45 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

YTL Wimax launched?

p4n6
post Nov 19 2010, 08:44 AM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(HeartMePlz @ Nov 19 2010, 12:26 AM)
Basically, i can tell u that, they got one rate 9 sen, so u call to their YES user 9 cents, Other Opeartors 9 cents. Even u are using Yes ID, and u are overseas, u use that to call to malaysia operators, 9 cents as well.. just that u from msia, u call to overseas will be charged as IDD rate.

Added on November 19, 2010, 12:29 am
if i am not mistaken, they are 60 secs block charge
Usually, when calling to other operators will cost more expensive because the other operator will charge the interconnect fees.
If YES going to absorb the interconnect charge, then it's fine with me though hehe.
I saw the comparison chart you posted, it seems that they are comparing on-net charges but not off-net.

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 19 2010, 12:30 AM)
and u are overseas, u use that to call to malaysia operators, 9 cents as well.

sure or not?
That one is not using their device.
It's call using computer like MSN messenger and Skype.
I believe they will provide a soft-client like a messenger as well.

QUOTE(Forum-Modding Newb @ Nov 19 2010, 12:45 AM)
How about phone to PC? Like I call my friend in another country with a Yes (crap) phone, his PC ring.
I checked on Wimax roaming, it seems Japan and US got roaming agreements.... if YTL can join their roaming, wow you can use your Yes account in US (Clearwire) and Japan (UQ Communications), and can theoretically call users of the two networks from Malaysia to US/Japan at 9sen/min? GG to IDD rates! rclxm9.gif
Unsure whether their device is multimode (2.3/2.5Ghz), cause Japan and US are running on 2.5Ghz WiMAX, Malaysia is 2.3Ghz.

Added on November 19, 2010, 8:52 am
QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 19 2010, 12:40 AM)
then its the "cheapest" voice fr overseas back to malaysia celcos thumbup.gif
Google Talk is FREE.

This post has been edited by p4n6: Nov 19 2010, 08:52 AM
HeartMePlz
post Nov 19 2010, 08:55 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 19 2010, 03:11 AM)
No, No, and No!

I cannot believe someone here actually called this "cheaper than other ISPs". You must live in a fantasy world.

If 3Mb = RM0.09 that is terrible (Costs in excess of 7000 ringgit for 30 GB).

If 3MB = RM0.09 it is still very expensive (costs hundreds for 30GB) even for 6GB.

And don't bother saying Maxis etc can still be used at throttled speed without extra charges. Throttled speed is ~2kBps (bandwidth ~16kBps) so it is virtually zero and inaccessible.

This country's internet services for public consumers sucks, period.
as i mention, use more pay more, use less pay less =/

and yes, this is a prepaid method, i dun think it's suitable for hardcore internet surfer

Alviano
post Nov 19 2010, 08:56 AM

138 posts

Anyone mind to calculate the monthly price I have to pay for 16GB?

The rates and rebates are not clear without some examples.

Thank you~
HeartMePlz
post Nov 19 2010, 08:57 AM

180 posts

Share to u guys. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by HeartMePlz: Nov 19 2010, 09:06 AM
p4n6
post Nov 19 2010, 09:06 AM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(HeartMePlz @ Nov 19 2010, 08:57 AM)
Yea. u're right, they do provide a soft-client, similar like messenger+skype.

Google Talk is Free, but only allow PC to PC.

They are running 2.3GHz

Added on November 19, 2010, 8:59 am

Rm 344.064 for 16GB

Next month Rebate Rm 9 x 16 GB= 144 Rm
Thanks for the information. Wah you wake up so early? hahahaha ...

Yea, you are right on the Google Talk. I believe it's capable but didn't turn it on because it will contradict to the voice operator which will be selling their devices.

How about SKYPE? Those app can be installed on smartphone to do voice call. If my smartphone has a SKYPE and someone else has SKYPE on PC. I can talk for free (paying data)

Added on November 19, 2010, 9:07 am

Share to u guys.  tongue.gif
Means RM200 bucks lo

This post has been edited by p4n6: Nov 19 2010, 09:07 AM
CalvinCLK
post Nov 19 2010, 09:09 AM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(Alviano @ Nov 19 2010, 08:56 AM)
Anyone mind to calculate the monthly price I have to pay for 16GB?

The rates and rebates are not clear without some examples.

Thank you~
Should be 16 x 30 = 480.
After rebate 30%, 480 * 0.7 = RM336.

Not sure if they have maximum cap on the bill amount or not. Eg. more than certain amount, you dun need to pay anymore...
HeartMePlz
post Nov 19 2010, 09:09 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Nov 19 2010, 09:06 AM)
Thanks for the information. Wah you wake up so early? hahahaha ...

Yea, you are right on the Google Talk. I believe it's capable but didn't turn it on because it will contradict to the voice operator which will be selling their devices.

How about SKYPE? Those app can be installed on smartphone to do voice call. If my smartphone has a SKYPE and someone else has SKYPE on PC. I can talk for free (paying data)

Added on November 19, 2010, 9:07 am
Means RM200 bucks lo
i goin to go to work soon laugh.gif

they goin to roll out the applications to smartphone soon.

Added on November 19, 2010, 9:11 am
QUOTE(CalvinCLK @ Nov 19 2010, 09:09 AM)
Should be 16 x 30 = 480.
After rebate 30%, 480 * 0.7 = RM336.

Not sure if they have maximum cap on the bill amount or not. Eg. more than certain amount, you dun need to pay anymore...
Bro, whenever usage exceed 4 GB, the rate will become rm0.021

so Rm0.021x 1024 x 16= Rm 344.064

It's a Prepaid Method, As long as u got credit left, u can browse whatever u want.

And No, they dun have the cap to give u unlimited download.

For me, i think this is the best way to control bandwidth

This post has been edited by HeartMePlz: Nov 19 2010, 09:11 AM
CalvinCLK
post Nov 19 2010, 09:14 AM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(HeartMePlz @ Nov 19 2010, 09:09 AM)
i goin to go to work soon  laugh.gif

they goin to roll out the applications to smartphone soon.

Added on November 19, 2010, 9:11 am

Bro, whenever usage exceed 4 GB, the rate will become rm0.021

so Rm0.021x 1024 x 16= Rm 344.064

It's a Prepaid Method, As long as u got credit left, u can browse whatever u want.

And No, they dun have the cap to give u unlimited download.

For me, i think this is the best way to control bandwidth
Sorry. Forgotten that they charge per MB.. not used to this ler.. 1GB = 1024MB..
Still expensive.. Say No dy..
HeartMePlz
post Nov 19 2010, 09:16 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(CalvinCLK @ Nov 19 2010, 09:14 AM)
Sorry. Forgotten that they charge per MB.. not used to this ler.. 1GB = 1024MB..
Still expensive.. Say No dy..
yea. it's for hardcore user then no..

unless u are rich enough drool.gif
Alviano
post Nov 19 2010, 09:18 AM

138 posts

If for personal home use, is GO 4G Dongle sufficient or ZOOM 4G Router?

Thinking of better reception or speed. But the router not available atm?

Wait for official launch.

Based on ur calculation it would be roughly rm200 monthly. Not bad if the speed is 3-5 times faster than 3G and consistent.

Currently using Digi RM158 16GB quota with average 128kbps speed and frequent disconnections. So RM200 is not that expensive to me. Need a proper Internet.

Do hope these pay per use system will keep most of the hardcore at bay. 100GB a month?

This post has been edited by Alviano: Nov 19 2010, 09:23 AM
digilife
post Nov 19 2010, 09:21 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

Share to u guys.  tongue.gif
so this is YES?

are u working wif them, i gonna subscribe but rite now i am not in KL, how can i do so?

thx
HeartMePlz
post Nov 19 2010, 09:24 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(Alviano @ Nov 19 2010, 09:18 AM)
If for personal home use, is GO 4G Dongle sufficient or ZOOM 4G Router?

Thinking of better reception or speed. But the router not available atm?

Wait for official launch.

Based on ur calculation it would be roughly rm200 monthly. Not bad if the speed is 3-5 times faster than 3G and consistent.

Do hope these pay per use system will keep most of the hardcore at bay. 100GB a month?
i using GO Right now. staying in high rise. so i dun think the reception is a problem.

At the mean time only HUDDLE and GO.

ZOOM and BUZZ available soon

Added on November 19, 2010, 9:25 am
QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 19 2010, 09:21 AM)
so this is YES?

are u working wif them, i gonna subscribe but rite now i am not in KL, how can i do so?

thx
u can using through Online. hopefully it's up when launch time

This post has been edited by HeartMePlz: Nov 19 2010, 09:25 AM
mamasos
post Nov 19 2010, 09:34 AM

176 posts

do they provide voip software for pc?
luckyhillkop
post Nov 19 2010, 09:56 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(miskin @ Nov 19 2010, 01:30 AM)
[attachmentid=1892571]

[attachmentid=1892573]

[attachmentid=1892574]

[attachmentid=1892575]
Seriously I do not understand how Yes works. Do I need to but their phone to get mobile internet? I just want surf internet on my phone! If I have to carry their devices around to get their svc, what is the point?
Kenishi
post Nov 19 2010, 10:14 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(mamasos @ Nov 19 2010, 09:34 AM)
do they provide voip software for pc?
Yes.....there is a software like messenger for you to install in PC, and when someone call your 018 ID, the software will ring up.... and can pickup all.

Added on November 19, 2010, 10:16 am
QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Nov 19 2010, 09:56 AM)
Seriously I do not understand how Yes works. Do I need to but their phone to get mobile internet? I just want surf internet on my phone! If I have to carry their devices around to get their svc, what is the point?
Use the portable wimax+wifi router(battery powered+can charge by using usb port), then wifi connect ur phone to the device.....surf using wimax speed......
so far as I know the device can support up to 4 wifi client connect to it......

This post has been edited by Kenishi: Nov 19 2010, 10:19 AM
luckyhillkop
post Nov 19 2010, 10:51 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(Kenishi @ Nov 19 2010, 10:14 AM)

Added on November 19, 2010, 10:16 am
Use the portable wimax+wifi router(battery powered+can charge by using usb port), then wifi connect ur phone to the device.....surf using wimax speed......
so far as I know the device can support up to 4 wifi client connect to it......
that is if we are at home right? what if i'm gng out, how can i get connection on my phone?
archon
post Nov 19 2010, 10:55 AM

14 posts

Hmm ... The pricing doesn't seem too bad for those of us who don't download actually. I've been using Streamyx as my area only has 1mbps for my area.

Even if I get 2mbps I am thrilled! Not everyones house is near an exchange. I just hope YES has my area covered. If it's not good for downloaders maybe the highway will be better for the rest of us? At least my YouTube will be good. Can't even get proper streaming with 1mbps. Will checkout today's launch.
Kenishi

91 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Nov 19 2010, 10:51 AM)
that is if we are at home right? what if i'm gng out, how can i get connection on my phone?
Outside also work same like home, just bring the small wimax device(router+wifi) out, and wifi connection ur phone to the device.
This small little device size is like a small soap...powered up by rechargeable battery.

seed80

127 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Nov 19 2010, 10:51 AM)
also thru wifi.. if u r using a wifi enable phone, u need to carry the YES huddle around in your pocket.. but the thing is..it's battery only lasts 5hours they say. so u need to charge it every 5hours if u r on the go...
hsyong
post Nov 19 2010, 10:57 AM

589 posts

"Credits that don't expire" ..... so what does this claim mean??

If I pay RM30 on the first month, then it will be gone the next month even if I don't use it, and I'll have to top up another RM30 right? So the credit actually EXPIRES! Or will it be carried forward and I only need to have minimum RM30 in the account at any one time?

45 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:15 PM