127 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Bodybuilding Thread V 007, Bodybuilding Discussion

janson_kaniaz
post Jun 2 2010, 04:34 PM

6,955 posts

Some interesting questions I got while watching the Biggest Loser last nite:

Which change to your diet can help you live longer? Cutting fat or cutting calories?

Which exercise is believed to help you live longer? Regular push-ups or regular squats?

adward
post Jun 2 2010, 06:43 PM

92 posts

hello everyone....i've got a simple question to ask about wat kind of gmy style is the best way to build my inner chest??
could anyone pls teach me how can i build my inner chest?? wat kind of press is focus more on the inner chest???

thx

Majinity
post Jun 2 2010, 06:51 PM

792 posts

http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/Pector...rnal/DBFly.html
aliluya
post Jun 2 2010, 09:32 PM

181 posts

greeting to all Bodybuilder enthusiast..

i'm new to bodybuilding, i had just joined Fitness first gym mbmship.
Since no budget to get instructor, i'll have to get some guide from here.
Starter like me should start off with what 1st?

angrydog
post Jun 2 2010, 09:34 PM

More like "fatdog" amiright?
993 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jun 2 2010, 09:32 PM)

Read the stickies on top of the main Bodybuilding & Strength Training page.
aliluya
post Jun 2 2010, 09:36 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(angrydog @ Jun 2 2010, 09:34 PM)
Read the stickies on top of the main Bodybuilding & Strength Training page.
okie dokie..thx
very excited n looking forward to have better body shape. biggrin.gif

hi guys, juz some info of my body shape..170cm height.
waist 32"..but upper waist there got bit belly meat on side..duno how to say..

with 170cm height, what waist and weight shud i be?
any calculator for this?

This post has been edited by aliluya: Jun 2 2010, 10:13 PM
chicaman
post Jun 2 2010, 10:36 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jun 2 2010, 09:32 PM)

well i was once like u 3 weeks ago when i choose which gym to join~

i am not here to promote any gym but i would like to share my experience. I joined ultimate gym at wangsa maju and relatively CHEAP price for students like me tongue.gif

more importantly i get some free beginner coaching by Mr.Asia year 1999 Terry Gallyot and he taught what exercise to be done for each body part and its pretty amazing, i am now doing what he asked me to do and it saved me a lot of time from reading and searching the net what type of exercise to do. more importantly is the correct FORM that he taught and saved a lot of time watching video on learning it.

one inspiring story to share, i met a guy at ultimate gym, he told me he started gym 3 months ago and before that he weight 140-150kg. After he followed terry's diet plan and workout plan, now he weight 120kg+. Pretty amazing i must say~ ok story ended tongue.gif

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jun 2 2010, 09:36 PM)
okie dokie..thx
very excited n looking forward to have better body shape. biggrin.gif

hi guys, juz some info of my body shape..170cm height.
waist 32"..but upper waist there got bit belly meat on side..duno how to say..

with 170cm height, what waist and weight shud i be?
any calculator for this?
if u wana lift, bmi is not that important

more importantly is the bodyfat percentage (correct me if i am wrong, i am still learning tongue.gif )

since u are beginner, learn fundamental bout bodybuilding smile.gif and read more

picture worth a thousand words, post pic of ur body here and the experienced members here will tell u what is more appropriate for u

This post has been edited by chicaman: Jun 2 2010, 10:37 PM
aliluya
post Jun 2 2010, 10:47 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Jun 2 2010, 10:36 PM)
well i was once like u 3 weeks ago when i choose which gym to join~

i am not here to promote any gym but i would like to share my experience. I joined ultimate gym at wangsa maju and relatively CHEAP price for students like me tongue.gif

more importantly i get some free beginner coaching by Mr.Asia year 1999 Terry Gallyot and he taught what exercise to be done for each body part and its pretty amazing, i am now doing what he asked me to do and it saved me a lot of time from reading and searching the net what type of exercise to do. more importantly is the correct FORM that he taught and saved a lot of time watching video on learning it.

one inspiring story to share, i met a guy at ultimate gym, he told me he started gym 3 months ago and before that he weight 140-150kg. After he followed terry's diet plan and workout plan, now he weight 120kg+. Pretty amazing i must say~ ok story ended tongue.gif
if u wana lift, bmi is not that important

more importantly is the bodyfat percentage (correct me if i am wrong, i am still learning tongue.gif )
since u are beginner, learn fundamental bout bodybuilding smile.gif and read more

picture worth a thousand words, post pic of ur body here and the experienced members here will tell u what is more appropriate for u
shall i post my pic here?
side post or front post?
Majinity
post Jun 2 2010, 11:06 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jun 2 2010, 10:47 PM)
shall i post my pic here?
side post or front post?
There's a progress pictures thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1403647

And since you're new. How bout trying http://stronglifts.com/ or http://startingstrength.wikia.com/wiki/Sta...g_Strength_Wiki
aliluya
post Jun 2 2010, 11:19 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Jun 2 2010, 11:06 PM)
posted my photo dy..plz giv giv comment...blur of where to start..well..for sure is run on jog machine...but for how long?
harris92
post Jun 2 2010, 11:26 PM

-
536 posts

Jog on the treadmill for what? It won't help you grow bigger, legs, maybe slightly lah. Unless your goal is to lose fats.

Try reading the stickies, like the other regulars mentioned, see which plan you think is suitable for a beginner like yourself. All the best bro!
aliluya
post Jun 2 2010, 11:29 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(harris92 @ Jun 2 2010, 11:26 PM)
Jog on the treadmill for what? It won't help you grow bigger, legs, maybe slightly lah. Unless your goal is to lose fats.

Try reading the stickies, like the other regulars mentioned, see which plan you think is suitable for a beginner like yourself. All the best bro!
i'm bit lost direction..well wish to lost some fat on the abs, since the fat is on top of the abs muscle..i think..hehe
for abs fat..what to do ler?

sorry har..i know i'm bit rushy for answer...hehe
cheezzzz
post Jun 2 2010, 11:41 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jun 2 2010, 11:29 PM)
i'm bit lost direction..well wish to lost some fat on the abs, since the fat is on top of the abs muscle..i think..hehe
for abs fat..what to do ler?

sorry har..i know i'm bit rushy for answer...hehe
there is no such thing as spot reduction. u want it to be gone off from ur abs that is spot reduction,which does not exist. if ur gonna lose fat, it happens overall throughout ur body n which part ur body decides to lose is not up to you to decide.

well.. u can start with adjusting ur diet. less carboyhydrates..try to eat less n less carbs for evening meals onwards.. and doing cardio everyday. if rushing for time do HIIT on workout days. google HIIT.

lift weights.stick to a plan.. but pick the weights urself.. if u cant do more than 6 reps on a weight, thats too heavy for u. if u can do more than 15 reps on a weight, thats too light. so work around that range.. what i do is i do 15 on a light weight.. slowly increase n increase until i eventually reach a weight i can only do 10 reps.. do that for about 3-4 sets.

reps = how many times an exercise is performed
sets = do a certain amount of reps for an exercise until u stop. that is 1 set.

good luck bro. i highly recommend rippetoe's starting strength or stronglifts 5x5 or madcow's 5x5 biggrin.gif
aliluya
post Jun 3 2010, 12:20 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Jun 2 2010, 11:41 PM)
there is no such thing as spot reduction. u want it to be gone off from ur abs that is spot reduction,which does not exist. if ur gonna lose fat, it happens overall throughout ur body n which part ur body decides to lose is not up to you to decide.

well.. u can start with adjusting ur diet. less carboyhydrates..try to eat less n less carbs for evening meals onwards.. and doing cardio everyday. if rushing for time do HIIT on workout days. google HIIT.

lift weights.stick to a plan.. but pick the weights urself.. if u cant do more than 6 reps on a weight, thats too heavy for u. if u can do more than 15 reps on a weight, thats too light. so work around that range.. what i do is i do 15 on a light weight.. slowly increase n increase until i eventually reach a weight i can only do 10 reps.. do that for about 3-4 sets.

reps = how many times an exercise is performed
sets = do a certain amount of reps for an exercise until u stop. that is 1 set.

good luck bro. i highly recommend rippetoe's starting strength or stronglifts 5x5 or madcow's 5x5 biggrin.gif
ok i got wat u mean no spot reduction..have to overall lost..
thanx for some jargons clarification, appreciate that. wink.gif

Added on June 3, 2010, 12:33 amcheezzz

where to do this HIIT sprint? gym use biking?

This post has been edited by aliluya: Jun 3 2010, 12:33 AM
chicaman
post Jun 3 2010, 12:44 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jun 3 2010, 12:20 AM)
ok i got wat u mean no spot reduction..have to overall lost..
thanx for some jargons clarification, appreciate that. wink.gif

Added on June 3, 2010, 12:33 amcheezzz

erm, better try that on jogging, not easy for u to control the speed of treadmill though
revolter
post Jun 3 2010, 12:45 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jun 3 2010, 12:20 AM)

threadmill also can for HIIT.. manipulate the speed button..
chicaman
post Jun 3 2010, 12:47 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(revolter @ Jun 3 2010, 12:45 AM)
threadmill also can for HIIT.. manipulate the speed button..
yea but u wana control the speed is not instantly, u need to press and wait though~

or press stop straight away while running? lol
aliluya
post Jun 3 2010, 12:50 AM

181 posts

like this have to do it on a sprint track at stadium...but lot plp jogging , scaer sprint till langgar sumone..lolx

ken86
post Jun 3 2010, 01:00 AM

406 posts

U r overanalyzing buddy. Just start doing something, everything works seriously.

Read the stickies and follow simple rules

1) eat more dead animal flesh
2) lift something heavy
3) rest

and it takes quite some time to build a lean and strong physique.

HIIT is nothing special, you don't have to confine to sprinting or running on a treadmill. You can do it on a recumbent bike or elliptical

For starters

Treadmill Intervals: After a five minute warm-up, move treadmill to
15% incline grade and adjust the speed to a level where you’re walking
at a VERY brisk pace. Walk for 15 seconds, then step on side rails
for 30 seconds. Repeat for 20 minutes, then finish with 10-15 minutes
of steady-state walking (0-3% grade at 3.0 – 3.5 RPM). If you decide to
increase the work time, try to keep the rest ratio at exactly twice the
time you spend working.

Sled Dragging (something i've been doing a lot lately)
Drag sled for 50 steps, then rest 60-90 seconds. Repeat for 20 minutes, then finish with 5-10 minutes of steady-state cardio.

keep it simple.
cheezzzz
post Jun 3 2010, 01:50 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jun 3 2010, 12:50 AM)
like this have to do it on a sprint track at stadium...but lot plp jogging , scaer sprint till langgar sumone..lolx
no.. my gf n i HIIT on a normal jogging track.. ur human im sure u can control urself not to langgar ppl rite haha.

127 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:45 PM