SGD2.4K with much restriction better don't start with that kind of path. SGD2.5K are usually for best POLY student from Singapore.

For a MASTER holder, I advice you to look for something above SGD3.5K. Otherwise, you have a long road ahead just like me. Wasted your youth working without be able to put more time on family and beloved friends.

Average for a Metro Guy, a month expenses is about SGD1.5K a month. Living alone and stay very near to workplace.

Average for a wise but odd looking guy that could've save a lot of cash, a month average expenses is about SGD1K or less but would have spend much on food and entertainment.
[SIZE=7]

ok what sgd 3.5k, you're in the lower middle income gap.... without any qualification i would say thats quite a good achievement already

true 2.5k 2.5k are for polys, but the prob is most of the msian unis are below the poly standard... this is arguable but generally it stands... with only a few exceptions

as for masters holder.... some schools even accept freshies for their MBA prog, so those arent really up to standard.... i would say only masters from a good school deserves sgd 3.5k

ermm... 500 rental, 400 good, 120 transportation, 50 communication... d rest yada yada... around 1.3k should do

tq for the insight, are you a pr now?
crazy25kid
post Mar 30 2011, 09:10 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(nyc3650 @ Mar 30 2011, 02:33 AM)
I've worked in Singapore for almost 15 years now. My educational level is still SPM or 'O' level equivalent.  I've found a permanent job on my 4th selection. It's an average but long hour job to commit but guess I survives the odds.   I've been with the company for 8 year now. Starting salary with basic SGD850  and allowance about SGD450 back in 2004 when I was about 24 year old.

[SIZE=7]

Unless my maths is failing, the numbers do not tally. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Mar 30 2011, 09:44 AM
shinchan0824
post Mar 30 2011, 10:00 AM

56 posts

Hi, I'm looking for a common room at Boon Lay or Jurong West. Would appreciate if someone have any. Thank you.
TSwashabushi
post Mar 30 2011, 10:09 AM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(evilnickwong @ Mar 29 2011, 10:51 PM)
Hi guys, just a quick question, what's the best way to transfer funds from Singapore to Malaysia account?
Basically I need to move it from my DBS account back to my CIMB Msia account as that one running dry already after a year plus working in Singapore haha. biggrin.gif
Odin not mistaken u can transfer via ebanking now without commission...go check their website...
seantang
post Mar 30 2011, 10:21 AM

6,624 posts

Guys, I've got a USD cheque from a US bank (BNY) which I need to bank in or encash. Have any of you done a survey of the best ways or best banks to bank that cheque in? Thanks.
TSwashabushi
post Mar 30 2011, 11:20 AM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 30 2011, 10:21 AM)
Guys, I've got a USD cheque from a US bank (BNY) which I need to bank in or encash. Have any of you done a survey of the best ways or best banks to bank that cheque in? Thanks.
US cheque is a pain... Took me 3 weeks at least to clear...and their customer service don't even entertain me coz I don't have their bank account

126 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:24 AM