168 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

SUSalaskanbunny
post May 30 2010, 11:44 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

i got free library membership at nus.. and i stay at yew tee... is taking mrt to dover the easiest way there? is there any bus from dover to nus? feeder bus?
Lester1987
post May 30 2010, 02:09 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(uberlebender @ May 30 2010, 03:51 AM)
Hello everyone.
Thank you all who have given useful information especially for people just starting to work in SG like me in Eunos Techpark. I can't afford to pay advance payment for rent in SG so thinking of commuting daily from JB for a while. It's GREAT to know that I can bring Malaysian bike at least while not being a PR. However, I would like to ask, how much for the Autopass card?
As far as i know, u need to pay $100 for the ERP machine, then everyday u enter Singapore, u need to pay $4.
Mackiddo
post May 30 2010, 05:01 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 30 2010, 02:09 PM)
As far as i know, u need to pay $100 for the ERP machine, then everyday u enter Singapore, u need to pay $4.
you only need to 'rent' an ERP machine if you plan to pass thru an ERP gantry. the auto pass is sgd$10 (value sgd$4) IIRC. VEP is sgd$4 per weekday 2am-5pm, 10 days free per year, public holiday free

Added on May 30, 2010, 5:08 pm
QUOTE(bonethug1212 @ May 30 2010, 12:35 AM)
Do you guys normally go to malaysia on weekends? I got an offer to work their and have one month to decide hmm.gif
i'll go in probably once or twice per month. watch cantonese movies, i cant stand the mandarin sub laugh.gif , eat, shop, chill-out, top up petrol ... but mostly on weekdays. Will be going in again tomorrow.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 30 2010, 05:08 PM
bonethug1212
post May 30 2010, 09:33 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ May 30 2010, 05:01 PM)
you only need to 'rent' an ERP machine if you plan to pass thru an ERP gantry. the auto pass is sgd$10 (value sgd$4) IIRC. VEP is sgd$4 per weekday 2am-5pm, 10 days free per year, public holiday free

i'll go in probably once or twice per month. watch cantonese movies, i cant stand the mandarin sub  laugh.gif , eat, shop, chill-out, top up petrol  ... but mostly on weekdays. Will be going in again tomorrow.
how are the girls? hmm.gif
cks2k2
post May 30 2010, 10:58 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 30 2010, 11:44 AM)
i got free library membership at nus.. and i stay at yew tee... is taking mrt to dover the easiest way there? is there any bus from dover to nus? feeder bus?
Clementi bus 96
Buona Vista bus 95

How come you get free?
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 30 2010, 11:19 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(cks2k2 @ May 30 2010, 10:58 PM)
Clementi bus 96
Buona Vista bus 95

How come you get free?
tq tq... u r very helpful.. but i thought dover is the nearest?

errr... my uni sponsors it for me cause my uni dont have a lib
nicvoo
post May 30 2010, 11:29 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(bonethug1212 @ May 30 2010, 12:35 AM)
True true, anyway with regards to my question about life in singapore, what else can be done aside from CLARKE QUAY. Do you guys normally go to malaysia on weekends? I got an offer to work their and have one month to decide hmm.gif
lol u r basing on the entertainment available to take up an offer? and no the future prospects, pay, working enviroment, goverment, etc?

whistling.gif sweat.gif
bonethug1212
post May 30 2010, 11:51 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ May 30 2010, 11:29 PM)
lol u r basing on the entertainment available to take up an offer? and no the future prospects, pay, working enviroment, goverment, etc?

whistling.gif  sweat.gif
ofcourse, no matter how good the prospects are, if I can't enjoy myself, its not worth it lol
nicvoo
post May 31 2010, 12:50 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

well then thr r alot of " not worth" jobs eg mining, oil rig, jobs in brunei middle east which hav great prospects
bonethug1212
post May 31 2010, 12:56 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ May 31 2010, 12:50 AM)
well then thr r alot of " not worth" jobs eg mining, oil rig, jobs in brunei middle east which hav great prospects
Look, I have been to Singapore only once before for a short period of time and currently I have an offer to work there. I already have an idea of what sort of job it is going to be hence why I don't need any feedback in that sense. I'm only asking what places can I enjoy my time in Singapore apart for CLARKE QUAY. Is it such a difficult question?
seantang
post May 31 2010, 06:28 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(bonethug1212 @ May 31 2010, 12:56 AM)
I'm only asking what places can I enjoy my time in Singapore apart for CLARKE QUAY. Is it such a difficult question?

Why don't you try the lonely planet page for Singapore nightlife, or the Sg tourism development board website? People may not enjoy the same things. I actually don't enjoy Clarke Quay very much. Also depends on the quality of the people you're with. If high quality, HDB kopitiam watch world cup also enjoy. If low quality, even fine wine and fine dining also get indigestion.
uberlebender
post May 31 2010, 10:12 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ May 30 2010, 05:01 PM)

Thanks! Great info! Now i can try to make a budget. Is it an option to rent an ERP machine? How much would that cost then? If u meant borrowing from others,i dun think i have ne frens who have them.

Mackiddo
post May 31 2010, 01:19 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(uberlebender @ May 31 2010, 10:12 AM)
Thanks! Great info! Now i can try to make a budget. Is it an option to rent an ERP machine? How much would that cost then? If u meant borrowing from others,i dun think i have ne frens who have them.
bike no choice, have to rent if you wanna go places that have ERP gantries. if not then you don't need to. u can't borrow as the ERP machine got it own tags, linked to the vehicle.
fine for going thru an erp gantry without a ERP machine = sgd$70 IIRC

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 31 2010, 01:20 PM
happy_pink
post May 31 2010, 02:58 PM

153 posts

anyone in biotech field?
heartbeat83
post May 31 2010, 03:18 PM

long weekend end real fast!
I took flight back to Singapore and stop by Changi Expo for Singapore Food Expo. Didn't expect there are some other event there as well.
The entire place is crowded with people!
If you like food, maybe can pay visit to Singapore Food Expo. Kind of interesting smile.gif
crapp0
post May 31 2010, 03:34 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(heartbeat83 @ May 31 2010, 03:18 PM)
long weekend end real fast!
I took flight back to Singapore and stop by Changi Expo for Singapore Food Expo. Didn't expect there are some other event there as well.
The entire place is crowded with people!
If you like food, maybe can pay visit to Singapore Food Expo. Kind of interesting smile.gif
What can do when on the average singaporean food not that nice.
Double_Ace
post May 31 2010, 04:16 PM

517 posts

Hey guys hope it is ok if i ask this question here?Ok will be going to Singapore soon to try to look around for a job i would like to know where is the cheapest 3 star hotel or some place nice and cheap i can stay for just a day?And how much you think i need to take to survive for a day for food and sightseeing?Thanks
cks2k2
post May 31 2010, 06:15 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 30 2010, 11:19 PM)
tq  tq... u r very helpful.. but i thought dover is the nearest?

errr... my uni sponsors it for me cause my uni dont have a lib
Clementi, Dover and Buona Vista MRT are all close.
Only 3 buses go into NUS, up till Central Library doorstep: 95 (BVista), 96 (Clementi) and 151 (never took before), AFAIK none go thru Dover.

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ May 31 2010, 04:16 PM)
Hey guys hope it is ok if i ask this question here?Ok will be going to Singapore soon to try to look around for a job i would like to know where is the cheapest 3 star hotel or some place nice and cheap i can stay for just a day?And how much you think i need to take to survive for a day for food and sightseeing?Thanks
Don't come into SG until you have an interview, else waste time + money.

nicvoo
post May 31 2010, 08:53 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 31 2010, 03:34 PM)
What can do when on the average singaporean food not that nice.
well weekend nuting to do ma join the crowd lo else will stay home n waste away also lol

Added on May 31, 2010, 8:59 pm
QUOTE(bonethug1212 @ May 31 2010, 12:56 AM)
Look, I have been to Singapore only once before for a short period of time and currently I have an offer to work there. I already have an idea of what sort of job it is going to be hence why I don't need any feedback in that sense. I'm only asking what places can I enjoy my time in Singapore apart for CLARKE QUAY. Is it such a difficult question?
not really a hard question jus wondering y were u basing ur job selection on the type of entertainment the place offers. anyway theres many hsopping mall at orchard, clarke quay can wonder to boat quay wonder on can go chinatown, feeling bored n lonely thrs always geylang well geylang not really happening anymore can try golden mile or orchard towers, then thrs always the 2 new casinos then sentosa island sg zoo, sg bird park sg science center, visit newater factories, go changi airport to watch the planes fly away, hortpark for nature, reservoirs, east cost park sembawang park for bbq, dempsly hill to c nice chicks, can cross over to batam n bintan, get bored of tat all can go across to johor

This post has been edited by nicvoo: May 31 2010, 08:59 PM
bonethug1212
post May 31 2010, 09:38 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ May 31 2010, 08:53 PM)
well weekend nuting to do ma join the crowd lo else will stay home n waste away also lol

Added on May 31, 2010, 8:59 pm

not really a hard question jus wondering y were u basing ur job selection on the type of entertainment the place offers. anyway theres many hsopping mall at orchard, clarke quay can wonder to boat quay wonder on can go chinatown, feeling bored n lonely thrs always geylang well geylang not really happening anymore can try golden mile or orchard towers, then thrs always the 2 new casinos then sentosa island sg zoo, sg bird park sg science center, visit newater factories, go changi airport to watch the planes fly away, hortpark for nature, reservoirs, east cost park sembawang park for bbq, dempsly hill to c nice chicks, can cross over to batam n bintan, get bored of tat all can go across to johor
thats more like it rclxms.gif wheres batam n bintan?

168 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0355sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:39 AM