Hmm so does this mean I can't use my Linux box router anymore?
Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V5, Still, NO cap 4 all unifi packages 4 now
Jun 10 2010, 03:40 PM
997 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Hmm so does this mean I can't use my Linux box router anymore?
Jun 10 2010, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 10 2010, 03:44 PM) I'm not going to pretend that I'm a pro at this but I'm not sure if my Linux based router box is capable. I'm using Mikrotik's router protocols. Also, this means I have to flash the DIR-615 router still? |
Jun 10 2010, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 10 2010, 04:31 PM) Im using my old AMD Athlon 2800, can't remember motherboard but its Socket 754 from MSI, 1Gb DDR ram and a nice 80gb IDE hard disk.For OS, see Mikrotik's RouterOS at http://www.mikrotik.com/software.html |
Jul 12 2010, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(Kimie @ Jul 12 2010, 11:25 AM) Hi guys, Hi there and welcome to the land of HSBB (its impressive but the novelty wears out).Pardon me as i can't browse from page to page (read a few pages but to 87 pages.. my eyes already masuk pasir).. Oh yes, i manage to get the installation for Unifi VIP5 last Saturday@Mutiara Damansara, anyway a few questions that i wanted to know (maybe some of it it's already being replied):- 1) Do the RG unit didn't come with stand? I can use the BTU/RG USB port to generate power for the extra fan (like the fan for laptop) to avoid a bit heat.. 2) I only manage to get download up to maximum 2Mbps according to IDM status, is it consider the best or not? if not how should i do about it? I've tried the speedtest.net and TM speedometer stated there can reach >60000 download but when download file only can get 1.5mbps - 1.8mbps.. 3) Now i still have my Streamyx 1Mbps, the CS Unifi told me i need to terminate the line as TM only approved 1 line per house...so i can go any TMPoint to terminate the line rite? Do i need to pay anything? Bring back anything to them? Any TMPoint number that u guys know so i can contact.. 4) I've read somewhere here mentioned that we can reset the settings as it says TM can monitor what we have dll or what so ever activities.. is it true? Have more question to ask but yet can't get time to play with the BTU and RG units... will post again when it cross my mind... thanks in advance for the replied to all. I will try to answer your questions.
Jul 12 2010, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(Kimie @ Jul 12 2010, 12:13 PM) 2) Read about the DC++Hub but it looks like you need to share something, my problem is my network only online when i back home till next morning...i may get others angry if i'm not sharing things there beside upload... do they allowed me if want to test my dll? You don't have to upload anything. Just make sure that you have something to share. So lets say your prawns is in d:\HappyTimes\, then you just tell the DC++ client that this is your shared folder and to allow access by other peopleQUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jul 12 2010, 01:38 PM) 4) Cause its run by TM. You should notify them about it, I don't think people would steal the fiber cabling but if the physical infrastructure is that open.. I'm sure someone could just open it up and accidentally break it. I'm guessing a person with the proper knowledge could also wire himself up to the Unifi network for free Hmm, free unifi yousay? But even if they have physical access to the network, they still need to go through an authentication server right? Therefore, no account, no line.QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jul 12 2010, 01:38 PM) I only expect a min 1GB share.. you don't have to constantly upload (or leave your PC on) but don't leech nonstop either. I'm not enforcing this strictly at the moment but sometimes its annoying when you see people sitting in the hub for 24 hours+ with 0 bytes shared. Many users now are just sharing random files, some people may need them. Ultimately, the purpose of the DC++ hub is to act like a local cache/distribution network in the event that there's some massive underwater cable cut or we have monthly caps implemented for international traffic. Since everybody is on a min 5/10/20 package and this a distributed network with file segmentation + multi-source downloads, you'll always be looking at 500KB/s speeds at minimum. This can't work if nobody wants to share anything Lets say I have file HappyTimes.avi which nobody else has in the hub. At the same time I'm seeding RizvanrpHappy.avi on torrent at 300KB/s. So if Kimie decides to download HappyTimes.avi from me, wouldn't his speed be approximately 250KB/s only? |
Jul 12 2010, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(squall0833 @ Jul 12 2010, 04:38 PM) any closest Unifi user mind to let me pull a long long ethernet cable from my house to ur terminate unit? Can can... but Cat6 limit is about 100m. So how far you want to pull?haha, just a stupidity joke, very very expensive and cable transmission signal already drop to 0% liao, haha sigh, I want Unifi..... |
Jul 13 2010, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(brian12988 @ Jul 13 2010, 08:31 AM) its the only company with available cash to deploy fibre....unless u expect Maxis fibre broadband... I heard that maxis already has fibre cables deployed around KL. The only thing stopping them from rolling out their own HSBB is the government. How true this is, I'm not sure. |
Jul 14 2010, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Jul 14 2010, 01:32 PM) Hi guys, Ok, I'll try to help you out in this. The answers are :-Since that the TM technician need to pull the cable to the house, my question are: 1. do they need to hack the house wall to pull the cable into the house? 2. can the modem, equipment,etc be place in the master bedroom where all my computer are? Still thinking of whether to apply unifi.. worried about the bandwidth cap.
| Change to: | 0.0759sec
8 queries
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:45 AM |