10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V5, Still, NO cap 4 all unifi packages 4 now

rizvanrp
post May 2 2010, 06:57 PM

195 posts

No, don't flash to DD-WRT if you want to keep your IPTV. Currently for the G1 hardware using dd-wrt D1/D2 firmware there's no way to separate the back ports into individual ones to bridge with the IPTV vlan using dd-wrt alone (that I know of).. hence no IPTV support. Everything works fine except for IPTV though.

QUOTE(*********** @ May 2 2010, 03:46 AM)
Hello.

I'd like to ask some questions.

1. At the rear of  my BTU unit, there are 3 LAN ports, 1 USB slot and 1 Console port available. For what and how can I use them?

2. At the rear of my STB, there's a USB slot. For what and how can I use them?

Thanx.
1. USB port on Fiberhome unit is for external battery power supply, don't wire a USB device into it. Console port is for Fiberhome firmware administration, use a Cisco console cable or any other rj45-r232 converter with yost wiring standard @ 9600baud with no hardware flow control to access it. Nothing much you can do there though, all data communication is performed over the fiber optic cabling. As for the LAN ports, you can only use 1 at a time. It carries 2 VLAN tags (500 & 600) meant for your DIR-615 router to separate for internet & iptv connectivity. You can only use one of these ports at a time and it can only be wired into the WAN port on the DIR-615 router. You can't plug a PC in there and another into the DIR-615 LAN ports and expect them to communicate -- will not happen.

2. STB has two USB ports, one at the rear and one under a rubber connector on the side. Can't use them for anything that I know of at the moment.

3. USB port that's usable is on the DIR-615 modem.. use it + Dlink shareport software to share a USB device over your network.
rizvanrp
post May 3 2010, 08:26 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Something Else @ May 3 2010, 07:14 PM)
Anybody knows when taman megah, near ss2 will have unifi? I heard that Damansara Jaya area already has unifi. Is this true?
First guy to sign up in DJ over here brows.gif Had it since the end of March
rizvanrp
post May 3 2010, 10:10 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Something Else @ May 3 2010, 08:34 PM)
Oh, DJ is under the Taman Tun exchange?
My house is yeah.. depends on your street address. Back when I used Streamyx, the tech told me DJ is at the edge of the TTDI exchange and there's another exchange nearby so I might be using either one. Best to just call them and confirm the availability.

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: May 3 2010, 10:11 PM
rizvanrp
post May 4 2010, 07:16 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Suk @ May 4 2010, 07:03 PM)
there are 3 VLAN
DATA / VOIP / IPTV.
The LAN ports only carry 2 VLAN tags, can't access VOIP since it terminates at the Fiberhome unit itself
rizvanrp
post May 5 2010, 11:38 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(ywkwy @ May 5 2010, 10:32 PM)
BTW, anyone success to use their own router for this unify? i mean for the internet and also iptv..
is it possible to use self router? coz i know many of us having router that much more better than tm dir 615 like me..
Check the last few pages (90+) for the V4 thread, everything you need to know should be there biggrin.gif And yeah its possible
rizvanrp
post May 8 2010, 07:39 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(teksoon @ May 8 2010, 06:42 PM)
you guys wifi got problem?

Mine has weak signal, any idea to fix it? Even if i place my itouch near it still gives 1 out of 3 bar signal.

when i move to downstairs it disconnect me. HELP!
Mine was 1/5 bars at my house gate.. if I'm sitting in my car outside it can't even detect the network anymore. Then I installed dd-wrt and did the antenna mW boost, 4/5 bars outside my house now biggrin.gif

Only way you can address this issue on stock firmware is to attach a better wireless access point to the switch sad.gif
rizvanrp
post May 8 2010, 10:42 PM

195 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1368715/+1960

Read there and beyond for dd-wrt on the TM router. But yeah, you will have to throw away your IPTV access along with the chances of ever reflashing back to stock firmware (unless TM decides to release their firmware to the public).

TX power boost is awesome. 71mW feels like the stock value for the d-link modem, pretty weak and has trouble passing through a lot of materials. Turning it up to 130mW+ makes it much more usable.

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: May 8 2010, 10:44 PM
rizvanrp
post May 11 2010, 06:47 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(eddie_lim @ May 11 2010, 03:38 PM)
I think some expert here said that Unify provide a router that is VLAN-ed, normal router won't be able to use unify line unless using the Dlink router.

Did anyone here ever install a PC with 4-5 network cards, dump a linux, configure the VLAN and test the internet?
Standard pppoe dialer in linux and freebsd will work with the Fiberhome modem directly without the need for the dlink. Just load the 8021q vlan module, set up the VLAN interface (ID 500) then have the pppoe configuration file dial through the VLAN interface.

Don't need to have 4+ NICs to analyze traffic la, just 1 NIC + Wireshark (linux) + a hub tongue.gif

Corporate unifibiz users have it worse anyway.. checked out a unifibiz setup yesterday. The static PPPoE on the dlink is so messed up ._.
rizvanrp
post May 11 2010, 09:48 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Sting Ray @ May 11 2010, 07:13 PM)
Any expert can advise me what causes and how to solve this problem.

I just recently installed the VIP10 package at home and my wife is using it to work from home. she connects to company network via VPN and the problem is that after some time (ranging from 20 minutes, 30 minutes to around 1 hour) the VPN will disconnect with this message "Secure VPN connection terminated locally by the Client. Reason 412: The remote peer is no longer responding". she then has to manually reconnect before later it is disconnected again. the wireless signal strength is either good or very good and hence it is not due to lost connection. I also changed the wireless channel but the problem still persists.

Previously when she was using streamyx there is no problem whatsoever i.e. the VPN can stay connected for the whole day. I used D-Link DSL-G604T modem router for streamyx.

Is this due to the DIR-615 configuration or is it because of the VPN setting ? if it is VPN setting then why there was no problem connecting via streamyx ? I'm a dummy in this technical thing and your help is highly appreciated.
This kind of issue can be caused by numerous things. It can be the Unifi routing to your company's network, connection and firewall settings on your Unifi Dlink router (which you have extremely limited access to unless you reflash to dd-wrt), type of VPN protocol being used, etc. It's hard to say just based on what you've mentioned sad.gif

VPN settings should not have to be altered just because you're using Unifi or Streamyx. If I had to guess I'd put the blame on the DIR-615 .. maybe you can try using a wired connection ?
rizvanrp
post May 12 2010, 02:59 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Sting Ray @ May 12 2010, 09:54 AM)
Thanks rizvanrp. My wife is using Cisco VPN ver 4.8.01.0300 and XP Professional SP3 and like what you said I also think it is the problem with DIR-615 as she has never faced this problem before when she used streamyx at my parents' and also in-laws' house during balik kampung. is there any other setting that I can change in DIR-615 to test ? I already change the wireless mode to B/G only but it doesn't solve the problem.

Will try to use wired connection today to test but she still need to use wireless as her "office" is at upstairs but the router is in the lviing room. if I can confirm the problem is coming from DIR-615 I will complain to Unifi.
Well, this is really a process of elimination so you'd really want to remove all possible variables to ensure that it is infact the DIR-615 G1. One of these variables would be the wireless link, maybe there's a device operating on the same frequency range causing interference at certain intervals.. who knows sad.gif ? Best way would be to use a wired connection to ensure that this disruption is happening at the DIR-615 G1 <-> TM's side.

If possible, log into the DIR-615 G1 and ensure that the LAN to WAN and WAN to LAN firewall are completely disabled. I've seen these settings interfering with IPSEC site-to-site VPNs on Unifibiz setups and even the TM staff couldn't figure it out doh.gif

If this doesn't help, I really doubt TM will be able to help you. Some of their techs aren't aware about how their own hardware works because VLAN tagging is all performed in the background and hidden from the web interface. Not to mention the whole web interface is pretty much locked up and advanced options are kept away from being modified.

user posted imageuser posted image

These are some of the advanced options available to DIR-615 G1 dd-wrt flashed systems that might help out with your VPN situation.

@eddie_lim

You won't lose VOIP because VOIP is handled by the Fiberhome. You lose IPTV because the firmware I used to reflash the DIR-615 G1 does not completely support the new switch chip and cannot allocate the IPTV port to a separate network interface.. so there's no way to separate IPTV + internet traffic if you enable VLAN 600 on it.

You can use a Linux box with 3 hardware NICs, then have it act as a machine to bridge the VLAN interfaces to physical interfaces (thus removing the VLAN tagging). I'd do this but using a full desktop just to strip VLAN tags is kind of wasteful, would rather just use a VLAN aware switch/router to do it (less power consumption).

I wish TM would have just used no VLAN settings for the PPPoE connectivity, at least everyone would have a choice on what hardware they wish to use. Unifibiz (corporate) users are basically going to get screwed over because they're given the exact same hardware and setup as home users. The only difference is they're allocated 2 static IPs. If their hardware firewalls don't support static PPPoE connectivity over VLAN interfaces, they're going to regret switching over to Unifi.
rizvanrp
post May 12 2010, 03:15 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(jounin @ May 12 2010, 03:12 PM)
wan to ask a bit .. got my VIP 10 a few days back .. when do speedtest the DL speed is at 5 - 6 mb and the upload speed is around the same figure as well ... anyone facing this oso?
Speedtest is inaccurate for testing your line's max capacity. See hurr -> http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=33261734
rizvanrp
post May 12 2010, 03:41 PM

195 posts

Mm no.. that's why I'm complaining about the VLAN. Basically they're configured it in such a way that you are forced to use their hardware. Can't just go out and buy a new router I'm afraid sad.gif

Anyway, if it does turn out to be the wireless (but other wifi networks in your house are fine) you could buy a better quality wireless access point and use that instead of the inbuilt wireless in the DIR-615. If your old streamyx router has wireless features you can also hook that up to your DIR-615 and use it as a wireless access point. The wireless issue could be external interference or due to the poor quality of the wireless signal generated by the DIR-615 G1 (which a lot of people have complained about here). They gave me an Aztech dect phone and it hasn't caused any problems for me so far.
rizvanrp
post May 13 2010, 01:32 AM

195 posts

@eddie_lim

You should try dd-wrt on the dir-615 G1 if you do have that setup available. Can't really compare a wrt45g with dir-615's specs.. stock RAM and CPU is about 2x the amount. It handles torrenting pretty fine at 500-1000 connections tops with 0.50-0.70 load average. If you had >3 heavy torrent users on the network then I guess you'd want to switch to a dedicated box.

Anyway I'll be uprading my Unifi setup soon too.. maybe getting a RouterBoard system or building my own Intel Atom based rig with a 2-4 port 100mbps LAN card hooked up to it. I've been running OpenVPN on an old Celeron laptop on my Unifi line and its been wonderful for bypassing firewalls on campus and helping my friends who are on streamyx get some better latency with Taiwan servers.

Don't even need to get a 2 port NIC seeing as I could use the DIR-615 G1's dd-wrt firmware to act as a bridge for IPTV traffic while the other system handles Internet traffic.

@Sting Ray

To use your old Streamyx router with Unifi, you need to hook it up to your PC then log into its web configuration. Make sure you take note of the local IP address and subnet mask information that its been configured to use.. it should be on a different range than your Unifi (192.168.0.x/255.255.255.0 by default). If its on the same IP range as Unifi, change the routers IP to 192.168.0.2 or something so it doesn't conflict with the Unifi router IP. Then just disable its DHCP server and apply the settings.. Restart the router and wire its LAN port into one of the blue coloured LAN ports on your DIR-615 by TM. This will ensure that you only have 1 DHCP server running on your network (each router has a DHCP server).

Remember, by disabling DHCP it means you wont be given an IP address automatically when you plug in the router again. So to access its configuration page you'll have to set an appropriate IP address manually to be able to access its web user interface.

I can't really gauge how good you are at this so don't try it if you're not really sure about what I'm talking about ><"

@-br0k3n-

You're going to have to buy a switch and wire it to one of the blue LAN ports on the DIR-615. The ports on the fiberhome modem are not supposed to be used by PCs. The red LAN port is only for IPTV access.. so in short you only have 3 usable LAN ports.. to get more, buy a switch and wire it to one of those 3. And yeah.. you have to use the dlink router unless you have a dd-wrt flashed router lying around.

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: May 13 2010, 01:43 AM
rizvanrp
post May 13 2010, 07:56 AM

195 posts

@defari

Haha, like I said.. it's the Unifibiz corporate users who are going to get screwed over here. With a VIP20 line they expect to serve >100 nodes at once, no way this router can handle that connection load easily for a long period of time. Can't even set up VPN links properly since it doesn't handle port forwarding correctly. Stock firmware is pretty crappy, they're better off flashing to DD-WRT since they don't need IPTV support.

Btw, they released new firmware for the dir-615 g1? Any idea where to pick this up?
rizvanrp
post May 13 2010, 03:45 PM

195 posts

@Sting Ray

Meh, guess you already know what is actually causing the problem tongue.gif

I don't see how they can categorize VPNs to all be in the same group and have a 'technical issue' with all of them.. every VPN protocol is different from one another ._. I've run an OpenVPN based VPN link for 2 days straight without any problems on Unifi.
rizvanrp
post May 14 2010, 07:49 AM

195 posts

@Sting Ray

Sometimes, wireless connections tend to drop packets. Windows reports the link as still 'connected' but depending on the quality of the wireless link, if you tried to ping or send data across the network you would notice it timing out.

Different VPN protocols (and protocol configurations) are susceptible to a different level of network disruption.. so if this wireless connection were to be timing out for even 3-5 seconds perhaps the VPN client would assume the VPN server on the other end is not active anymore and close the link. This could be whats happening in your case.
rizvanrp
post May 15 2010, 12:54 AM

195 posts

Some updates on my work :

I was really bored so about 3 hours ago (9pm-ish), I tried to get the Windows PPPoE dialer to dial into Unifi using software alone. People have been able to get PPPoE dialers in Linux to easily connect to Unifi because you simply have to load the 8021q module and point the config file to <interface>.500.. however it's not so simple in Windows.

I'm using a Realtek card so I downloaded the Realtek VLAN and teaming tool to try and get some VLAN support.. turns out the tool is basically sh*t and it screwed up my network interfaces the to point I had to reinstall them. It also did not work at all sad.gif

So I broke out dev-c++ and the winpcap library and 3 hours later.. tada~

Unifi via Windows PPPoE dialer without using any additional hardware or hardware drivers. The PC (or netbook in this case) is plugged directly into the Fiberhome modem.

Basically, the program I made captures outbound PPPoE traffic and tags it with the appropriate VLAN ID (increases the frame size by 4 bytes FYI). When the Fiberhome modem receives this VLAN ID 500 tagged traffic, it responds with the standard PPPoE authentication process (PADI <-> PADO <-> PADR) on VLAN 500. Because the Realtek NIC doesn't support VLANs in Windows, it simply strips the VLAN protocol off the ethernet frame and Windows then assumes its a PPPoE link running without a VLAN (like streamyx).

In other words, it acts a translator to strip and add VLAN tagging whenever necessary to ensure you can plug the Fiberhome modem directly into your PC and dial in like you would with Streamyx. Pretty cool huh? biggrin.gif

Pseudo VLAN tagging~
rizvanrp
post May 18 2010, 02:49 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(rogue @ May 18 2010, 02:43 AM)
This is what I set for vlan:

You bridged the WAN port, LAN ports and wifi, set a VLAN on the bridge itself then set the PPPoE dialer to use it?

Wont that result in WAN traffic being sent across every single interface unnecessarily? shocking.gif
rizvanrp
post May 18 2010, 03:08 AM

195 posts

Er vlan1 are my LAN ports, vlan2 is my WAN port.. this is the mid-april build and there's an eth2 but no eth0/eth1.

Actually, mine didn't work with vlan2.500 set as the WAN interface either. When I ran my sniffer on it, it showed the PPPoE discovery + reply from the Fiberhome but it would just stop after that.

After I changed the 'Network Configuration vlan2' and 'Network Configuration vlan2.500' settings to Unbridged with multicast forwarding enabled (from 'default'), it just worked on its own. Pretty damn weird :S

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: May 18 2010, 03:09 AM
rizvanrp
post May 19 2010, 05:20 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ May 18 2010, 08:48 PM)
UniFi users, after subscribing to it, the phone number will be different is it? Also, it does not use the traditional phone port anymore is it (because my house alarm connects to the copper line)?
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ May 18 2010, 09:59 PM)
If I understand correctly, keeping current number meaning still having to pay an additional RM25 for the fixed line rental fee right (should I choose to keep the copper line)? Also, if it isn't using the traditional phone line port anymore then I think my house alarm system wouldn't be able to connect to the phone since it connects to the traditional port.
Fiberhome converts the fiber cabling to RJ45 Ethernet and 2x RJ11 copper jacks which you're supposed to plug your phone into. You can even replace the DECT phone with a standard TM copper line phone and it'll work fine. You get a new number and its a separate line so your current copper lines are not touched at all.

When they say its VOIP they mean its VOIP from the Fiberhome back to TMnet's exchange.. however from the Fiberhome to your phone its standard copper wiring with RJ11 connectors (and completely analog). The voice quality is much better and there's no static or interference at all.

I can only see 2 problems with wiring an alarm system to it :

1 - People have complained that you cant transfer analog data/FAX over it.. so you'll have to check with your alarm people if its analog communication protocol is compatible with this digital phone line.

2 - Standard copper transmits power over the phone line itself so in the event of power failure you still can use the phone. Unifi uses fiber optics which needs to have a optical transceiver to do the conversion from electrical <-> optical signals (the Fiberhome modem). This Fiberhome modem requires power to run, if your house power gets cut and your Fiberhome shuts off you wont have any internet or phone line. Only way around this is to wire the Fiberhome to a UPS or ask TM about the Fiberhome USB battery pack.

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: May 19 2010, 05:24 AM

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0840sec    0.47    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:03 PM