QUOTE(orenzai @ Jul 11 2010, 06:33 PM)
Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V5, Still, NO cap 4 all unifi packages 4 now
Jul 12 2010, 04:35 AM
9,590 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: S'wak||KL||SG |
QUOTE(orenzai @ Jul 11 2010, 06:33 PM) |
Jul 12 2010, 04:44 AM
3,114 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « @air_mood says him. haha QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 12 2010, 04:35 AM) Yea la... If not i also won't post... But i don't think u can subscribe yet. They might just connected it to pv12 vdsl structure... I'm not subscribing yet... Haha... I cannot tahan use P1 Wimax at RM89 per month from the 19th floor every day ar. the line keep on dc and I'm paying so much. haha. What are you using to connect and what floor are you on then? |
Jul 12 2010, 11:25 AM
187 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Hi guys,
Pardon me as i can't browse from page to page (read a few pages but to 87 pages.. my eyes already masuk pasir).. Oh yes, i manage to get the installation for Unifi VIP5 last Saturday@Mutiara Damansara, anyway a few questions that i wanted to know (maybe some of it it's already being replied):- 1) Do the RG unit didn't come with stand? I can use the BTU/RG USB port to generate power for the extra fan (like the fan for laptop) to avoid a bit heat.. 2) I only manage to get download up to maximum 2Mbps according to IDM status, is it consider the best or not? if not how should i do about it? I've tried the speedtest.net and TM speedometer stated there can reach >60000 download but when download file only can get 1.5mbps - 1.8mbps.. 3) Now i still have my Streamyx 1Mbps, the CS Unifi told me i need to terminate the line as TM only approved 1 line per house...so i can go any TMPoint to terminate the line rite? Do i need to pay anything? Bring back anything to them? Any TMPoint number that u guys know so i can contact.. 4) I've read somewhere here mentioned that we can reset the settings as it says TM can monitor what we have dll or what so ever activities.. is it true? Have more question to ask but yet can't get time to play with the BTU and RG units... will post again when it cross my mind... thanks in advance for the replied to all. This post has been edited by Kimie: Jul 12 2010, 11:30 AM |
Jul 12 2010, 11:33 AM
877 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Kimie @ Jul 12 2010, 11:25 AM) Hi guys, I try to answer some of ur question:Pardon me as i can't browse from page to page (read a few pages but to 87 pages.. my eyes already masuk pasir).. Oh yes, i manage to get the installation for Unifi VIP5 last Saturday@Mutiara Damansara, anyway a few questions that i wanted to know (maybe some of it it's already being replied):- 1) Do the RG unit didn't come with stand? I can use the BTU/RG USB port to generate power for the extra fan (like the fan for laptop) 2) I only manage to get download up to maximum 2Mbps according to IDM status, is it consider the best or not? if not how should i do about it? I've tried to speedtest.net and TM speedometer stated there reach >60000 download 3) Now i still have my Streamyx 1Mbps, the CS Unifi told me i need to terminate the line as TM only approved 1 line per house...so i can go any TMPoint to terminate the line rite? 4) I've read somewhere here mentioned that we can reset the settings as it says TM can monitor what we have dll or what so ever activities.. is it true? Have more question to ask but yet can't get time to play with the BTU and RG units... will post again when it cross my mind... thanks in advance for the replied to all. 1. My RG unit does not come with the stand. 2. From where did u download the files? The download speed is varying depend on the location of the server. 3. I still have my previous fix line. The unifi cs give u false information. Every house can have as many line as they want as long they pay the bill. 4. This one I'm not sure which u are referring. This post has been edited by sil3ntHunt3r: Jul 12 2010, 11:35 AM |
Jul 12 2010, 11:35 AM
1,263 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Marehsia. |
QUOTE(sil3ntHunt3r @ Jul 12 2010, 11:33 AM) I try to answer some of ur question: i think Kimie means the flaw rizvanrp found..the web management thing1. My RG unit does not come with the stand. 2. From where did u download the files? The download speed is varying depend on the location of the server. 3. I still have my previous fix line. The unifi cs give u false information. Every house can have as many line as they want as long they pay the bill. MX510 have 2 fixed line in his house for his 2 x 4Mbps Streamyx account. 4. This one I'm not sure which u are referring. |
Jul 12 2010, 11:47 AM
122 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Hi guys, I got my VIP20 installed yesterday!
Anyway, I've got a couple of questions that I hope you could shed some light on: 1) Is there a special IP range for certain UniFi users? I was on a 4Mbps line before this, and would only obtain an IP address in the 218.111.* range. I only got it after complaining repeatedly and threatening TM when my connection was atrocious, though. A colleague of mine pointed out that the 218.111.* was only for VIPs, but I don't know if it's true or not. What I do know is that I had much better latency with US servers than before, which is important for work, and for gaming, of course. I can get pings of ~300ms with Oceanic servers in WoW without tunneling, but with UniFi I seem to be only getting ~500ms without tunneling and ~250ms with tunneling. 2) How much lower is the latency for local connections when comparing UniFi-to-Streamyx with Streamyx-to-Streamyx? I noticed that my connection to the US PlayStation Network (PSN) is a lot faster, but that is most likely due to the bigger pipe. However, my online Tekken 6 matches last night seemed better than usual, as there was no noticeable lag. Granted, I was playing against someone from KL, but since I'm on UniFi, perhaps I'll have better connections to others nationwide? Need to test further with Penangites and Johoreans. 3) How susceptible is the UniFi equipment to damage from power spikes and lightning strikes? For now they're behind a Belkin surge protector, but I'm thinking of putting an AVR in between, as well. Should I leave them unplugged when not in use, just in case? And is it safe to operate during a minor thunderstorm? 4) Why isn't the FDP secured better? I saw some kids opening it up with just an Allen key, who then started taking photos of the internal components. I was worried that they might be aspiring cable thieves planning their next job. Thanks in advance. |
Jul 12 2010, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(sil3ntHunt3r @ Jul 12 2010, 11:33 AM) I try to answer some of ur question: silenthunter,1. My RG unit does not come with the stand. 2. From where did u download the files? The download speed is varying depend on the location of the server. 3. I still have my previous fix line. The unifi cs give u false information. Every house can have as many line as they want as long they pay the bill. 4. This one I'm not sure which u are referring. 1. Glad that yours same with my unit, i thought that i same with my wireless router since it came from the same co. (D-Link) 2. Actually i don't know which server that i go thru.. in fact i try every single link that i found (one by one at a time) if you mentioned speedtest.net or speedometer it was KL server and Singapore server (maybe tonite i can post the image of testing) any server that you can recommend? 3. Damn it CS, screwed me believed her... anyway need to terminate my Streamyx line or not i need to pay almost RM250-00 per month.. Thanks... QUOTE(brian12988 @ Jul 12 2010, 11:35 AM) can remember...anyway you have the link so i can read again or recall the issue..Thanks... |
Jul 12 2010, 11:55 AM
997 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(Kimie @ Jul 12 2010, 11:25 AM) Hi guys, Hi there and welcome to the land of HSBB (its impressive but the novelty wears out).Pardon me as i can't browse from page to page (read a few pages but to 87 pages.. my eyes already masuk pasir).. Oh yes, i manage to get the installation for Unifi VIP5 last Saturday@Mutiara Damansara, anyway a few questions that i wanted to know (maybe some of it it's already being replied):- 1) Do the RG unit didn't come with stand? I can use the BTU/RG USB port to generate power for the extra fan (like the fan for laptop) to avoid a bit heat.. 2) I only manage to get download up to maximum 2Mbps according to IDM status, is it consider the best or not? if not how should i do about it? I've tried the speedtest.net and TM speedometer stated there can reach >60000 download but when download file only can get 1.5mbps - 1.8mbps.. 3) Now i still have my Streamyx 1Mbps, the CS Unifi told me i need to terminate the line as TM only approved 1 line per house...so i can go any TMPoint to terminate the line rite? Do i need to pay anything? Bring back anything to them? Any TMPoint number that u guys know so i can contact.. 4) I've read somewhere here mentioned that we can reset the settings as it says TM can monitor what we have dll or what so ever activities.. is it true? Have more question to ask but yet can't get time to play with the BTU and RG units... will post again when it cross my mind... thanks in advance for the replied to all. I will try to answer your questions.
Jul 12 2010, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(farkinid @ Jul 12 2010, 11:55 AM) Hi there and welcome to the land of HSBB (its impressive but the novelty wears out). farkinid,I will try to answer your questions.
1) Residential Gateway a.k.a Wireless Router, as i have this brand also it comes with stand (connect for Streamyx) anyway it same with other for this RG and no stand provided... ekekekek 2) Read about the DC++Hub but it looks like you need to share something, my problem is my network only online when i back home till next morning...i may get others angry if i'm not sharing things there beside upload... do they allowed me if want to test my dll? 3) Again i being totally screwed, i was thinking to get the Unicool plan so wanted to keep my old number but they say cannot... damn i wants to call back the CS and wallop me for cheating.. . anyway do you have the TMPoint Phone no? 4) Thanks for the info.. Thanks... This post has been edited by Kimie: Jul 12 2010, 12:42 PM |
Jul 12 2010, 01:18 PM
403 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Is anyone facing problem with the VOIP? My work for the first day after installation, but the following day no dial tone. I think is something got to do with my fiberhome.
Jul 12 2010, 01:38 PM
195 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(ayamstim @ Jul 12 2010, 11:47 AM) Hi guys, I got my VIP20 installed yesterday! 1) Yes, 110.159.x.x for Unifi home.. you can't go out of this range at the moment. I've used both 4mbps and Unifi.. and for tunneling, Unifi has way better latency for me than 4mbps Streamyx. As for latency without tunneling, this really varies from day to day and it's the same with Streamyx.Anyway, I've got a couple of questions that I hope you could shed some light on: ... Thanks in advance. ![]() For ICMP tests I average 190-210 for US servers.. mostly between 191-193ms stable for my tunneling servers. If you're getting 19x/20x ms for ICMP tests but 250ms+ ingame, this is a limitation of encapsulating WoW TCP based traffic within an encrypted SSH tunnel which is also TCP based. I've asked some tunneling providers to switch to the openvpn platform (with an unencrypted UDP based tunnel) in the past but most of them either don't care about a 20-40ms stability benefit or don't know how to setup openvpn. I've set up private game tunnels for my friends and they're much faster than the public servers which people pay for 2) For PSN downloads and stuff, its definitely the increased bandwidth. I'm not really going to go into protocol and physical comparison for base latency between Unifi FTTH and ADSL over Copper since this has been covered in the past on this thread. For local connections, expect 9-25ms+ latency on Streamyx but a stable 1-3ms on Unifi FTTH. If you want to contact other Unifiers to run tests yourself just hop onto the Unifi DC++ hub, everyone there is on the service. 3) It depends. So far, I've had a direct lightning strike to my phone line (same pole where Unifi's fiber cabling comes from) and while my telephone equipment on that copper line was damaged, the Unifi equipment was fine. I'm assuming you're safe from lightning strikes via communication cables but if it comes through your power lines.. make sure you have a surge protector/UPS on it. The DIR-615 is highly vulnerable to voltage spikes. I've been using my Unifi line in major thunderstorms without any issues (no disconnections, line quality drops or fried equipment). 4) Cause its run by TM. You should notify them about it, I don't think people would steal the fiber cabling but if the physical infrastructure is that open.. I'm sure someone could just open it up and accidentally break it. I'm guessing a person with the proper knowledge could also wire himself up to the Unifi network for free QUOTE 2) Read about the DC++Hub but it looks like you need to share something, my problem is my network only online when i back home till next morning...i may get others angry if i'm not sharing things there beside upload... do they allowed me if want to test my dll? I only expect a min 1GB share.. you don't have to constantly upload (or leave your PC on) but don't leech nonstop either. I'm not enforcing this strictly at the moment but sometimes its annoying when you see people sitting in the hub for 24 hours+ with 0 bytes shared. Many users now are just sharing random files, some people may need them. Ultimately, the purpose of the DC++ hub is to act like a local cache/distribution network in the event that there's some massive underwater cable cut or we have monthly caps implemented for international traffic. Since everybody is on a min 5/10/20 package and this a distributed network with file segmentation + multi-source downloads, you'll always be looking at 500KB/s speeds at minimum. This can't work if nobody wants to share anything This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Jul 12 2010, 01:45 PM |
Jul 12 2010, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(Kimie @ Jul 12 2010, 12:13 PM) 2) Read about the DC++Hub but it looks like you need to share something, my problem is my network only online when i back home till next morning...i may get others angry if i'm not sharing things there beside upload... do they allowed me if want to test my dll? You don't have to upload anything. Just make sure that you have something to share. So lets say your prawns is in d:\HappyTimes\, then you just tell the DC++ client that this is your shared folder and to allow access by other peopleQUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jul 12 2010, 01:38 PM) 4) Cause its run by TM. You should notify them about it, I don't think people would steal the fiber cabling but if the physical infrastructure is that open.. I'm sure someone could just open it up and accidentally break it. I'm guessing a person with the proper knowledge could also wire himself up to the Unifi network for free Hmm, free unifi yousay? But even if they have physical access to the network, they still need to go through an authentication server right? Therefore, no account, no line.QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jul 12 2010, 01:38 PM) I only expect a min 1GB share.. you don't have to constantly upload (or leave your PC on) but don't leech nonstop either. I'm not enforcing this strictly at the moment but sometimes its annoying when you see people sitting in the hub for 24 hours+ with 0 bytes shared. Many users now are just sharing random files, some people may need them. Ultimately, the purpose of the DC++ hub is to act like a local cache/distribution network in the event that there's some massive underwater cable cut or we have monthly caps implemented for international traffic. Since everybody is on a min 5/10/20 package and this a distributed network with file segmentation + multi-source downloads, you'll always be looking at 500KB/s speeds at minimum. This can't work if nobody wants to share anything Lets say I have file HappyTimes.avi which nobody else has in the hub. At the same time I'm seeding RizvanrpHappy.avi on torrent at 300KB/s. So if Kimie decides to download HappyTimes.avi from me, wouldn't his speed be approximately 250KB/s only? |
Jul 12 2010, 02:27 PM
195 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(farkinid @ Jul 12 2010, 02:19 PM) Hmm, free unifi yousay? But even if they have physical access to the network, they still need to go through an authentication server right? Therefore, no account, no line. If you have the knowledge Lets say I have file HappyTimes.avi which nobody else has in the hub. At the same time I'm seeding RizvanrpHappy.avi on torrent at 300KB/s. So if Kimie decides to download HappyTimes.avi from me, wouldn't his speed be approximately 250KB/s only? DC++ splits files into segments, when you download a file you're actually downloading chunks. I'm not entirely sure if in this situation the chunks which have already been downloaded by that other guy will be sent to Kimie from him while they're both downloading off you (much like how it is with BT). I guess we'll find out when more users join |
Jul 12 2010, 02:35 PM
270 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
can someone help?
the TM guys are at my house since 10.30am. Granted, installation took almost 3 hours. They are trying to set up the huawei and Dlink but to no avail. Reason: The LINK light on the Huawei is blinking ... so, is my acct not active yet? P/S Probably should ask them to ask online to u guys, they did try calling the rest of the world with no answers yet.... |
Jul 12 2010, 03:06 PM
rizvanrp & farkinid,
thanks for all the explanation.. about the D++Hub, i'm still noobs for this... anyway will look on that matters. so as get back to my dll max 2mbps is consider good rite for VIP5? if not i wanna call those CS to know how to solve it oh yes got a few questions again:- 1) Anyway Riz, referring to your web management, can i know the purpose of it? can't find the link to read it again 2) Can i change my password for Streamyx Zone? Thanks guys... |
Jul 12 2010, 03:54 PM
122 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 1) Hmm... I wonder what IP range our PM is on. The contractor who installed my UniFi had to rush to the PM's house in Putrajaya to settle some issues. Should've asked him if he knew anything. Now I wish I had tested tunneling on my 4Mbps connection to see if I could've gotten ~150ms ingame. I guess there's not much I can do about my latency without tunneling since we're still relying on the same TM backbone. I think I got the same average, I'll have to run the ICMP tests again once I get home to confirm. Would you say that 250ms ingame is the best latency obtainable in my situation if I only had access to free/inexpensive public tunneling servers? 2) Yeah, I'm looking forward to joining the DC++ community, but I'll need to wait until I have a proper or dedicated system for it. I definitely can't use my office notebook. If I use my wife's aging notebook I might end up destroying her HDD. 3) That's right, the fibreoptic cables in my apartment aren't exposed to lightning strikes as I believe they're all underground and not running along the poles. There's also no need to worry about copper phonelines anymore as they're no longer in use. The one thing I'm worried about most is the fragile DIR-615. Hopefully the electrical earthing system in my apartment is functioning as optimally as my surge protector is reporting it to be. 4) Not only that, but the contractor in charge of fixing the housing for the cable running up from the FDP to my FTP didn't even finish the job properly. About 5m of the cable is exposed and at the mercy of the elements, animals, kids with scissors, etc. Yeah, my thoughts exactly. Luckily there's only one person I know of with the proper knowledge. I know who to look for if my bill goes through the roof. |
Jul 12 2010, 04:38 PM
1,473 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Jupiter |
any closest Unifi user mind to let me pull a long long ethernet cable from my house to ur terminate unit?
haha, just a stupidity joke, very very expensive and cable transmission signal already drop to 0% liao, haha sigh, I want Unifi..... This post has been edited by squall0833: Jul 12 2010, 04:40 PM |
Jul 12 2010, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(squall0833 @ Jul 12 2010, 04:38 PM) any closest Unifi user mind to let me pull a long long ethernet cable from my house to ur terminate unit? Can can... but Cat6 limit is about 100m. So how far you want to pull?haha, just a stupidity joke, very very expensive and cable transmission signal already drop to 0% liao, haha sigh, I want Unifi..... |
Jul 12 2010, 06:40 PM
877 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
![]() |
Jul 12 2010, 08:30 PM
122 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(mamakap @ Jul 12 2010, 01:18 PM) Is anyone facing problem with the VOIP? My work for the first day after installation, but the following day no dial tone. I think is something got to do with my fiberhome. we know from this forum a few people having Voip problem. Pls check a few pages back. Normally, try to off everything for 30 sec and swith it back on, it helps a few people, don't know if it help yours |
| Change to: | 0.0669sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:52 PM |