4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

swift4ever
post May 12 2010, 05:50 PM

263 posts

Our ministers and all departments concerned should go to Korea to study how they are so successful in marketing their ginseng and its by-products locally or abroad. Do a write-up and tell us all how they do it so successfully so that all concerned makes no mistake about it in policy making! We've come a long way to this day in swiftlet farming without any assistance given from the Government. We show you the money and now it's time you show us a promising future we have to compete with Korea using our bird nest and our natioanal car in which you take great pride. We beat them in Badminton is one good example... flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif
swift4ever
post Oct 28 2010, 09:20 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(swiftcurrent @ Oct 27 2010, 10:43 AM)
if you can send me a pix of the cement beams then I can see if I can advise you in anyway. Cement beams are not a problem. The problem is that it takes a long time for the cement smells to go away. The birds don't like the fresh cement smell. That's why in the past they prefer pre-war shops. There are many ways to make it easier for the birds to cling to the cement beams. We can talk about that later after I have viewed those cement beams set-up.

Humidification is important. Carrying buckets of water is certainly a no-no. Everything must run automatically and without manual interference as much as possible, unless you are living in the bh  biggrin.gif

There are so many factors and you really have to identify them one by one and sort them out somehow. Every bh is different, apart from overall macros there is also a need to identify very specific problems that is unique to each bh.
So far I've heard a few BH with cement beams set-up fail to produce good result. I don't understand why cement beams can't be attached with layer thin of plank for birds to cling on to unless there is a pix to see as said. Money do fall from the sky if you're in the right place, right time and definitely, right set-up. nod.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
swift4ever
post Nov 3 2010, 09:59 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Tweeter @ Nov 3 2010, 07:06 PM)
Hi WW,

I don't think it will smell.
I was told we can choose to use either steam or heat by gas.
My advise is, don't try it! Let it dry the natural way with rain and shine in the open sky. When fungus develops, you can use EM or probably vinegar which I haven't tried yet.
swift4ever
post Dec 13 2010, 09:45 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(benchai @ Dec 12 2010, 05:00 PM)
I build in Sabah. Those in Kuching are design by me and build by Prof. Andy Yap and Calvin Chai. pls googlr  swiftlets4u .

We are all Pak. han's students and his support with Sounds , aromas and technic .
Do you think Pak Han should sell his Sounds beside aromas? icon_question.gif

swift4ever
post Dec 29 2010, 08:48 PM

263 posts

Hi Pak Ben, I've talked to Julia Ho about the ownership of land title by west Malaysian in Sarawak as suggested. Visited sites and your group's BH in Sarawak. To me, It is really eye-opening to see BH development is starting to shift into high gear in Sarawak and the result from your group's BH after all the talks and promotions about the product at the seminar and forum. Salute to your group for being unselfish to share knowledge beside birds sounds. Wish you all a very Happy New Year! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
swift4ever
post Dec 29 2010, 11:44 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Dec 29 2010, 10:10 PM)
AFs have this multi-brood character. It will try to breed as often as possible. This character is often exploited by man where the nests are removed before the eggs are laid, or nests removed with eggs and the birds will make a new nest and lay eggs as soon as possible.

The whole cycle takes a bout 4 months if left undisturbed and with the right conditions. From my shallow knowledge, there are birds that breeds seasonally and there are those that breed throughout the year. The timing can be altered slightly due to various reasons.

Tuckfook, the  use of "vaginal extracts" from domesticated pigs during your wild boar hunt demonstrates the power of pheromones. How I wish we could have this for Afs?

Another 2 sen from me. If wrong, sorrylah.
Anyone given any thoughts about the effect of EMF (electromagnetic field) on the breeding cycle of Afs? Are there more birds willing to breed near it with the right conditions of such BH? If proved true and it is not hazardous to health, wish we could have this for Afs too.

Added on December 30, 2010, 12:08 am
QUOTE(benchai @ Dec 29 2010, 11:28 PM)
Thank you for the compliments. I was in Kuching harvesting with my partner Prof. Andy Yap. Should I know that you are in Kuching would love to buy you dinner. Spoke to Julia today before departing foe Miri.

All those BH are mostly design by me and built by Yap and Calvin in Kuching as I am fully occupied in KK. All BH endorsed by Pak Han and Sounds and commissioned by Pak Han. Jim Lee and Justin Tan will come and met up with us on PHM visit and we criticize our own work this enable us to keep improving our design and technic

.In this now such a competitive environment and at times hostile and  envious smalltimers , we need that small edge to stay on the top. Our books are full I wonder why.???  Thanks to Pak Han and our group support . 6 heads is better then one.  

We enjoy what we do and get paid  handsomely for our effort .  whistling.gif
I do have big issue with the design of roving area from your group and 3 BHs so far I've visited. I feel that we really must have the edge as you said to pull the birds into nesting room on all floors with pulling sound but Pak Hen doesn't sell its pulling and any other sounds. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Dec 30 2010, 12:20 AM
swift4ever
post Dec 31 2010, 12:07 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Dec 30 2010, 06:16 PM)

How does AF locate the insects to feed on? We know that they use sight to catch the insects but how do they locate them in the first place? Any chance that they are sensitive to the insect's odor and get attracted to the place before s feeding frenzy?

Would distilling insects to obtain their oils help? They might go crazy thinking there is food but stomach will be empty.

Just my crazy idea. Something to ponder about :-)
AF hunts insect by opportunity rather than selective according to studies. At times, you see them hunt above other swiftlet species because of their diets specific. They find their ways to the food source like home by instinct. Correct me if I'm wrong.

On EMF, cell tower EM radiation creates hi frequency in their favor and we see success sometimes. Cable running overhead and nearby is not what I like either.

swift4ever
post Jan 8 2011, 09:43 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Jan 5 2011, 08:56 PM)
Wow, I did not realise that this happens in the East Coast..  How cold does it get ?

I checked my BH last night and today, my lowest tempt. was 26 c. which got to a max. of 28.5 c in the afternoon. Humidity was lowest from the middle of the night till morning, so the humidifiers were running for quite awhile. You can have 2 sets of humidifiers, one controlled by tempt. and the other by humidity. You'll find the misting will warm up the whole house very quickly as well as the opposite.

To increase temperature in your BH, store your water to be used by the humidifier in the large black poly tanks.  These tanks are to be placed on the roof top to allow for solar heating. The larger the tank the more stored heat you'll have. I use 2 x 100 gals. tanks.

To further increase the stored water tempt. use a whole coils of poly pipe exposed to the Sun for your inlet water to run through. You can increase your incoming water to over 40c. BTW heating the water also gets rid of the chlorine.

Insulate your water tanks with Rock wool or fibre wool or otherwise keep them in an area free from wind if necessary.  Get your optimum conditions by trial and error.

It is the North East wind that is much cooler and causes the ambient tempt. to drop.

I'm sure glad we do not have this problem on the West coast. Not to that extent anyway !
In my older days, I knew some use heater to heat up the water in pool/tank inside the BH as and when needed. Your way of using solar energy to heat up the water in the tanks and channeled directly into the humidifiers is the more effective way to warm up the house for sure. Incidentally, If your walls are air gaped, you can also heat up the air inbetween by mist or other ways but with more work and cost. Kudos to Tuckfook.
swift4ever
post Feb 17 2011, 10:57 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 16 2011, 01:48 PM)
Recently, I played a deadly "catch me if you can" game with a little bat in my 3 storey BH. That little bat made me climbed up and down the 3 floors repetitively and from one end to another each floor, hoping to defeat me with a fall thru LAL by enforced errors. The game lasted 30 min before the little bat lost interest to play with me and disappeared in thin air. I was lucky to survive from the game with the strongly built permanent concrete staircase with protection metal railing. Luckily my ceiling is not too high to enable me to play a fair game with that little bat.

I wonder how some BHs without permanent staircase from floor to floor and also high ceiling BH would have possibly play this type of game ?
It's deadly game indeed! Incidentally, a foreign worker dropped dead from the 4th floor at first day of work in the swiftlet farm in Bahau as reported in the news as follow:- http://mykampung.sinchew.com.my/node/131708?tid

This reminded me of my foreign worker came to clean the house the first time mistaken my birds as chickens and I've to remind him danger in the same area every time when it comes to cleaning and he learned without single accident. It's the responsibility of all BH managers to take precautionary measures to prevent BH accidents starting from the design of entry holes. Your design of inter holes is really noteworthy. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Feb 17 2011, 11:01 AM
swift4ever
post Apr 6 2011, 10:23 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Apr 6 2011, 09:53 PM)
Again Harry trying to sell Swiftlet Sound?  Is this allowed in this forum ?
Hats off to tuckfook by exposing the true identity of Hairy Crab again. rclxms.gif Shouldn't Harry register this CRAB as his trademark?

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Apr 6 2011, 10:24 PM
swift4ever
post Apr 10 2011, 11:00 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Apr 10 2011, 09:13 PM)
In my opinion, Looks to be politically motivated. If so, it'll only make matters worse   hmm.gif

In Penang, the moratorium on BHs in Georgetown was clear and yet many insisted on building new BHs. They took the risk   doh.gif

When proposed to set up an association to mediate this matter, there were very few supporters. As such, ASNI does not have 100% support  shakehead.gif

ASNI chose to confront the state government when IMHO a compromise should have been sought   doh.gif

So, we have brought this calamity upon ourselves  icon_question.gif
Have they known 3 years left to move BHs from the world heritage sites, why on earth they insisted on building new BHs there? I can't think of any good excuse other than politics and IMHO, ASNI should never be involved even without 100% support from the members.

Since increasing number of BHs suffer slow and no-growth bird populations in town and running a BH in town is no longer viable business plan, operators should take the initiatives to move to agri land with support from the state gov.

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Apr 11 2011, 12:05 AM
swift4ever
post Apr 12 2011, 11:26 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Apr 11 2011, 11:11 AM)
Yes this is correct.

Question:- Would the banks dare to borrow you 85% to build a concrete structure in the middle of no where ie agri land?

Answer: No. With failure rate of 80%, banks no way dares to borrow you a single cent. So investors have to use 100% of own CASH to construct a concrete structure in the middle of no where. Even purchase of land only lend max 70%, BLR+1.XX%.

With 80% BHs in towns latest from news I read in Johor, imagine if they try to move 80% to farmlands with 80% failure rate, you can dream of mega nightmares how much money going down the drain.

Town folks are moving to big cities to cari makan so a lot of old shoplots formally residential now abandoned and some converted to BHs. So what's the problem?

Just hope the current or future government are not so dumb, getting Smarter not Dumb and Dumber. Notwithstanding there are many dumb officers though.
Moving should be on a voluntary basis, only if you're confident and have the means to do it
with or without the assistance from the gov or private institution, Just like bro WW is taking
another step forward...

I recalled many years ago, an abondoned and deserted residential-cum-commercial center
has started calling birds to stay for good and today this place has been converted into a
swiftlet city with many smiling all the way to the banks including properties agents, swiftlet
farmers, previous residents, contractors and suppliers and etc. But the distribution of godsend
wealth do have a limitation as more and more units and lots are converted to BHs in the
center, Some earlier farmers reinvest in agri land or less congested areas as the competition
is getting so tight there....story like this is replicated in many other areas, town and resident
are moved for birds for the interest of minorities as disgusted by some and the state gov of
Penang included...

Post Nov 14, 2008
lt's really distressing to find new state government of Penang might again inherit the poor
Malaysia maintenance culture like other administrations if the upkeep of rules and regulations
of swiftlet farming in the country is any indication. Instead of continued enforcing and
reviewing the rules and regulations, they try to do away by moving all BHs out from the city.
While it seems true all farmings should not be encouraged in cities or even in places of
historical value, but the interests and welfare of farmers should be safe guarded with their BHs
existed there long before any historical value is ever considered. The natural occurrence BHs
by all means is also a part of history!

High tech farming will be in city skysraper one day as envisioned by the scientists of today....

Please take a look at what the
farming in future will be like in the below thread. I hope our future generation will not blame
us for what we do now. Critics might argue swifltets is different from conventional farming but
don't forget bird nests are also diets for human and help keep many live a good life.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/eu_netherlands_sunless_farming

swift4ever
post Apr 24 2011, 09:55 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(swiftlet4u @ Apr 23 2011, 08:13 PM)
Come and join us on the coming seminar by Pak Hendri Mulia this May, we can talk face to face whole night long with all the experienced practitioners from difference countries  ! thumbup.gif

This section makes me drool after hearing so-and-so achieved 600+ nest in 1 year in Sarawak, and so-and-so achieved 1000 nest in 1.5 years also in Sarawak? We've paid so much to drool cry.gif cry.gif (Sorry can't find a drooling smiley) Maybe Pak Hen should review the rate for those to drool again?? Not to mention all night long without a good sleep... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Apr 24 2011, 10:30 PM
swift4ever
post Apr 29 2011, 10:06 PM

263 posts

"Gentleman, it is an honor playing with you (all faithful members)..."

Some have already jumped ship(TITANIC) and every bits of music played here is too FREE to

be true.

Is this TITANIC still worthy of promotion up to this day? icon_question.gif
swift4ever
post May 4 2011, 06:45 AM

263 posts

Swiftlet held captive, soon to be set free??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qsy-Gb_FQ3U

Seeing how swftlet feed, drink/bath and nest in captivity, are you against or for it?
swift4ever
post May 8 2011, 04:41 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(swiftcurrent @ May 7 2011, 10:28 AM)
For a BH to be producing 10 Kg nests a month, you would need to produce about 30Kg of insects per day as each bird need about 5gm insects per day. So how viable is captive breeding for the purpose of producing nests? Imagine having 6000 birds flying around in a netted area with pellet blowers mimicking flying insects. It would be a sight to behold.

And of course whenever there is a constant direct human/animal contact there is always a risk of cross species viral infection like poultry farms etc.
Can't agree more. but what if the swiftlets are set free at some point in time and come back with a lot of wild AFs at the feeding hours. don't you think some if not all will stay? Any chance to cross breed and produce the nests of same quality?

Chances of contaminated food and water sources are likely for sure in captive breeding.

Added on May 8, 2011, 4:59 pm
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 7 2011, 09:12 AM)
I placed a cotton soaked with fruit fly hormone at the entrance hole.  Can attract small number of fruit flies but the flies don't seem to attract the birds .   Don't waste time on it. 

Another problem is the smell can last few days only and needs replacement frequently. Due to the design of my BH, I need to walk trough the nesting area before I can get to the top roving area to replace the cotton and this is a big No No. Instead of attracting more birds, I chase more birds away.  sweat.gif

Lesson learned: We must design a BH where we can access to every part of the BH for periodical maintenance works without passing thru nesting room.
Like you, gone through pain, sweat and tears in search for answers. Also learned that good BH should take into consideration safety precaution and maintenance works at ease. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by swift4ever: May 8 2011, 05:03 PM
swift4ever
post May 10 2011, 10:38 PM

263 posts

State admits Unesco never asked for swiftlet ban in city, so can State come up with enforceable guidelines to revive the city given time? nod.gif nod.gif

http://thestar.com.my/metro/story.asp?file...49730&sec=north

I did signed petition for swiflets keeping but don't know why someone turned against it...
swift4ever
post May 20 2011, 05:30 PM

263 posts

Bintulu town BHs play louder than Miri's when I passed thru it. We feel like 1Malaysia truly from the west. State land code and conditional of entry are definitely not. mad.gif mad.gif

This post has been edited by swift4ever: May 20 2011, 05:31 PM
swift4ever
post May 27 2011, 08:17 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(swiftletasia @ May 25 2011, 11:24 PM)
Hi Mr Gem,

Yes, letter of approval will be attach in our s n p as well as Forest Dept approval letter, it will be publish in Utusan sarawak, star and also in our website after Gawai. Correction sarawak not vet in charge but  forest dept. In west Malaysia is veterinary.This project or land owner : Lembaga ikan Malaysia, PNK. In sarawak as you know everything is different. Even  the name code for land is different. West Malaysia lawyer can't practice here but sarawakian lawyer can in west. Funny rite? So as this, Why not Vet but Forest?

For example: Mixed Zone= Non bumi or bumi can buy             
                  : NCR = Native land and not non-bumi
                  : Size we use : Points instead of sq feet. ( 100 point consider 1 acre in sarawak )

True facts    : Any person from west or foreign country cannot own a land in sarawak as it is our state law. And even setting up  company   
                      except you  are married to any sarawakian. Any person from west Malaysia cannot over stay in sarawak more then 90 days.

Our Land    : Leasehold 60 years / renewable.
                      If you had purchased the units, we will state your name to caveat the land in Land and survey office , Betong, sarawak

Your Right    : Each owner are basically own 100 % of the unit and have rights to use the walkway, processing plants wash room, enjoying the
                      garden and as well as usage of facilities; bicycles

If you have many doubts on scam ( Don't blame you as current scam-bird nest investment scheme) or whatever you think this project are too good to be true then, would you mind took your time off and come and have a look at the area, successful swiftlet house and as well as whether it is too good to believe in. Remember seeing is believing. So please do took your time off and you can drop by our PNK office which are had been there since 1977. Person in charge : Haji Sulaiman whom also the most influential politician in saratok.

My advise: if anyone who are keen and serious to invest, do call us up, arrange to see the place as well to our site office, showroom and meet our lawyer in person. We do not collect anything from you or ask you to put RM ###### . So do support in making this project a success. For me, i don't ask if i feel it is good to invest, i go and look and feel it for myself , should or not you invest. So i do hope you call us to make flight here as i got 3 ppl already seen the place today at 5pm and staying at my resort. So, mr Gem, hope you can come and have a look .
See what I mean, state land code and no overstay from west Malaysia is a strange nation we live in. Speaking of department in charge, I can understand why Forestry was hailed as right man for the job simply you can't put Veterinary or Fishery in so many caves there.

Further to our right, do we as BH owner need to contribute anything at all to the Fishery department, say, portion of nests harvested? Must we sell our nest back to the designated processing plant? at market price? There are questions still remain at large. Can you give some details by comparing this project to the ongoing project in the same area which I gathered part of the building was reserved for the Fishery department icon_question.gif ? Thanks.

swift4ever
post Jun 10 2011, 02:45 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(benchai @ Jun 10 2011, 12:39 AM)
Hahaha how many times I state that A SUCKER IS BORN EVERY MINUTE OF THE DAY.
I have pointed out the false claim of incredible result in a short time.

I have been brewing my own aroma base on Pak Han formula for past 4 years and only for my own use. I am very sure that they are helpful to settled in  the birds in new BH also served as a imprinting for young birds .

If my aroma can pull in 1400 nests in 2 years I wouldn't be bordered  to sell them and be laughing even in my sleep and at least owned 100 BHs all over south east Asia and inspecting by BH in my private jets. I wonder why this d*** head is still a struggling consultant ???? Bagger !

Oh by the way did you read about the new improved formula ??? Pls wake up readers if it's so powerful and good why do you need new formula ??.Oh there is a disclaimer !! If you complain that it is rubbish then the blame is on imitation LP HAHahaha

Added on June 10, 2011, 12:59 amDear philoswiflet  pls belief me that sound is probably the most important part in attracting swiftlets into your BH. The internal is even more important then the ext. Sound but at last the birds do get bored with even with the most effective sounds and need constant updating.

I do know few very successful BH farmers they all record and edit their own sounds and never sell any of their sounds.

Here again beware there are so many Sifu who just reproduce sounds from the shops and give them some very dangerous names and sell them for lots of money. One instant 3 very common sound were sold for 15 k in Sabah. The buyer is led to belief
That they are so powerful and must be very expensive. Sucker !

Sorry I do not have any sound for sell and If I trust you and think you genuinely need help and a sincere person I will give you sound for free. They are not super sounds but bolah pakai lah !!
On sound, can you please tell why Pak Hen changed his stand now by selling good sound to all interested, in reverse to his previous stand after the seminar last year??

If you were to give sound for free to all needed help, there might be a queue up here including me. I will also look forward to Pan Hen's 4D sound and other new inventions to come! But I am yet to see the result on aroma, maybe I can tell more given time...

“The ultimate tragedy is not the oppression and cruelty by the bad people but the silence over that by the good people.” - Martin Luther King, Jr.

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Jun 10 2011, 03:06 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0601sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:19 PM