Hey guys, what do u all think about when is the next generation of macbook pro? 2011?
Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)
Aug 28 2010, 02:23 AM
14 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Hey guys, what do u all think about when is the next generation of macbook pro? 2011?
Aug 28 2010, 01:07 PM
7,916 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
i'd say dec 2010 - march 2011
Aug 28 2010, 05:07 PM
4,743 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: u noe EARTH ? wher all human being is there |
intel already came out with new processor already?
Aug 28 2010, 07:23 PM
1,770 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Aug 29 2010, 12:02 PM
1,200 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Just want to share my experiences using MacBook Pro (MBP) Mid-2010.
1) I have MBP 15" Core i5 (2.53GHz), Hires (1680 x 1050) 2) Got mine since June 2010 3) Updated to the latest patches and updates 4) Most of the software are stocks 5) Since I am a Unix/GNU/Linux hardcore I installed Xcode and Macports 6) Not to mentioned, I also installed GNU/Linux Slackware64 13.1 since day 1 7) OSX is running on 64 bit mode by default. How good compared to standard 32 bit mode? No comment, because, I am using 64 mode exclusively just few days owning the MBP. 8) My favorite apps is ....... Terminal. Sorry cannot help it. 9) Since OSX is Unix based, I have not much problem using it. 10) The track pad is marvelous.Very good. 11) Generally, MBP/OSX is not bad...better than average.. 12) The build quality.... TIP TOP... no complaints... accept the sharp edge at the lid opening slot. 13) GNU/Linux not fully supported for this model, but enough for me to get along as my primary multimedia/movie playback.. 14) When GNU/Linux is fully support on this hw, I'll abandon OS X What OSX lacks 1) Full GPU acceleration for movie decoding... in Mplayer term, VDPAU. 2) For VDPAU playback, I have to switch to GNU/LINUX. Why VDPAU? 3) All the decoding hardwork is done in GPU, so you will ge VERY LOW CPU utilization.... let say.... LESS than 5%... Yup.. 5% for FULL HD 1920x1080p H264 playback. Not just H264, mplayer also supports mpeg12, wmv3, divx gpu acceleration. 4) If OSX can support VDPAU... it will be perfect!!!.. 5) Aha!... one more things... there are glitch in OSX 10.6.4 which preventing HDMI audio stream not to working properly. Guess what, I able to stream audio through HDMI using GNU/Linux using cheap mini displayport -> HDMI adapter ... cost arount MYR 15-20. 6) Have to wait for 10.6.5, and hopefully Apple fixed the HDMI audio stream.... 7) I also have Toslink - 3.5mm minijack adapter, for SPDIF out. Works nicely with my iBasso D10; DAC/Headphones amp and my AVR, Yamaha RX-V361. MBP can transmit up to 96/24 natively through SPDIF. BTW, I am using GNU/Linux for full control. OSX also enough... Any comments are welcomed... Thank you. This post has been edited by bahathir: Aug 29 2010, 12:26 PM |
Aug 30 2010, 01:34 AM
443 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Hey guys, i have another question.
I'm planning on purchasing an external hard drive soon to use with my mbp. The problem is that i installed windows on my mbp via bootcamp and i am worried that there will be file formatting issues when i try to transfer files from MAC OS -> Hard drive -> Windows OS. (and vice-versa) I've read articles saying that i should first format the ext HD to FAT32 and both OS should be able to read and write files on the hard drive with no problem. With a downside that FAT32 allows a max single file size of 4GB only. Which means i cant save any file thats bigger than 4GB onto the hard drive. The articles i've read are really old. (like 2008) and i am wondering if this is still the case today. On a side note, i would also like to know if this problem(if still existent today) is present in thumbdrives as well, and if so, this would be a major problem for me in terms of sharing files with my coursemates during group assignments. Any insight is much appreciated. Thanks. |
Aug 30 2010, 01:51 AM
557 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Hi guys, I've just bought a MBP 15" from Machines in Mid Valley just now. Can I know why my download speeds are sooo slow? Around 0.2 kb/s when i m downloading firefox installer.. but when i browse the internet, its fast.. just the download is slow. I tried using my old VAIO and its downloading at 180kb/s.. what's the problem here?
Aug 30 2010, 03:20 AM
QUOTE(-|JuStIn|- @ Aug 30 2010, 01:34 AM) Hey guys, i have another question. sadly it is still the case and it's not going to change. that's just how FAT32 works, old tech then n no one has a file bigger than 4gb I'm planning on purchasing an external hard drive soon to use with my mbp. The problem is that i installed windows on my mbp via bootcamp and i am worried that there will be file formatting issues when i try to transfer files from MAC OS -> Hard drive -> Windows OS. (and vice-versa) I've read articles saying that i should first format the ext HD to FAT32 and both OS should be able to read and write files on the hard drive with no problem. With a downside that FAT32 allows a max single file size of 4GB only. Which means i cant save any file thats bigger than 4GB onto the hard drive. The articles i've read are really old. (like 2008) and i am wondering if this is still the case today. On a side note, i would also like to know if this problem(if still existent today) is present in thumbdrives as well, and if so, this would be a major problem for me in terms of sharing files with my coursemates during group assignments. Any insight is much appreciated. Thanks. probably u should just format to NTFS (no 4gb limit) and install ntfs-3g (to enable ntfs support) on ur mac. however, ntfs-3g transfer is pretty slow. personally i just use FAT32 cuz i rarely need to transfer anything bigger than 4gb. also, my thumbdrive is just 4gb heheh QUOTE(Visualize @ Aug 30 2010, 01:51 AM) Hi guys, I've just bought a MBP 15" from Machines in Mid Valley just now. Can I know why my download speeds are sooo slow? Around 0.2 kb/s when i m downloading firefox installer.. but when i browse the internet, its fast.. just the download is slow. I tried using my old VAIO and its downloading at 180kb/s.. what's the problem here? probably just firefox server. is it slow downloading everything or just firefox? |
Aug 30 2010, 08:02 AM
149 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Please welcome me to the family with MBP 13", just bought it last night at machines klcc. Everything was well except one. Now, i find the transfer rate from my sandisk usb extreme card reader to the mbp was extremely slow. I checked in the system and it register both the card and the card reader as capable of read/write at 480mbps. for the time being i'm using iphoto to import and for a 13GB raw photo, it took almost 20 mins to finish importing. everyone, this cannot be the correct transfer rate! please share your feedback. TQ! |
Aug 30 2010, 08:12 AM
1,167 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Max speed is at 480mbps, 57 megabyte per second. but overhead already 10-15% as per USB 2.0 specs. Unless you go firewire.
This post has been edited by mfitri77: Aug 30 2010, 08:12 AM |
Aug 30 2010, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(matsheikh @ Aug 30 2010, 08:02 AM) Hi, yes that's very slow. juz now i tried copying 13GB from an external drive it only took around 6 mins. of course u cannot expect 480mbps juz like how u cannot expect streamyx 2mpbs to be actually 2mbps lah Please welcome me to the family with MBP 13", just bought it last night at machines klcc. Everything was well except one. Now, i find the transfer rate from my sandisk usb extreme card reader to the mbp was extremely slow. I checked in the system and it register both the card and the card reader as capable of read/write at 480mbps. for the time being i'm using iphoto to import and for a 13GB raw photo, it took almost 20 mins to finish importing. everyone, this cannot be the correct transfer rate! please share your feedback. TQ! was there any other usb transfer going on at that time? usb transfers get slower if there's another one going on. it also depends on ur card speed though. if it's an SD card, what class is it? This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Aug 30 2010, 09:55 AM |
Aug 30 2010, 09:49 AM
561 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(matsheikh @ Aug 30 2010, 08:02 AM) Hi, 480 mbps = 480 mini-bits per second = 0.06 bytes per second?Please welcome me to the family with MBP 13", just bought it last night at machines klcc. Everything was well except one. Now, i find the transfer rate from my sandisk usb extreme card reader to the mbp was extremely slow. I checked in the system and it register both the card and the card reader as capable of read/write at 480mbps. for the time being i'm using iphoto to import and for a 13GB raw photo, it took almost 20 mins to finish importing. everyone, this cannot be the correct transfer rate! please share your feedback. TQ! or do you mean 480 Mbps = 480 Mega-bit per second = 60 Megabytes per second? or do you mean 480 MBps = 480 Mega-bytes per second? It's all in the capitalisation. |
Aug 30 2010, 09:53 AM
^ obviously he meant 480 megabits per second. that's the rated speed what ;p cap ayam card reader also they say 480Mbps
but thanks though, i forgot to divide by 8 hehe This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Aug 30 2010, 09:54 AM |
Aug 30 2010, 10:14 AM
2,642 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
Aug 30 2010, 10:29 AM
1,262 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Mars |
Aug 30 2010, 11:58 AM
557 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 30 2010, 03:20 AM) Just tried it again just now, it's downloading at 120 kb/s instead of my usual speed of 180-200kb/s.. Tried downloading other stuff also same. Seems like my download speed has been cut down by 1/3 using the MBP |
Aug 30 2010, 02:46 PM
443 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 30 2010, 03:20 AM) sadly it is still the case and it's not going to change. that's just how FAT32 works, old tech then n no one has a file bigger than 4gb I'll probably just format it to FAT32. that shouldn't affect the transfer (read/write) speed of the hard drive rite? Cause if it does make it slower than i'd better not spend so much cash for a ext HD that has firewire800 and just stick with the cheapo slower but more universal USB 2.0 probably u should just format to NTFS (no 4gb limit) and install ntfs-3g (to enable ntfs support) on ur mac. however, ntfs-3g transfer is pretty slow. personally i just use FAT32 cuz i rarely need to transfer anything bigger than 4gb. also, my thumbdrive is just 4gb heheh |
Aug 30 2010, 02:47 PM
1,496 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
hi guys, planning to try Macbook, when purchasing Macbook, what thing should i concern? buy from authrosie retailer? any grey set(AP set)? previuosly im using windows laptop, so wanna change taste
Aug 30 2010, 04:07 PM
17 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Any shop in Kuala Lumpur carrying Booq products? http://www.booqbags.com
Aug 30 2010, 04:11 PM
1,262 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Mars |
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Aug 30 2010, 03:47 PM) hi guys, planning to try Macbook, when purchasing Macbook, what thing should i concern? buy from authrosie retailer? any grey set(AP set)? previuosly im using windows laptop, so wanna change taste If you want save money, buy used from our garage sales (at your own risk)...For me i bought it online using the EDUCATIONAL PRICE (more cheaper) Im sure you will be happy and no regret with your MOVE ! |
| Change to: | 0.0207sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:56 AM |