Credit Card v11

Gen-X
post Aug 21 2010, 12:03 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

On Wednesday called HLB as I can't seem to find my HLB Plat card which I have not been using since this year. Got a call today to collect the card at the branch and they even waived the fees for the replacement card. Pretty good service I must say. Too bad HLB don't have much promotion that benefits me but they gave me auto 3 years annual fees waiver and 20,000 reward points which is enough to offset the GST for 3 years since I only need 7000 points to offset GST yearly.

For people who are thinking of getting Direct Access card, my advise is to get CIMB instead as it is also free for life without condition. Last weekend was at MPH subang parade and bought some books with DA WMC, supposed to get RM5 voucher for every RM50, but the staff at MPH said that's for CIMB card holder only eventhought CIMB website ad clearly states the offer is for CIMB and DA Mastercard holders. On top of the vouchers, CIMB/DA MC also get 5% rebate until end of this year at MPH.

Click below for MPH offer with CIMB/DA

http://www.cimbbank.com.my/index.php?ch=43...k&tpt=cimb_bank
http://www.directaccess.com.my/index.php?c...087&tpt=cimb_da

QUOTE(zenquix @ Aug 20 2010, 11:18 PM)
Don't forget that the OCBC Titanium offers 5% cash back for Dining. This option is unique compared to the other cards. The utilities cash back also does not seem to infer that direct debit is required so quite easy to get rebates from those electricity and water bills.... challenge is where to pay... ^@%# merchant code
yah, you are right, do get 5% rebate for dining thumbup.gif Great for places that do not offer extra points or discount for a particular CC.

hahaha, me got no idea what the code means. I am waiting for the card and then only go clarify those codes. I guess they have to fine tune their offer and that's why haven't been marketing the Titatium card in the media.

Talking about dining, CIMB/DA gives up 10% at Starbucks everyday and on weekends at KFC and Bugger King! Click below for details.

http://www.directaccess.com.my/index.php?c...898&tpt=cimb_da
MilesAndMore
post Aug 21 2010, 12:18 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hebe87 @ Aug 20 2010, 10:54 PM)
does credit card holder(but not deposit account holder) entitle for  allianceonline banking? i was not offered this service when i sign up for cc.
Someone previously said no.

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Aug 21 2010, 12:00 AM)
Just wondering - I have a HSBC card here which has a credit guarantee from HSBC offshore (UK)  as I don't have any income or savings at all in Malaysia, would this still gain me any kind of credit rating here if I'm paying off my card in full each month, to allow me to maybe apply for a different card in the future?
Yes. It will be recorded in your CCRIS. As for allowing you to apply for a different card. The banks require you to provide your employment details too. Not exactly sure how you're going to pull that off though.

ronnie
post Aug 21 2010, 12:23 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 20 2010, 10:20 PM)
Clearly it is.
Yes. 5% cash back for any petrol station company. The maximum rebate for petrol is capped at RM30 though. What's more, just charge RM10,000 to your card in a year and they will credit an extra RM50 into your account to help you to pay for the credit card service tax  thumbup.gif
Where in the T&C says OCBC Titanium's Petrol rebate is capped at RM30 per month ?
rjb123
post Aug 21 2010, 12:46 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 21 2010, 12:18 AM)
Yes. It will be recorded in your CCRIS. As for allowing you to apply for a different card. The banks require you to provide your employment details too. Not exactly sure how you're going to pull that off though.
Hmmm, I can provide proof of income abroad but not here - and I don't have employment visa or anything so I guess it will be difficult. Anyway , will see after I've had this card for 6 months or so smile.gif
chemistry
post Aug 21 2010, 12:54 AM

3,064 posts

Here's some knowledge sharing smile.gif
Strongly recommended to get pinned. tongue.gif
MilesAndMore
post Aug 21 2010, 01:03 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 21 2010, 12:23 AM)
Where in the T&C says OCBC Titanium's Petrol rebate is capped at RM30 per month ?
We found that out through the savings calculator.

s@ni
post Aug 21 2010, 02:42 AM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 21 2010, 12:54 AM)

Here's some knowledge sharing smile.gif
Strongly recommended to get pinned. tongue.gif
nowadays shops charge consumers 1 to 5% if we pay using CC hmm.gif
hye
post Aug 21 2010, 03:03 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Aug 21 2010, 02:42 AM)
nowadays shops charge consumers 1 to 5% if we pay using CC  hmm.gif
They are not supposed to nor are you supposed to tolerate such nonsense. If got proof, do report the incident to the bank.
The problem with Malaysian consumer is that they tolerate it because they want to use credit card.
PJusa
post Aug 21 2010, 10:21 AM

2,027 posts

winner,

they really treated you bad. i would complain if i were you - call the complaints dep and make some noise esp. why on earth they made you leave.

but the card is still the best in terms of cashback. if you always hover on or above 5k spending you get 68.75 monthly cashback + points. 21,800 pts = 100 cash voucher so you end up around 1,100 cash back annually. i didnt manage to find a better deal so far.
jesse23
post Aug 21 2010, 10:38 AM

25 posts

This is really suck!
I actually applied for HSBC CC online since they r having the cashback promotion. On the same date itself, i submitted my documents to one of the officer in Puchong branch, then she said will contact me in case of anything. But she never did, I sms her asking my condition, she tak layan, call her, then she sounds very terrible, like I kacau her. WTF is this...

And a month later, today morning, I received sms from hsbc, saying my application is declined because they DID NOT heard anything from me! now this is very irritating.... Y they treat customer like shit!?
MilesAndMore
post Aug 21 2010, 10:49 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Aug 21 2010, 10:21 AM)
winner,

they really treated you bad. i would complain if i were you - call the complaints dep and make some noise esp. why on earth they made you leave.
Alliance Bank has always had this "i don't care" attitude.

QUOTE(jesse23 @ Aug 21 2010, 10:38 AM)
This is really suck!
I actually applied for HSBC CC online since they r having the cashback promotion. On the same date itself, i submitted my documents to one of the officer in Puchong branch, then she said will contact me in case of anything. But she never did, I sms her asking my condition, she tak layan, call her, then she sounds very terrible, like I kacau her. WTF is this...

QUOTE(jesse23 @ Aug 21 2010, 10:38 AM)
And a month later, today morning, I received sms from hsbc, saying my application is declined because they DID NOT heard anything from me! now this is very irritating.... Y they treat customer like shit!?
Lodge a complaint. Don't let them get away with this.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 21 2010, 10:51 AM
amalthea
post Aug 21 2010, 11:19 AM

383 posts

hello all,

i have the following cards:

citibank gold VISA
and citibank shell gold VISA

they said for co brand, u can have the same card brand i.e. VISA more than once

now i would like apply for a VISA Platinum
do i need to cancel the visa gold above?

MilesAndMore
post Aug 21 2010, 11:37 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(amalthea @ Aug 21 2010, 11:19 AM)
hello all,

citibank gold VISA
and citibank shell gold  VISA

You do not apply for the VISA Platinum. You request for an upgrade.

chemistry
post Aug 21 2010, 12:27 PM

3,064 posts

QUOTE(amalthea @ Aug 21 2010, 11:19 AM)
hello all,

citibank gold VISA
and citibank shell gold  VISA

Oh yes I also heard about that. You can't have more than one Generic card of the same type (Visa/Mastercard).
Like miles said, ask for an upgrade from the bank.
ck_tonny
post Aug 21 2010, 12:32 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Aug 20 2010, 11:18 PM)
Don't forget that the OCBC Titanium offers 5% cash back for Dining. This option is unique compared to the other cards. The utilities cash back also does not seem to infer that direct debit is required so quite easy to get rebates from those electricity and water bills.... challenge is where to pay... ^@%# merchant code
And cash rebate for dining is worldwide, not only Malaysia, I can't find any other cards can offer this.
s@ni
post Aug 21 2010, 12:41 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Aug 21 2010, 03:03 AM)
They are not supposed to nor are you supposed to tolerate such nonsense. If got proof, do report the incident to the bank.
The problem with Malaysian consumer is that they tolerate it because they want to use credit card.
and yes, i agreed. all this while, i'm using cash laugh.gif interested with OCBC Titanium, but no branch near me.. hmm.gif
zenquix
post Aug 21 2010, 12:52 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(ck_tonny @ Aug 21 2010, 12:32 PM)
And cash rebate for dining is worldwide, not only Malaysia, I can't find any other cards can offer this.
Yeah agree. MCC is controlled by Visa & Mastercard so likely it can be applied worldwide.

JJBerry
post Aug 21 2010, 12:55 PM

126 posts

Anyone have idea if HSBC Premier MC, HSBC Advance Visa Platinum and HSBC generic cc are combined credit limit or not?

winner
post Aug 21 2010, 02:25 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Aug 21 2010, 10:21 AM)
winner,

but the card is still the best in terms of cashback. if you always hover on or above 5k spending you get 68.75 monthly cashback + points. 21,800 pts = 100 cash voucher so you end up around 1,100 cash back annually. i didnt manage to find a better deal so far.
It's OK, as I had have the intention to downgrade my Alliance Privilege Banking Premium debit card to Alliance Personal Platinum debit card long ago. Reason being I hardly utilised the debit card, as I still prefer credit over debit. Also, I transferred the money to other kind of investment which could give higher returns in the short to medium term.

I do agree that Alliance's cash back per month or per year is thus far the highest in the market. I also benefited from the maximum cash back received, i.e., RM68.78 for many many months. However, if I did not spend RM5,000 per month on Alliance Platinum cc, the amount of cash back was insignificant. Further, there are not many interesting stuffs that can be redeemed under Alliance's reward programme. The points required for redemption are also rather high compared with Amex, MBB, SCB and CIMB.
ck_tonny
post Aug 21 2010, 02:43 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Aug 21 2010, 12:41 PM)
and yes, i agreed. all this while, i'm using cash  laugh.gif interested with OCBC Titanium, but no branch near me..  hmm.gif
Then just apply online, no need go to branch, they will call you to verify your application, dun worry.

126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:14 AM