115 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

AMD Bulldozer & Bobcat

haris
post Oct 13 2011, 09:47 PM

172 posts

As long as price per performance is okay. Which is what we are seeing how AMD is competing nowadays.

For sure new technology from Intel won't be cheap. At least we know Bulldozer is around USD250 today. Next year will perhaps go down to sub USD200.

Definitely there will be people who will go for top performance no matter what is the cost. And I salute those guys with deeps pocket for driving the technology up. While letting us normal people do the exact same thing with cost effective processor.

tech3910
post Oct 13 2011, 10:10 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(haris @ Oct 13 2011, 09:47 PM)
As long as price per performance is okay. Which is what we are seeing how AMD is competing nowadays.

For sure new technology from Intel won't be cheap. At least we know Bulldozer is around USD250 today. Next year will perhaps go down to sub USD200.

Definitely there will be people who will go for top performance no matter what is the cost. And I salute those guys with deeps pocket for driving the technology up. While letting us normal people do the exact same thing with cost effective processor.
but now, the price : performance ratio does not justify either.
eddyTech03
post Oct 13 2011, 10:28 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(haris @ Oct 13 2011, 09:11 PM)
I think all this shouting and face palming over benchmark result is due to misunderstanding and over expectation.

1. This is like a reboot of CPU architecture for AMD. Is like 1 step of many to reposition the CPU by de emphasize FPU performance. Because at the end of the road Bulldozer architecture will become one of the Fusion. I.e more emphasis on floating point calculation on the GPU.

2. That is why AMD has 4 year roadmap. And the fusion thing should happen on next year Piledriver roadmap. It sucks this year on gaming benchmark, so much pitty for early adopters. As always!

3. Bulldozer, being the first in the roadmap also means software support is not here yet. Anand tech review bring up some thread scheduling issue on the different cores of Bulldozer with Windows 7. Which should be solved by Windows 8, next year. Support in Linux kernel should be sooner (just my opinion) since Linux is popular as server.

4. Which bring this to my next point. AMD need to "cari makan" also right? With Intel being so powerful in the main stream performance CPU market. Will be very high risk for AMD to go head to head with Intel in that particular market.  If "untung sabut" then everything is good. If "untung batu". How then? So this time around (again this is my opinion) they put a CPU that will sell good at that price to the servers market. Hedging that server market (with premium margin) will support further effort to tune the architecture for Desktop in the next iteration.

5. Untill then, looks like AMD trying to promote the Bulldozer to enthusias as over clocking friendly CPU. Really have no idea whether this is good or not. But personally I won't have some thing that hot and eats lots of electricity in my house!

So I hope what I wrote above can give you guys a better perspective. Do understand that there is a lot of disappointment (me too!). But this has to happen before AMD really can get competitive again.

Unfortunately this means it sucks to be early adopter OR it is another wait. But we have a similar wait with Phenom -> Phenom II right? So what is another year.

Cheers!
I like the way you respond to this new AMD bulldozer. I'm also one of old AMD user. although i very very upset with the new AMD CPU, but still, i feel that, there is the hope for the AMD. I also hoping that, sales person that handling CPU selling or DIY selling, not to pushing Intel product.. smile.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Neo|ofGeo
post Oct 13 2011, 10:36 PM

Stop Complaining and Read
3,142 posts

QUOTE(eddyTech03 @ Oct 13 2011, 10:28 PM)
I like the way you respond to this new AMD bulldozer. I'm also one of old AMD user. although i very very upset with the new AMD CPU, but still, i feel that, there is the hope for the AMD. I also hoping that, sales person that handling CPU selling or DIY selling, not to pushing Intel product.. smile.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
But we got to admit that many will choose intel when they are building a new rig withn end of this year
but of course there are people who lacks of knowledge buy bulldozer procs just because its brand news+amazing discount given by seller
so all we have to do is pray that its enough to make they operational smoothly for another development
yimingwuzere
post Oct 13 2011, 10:40 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Oct 13 2011, 10:36 PM)
But we got to admit that many will choose intel when they are building a new rig withn end of this year
but of course there are people who lacks of knowledge buy bulldozer procs just because its brand news+amazing discount given by seller
so all we have to do is pray that its enough to make they operational smoothly for another development
I just hope there's that many people who factor x264 as the most important benchmark.....

We're paying the price for AMD's server first and only approach with processor design right now.
Racerx
post Oct 13 2011, 11:37 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Oct 13 2011, 04:06 PM)
The only last hope they have is like what Anandtech said, to repeat the success of Pentium 4 northwood. pentium 4 northwood does beat the AthlonXP by seer amount of extra GHz without hitting the power consumption too much. It actually fix what Willamate Pentium 4 cant do. Not until Prescott Pentium 4, Intel just broke their own arm by increasing the pipeline further in Prescott. Infact Intel manage to increase the pipeline of Prescott without sacrificing the IPC, but unfortunately they ignore the heat and power wall they gonna hit when they reach 3.8GHz. In this case they have to rely on the mature 32nm global foundry tech or may be even smaller to archive it.

BD should have clock @ 4GHz+ not 3.6GHz. If they have release BD 1000MHz extra @ 125w TDP from now. nobody will have complain.
They'll hit power and thermal walls quite soon if they follow through with this.I mean,look at the FX-8150,it's already gobbling down massive amounts of power on stock as it is.
everling
post Oct 14 2011, 12:18 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Oct 13 2011, 11:37 PM)
They'll hit power and thermal walls quite soon if they follow through with this.I mean,look at the FX-8150,it's already gobbling down massive amounts of power on stock as it is.
That is probably more of a sign of immature 32nm work. The power consumption will probably improve by Piledriver. If it doesn't improve by then, or by the following refresh, then Bulldozer probably would be a dead end.
storm88
post Oct 14 2011, 12:21 AM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

so far, no stock of FX processor arrive. My order has been delayed, perhaps a week

lets hope when we got the invoice, the price is really lower
lex
post Oct 14 2011, 06:01 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

Overclock3D's AMD FX Bulldozer 8150 8 Core Review video...

He also talks on AMD's briefing on overclocking caveats. wink.gif

Other interesting reviews that came in late...

- PC Perspective » Reviews » AMD FX-8150 Processor Review - Can Bulldozer Unearth an AMD Victory?
- Guru3D » Hardware reviews » Processors » AMD FX 8150 - 8120 - 6100 and 4100 performance review
- HT4U.net: AMD Bulldozer FX in the full test - The lame horse
- HEXUS.net - CPU - Review - AMD FX-8150 at 4.7GHz. Does it stand tall?
- TweakTown USA Edition > Articles > CPU, APU & Chipsets > AMD FX-8150 vs. Intel i7-2600k CrossFireX HD 6970 x3 Head-to-Head

This post has been edited by lex: Oct 18 2011, 10:28 AM
LExus65
post Oct 14 2011, 08:02 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

Any FX8120 or any other lower range is being tested? I'm very interested to see how much OC potential this baby have. It seems the 32nm is kind of unmature; OC above 4ghz the power consumption increase substantially, lots of leakage it seems. Hope the lower range do not suffer from this

CPU and GPU are not in same game league, Radeon HD30xx & HD40xx success is very difficult to be duplicated in these case. GPU depends a lot of the driver. Hopefully launch of window 8 or some other workaround able to boost the per core performance for AMD.

Hopefully the next iteration will be push forward and make a good optimization to boost the per core performance.
bai1101
post Oct 14 2011, 08:10 AM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Oct 14 2011, 06:01 AM)
refer to guru3d benchmark even fx4100 still way to far at behind >< i thinks only can consider as alternative to i3 but not i5 for sure ><
Hai hope my Q6600 can last long till next year to see how amd perform (he is seriously bottleneck my 560TI ><

This post has been edited by bai1101: Oct 14 2011, 09:24 AM
billytong
post Oct 14 2011, 08:21 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(haris @ Oct 13 2011, 09:47 PM)

Price/performance? It seems Intel are better now. With i5 2500K selling just above RM600. IMO, if AMD wanna hit the price/performance mark, + given their shit power consumption, FX-8150 should have sell @ Rm500+ not RM900+.

There is simply no reason to buy AMD now, since Intel come out Sandy bridge, AMD isnt price/performance anymore. We got expensive 1100T, then the useless Llano, now bulldozer. All overpriced.

QUOTE(eddyTech03 @ Oct 13 2011, 10:28 PM)
I like the way you respond to this new AMD bulldozer. I'm also one of old AMD user. although i very very upset with the new AMD CPU, but still, i feel that, there is the hope for the AMD. I also hoping that, sales person that handling CPU selling or DIY selling, not to pushing Intel product.. smile.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

No I am hoping the salesman is telling the truth. AMD is product bad and expensive now, AMD ripping off their customer now. It is the truth.
owikh84
post Oct 14 2011, 09:02 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

U hv to agree with billytong, the FX8150 should worth RM600+/- only since its performance is not even close to 2600K & sucking more power. 8150 is more or less than a 2500K.
chaics85
post Oct 14 2011, 09:24 AM

698 posts

wonder why in guru3d comparing all the new FX's, FX8150,8120,6100,4100 all score almost the same in crysis 2 at 1920x1080 res.

means for those who wanna go for bulldozer can go for cheaper solution FX6100 & FX4100???

http://www.guru3d.com/article/amd-fx-8150-...mance-review/10
bai1101
post Oct 14 2011, 09:26 AM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

if direct convert from USD it should be around
FX-8150: Eight cores, 3.6 GHz CPU base (3.9 GHz Turbo Core, 4.2 GHz Max Turbo), RM 772 (USD 245)

FX-8120: Eight cores, 3.1 GHz CPU base (3.4 GHz Turbo Core, 4.0 GHz Max Turbo), RM 646 (USD 205)

FX-6100: Six cores, 3.3 GHz CPU base (3.6 GHz Turbo Core, 3.9 GHz Max Turbo), RM 520 (USD 165)

FX-4100: Four cores, 3.6 GHz CPU base (3.7 GHz Turbo Core, 3.8 GHz Max Turbo), RM 363 (USD 115)

But distro here selling quite expensive >< Like other say we better put hope on next version.
rav3n82
post Oct 14 2011, 09:40 AM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

I just noticed that prices (USD) for FX processors in Newegg appears higher than listed during release date. AMD shooting itself in the foot? hmm.gif

FX-8150: Eight cores, 3.6 GHz CPU base (3.9 GHz Turbo Core, 4.2 GHz Max Turbo), RM 882 (USD 279.99)

FX-8120: Eight cores, 3.1 GHz CPU base (3.4 GHz Turbo Core, 4.0 GHz Max Turbo), RM 693 (USD 219.99)

FX-6100: Six cores, 3.3 GHz CPU base (3.6 GHz Turbo Core, 3.9 GHz Max Turbo), RM 598 (USD 189.99)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList....&name=FX-Series
haris
post Oct 14 2011, 10:21 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Oct 14 2011, 08:21 AM)
Price/performance? It seems Intel are better now.  With i5 2500K selling just above RM600. IMO, if AMD wanna hit the price/performance mark, + given their shit power consumption, FX-8150 should have sell @ Rm500+ not RM900+.
Ah! taking my post out of context much?

I was replying to TristanX about incoming intel new processor arch and not comparing to the current midlle or top performing Intel processor.

Definitely AMD Bulldozer is not doing well at the moment. You can read my earlier post with 5 point underlining the current issue.

IMHO, we should look at this situation objectively without much frothing in the mouth. A non competitive AMD also means that Intel will monopolize the x86 processor market once again. Perhaps we will see another US$1000 processor soon. Perhaps than the people with mouth frothing now will sober up a little bit or probably have mouth frothing issue with Intel CPU pricing?

Anyway, the CPU market is not a charity. Hence it is not a good idea to push consumer to buy AMD when AMD is not performing. Let's not reward them (referring to AMD) when they screwed up.

1. If you (as PC enthusiast or the master geek of your community) need to buy a CPU in the short term. By all means, buy Intel. As their price and performance ratio is the best at the moment.

2. If someone ask for recommendation for short term purchase, recommend the same.

3. But a bit of education or being informative is good. Just to let people know what is the current situation with regards to Intel and AMD competition in the space. As well as letting people know the direction of AMD new Architecture (i.e. shooting for multiple core performance while not so hot on single core performance and the fusion stuff next year which should improve things).

In respond to other comment about seller being dishonest. Well nothing much we can do about that right? Seller are always selling to make quick bucks. The only defence for that is education (i.e. consumer not supposed to just walk in and buy stuff without doing any research). Hence my 3rd point above. I know that much of us here in LYN are supposed to be reference point of people around us. So do our best ler.

Cheers!
blink.gif

---
Edit: Just to say that at this point I am so damn jealous to see so many stars on other poster biggrin.gif. I am long time user of LYN myself but never being chatty so much in the forum. And just post whenever there is a reason. Like this debacle with AMD Bulldozer. I know that everyone here is being fair. And we all want to see a verry competitive and high performing CPU market. But hey, a little bit flame here and there add spice to discussion!

This post has been edited by haris: Oct 14 2011, 10:40 AM
kevink82
post Oct 14 2011, 10:43 AM

1,134 posts

Even the new x79 chipset wont be in mass production it seems most board manufacturer deem it to expensive to gather general publix interest and the additional core wont appeal most buyers.

Sandy bridge is just too good in performance and price.... in this trend intel can delay ivy bridge for at least 2 more years and still be on par with bulldozer ; ; orz
haris
post Oct 14 2011, 11:13 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(haris @ Oct 13 2011, 09:11 PM)
I think all this shouting and face palming over benchmark result is due to misunderstanding and over expectation.

1. This is like a reboot of CPU architecture for AMD. Is like 1 step of many to reposition the CPU by de emphasize FPU performance. Because at the end of the road Bulldozer architecture will become one of the Fusion. I.e more emphasis on floating point calculation on the GPU.

2. That is why AMD has 4 year roadmap. And the fusion thing should happen on next year Piledriver roadmap. It sucks this year on gaming benchmark, so much pitty for early adopters. As always!

3. Bulldozer, being the first in the roadmap also means software support is not here yet. Anand tech review bring up some thread scheduling issue on the different cores of Bulldozer with Windows 7. Which should be solved by Windows 8, next year. Support in Linux kernel should be sooner (just my opinion) since Linux is popular as server.

4. Which bring this to my next point. AMD need to "cari makan" also right? With Intel being so powerful in the main stream performance CPU market. Will be very high risk for AMD to go head to head with Intel in that particular market.  If "untung sabut" then everything is good. If "untung batu". How then? So this time around (again this is my opinion) they put a CPU that will sell good at that price to the servers market. Hedging that server market (with premium margin) will support further effort to tune the architecture for Desktop in the next iteration.

5. Untill then, looks like AMD trying to promote the Bulldozer to enthusias as over clocking friendly CPU. Really have no idea whether this is good or not. But personally I won't have some thing that hot and eats lots of electricity in my house!

So I hope what I wrote above can give you guys a better perspective. Do understand that there is a lot of disappointment (me too!). But this has to happen before AMD really can get competitive again.

Unfortunately this means it sucks to be early adopter OR it is another wait. But we have a similar wait with Phenom -> Phenom II right? So what is another year.

Cheers!
Sorry for replying my own post. Just found more technical information that might give more clues on the state of Bulldozer today. Probably this will be my last post about the matter.

Quoted from ArsTechnica user comment

A poster at
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...1-Threaded-Perfhttp://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/sho ... eaded-Perf

showed large gains in performance when disabling the second integer core in each module. This indicates that one major problem is that Windows is not efficiently assigning threads leading to cache thrashing. The review site Anandtech showed as much as a 10% performance improvement with the (still alpha) pre-release Windows 8 OS. Anand's N x N queen test also shows that Bulldozer has worse branch prediction than the previous generation (branch prediction is even more important for Bulldozer because it has a longer pipeline). Considering that AMD won't talk about branch prediction, I assume that pipeline flushing is a major problem and likely the one being corrected with piledriver. Further, the fact that piledriver is being released so soon, I believe that AMD already knew about performance problems, but instead counted on clockspeed to make up the difference until the fixed design could be released (given that major architecture changes take years to design rather than months). There have also been hints that maybe the decode unit isn't wide enough.

Anand also states that cache latencies are terrible (between 25 and 125% slower than Deneb or Sandybridge processors). Target speeds for Bulldozer were supposed to be 30% faster than Deneb. Both of these problems can be blamed on Globalfoundries poor 32nm process. Cache latencies can be inceased and clockspeeds lowered to give higher yields (AMD has already said that Globalfoundries is responsible for poor Llanos production).

It is likely that AMD saw the branch prediction (and possibly decoder) needed to be reworked, but decided that the improved clockspeed (because Bulldozer was designed to give as close to linear clockspeed performance increases instead of the tapered performance seen in Sandybridge) would be sufficient, but then a few months later (and too late to stop) they found that yields were too poor, thus a sub-par chip was launched.
Clem1982
post Oct 14 2011, 12:33 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kevink82 @ Oct 14 2011, 10:43 AM)
Even the new x79 chipset wont be in mass production it seems most board manufacturer deem it to expensive to gather general publix interest and the additional core wont appeal most buyers.

Sandy bridge is just too good in performance and price.... in this trend intel can delay ivy bridge for at least 2 more years and still be on par with bulldozer ; ; orz
Hard to say for sure, they already have the roadmap for the IB anyway so I doubt Intel will delay... besides AMD's BD actually beat the i7 on the gaming front so it won't be long for them to catch up if Intel stays stagnant

Actually the only thing preventing us from praising AMD now is the pricepoint of the new CPU... if the tech is priced similarly or lower than the i5 2500K then I'd imagine a lot of ppl interested with the 8150

115 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:21 AM