YTL Wimax launched?
CalvinCLK
Nov 18 2010, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Nov 17 2010, 11:47 PM) i think its rate will be like electric la.. 1st few gb is 0.09 sen then after few gb another few sen increment.. If it's GB then I will go.. but sadly latest news to date is 9sen / 3MB.. which is only good for mobile phone surfing (iphone etc), and not for normal pc surfing. RM30 for 1GB is too expensive. 3GB will make up RM90, which I can get 10GB Digi plan already (RM108 without rebate), or other telcos plan which is way cheaper. What's more YTL is a new player, and with that rate, they will not be able to capture much of the market share. May be it's cheap for prepaid mobile phone users to jump ship, but not for home internet user. Let's hope that the rate is only for prepaid mobile phone package (which I think will be more likely), and not for Mobile Broadband.
CalvinCLK
Nov 19 2010, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(Alviano @ Nov 19 2010, 08:56 AM) Anyone mind to calculate the monthly price I have to pay for 16GB? The rates and rebates are not clear without some examples. Thank you~ Should be 16 x 30 = 480. After rebate 30%, 480 * 0.7 = RM336. Not sure if they have maximum cap on the bill amount or not. Eg. more than certain amount, you dun need to pay anymore...
CalvinCLK
Nov 19 2010, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(HeartMePlz @ Nov 19 2010, 09:09 AM) i goin to go to work soon they goin to roll out the applications to smartphone soon. Added on November 19, 2010, 9:11 amBro, whenever usage exceed 4 GB, the rate will become rm0.021 so Rm0.021x 1024 x 16= Rm 344.064 It's a Prepaid Method, As long as u got credit left, u can browse whatever u want. And No, they dun have the cap to give u unlimited download. For me, i think this is the best way to control bandwidth Sorry. Forgotten that they charge per MB.. not used to this ler.. 1GB = 1024MB.. Still expensive.. Say No dy..
CalvinCLK
Nov 19 2010, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 19 2010, 09:15 PM) the 3GB for rm67.50 really fried the competitor by the nose and horns now Maxis,Digi and Celcom will hav to repackage their offerings, only UM is spared  Thought Digi has RM68 package? only 50cent diff... But the speed also diff la.. Maxis has RM48 package for existing Maxis customers.. Not sure about Celcom..
CalvinCLK
Nov 19 2010, 11:13 PM
Finally able to connect to their website.. Zzz... 11pm dy...
CalvinCLK
Nov 19 2010, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(ciohbu @ Nov 19 2010, 11:15 PM) i doubt u can get much info from there.. its just not user friendly enough for me =) good luck in digging the page Just want to get to know more about the "No commitment".. their rates already made me say a big NO.. lol..
CalvinCLK
Nov 25 2010, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(mlap @ Nov 24 2010, 05:51 PM) I'm no fans of YTL or related any how but from the T&C , it matches what was posted in FB, sound just like other telco prepaid mobile where the RM30 validity is only 30days , you need to reload when your validity is up even you have remain credit , if you don't reload account get suspended and after 90 days the remain credit will be forfeited . However not sure this is true as base on the reading of the terms and condition , this sounds like to case. I think the current prepaid system is better, at least your credit is still there, although you need to reload RM30 every month. If you reload RM30 per month and use only RM20, at the end of the year you still have RM10 x 12 = RM120. But for Yes, no matter you use or not, every month they will deduct RM30 (just like postpaid). So if you reload RM30 per month and use only RM20, at the end of the year you will have RM0. This is bad for those who wants it for backup or only use when he's on the move. Forced to use 1GB per month, although 1GB is nothing for the speed. (constant 5Mbps for 30 minutes already can reach 1GB) This post has been edited by CalvinCLK: Nov 25 2010, 09:08 AM
CalvinCLK
Nov 25 2010, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 25 2010, 10:42 AM) his rm1200 worth of data will be gone in a week's time btw, YES site claims tat data fr now till 19 Dec is FREE, how come your fren got charged for data now? chk YES site pls That's what some forumers here say, getting heart attack when looking at the bill.. lol.. It seems like the RM1200 credit is splited between Credit and Rebate balance. A lot of hidden stuff that they do not clarify. Not even up with FAQ.. Added on November 25, 2010, 10:53 amQUOTE(k3nji @ Nov 25 2010, 10:36 AM) wow..didnt u all think that the rate is quite expensive?? Yes. Indeed. Imagine 1GB in 30 minutes. Few hours of downloading can fight with 1 year worth of usage for other telcos. But obviously Yes is not targetting users that is on heavy download. Only light surfers. Imagine people start using Opera Turbo to minimise data usage and save cost. This post has been edited by CalvinCLK: Nov 25 2010, 10:53 AM
CalvinCLK
Nov 25 2010, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(airline @ Nov 25 2010, 11:17 AM) so rm750 plus rm394= rm1144 so 1 day use rm56? log on for max 2 hours only.. I think they better come out with packages for Internet (with quota but cheaper price). Let's hope they will do so when they launch the home modem. Then they will have prepaid (which is more to postpaid-like on a prepaid basis) and postpaid. More transparency and easier to manage for postpaid broadband.
CalvinCLK
Nov 26 2010, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(jacktan1888 @ Nov 26 2010, 02:27 PM) There is no expiry on your credit. However, you are required to use a minimum amount of RM 30.00 every month. If you reload RM 30.00 for Nov 2010 and only use RM 5.00, the remaining RM25.00 will not be carried forward, it will forfeit. Therefore, if you reload RM30.00 for Dec 2010, you will have RM 30.00 for your usage. And in Jan 2011 you decide to reload RM 50.00 and only use RM30.00, the remaining balance of RM 20.00 will be carried forward to the next month. Pay-as-you-use after RM30 usage.. Don't know why their marketing people price it in such way.
CalvinCLK
Dec 13 2010, 10:20 AM
About the Huddle package (RM1200), what will they do if I want to sign up for 24month 0% installment? Charge using credit card?
CalvinCLK
Dec 23 2010, 08:32 AM
New promo by Yes:  Not bad ehh.. Cheaper by a bit if you buy from Lowyat Office Student & Home = RM229 + RM99 (Yes dongle) = RM328
CalvinCLK
Dec 24 2010, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Dec 24 2010, 09:56 AM) don't compare with US...you earn in USD and you are paying USD50 for 5GB... you earn in M'sia, and you're paying RM90 for 3GB... if you convert the currency...then not that accurate on actual cost of living... Added on December 24, 2010, 9:57 amanyone from penang? how to purchase the dongle? do i have to travel to Kl to buy the dongle? dang... I think what exentric meant is that even in US, they charge per usage and the price can shoot up high if you are doing a lot of downloads. And I agree with clawhammer and well, Yes is for mobility, so can only be compared to M,D,C, P and others who provide mobile bb. Definitely not for fixed line coz you cant bring it along with you to surf net.