124 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

lexcorp
post Aug 22 2010, 07:26 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 22 2010, 05:52 PM)
was thinking of getting a Macbook Air to replace my MacBook unibody. Major aspect is because of the weight and I dun use the optical drive much. but since getting the iPad I'm having 2nd thoughts. might not be prefect but get most of the job done anyway.
why not just get a Macbook pro 13''. even better and its more value for the money.
dvlzplayground
post Aug 22 2010, 08:33 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

who would replace a macbook with a mbp 13 because of the weight? tongue.gif
Moutzu
post Aug 22 2010, 10:18 PM

337 posts

Thx guys for your helpful feedbacks. I guess ultimately it boils down to cost-benefit consideration and also familliarity with using the softwares. Will bear all your comments when making up my decision.

Really appreciate very much.
Mackiddo
post Aug 23 2010, 12:23 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(lexcorp @ Aug 22 2010, 07:26 PM)
why not just get a Macbook pro 13''. even better and its more value for the money.
actually MacBook unibody is very similar to MacBook pro.
alexang
post Aug 23 2010, 12:52 AM

Trade Dispute
238 posts

My problem right now is, when i connect my macbook to my hp external monitor wake the computer up in closed lid mode, my internet connection is lost, and it doesn't come back unless i restart my computer.

I'm using the new airport express.

Please, how can i make it so i can connect my external monitor, use it in closed lid mode, and keep my internet connection
But it work in that scenario with the lid open.

I'm just trying/wondering how to figure out lid closed while can be connected with the wireless connection.
thanks a lot!
Ojimaru
post Aug 23 2010, 08:58 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(alexang @ Aug 23 2010, 12:52 AM)
My problem right now is, when i connect my macbook to my hp external monitor wake the computer up in closed lid mode, my internet connection is lost, and it doesn't come back unless i restart my computer.

I'm using the new airport express.

Please, how can i make it so i can connect my external monitor, use it in closed lid mode, and keep my internet connection
But it work in that scenario with the lid open.

I'm just trying/wondering how to figure out lid closed while can be connected with the wireless connection.
thanks a lot!
Unless you can find some way to hack the OS or lid sensors, the default state of the Macbook is Sleep while the lid is closed. If you don't want to have to see 2 screens, just turn the screen brightness down on the Macbook.
cRazYee
post Aug 23 2010, 11:49 AM

2,642 posts

there is one way:
connect your mac to monitor, then close the lid. Your mac will go into standby. use your mouse or keyboard to wake you computer up

open back your lid, your lid is closed
alexang
post Aug 23 2010, 11:59 AM

Trade Dispute
238 posts

ojimaru & crazyee;

yeah. currently my problems i have to open the lid while the wireless connection is connected, if i closed the lip the wireless aint work. If you do a knows, after connected with external display, you try turn up the lid it's blank.

so i just do not want to open the lid, as usual people said, closed lid still connected to wireless, but mine are not =[
Mackiddo
post Aug 23 2010, 12:04 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Aug 23 2010, 08:58 AM)
Unless you can find some way to hack the OS or lid sensors, the default state of the Macbook is Sleep while the lid is closed. If you don't want to have to see 2 screens, just turn the screen brightness down on the Macbook.
I have a program that keep the Mac osx awake even when the lid is closed. can't remember the program name. will edit this post once I get home and check the program name on my MacBook.

---------------

it's call InsomniaX

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 23 2010, 06:38 PM
kalosneri
post Aug 23 2010, 12:53 PM

75 posts

Hi everyone, just want to ask only.

Is it possible to play 3d bluray movie (ISO) using a mbp 15" 2.4, with the 3D Vision Spec? I try to play a Bluray ISO, using Win7(bootcamp), and it can play (using 3 different software). One more thing, do u guys know what application can be used to play 3d movie for Mac OS X?

This post has been edited by kalosneri: Aug 23 2010, 12:54 PM
alexang
post Aug 23 2010, 05:42 PM

Trade Dispute
238 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 23 2010, 12:04 PM)
I have a program that keep the Mac osx awake even when the lid is closed. can't remember the program name. will edit this post once I get home and check the program name on my MacBook.
thank you =]
llsphinxll
post Aug 23 2010, 06:28 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(alexang @ Aug 23 2010, 11:59 AM)
ojimaru & crazyee;

yeah. currently my problems i have to open the lid while the wireless connection is connected, if i closed the lip the wireless aint work. If you do a knows, after connected with external display, you try turn up the lid it's blank.

so i just do not want to open the lid, as usual people said, closed lid still connected to wireless, but mine are not =[
mm weird issue. wireless works fine on mine.

but wanna ask, does closing the lid of the mbp while connected to an external display prevent heat dissipation? will it increase the temp? notworthy.gif
Mackiddo
post Aug 23 2010, 06:39 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(alexang @ Aug 23 2010, 05:42 PM)
thank you =]
it's call InsomniaX
nimrod323
post Aug 23 2010, 08:32 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(kalosneri @ Aug 23 2010, 12:53 PM)
Hi everyone, just want to ask only.

Is it possible to play 3d bluray movie (ISO) using a mbp 15" 2.4, with the 3D Vision Spec?  I try to play a Bluray ISO, using Win7(bootcamp), and it can play (using 3 different software).  One more thing, do u guys know what application can be used to play 3d movie for Mac OS X?
is the mbp 3d capable in the first place? i dont think so,its s-ips and not meant for 3d playback
alexang
post Aug 23 2010, 11:28 PM

Trade Dispute
238 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 23 2010, 06:39 PM)
it's call InsomniaX
Dude, do you mind to teach me how to use for the Insomania, after I installed, how to enable the setting for lid closed while wireless connection is connected with a external display. you read the previous posts that i wrote.

coz currently I have a open a little lid while I only can connected my wireless connection with my external display.

thank you.

This post has been edited by alexang: Aug 23 2010, 11:29 PM
hins1234
post Aug 24 2010, 09:23 AM

Hey, guys...
just want to ask why my itunes unable to read chinese? is there any configuration to view chinese?
yuvanesh
post Aug 24 2010, 10:07 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

Hi guys...I need on my mbp pro...well I try Internet tethering from my iPhone..through the USB not it wasn't connecting...but through Bluetooth it connected very fast..so I didn't make it and issue but now I bought a broadband from maxis..whenever I need to connect..its coming..no network connection..is thr any solution???
Kiki-Lala
post Aug 24 2010, 10:31 AM

330 posts

hey guys,

Before I really decide to buy a MacBook Pro,as I observed it's using glossy sreen. When I played around with the MacBook Pro at Machines, the colour was vibrant and rich. But then I'm not sure whether it gives the right colour accuracy as people compared that matte screen gives better colour accuracy.

Need advice , thanks.
dvlzplayground
post Aug 24 2010, 01:19 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Aug 24 2010, 10:31 AM)
hey guys,

Before I really decide to buy a MacBook Pro,as I observed it's using glossy sreen. When I played around with the MacBook Pro at Machines, the colour was vibrant and rich. But then I'm not sure whether it gives the right colour accuracy as people compared that matte screen gives better colour accuracy.

Need advice , thanks.
quite hard to understand :S

u mean u want suggestions on whether u should go for glossy or matte? if u dun mind the extra price n longer wait, sure matte is a better option smile.gif
kalosneri
post Aug 24 2010, 03:51 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Aug 24 2010, 10:07 AM)
Hi guys...I need on my mbp pro...well I try Internet tethering from my iPhone..through the USB not it wasn't connecting...but through Bluetooth it connected very fast..so I didn't make it and issue but now I bought a broadband from maxis..whenever I need to connect..its coming..no network connection..is thr any solution???
Hi yuvanesh, have you tried to connect the modem to windows, I also having the same problem previously when I'm testing a new modem, test it using Snow Leopard, No services, but after switching to Windows, the modem works really well. BTW, what brand of the modem you bought?

Added on August 24, 2010, 3:54 pm
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Aug 23 2010, 08:32 PM)
is the mbp 3d capable in the first place? i dont think so,its s-ips and not meant for 3d playback
Hi, if you still remember, when there is still no LCD and LED TV, when people still using CRT TV, TV3 has been broadcasting a 3d movie title JAWS (the white shark that eaten people), all you need to have is the 3d spec to view the movie via your CRT TV.

This post has been edited by kalosneri: Aug 24 2010, 03:54 PM

124 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:01 AM