Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V5, Still, NO cap 4 all unifi packages 4 now

orenzai
post Jul 1 2010, 07:43 PM

3,114 posts

Hello people, I have a decision to make here. I am currently living in Setapak area and the Unifi just arrived here with TM people promoting at my college just now.

Problem here is, I just registered Cool Uni 2 days ago and am living in a new condo where I am still waiting for the ports. I have 4 housemates and my question is whether or not I should continue to wait for the Cool Uni with 4mb (if the copper lines here support) and have an uncapped bandwidth OR I subscribe for the more expensive 10VIP Unifi with bandwidth.

I haven't read a lot about the UniFi, but is it worth the bandwidth cap sacrifice and better quality? I wanna know if UniFi really promises the consistency and speed it offers? Or should I just use the 4mb Cool Uni pack?

One thing to take into consideration is that there are 4 users in my house.

I am having a tough time making this decision here. Please help me out. Thanks!! biggrin.gif
orenzai
post Jul 1 2010, 10:54 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Jul 1 2010, 07:52 PM)
@orenzai

90gb / 30 / 5 = each person can only download 600mb data / day
or it will be the same if you're on 1mb streamyx.

Do you like it or not?

What if you got a 24/7 BT housemate?
Bandwidth-wise, it can be adjusted among my friends. I talked to them about it. They say that it wont be a problem. We'll only download when its approaching end of the month and we still have bandwidth. Nobody is using BT btw. I download using RS premium.

QUOTE(sailou @ Jul 1 2010, 08:09 PM)
Bro, i'm in Danau Kota here. Applied 4mb 2 months ago and they just told me yesterday port is full around Setapak, Gombak to Sg. Buloh. I have a hunch you will have the same problem as mine. Getting a Unifi 5mb is not a solution too if they are enforcing the 10% cap. You and your housemates can kill each other over the bandwiths.
What exactly is the 10% cap all about? You mean as in 10% of the users now are already reporting of the bandwidth cap?

What I'm pondering about is how consistent is the 10mb? and pbc06 said that the RS speeds are slower than the normal streamyx? What about international sites like BBC and etc? Latency-wise?

I have tonnes of questions that those resellers cannot answer me. Yet, I know so little about this UniFi. Thank you so much for the info notworthy.gif
orenzai
post Jul 2 2010, 01:19 AM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(calvin92 @ Jul 2 2010, 12:53 AM)
actually i don understand how can u torrent 24/7 cos once u download wat u want that it. why download more?

also abit of bandwidth management will go very far such as sharing the shows like Lost, bones and so on with housemates.
Yeah thats why its kinda enough for us to use. Just that the reliability of unifi seems to be not stable. So should I get that or just use the cool uni pack and get a netbook with it. The reseller told me that Cooluni cannot switch over to unifi.
orenzai
post Jul 2 2010, 10:47 AM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 2 2010, 03:05 AM)
What stability issue are you talking about?

First thing you should do is follow Riv's guide to use your own router. With the crappy dir-615 out of the way, then you can do some actual testing. So we can b**** about stability, but at the end of the day we all know that default router is unreliable to do any proper assessment of unifi.

I can get 1.1 Mb/s dl and ul max.

When torrenting, this is not a surety because it really depends on seeds.

I tested speeds on what.cd private torrent tracker and i can get the full speed. I even managed to get max speed on demonoid which is kinda like a private tracker but not quite. Basically for torrent downloads, if it's well seeded, yes you will max out, if not, then no.

Right now i'm downloading a torrent and it fluctuates between 300 kb/s to 1 Mb/s but this is nothing to do with Unifi stability :/ (especially since i am not using their shitty router, mines an ESR-9850)

Using Jdownloader to download megaupload sources using a premium account, i can max out using 4 connections.
Mirc download via xdcc bots does not seem to be throttled. When downloading from a xdcc bot on 4mb streamyx i only got like 10-30 kb/s but on unifi i get the full 200-400 kb/s from the same bot. If you are wondering why that isn't near the 10mbps broadband speed, that is because mirc xdcc bots usually have lower upload caps then if you downloaded from torrent or direct download most of the time. Anyway my example is just to show there is no throttling active for mirc as of yet.
Currently i am satisfied with the dl/ul speed i am getting right now, although 10mb broadband should be hard capped @ 1.2 Mb/s, but the max i've seen is 1.1 Mb/s. They really should hard cap at the promised speed, and not just slightly below it like they always do :/ Maybe Riv can explain why it is like this.
As for IPTV, it streams fine with no stutter when using my Homeplug as i don't want long dangling rj45 ethernet cables stretching around the house.

Does fax work? Not that i have seen.
Iphone need a physical wire from the modem directly to it. So if you want to put the iphone in the living room, and the router in another room, you will have a small ugly wire dangling on the floor, can't be helped. Iphone wiring is the only part i didn't particularly like.
my 10 mb is being shared between 5 devices and there seems to be enough bandiwidth going around for computer users. I'm a downloader and the other users are mostly surfers. I segregated the bandwidth allocation to 8mb and 2mb. 2mb is used by all other devices, and mine uses 8 mb minimum reserved bandwidth.

I just give my setup as an example. If you want a bigger pie for bandwidth allocation, then you'd have to go for 20mb so more bandwidth to go around.
For web hosting, all unifi packages are fine since the uploads are same speed as the downloads. You can visit my website to see how it is like. I have some downloads available for the time being for testing web hosting speed, however i already setup a QOS to limit the upload for it doh.gif
http://mognet.no-ip.info
The only thing that could ruin unifi right now is cap if it ever gets enforced. Right now it hasn't yet :/

My usage for July has reached 152gb but no sign of any throttling so far doh.gif
@blacktrix

If you already followed Riv's guide and it still does not work, i suggest you pm Riv for help. I'm using my own router and it works. My router doesn't even have any vlan sort of capability (not that i know anyway).
@calvin92

24/7 torrenting isn't really the issue, although i wouldn't recommend using the default dir-615 for torrents as it wouldn't last for 24/7 torrent sessions  laugh.gif  What matters is the monthly bandwidth for dl/ul. Right now it isn't capped, but when it is, then people will start to cry. Especially when your sharing that pie of bandwidth with other users on your network.

The reason they leave on torrent 24/7 is usually because they are seeding. If your a member of a private torrent tracker, keeping your dl/ul ratio to an acceptable level by seeding is very important. Not to say there aren't people who literally download 24/7, but seeding is usually the reason and very important need for 24/7 torrenting.
Hello there, smile.gif stability as in the fluctuations of speed and the latency to international servers and stuff. Coz that is the only reason I will be taking UniFi over the Cooluni pack. I was stable and low latency. And I have a WR54GL here. Can be used as wireless access point and divide the bandiwidth through there right? Its flashed to DD-WRT btw.

I read a few pages back everybody say the speed sometimes fast sometimes slow eh. haha. Any users reporting from RS premium account?
orenzai
post Jul 2 2010, 05:45 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 2 2010, 01:32 PM)
Hmm... Wangsa Maju in Q3 covers until which part??? Does it covers PV12, Danau Kota area??? Streamyx port full full... hoping to get unifi as alternatives.
hey bro, I'm from PV12 too smile.gif
orenzai
post Jul 2 2010, 07:06 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 2 2010, 02:45 PM)
@orenzai

Sup yo  nod.gif

Not sure why they say that.

For torrent the result can fluctuate based on seed. I confirmed that for well seeded torrents at least, you can reach 1 to 1.1 Mb/s for sure (assuming you don't use dir-615 router, and that your router is good for torrent. The one i used was ESR-9850)

Direct download like megaupload premium using Jdownloader with 4 connections, or a normal download link using Internet Download Manager with 4 or more connections, i can confirm you get 1 to 1.1 Mb/s max and it's pretty constant.
The only time my Unifi was unstable was a few weeks back when the Unifi center had some issue so they were doing some corrective maintenance. But that problem only lasted a few days before everything went back to normal. Never had that problem after that one time.

Regarding your router i am not too sure bro. DD-WRT i read, the qos for bandwidth allocation isn't so great. Tomato teddy bear i hear does a much better job for QOS bandwidth allocation if you want to go down the router third party firmware route. I would think that the Asus RT-N16 would be your best bet. It cost around RM300 ish if i recall right, if you order from Hongkong.

I never used DD-WRT or Tomato before, but i did read a lot about them before i made my new router purchase  cool.gif
Riv also pointed out to me that speedtest.net and the tmnut speedometer aren't so reliable to test your speed. That is why i use direct download and torrent to assess it  nod.gif
@pbc06

Are you using RS/MU free user download??? If that is the case yes the speed is crappy. There is a reason why there is a premium package for RS/Mu, although you rarely feel any speed limitations on 2-4mb, but as you go to a higher speed, you will see that your speed doesn't necessarily go higher unless your on a premium account.

Free users should only can expect like 300 Kb/s or less tops. Free packages for those services have a speed cap from what i have seen. When using Mu PREMIUM i can confirm you will get the full speed. RS i don't know since i don't own a premium account for it. So the moral of the story, if you don't want to pay for premium account, just go with 5mb Unifi which should sufficiently cover the speed cap for free user rs/mu download speeds. 10mb and 20mb you won't see any benefit for free user rs/mu unless you get premium accounts.

Added on July 2, 2010, 3:09 pm

Give them hell  notworthy.gif
Thanks for the feedback. I hope they will improve on the stability. Now I just have to cancel off my Cooluni registration that I registered 5 days ago. biggrin.gif Its still on waiting list though smile.gif
orenzai
post Jul 2 2010, 07:31 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Jul 2 2010, 07:26 PM)
You are not getting your 4mb line. Trust me. I applied and waited for 2 months before they finally tell me no more port for 4mb.
thats enough to make me straight away switch to unifi O.o
orenzai
post Jul 3 2010, 03:13 AM

3,114 posts

haha wow. Better hope it will be consistent even at night when there are lots of users
orenzai
post Jul 3 2010, 01:17 PM

3,114 posts

IPTV can use computer to watch? The brochure there say that the stb has to be connected to a tv.
orenzai
post Jul 3 2010, 01:39 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(rizfield @ Jul 3 2010, 01:35 PM)
if not mistaken, back then, riz managed to view the iptv on pc, now cannot anymore.. must use tv to watch oni..
So basically I have to buy a tv just for the iptv? monitors can?
orenzai
post Jul 4 2010, 05:55 PM

3,114 posts

Wow, I've long been out of the torrenting business and I never knew there was such a thing. Thanks prasys for the info. Haha. If it really works out that way then TM happy, we also happy biggrin.gif
orenzai
post Jul 5 2010, 01:21 AM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(vivre @ Jul 5 2010, 12:15 AM)
Good job bro!

Get it done as I will be soon joining you guys!! biggrin.gif

(haha, padahal cabinet unifi baru jer naik.. lol)
I coming too!!! icon_idea.gif
orenzai
post Jul 5 2010, 06:45 PM

3,114 posts

Anyone knows what is wrong with their CS?I tried:

All of them are engaged and busy. This has happened since last thursday. So irritated as my handphone bill will rise sky high if I have to keep on calling!!!
orenzai
post Jul 5 2010, 07:11 PM

3,114 posts

rclxms.gif thanks *************** you solved my problem. Now my questions about Unifi is answered. Just that my streamyx application still cannot cancel coz cannot get through to TM!!

Oh and btw, just to let you guys know. VIP10 to BIZ5 is a downgrade even though the price is the same :S
orenzai
post Jul 5 2010, 09:58 PM

3,114 posts

haha as in if I subscribe VIP10 and then the bandwidth cap is implemented, I wanna switch over to biz5, it will be considered a downgrade even though the price is the same. smile.gif
orenzai
post Jul 11 2010, 06:33 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 10 2010, 02:00 PM)
Wee... TM Contractor Team Spotted digging inside Danau Kota PV12 Compound~~~ Black black cablesssssss~~~
drool.gif Are you sure???? I just went to submit my registration at the KL sentral's booth. I hope I will get it!!!
orenzai
post Jul 11 2010, 08:18 PM

3,114 posts

nope. less than that. We dont know how much will vip20's speed be after the cap. but vip5 will be capped at 250kbps
orenzai
post Jul 12 2010, 04:44 AM

3,114 posts

@air_mood says him. haha

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 12 2010, 04:35 AM)
Yea la... If not i also won't post... But i don't think u can subscribe yet. They might just connected it to pv12 vdsl structure... I'm not subscribing yet... Haha...
I cannot tahan use P1 Wimax at RM89 per month from the 19th floor every day ar. the line keep on dc and I'm paying so much. haha. What are you using to connect and what floor are you on then?
orenzai
post Jul 15 2010, 05:35 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 15 2010, 02:45 PM)
Woohoo... There's a UniFi Booth below PV12 alrdy!!!! Can apply liao!~~~ happyyyy... Time to escape from 3G Broadband!!~~~
WOOO icon_rolleyes.gif I saw the booth at 1pm and then got the registration form. Just now 5.20pm, they already close booth. Luckily I managed to pass them the form. biggrin.gif no more wimax disconnections!!!
orenzai
post Jul 15 2010, 10:28 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 15 2010, 05:57 PM)
I hate them... They closed the booth... I'm just discussed with my housemates and just to go down to apply then tak nampak org dah... Idiotsssss
I manage to get the resellers number if you wan. Also, he told me that they might or might not come back again tmr. The person in charge said to "see the response" then decide. heh

Added on July 15, 2010, 10:28 pmoh btw, the person told me to let 2 weeks for the unifi application to process. within that 2 week, who will call me up?

This post has been edited by orenzai: Jul 15 2010, 10:28 PM

0.0538sec    1.14    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:33 AM