V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

West Wing
post Dec 30 2010, 10:37 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Dec 29 2010, 09:33 PM)
I wonder if civets are a natural enemies of AF as civets will never be able to up to these nests unless we provide them with the foot holds. I don't think BH swiftlets would come into any natural contact with civets.  Besides, most civets feed on fruit only sometimes opportunistically on eggs and meat.
I would encourage everyone to jump into this discussion as any little bit of information might be very useful. There is no question or opinion that can be considered irrelevant or silly for we are all here to learn.
From my own opinion, although I am not familiar with Pheromones theories and their usages, as far as I know, Civets and Swiftlets don't mixed and we do have case history on the matter above. There was one new BH having about 60 nests and all of the sudden, become "0" nest as in zero. After the poor man finding, there were a family of Civets residing in the ceiling top of the BH.
(The owner told me so)

Again, although Pheromones science isn't my field, but by suggesting it trigger my concern for fellow readers and a big red "WARNING", my sincere and true advice is don't try using any aroma using Civet Pheromones (even cats or dog or other animal other than birds of similar type) as the above case history has proven that even without the presence of civet in the BH, the smell of civet, urine or its Pheromones already create chaos in the new BH. Old successful BH is another matter and for such old BH, even the present of giant lizards, snake, rats and owls will not deter the birds from returning, only afew birds will be disappear each day. Also, they will also cause a tiny dent in the increment of nests. Once you tried any aroma on your planks, there isn't any easy way to remove the smell if it has reverse reaction on the BH other than to change your expensive planks; a very expensive mistake, I would say. Don't B a GP and try even for Free.

Listen only if you think that I make sense as I am no pheromones expert .......or follow your Doctor of Pheromones experts.

Added on December 30, 2010, 12:09 pm[quote=swift4ever,Dec 29 2010, 11:44 PM]
Anyone given any thoughts about the effect of EMF (electromagnetic field) on the breeding cycle of Afs? Are there more birds willing to breed near it with the right conditions of such BH? If proved true and it is not hazardous to health, wish we could have this for Afs too.

Added on December 30, 2010, 12:08 am

EMF create disturbance as it oscillate and ultrasonic humidifier also oscillate. .....and as far as my layman knowledge, oscillation create high pitch sound and do cause disturbance to animals. But 2 ultrasonic humidifiers sold to me as sample units are OK and swiftlets still stay and increment is good. So far so good but maybe some experts here do have different opinion on the matter forwarded by me. Oyes, someone did told me that the mist from the ultrasonic humidifier isn't safe for human being as the fine mist can carry diseases airborne, anyone care to forward their knowledge on the matter. Therefore if without any negative feedback from the forum here , I assume that these Ultrasonic Humidifiers is safe for BH .......unless someone disagree. A little experiment from me to share for anyone interested to know.

I think BH with overhead cable running near or over it isn't good for the birds as one BH with overhead cable running over it that I know isn't successful at all after 4 years and afew consultants employed, less than 50 nests .............I don't know why as I haven't seen the interior of the failed BH. Anyone care to give reason or their opinion on the matter discussed.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Dec 30 2010, 12:09 PM
Cergau
post Dec 30 2010, 12:27 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Dec 30 2010, 10:37 AM)
From my own opinion, although I am not familiar with Pheromones theories and their usages, as far as I know, Civets and Swiftlets don't mixed and we do have case history on the matter above. There was one new BH having about 60 nests and all of the sudden, become  "0" nest as in zero. After the poor man finding, there were a family of Civets residing in the ceiling top of the BH.
(The owner told me so)

I humbly too would advise care and caution on the use of civet secretions and all non AF secretions.
When I was little I recall the chicken coop being raided by a civet cat.
As TF mentioned, they go mostly for fruits, it could also mean that fruits being more abundant is their staple food and meat to round up a healthy meal.

"Again, although Pheromones science isn't my field,"
Unc WW,
I doubt anyone who has commented here is in that field.
My little knowledge are recollection from past reading,refreshed on G**gle coupled with AF specific knowledge from this forum.
We are mere layman bouncing ideas off each other and collectively we may chance upon new understanding specific to AF.
No one will have the AF-specific scientific apparatus like this group has... a lab in your BH!! Recorded observations on CCTV.
Our beneficial discussions here also explains my resistance to regulatory control of BH micros.

BTW, anyone has the latest news on the fate of the heritage BHs in Png?
aeiou228
post Dec 30 2010, 12:40 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Dec 30 2010, 12:27 PM)
BTW, anyone has the latest news on the fate of the heritage BHs in Png?
It's nothing new, just reminder from Penang PBT to existing BHs in heritage area to cease operation accordingly to 1GP within 3 years starting from 1.1.2011. Failure to comply will face maximum fine of RM50k or 2 years imprisonment.
coolandy
post Dec 30 2010, 12:52 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Dec 30 2010, 10:37 AM)
From my own opinion,...........

EMF create disturbance as it oscillate and ultrasonic humidifier also oscillate. .....and as far as my layman knowledge, oscillation create high pitch sound and do cause disturbance to animals. But 2 ultrasonic humidifiers sold to me as sample units are OK and swiftlets still stay and increment is good. So far so good but maybe some experts here do have different opinion on the matter forwarded by me. Oyes, someone did told me that the mist from the ultrasonic humidifier isn't safe for human being as the fine mist can carry diseases airborne, anyone care to forward their knowledge on the matter. Therefore if without any negative feedback from the forum here , I assume that these Ultrasonic Humidifiers is safe for BH .......unless someone disagree. A little experiment from me to share for anyone interested to know.............

Google Ultrasonic humidifier hazards and you will find something very interesting.........

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m087...n50/ai_7650971/

Ultrasonic Humidifiers May Be a Health Hazard

BOISE: Ultrasonic humidifiers that aerosolize water pose a health hazard if tap water is used in them, since minerals and other materials dissolved in the water may be released as particles small enough to be inhaled deep into the lungs.

That is the conclusion of researchers from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. V. Ross Highsmith and Charles E. Rodes from the agency's Environmental Monitoring Systems Laboratory, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, and Richard J. Hardy of Morrison-Knudsen Engineers in Boise, Idaho studied the impact on indoor air quality in Boise homes when public tap water was used with several types of humidifiers -- ultrasonic, cool-mist, and steam.

Humidifiers are frequently used in winter to alleviate symptoms caused by dry, heated air -- such as chapped lips and irritated throats and noses. Ultrasonic units use electronic transducers to propel water into the air in fine spray; "cool mist" humidifiers use a spinning rotor to drive water through a ring of staggered screens, forcing it into droplets; steam units heat water, causing it to evaporate into the air.

The researchers found that an ultrasonic humidifier run in a kitchen for only six to eight hours raised the particles concentration of the air to four times the 24-hour outdoor particle level allowable by the EPA (which has no particle standards for indoor air quality). When the ultrasonic humidifier was operated in a closed bedroom, the resulting particle concentration in the air was nearly 50 times the EPA's outdoor standard.

Compared with the ultrasonic humidifiers, the cool-mist units generated less than one-third the respirable particle concentration, and a steam unit generated no measureable increase in aerosolized fine particles. The researchers emphasized the potential for ultrasonic humidifiers (and to a lesser extent cool-mist humidifiers) to disperse into the air such harmful waterborne impurities as aluminum, asbestos, and lead.

################################################################################################################################

http://www.nytimes.com/1988/12/22/us/healt...nal-health.html

HEALTH; Personal Health
By Jane E. Brody
Published: December 22, 1988

Millions of buyers of ultrasonic humidifiers who thought they had finally found a safe and effective way to add moisture to the home in the winter heating season have something new to worry about.

Scientists at the Environmental Protection Agency have discovered that the ultrasonic machines can fill household air with tiny particles of minerals and pieces of microorganisms that can be inhaled deep into the lungs, where they may cause allergies or illness.

The potential hazard of ultrasonic humidifiers may come as a bit of a shock to those who bought the machines in the last five years because they are whisper quiet, energy-efficient, effective moisturizers that, unlike cool-mist humidifiers, did not breed harmful microorganisms and spew them into the air.

The new finding explains a number of complaints from consumers who have reported that the use of an ultrasonic humidifier produced a chronic cough or allergic symptoms in one or more household members.

The problem is especially severe when consumers use ordinary mineral-laden tap water to fill their humidifiers and when the machines are not cleaned each day to keep bacteria and molds from accumulating. Particle levels in a closed bedroom could exceed the Federal standard for particles in outdoor air by nearly 50 times, the study showed.

******************************************************************************************************

The mist is so fine that it can be inhaled deep into the lungs.......takutlah because the mist includes very fine impurities. What is the long term effect on humans? Better be safe than sorry? Would switching it off a few hours before we enter the BH helps? Bear in mind that the fine particles get suspended in the air for a considerable length of time.

Ask yourself if you want to breathe in air that has 50 times more particles concentration than outdoor air? This is JEREBU that cannot be seen but is omnipresent in Ultrasonic Humidified BHs. Don't be fooled by our eyes.

The ultrasonic humidifiers were popular in the US in the 80's and 90's but not anymore. Should we be adopting it for our BHs?

Sorry folks, I have doubts and questions but no answers. I KNOW WE SHOULDN'T BELIEVE EVERYTHING FOUND ON THE INTERNET.

This post has been edited by coolandy: Dec 30 2010, 01:23 PM
CWG
post Dec 30 2010, 01:56 PM

71 posts

I used filtered water for my Ultrasonic Humidifier to reduce the water impurities to minimum.

coolandy
post Dec 30 2010, 02:19 PM

314 posts

Not sure if filtered water is adequate because filters cannot remove the dissolved minerals. The recommended one is DISTILLED water or demineralized water.

A demineralization cartridge must be used because using distilled water is impractical & almost impossible for BHs.

This post has been edited by coolandy: Dec 30 2010, 02:20 PM
Cergau
post Dec 30 2010, 02:26 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Dec 30 2010, 12:52 PM)
The mist is so fine that it can be inhaled deep into the lungs.......takutlah because the mist includes very fine impurities. What is the long term effect on humans? Better be safe than sorry? Would switching it off a few hours before we enter the BH helps? Bear in mind that the fine particles get suspended in the air for a considerable length of time.
Wouldn't a simple mask overcome the concern?
A face mask is oxymoronic for use with humidifier in winter but for our purpose it is not.
I do not think the droplets are in molecular/nano sizes and thus can penetrate our skin and onto the blood stream.

PS
Dunno abt cosmetics, a lot has the word nano in their advertisement.
I recall a read on cancer research where gold in nano sizes injected into patient seals up the leaky blood vessels of cancer growth.
Applying waves of certain frequency will heat up the gold particles thus killing the cancer cells.
BUT...the nano gold stay in you & can proceed up you head into your brain supply & though you survive the cancer you may end up being a M'sian politician.
I dont know which is worst biggrin.gif
West Wing
post Dec 30 2010, 03:46 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Dec 30 2010, 02:19 PM)
Not sure if filtered water is adequate because filters cannot remove the dissolved minerals. The recommended one is DISTILLED water or demineralized water.

A demineralization cartridge must be used because using distilled water is impractical & almost impossible for BHs.
SO, no alternative but the chicken coop humidifier, I guess. Better safe than sorry unless producers/distributors of the Ultrasonic Humidifiers can prove them wrong. I believe that some are reading here....so, what you got to say????????

coolandy
post Dec 30 2010, 06:16 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Dec 30 2010, 02:26 PM)
Wouldn't a simple mask overcome the concern?
A face mask is oxymoronic for use with humidifier in winter but for our purpose it is not.
I do not think the droplets are in molecular/nano sizes and thus can penetrate our skin and onto the blood stream.

PS
Dunno abt cosmetics, a lot has the word nano in their advertisement.
I recall a read on cancer research where gold in nano sizes injected into patient seals up the leaky blood vessels of cancer growth.
Applying waves of certain frequency will heat up the gold particles thus killing the cancer cells.
BUT...the nano gold stay in you & can proceed up you head into your brain supply & though you survive the cancer you may end up being a M'sian  politician.
I dont know which is worst  biggrin.gif
The wearing of mask is also thought to be inadequate because the particle sizes are of 1 micron or less. It is so small that we don't feel it at all, only the effects that manifest itself after prolong exposure.

Just my 2 sen.

Added on December 31, 2010, 12:24 amStill on the subject of pheromones, insects are known to emit pheromones.

How does AF locate the insects to feed on? We know that they use sight to catch the insects but how do they locate them in the first place? Any chance that they are sensitive to the insect's odor and get attracted to the place before s feeding frenzy?

Would distilling insects to obtain their oils help? They might go crazy thinking there is food but stomach will be empty.

Just my crazy idea. Something to ponder about :-)

This post has been edited by coolandy: Dec 31 2010, 12:24 AM
xunji
post Dec 31 2010, 12:35 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Dec 30 2010, 03:46 PM)
SO, no alternative but the chicken coop humidifier, I guess. Better safe than sorry unless producers/distributors of the Ultrasonic Humidifiers can prove them wrong. I believe that some are reading here....so, what you got to say????????
anyone using high pressure misting nozzle ( common used in mamak food stall ) .

using Pb pipe for cost effective.

Car Washer Pumps
Specifications :
Water Output : 750 liters / hour
Operating Pressure : 110 bars / 1600 Psi

for 25 mist head and the mist are acceptable. i'm using these and it work well, sound compare to chicken type slightly lower if using single root type.

my advice before install please water proof the 1st floor slab . entire area which we intend to put the nozzle.
whistling.gif whistling.gif

swift4ever
post Dec 31 2010, 12:07 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Dec 30 2010, 06:16 PM)

How does AF locate the insects to feed on? We know that they use sight to catch the insects but how do they locate them in the first place? Any chance that they are sensitive to the insect's odor and get attracted to the place before s feeding frenzy?

Would distilling insects to obtain their oils help? They might go crazy thinking there is food but stomach will be empty.

Just my crazy idea. Something to ponder about :-)
AF hunts insect by opportunity rather than selective according to studies. At times, you see them hunt above other swiftlet species because of their diets specific. They find their ways to the food source like home by instinct. Correct me if I'm wrong.

On EMF, cell tower EM radiation creates hi frequency in their favor and we see success sometimes. Cable running overhead and nearby is not what I like either.

tuckfook
post Dec 31 2010, 08:31 PM

360 posts

Wishing Everyone a very Exciting and Prosperous New Year.

Forgot to add;

My heartfelt condolences to all in Penang who are being evicted from the Heritage zones. Start anew in an agricultural zone and be happy without such worries from town council.

All registered BHs in Georgetown Heritage zone will have to move in 3 years and all unregistered BHs will have to cease operations effective 1st Jan 2011.

This post has been edited by tuckfook: Dec 31 2010, 08:39 PM
West Wing
post Jan 1 2011, 12:38 PM

1,397 posts

I really don't see any R&D on the swiftlets industry and V Dept should come out with some Do and Don't for the safety of swiftlets and we, human being. A list of what are safe and aren't.......Here, is where the suppliers should have done is to send their products to the relevant authorities to approve or certified their products to be safe and effective.

What we get for the internet are all from agents promoting their products, without any scientific backup and evaluation to their safety and performances. All they are interested is $$$$$$$ sense and not cheap at all...... The perfume that I used on my body is much cheaper and thinki of it, I never use perfume at all.

What I would like and all here, I believe is for our Govt. Department to endorse some safe products for use. Right now, so many Questions with no true Answer.........

1. Is the pest killer that we used safe for human/swiftlets in such enclosed place lik BH???? I didn't use it as I am unsure if it will also kill the swiftelts.

I would like phase like" Dilulus Oleh Pihak Veterinary untok dipakai didalm rumah burung walit" or " Di jamin selamat dipakai oleh Pihak Kementrian Kesihatan"

Without such assurance, I rather sweep clean the BH and bear the bite of mites if any remaining after sweeping and I hope that the birds will bear it, too.

Remember, above are only my comments only to share.

Added on January 1, 2011, 12:51 pm
QUOTE(tuckfook @ Dec 31 2010, 08:31 PM)
Wishing Everyone a very Exciting and Prosperous New Year.
Forgot to add;

My heartfelt condolences to all in Penang who are being evicted from the Heritage zones. Start anew in an agricultural zone and be happy without such worries from town council.

All registered BHs in Georgetown Heritage zone will have to move in 3 years and all unregistered BHs will have to cease operations effective 1st Jan 2011.
Dear TF,

Pls kindly explain what is unregistered BHs as many BHs to date are still unregistered and are they going to be demolished or are you just referring to BHs @ Heritage Zones??? Is there no way out for the BHs in Haritage Zone??? No way to compromise???

As I have spoken before, the danger of building one in sensitive area is like going to a shark infested water to hunt for fish and the future smell DANGER.

... next in line on the chopping block, the Residential area?

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jan 1 2011, 12:51 PM
tuckfook
post Jan 1 2011, 10:07 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jan 1 2011, 12:38 PM)

Dear TF,

Pls kindly explain what is unregistered BHs as many BHs to date are still unregistered and are they going to be demolished or  are you just referring to BHs @ Heritage Zones??? Is there no way out for the BHs in Haritage Zone??? No way to compromise???

As I have spoken before, the danger of building one in sensitive area is like going to a shark infested water to hunt for fish and the future smell DANGER.

... next in line on the chopping block, the Residential area?
In Dec. 2005 there was a registration exercise when all BH owners were asked to register their BHs with the local council. This registration was to allow temporary licenses to be considered provided the criteria of the first GP was being followed.

Many people registered but some did not as they did not want to be found.

From 2006 onwards, many people registered late(and were accepted) and submitted their applications for a license. Some people obtained temporary licenses whilst others are still pending.

Towards the end of 2008, everything was frozen awaiting the latest 1GP.

The first GP and the latest 1GP does not allow any BHs in a gazetted residential zone. So, people with BHs in residential zones could not be registered as they were already infringing on the first GP. Now the 1GP is more specific in specifying a minimum distance a BH has to be from any residential zone. Previously the problem was with a commercial building adjacent or within a residential zone.

As far as I know, Papers so far announced enforcement on BHs in the Heritage zones but nothing about residential zones yet.

West Wing
post Jan 3 2011, 08:31 PM

1,397 posts

As a new year begin, I hope to be able of help newbizs.

How to control temperature or humidity of the BH. Do you know that temperature control unit has 2 gangs, one is normally on and the other normally off . With these 2 points, you can control your BH equipments to how to preform both ways like running the humidifier when it's warm and the heating blower start when it's cold... thus simplified and cutting cost..

This way, you can practically control you BH at the temperature you want it to be at + and - 10 degree, I guess.
coolandy
post Jan 3 2011, 08:36 PM

314 posts

WW,

In many control devices, there are terminals designated Normally ON and Normally OFF. I believe that is what you meant to fully utilized the full potential of the controller.
tuckfook
post Jan 3 2011, 08:53 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jan 3 2011, 08:31 PM)
As a new year begin, I hope to be able of help newbizs.

How to control temperature or humidity of the BH. Do you  know that temperature control unit has 2 gangs, one is normally on and the other normally off . With these 2 points, you can control your BH equipments to how to preform both ways  like running the humidifier when it's warm and the heating blower start when it's cold... thus simplified and  cutting cost..

This way, you can practically control you BH at the temperature you want it to be  at + and - 10 degree, I guess.
What causes the birds to make nests with more or less feathers ? Temperature, humidity or other factors ?

coolandy
post Jan 3 2011, 09:43 PM

314 posts

Good post tuckfook.

Some say large planks result in nest with less feathers and even illustrate the "postures" of the bird in large and small planks.

In my BH, I experimented from 2" to 5" planks. From my observations, there is no correlation between plank width and feathers in EBN. I have ebns adjacent to each other, one very clean and the other more feathers. I could be wrong and need to experiment more.

There are very clean ebns on all the sizes and feathery ones too but more often than not, a lot more clean ones than heavily-feathered ones. Having said that, a few buyers mentioned that my ebns are much cleaner than the one in the market from the same area.

Hmm, still trying to figure out why and has been bugging me for a long time to come up with a scientific explanation. Hope some sifus can shed some light on this matter.

This post has been edited by coolandy: Jan 3 2011, 11:07 PM
Tweeter
post Jan 4 2011, 10:09 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Jan 3 2011, 08:43 PM)
Good post tuckfook.

Some say large planks result in nest with less feathers and even illustrate the "postures" of the bird in large and small planks.

In my BH, I experimented from 2"  to 5" planks. From my observations, there is no correlation between plank width and feathers in EBN. I have ebns adjacent to each other, one very clean and the other more feathers. I could be wrong and need to experiment more.

There are very clean ebns on all the sizes and feathery ones too but more often than not, a lot more clean ones than heavily-feathered ones. Having said that, a few buyers mentioned that my ebns are much cleaner than the one in the market from the same area.

Hmm, still trying to figure out why and has been bugging me for a long time to come up with a scientific explanation. Hope some sifus can shed some light on this matter.
My friend just posted bird nests pictures from his two bird houses:
One is from his first bh, he built above his own house with minimal insulation as an experiment house.
Another one from his newly built bird house with very good insulation, double brick walls with foam in between, humidity is always on the high side, temperature is always on the low side.

Bird nests from the first bh which temperature is on the high side and low humidity are cracked, twisted, with many feathers.
Compared to bird nests from the other house, thick, clean and much less feathers.

See pictures in http://foofaswiftlet.blogspot.com/2010/12/blog-post_28.html

For temperature and humidity controller, plenty of them in here.
http://www.alibaba.com/trade/search?Search...roduct_en&fsb=y

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Jan 4 2011, 10:24 AM
coolandy
post Jan 4 2011, 10:41 AM

314 posts

It is true that BH with poor temps & %RH will result in poor nest (deformed, brittle, lightweight, yellowish etc) compared to those from 5* BH.

What I don't understand is adjacent nests on the same nesting plank in 5* BH, one has less feather than the other though the shape, size & color remains are the same. Maybe just poor workmanship?

Tweeter, thanks for the links.

This post has been edited by coolandy: Jan 4 2011, 10:43 AM

126 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:07 AM