QUOTE(haris @ Oct 13 2011, 09:11 PM)
I think all this shouting and face palming over benchmark result is due to misunderstanding and over expectation.
1. This is like a reboot of CPU architecture for AMD. Is like 1 step of many to reposition the CPU by de emphasize FPU performance. Because at the end of the road Bulldozer architecture will become one of the Fusion. I.e more emphasis on floating point calculation on the GPU.
2. That is why AMD has 4 year roadmap. And the fusion thing should happen on next year Piledriver roadmap. It sucks this year on gaming benchmark, so much pitty for early adopters. As always!
3. Bulldozer, being the first in the roadmap also means software support is not here yet. Anand tech review bring up some thread scheduling issue on the different cores of Bulldozer with Windows 7. Which should be solved by Windows 8, next year. Support in Linux kernel should be sooner (just my opinion) since Linux is popular as server.
4. Which bring this to my next point. AMD need to "cari makan" also right? With Intel being so powerful in the main stream performance CPU market. Will be very high risk for AMD to go head to head with Intel in that particular market. If "untung sabut" then everything is good. If "untung batu". How then? So this time around (again this is my opinion) they put a CPU that will sell good at that price to the servers market. Hedging that server market (with premium margin) will support further effort to tune the architecture for Desktop in the next iteration.
5. Untill then, looks like AMD trying to promote the Bulldozer to enthusias as over clocking friendly CPU. Really have no idea whether this is good or not. But personally I won't have some thing that hot and eats lots of electricity in my house!
So I hope what I wrote above can give you guys a better perspective. Do understand that there is a lot of disappointment (me too!). But this has to happen before AMD really can get competitive again.
Unfortunately this means it sucks to be early adopter OR it is another wait. But we have a similar wait with Phenom -> Phenom II right? So what is another year.
Cheers!

I like the way you respond to this new AMD bulldozer. I'm also one of old AMD user. although i very very upset with the new AMD CPU, but still, i feel that, there is the hope for the AMD. I also hoping that, sales person that handling CPU selling or DIY selling, not to pushing Intel product.. 1. This is like a reboot of CPU architecture for AMD. Is like 1 step of many to reposition the CPU by de emphasize FPU performance. Because at the end of the road Bulldozer architecture will become one of the Fusion. I.e more emphasis on floating point calculation on the GPU.
2. That is why AMD has 4 year roadmap. And the fusion thing should happen on next year Piledriver roadmap. It sucks this year on gaming benchmark, so much pitty for early adopters. As always!
3. Bulldozer, being the first in the roadmap also means software support is not here yet. Anand tech review bring up some thread scheduling issue on the different cores of Bulldozer with Windows 7. Which should be solved by Windows 8, next year. Support in Linux kernel should be sooner (just my opinion) since Linux is popular as server.
4. Which bring this to my next point. AMD need to "cari makan" also right? With Intel being so powerful in the main stream performance CPU market. Will be very high risk for AMD to go head to head with Intel in that particular market. If "untung sabut" then everything is good. If "untung batu". How then? So this time around (again this is my opinion) they put a CPU that will sell good at that price to the servers market. Hedging that server market (with premium margin) will support further effort to tune the architecture for Desktop in the next iteration.
5. Untill then, looks like AMD trying to promote the Bulldozer to enthusias as over clocking friendly CPU. Really have no idea whether this is good or not. But personally I won't have some thing that hot and eats lots of electricity in my house!
So I hope what I wrote above can give you guys a better perspective. Do understand that there is a lot of disappointment (me too!). But this has to happen before AMD really can get competitive again.
Unfortunately this means it sucks to be early adopter OR it is another wait. But we have a similar wait with Phenom -> Phenom II right? So what is another year.
Cheers!
Oct 13 2011, 10:28 PM

0.0406sec