Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

nicvoo
post May 11 2010, 11:35 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(evilnickwong @ May 11 2010, 02:18 PM)
Been here for about 6 months now. Working at Boon Lay Way, staying at Clementi. Rent $$$ 0_o
wah boss u came over to the dark side also hahaa

welcome bro

v3a so next one v3b? notworthy.gif
nicvoo
post May 13 2010, 12:03 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

1.8k 3 room near MRT? lol better b lucky to get 1

sean bz gua mid year liao bz period
nicvoo
post May 21 2010, 11:45 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(-SaSa- @ May 21 2010, 04:13 PM)
Pls respect others before u speak...everyone hv their own preference..just bcos u dun like Clementi doesnt mean u can criticized it  shakehead.gif
that guy's a bit off his rocker sum times mus forgive him
nicvoo
post May 30 2010, 11:29 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(bonethug1212 @ May 30 2010, 12:35 AM)
True true, anyway with regards to my question about life in singapore, what else can be done aside from CLARKE QUAY. Do you guys normally go to malaysia on weekends? I got an offer to work their and have one month to decide hmm.gif
lol u r basing on the entertainment available to take up an offer? and no the future prospects, pay, working enviroment, goverment, etc?

whistling.gif sweat.gif
nicvoo
post May 31 2010, 12:50 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

well then thr r alot of " not worth" jobs eg mining, oil rig, jobs in brunei middle east which hav great prospects
nicvoo
post May 31 2010, 08:53 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 31 2010, 03:34 PM)
What can do when on the average singaporean food not that nice.
well weekend nuting to do ma join the crowd lo else will stay home n waste away also lol

Added on May 31, 2010, 8:59 pm
QUOTE(bonethug1212 @ May 31 2010, 12:56 AM)
Look, I have been to Singapore only once before for a short period of time and currently I have an offer to work there. I already have an idea of what sort of job it is going to be hence why I don't need any feedback in that sense. I'm only asking what places can I enjoy my time in Singapore apart for CLARKE QUAY. Is it such a difficult question?
not really a hard question jus wondering y were u basing ur job selection on the type of entertainment the place offers. anyway theres many hsopping mall at orchard, clarke quay can wonder to boat quay wonder on can go chinatown, feeling bored n lonely thrs always geylang well geylang not really happening anymore can try golden mile or orchard towers, then thrs always the 2 new casinos then sentosa island sg zoo, sg bird park sg science center, visit newater factories, go changi airport to watch the planes fly away, hortpark for nature, reservoirs, east cost park sembawang park for bbq, dempsly hill to c nice chicks, can cross over to batam n bintan, get bored of tat all can go across to johor

This post has been edited by nicvoo: May 31 2010, 08:59 PM
nicvoo
post May 31 2010, 11:30 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ May 31 2010, 10:43 PM)
not entirely true. there's a lot of nice food in Sg, you just have to know where to look. Normally on my off day i'll drive around looking for nice food.
well the key word is drive

batam bintan are indo islands
nicvoo
post Jun 3 2010, 11:40 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(badzvino @ Jun 3 2010, 07:13 AM)
All sifus, need some opinion here.
What is the salary for a 1 yr experienced QS there?
Currently I got 1 job offer here RM2500, as site QS.
But I am thinking to further my career in Singapore.

Yesterday there is an agent called me, offering $2200, but its kind of tiles supplier - Polybuilding. Anyone heard this before?

Should I take it or keep waiting for another job offer? Since I am no really into supplier line, looking for developer, main-con or consultant company. I am planning to take it as a temporary job, just to set my feet in Singapore, than look for what I want. But is there any harm if I change job in few months time? I mean for my permit or whatsoever, does it affect anythg?!

Please Comment, Thanks!
hav some frens working as qs at DLS starting about 2.3k sgd n northcroft about 2.5k kpk iirc 2.4K so freshies pay around tat i guess for qs. dev i doubt u'll b able to get in main-con mayb still can but will b based at site cosultant also should b ok.

anyway to all of ya will b leaving sg for brunei will b resigning tomolo if everything goes well. nice to have meet you guys..... all the best in your career and God bless...
nicvoo
post Jun 3 2010, 11:51 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

tcss=talk c*ck sing song

tarp = trap u havent been at kopitiam thread for a long time
nicvoo
post Jun 4 2010, 12:16 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 4 2010, 12:02 AM)
Omg.. Leave sg for Brunei?! U sure?? It's such a boring country!
sg also more o less same i rarely club weekends i'm buried in work so brunei hav a huge paychk tax free n cheap cars y not
nicvoo
post Jun 6 2010, 03:40 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 4 2010, 12:31 AM)
Hmm... but it's seriously lifeless there, I couldn't even bear it staying there for 2 weeks! U work in what field? r u chinese? I can intro my brunei frens to you just in case if u need buddies to hang out with. They can bring u go drink  rolleyes.gif  brows.gif
in sg i'm getting more o less the same "boring" lifestyle trust me after a few rounds of clarke quay, orchard towers, boat quay,zouk its all the same. dont let me get started on sentosa, bird park or the zoo. go once never go back. nowadays anytime i have would be spent resting b4 the week starts getting crazy again.

yup cina working in construction your brunei frens = chicks? whistling.gif

QUOTE(reign226 @ Jun 4 2010, 12:43 AM)
Brunei is nice...near to my home in Sabah compare to Sg...currency also strong haha. If I can one day I wan to jump also.
wo0o00 sabahan high five dude, yup the other reason y brunei is tat its next to sabah. 4h+ iirc drive or 45min plane ride wo00o0o.....can be hau soon zai

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jun 4 2010, 08:56 AM)
Who said its boring, get to live expat lifestyle. Thats if you work for shell, goto either SRC or panaga country club. Plus they have alot of activities for children as well with the school just opposite the club.

Plus purchasing a car is cheap, has one of the lowest oil prices in south east asia and the main road from kuala beliat to seria is usually just a straight road so you can speed with no probs plus the roads are very well maintained within the kuala beliat - seria area since alot of shell staff are housed either in the outskirts of seria or in kuala belait.

Plus there are a couple of shell staff who have their own micro-brewery for "personal" consumption.
too bad i'm not joining shell but all the same brunei is tax free get to buy a 2nd hand accord euro for les then B$30k petrol at less then a buck per litre miri n kk not that far away for a nice weekend.

alcohol wise well unless required i dont drink so no probs thr either.

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 4 2010, 11:44 AM)
Well, Brunei is a place good for relaxing and retire life... The escalator there is 5 times slower than Singapore, ppl drive so slow on 'highway' make u feel like scolding bad words tongue.gif Their highway only 2 lanes... hahahah... But no doubt u can drive nice luxury cars like Lexus, Z4, Fairlady, VW & so on in Brunei with dirt cheap petrol price... But I think brunei is only for ppl who love slow pace life, not for ppl that enjoy working in fast pace countries and Brunei is seriously no entertainment at all, not even KTV... But another advantage is that u can save money instead of spending them off on entertainments tongue.gif
the key word is drive. u get to drive in sg drive? well it is something i dont see myself doing in the near future in sg. escalator 5 times slower? well the fact is the escalators have about 3 standard speeds so 5 times slower a bit of over statement. anyway the construction indusry in sg is a killer... benifis aint so good salary wise also nothing special so better gobrunei since they r offeirng higher better pay a better lifestyle. entertainment wise too much entertainment u will also be sick of it.

This post has been edited by nicvoo: Jun 6 2010, 03:42 PM
nicvoo
post Jun 6 2010, 06:29 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(doubleD's @ Jun 6 2010, 03:43 PM)
looking for construction job in spore.. got connection or not?
lol wat job?from the bangala who pours cement to the cleaner washing the truck to the ceo of the develper come also a construction job which job u r looking for? doh.gif doh.gif
nicvoo
post Jun 13 2010, 04:59 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

get starhub maxonline package dont need to re activate ur phone line starhub cable jus cnnect n u r up n running. but u compare the promo 1st la sum giving out laptops for certain paakgaes do some research m1 sh n st all oso hav
nicvoo
post Jun 14 2010, 10:43 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

lol what does weight got to do wif how good u r at your work?
nicvoo
post Jul 20 2010, 06:07 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

hi guys its my last day in sg haha going back kl 1st on the 8 pm flight haha all the best to you all and God Bless
nicvoo
post Aug 21 2010, 06:48 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Aug 21 2010, 06:03 PM)
Hi guys,
Wat is the nearest hypermarket (equivalent as Tesco/Carrefour) near Bedok/Tanah Merah?
Or maybe a shopping mall (like Jusco), where you can get most of the household supplies?

How big is the Bedok Shopping Complex, located nearthe Bedok Rd? Does it have a supermarket and all the other stuffs like a Jusco have?
ntuc fair price lo more of a supermarket then a shopping complex
bedok alot of shops la wan wat got wat
iirc bedok there goin to open a new shopping center soon wif cinema. not satisfied can go tampines 2 or 3 stops after bedok for 3 shoppin center there
nicvoo
post Aug 23 2010, 09:03 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Aug 23 2010, 12:42 AM)
I can't believe that you didnt ask me this question, we are colleague working in same company leh! Some more i'm in sales team, or u think I won't be able to answer u? so sad..  sad.gif

k la enough of craps, to answer ur question, I would suggest u to purchase from online store, now the shipment for iPad is only 3-5 business day, then u add another 1-2 business day for DHL to deliver it to you. Of course can claim GST, but u cannot claim it, must be someone foreigner to claim it for u. Pls, feel free to call me 1800-MY-APPLE and my ext number (give u on iCHat), i'll help u place the order.. Muahahhahaha  tongue.gif
hmm... so iphone 4 also can??
how to claim the gst?from airport also?
nicvoo
post Aug 23 2010, 01:57 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Aug 23 2010, 01:47 PM)
Yup, claim it from the airport.... iPhone 4 also can claim but must be someone not holding work permit.
o00oo0
icic
ok la wait my 1st salary out 1st haha......
nicvoo
post Sep 6 2010, 10:43 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

dunno y r u all so worked up about......u know u r a foreigner in another country you r not even a PR and u know u wanna do official business anything you wanna do bring all documents its basic common sense.

and yes you are suppose to bring ur passport along with you if u r not a PR jus tat not many ppl practice it. if you need to get into a secured facility eg. mindef, power plants, major water installations, major telecommunication posts for work u also need to bring ur passport.else u'll be denied access to the facility

This post has been edited by nicvoo: Sep 6 2010, 10:44 AM
nicvoo
post Sep 6 2010, 02:40 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(maloa @ Sep 6 2010, 01:43 PM)
right,
my colleagues who are malaysian,working here too.. entering secured facility like power plants and substations will need their passport to enter the facility too...??
scenario: power trip, oops, i forgotten to bring my passport,let me come back later since my employment pass is not a valid identification, the people stuck in the mrt train can wait. no worries..

if i am not mistaken, the employment pass id is a valid form of identification which has all the relevant details..
i go to secured data centres for official work, so far none has requested me for my passport.all i need is my id

when i am a student in nz,opening bank accounts or etc, which all i need is my student id. there is no need of carrying 2 form of identification everywhere i go.
as i said MAJOR a substation is not major. obviously u've not enters these places eg. newater treatment plants. mindef facilities, data landing stations. b4 u even start work they would hav requested for your passport particulars b4 hand. on that day itself when the works are to start u'll need your passport for verification. if the project is long term special passes would be issued.

forgot means no work lo as simple as that not their fault u forgot ma come back again when u hav it. the rest of the ppl who have can cont working

0.0628sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:18 PM