Bodybuilding Thread V 007, Bodybuilding Discussion

ken86
post May 25 2010, 09:01 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ May 25 2010, 08:30 AM)
wats the difference between tat and HIIT.
essentially the same idea. they increase both anaerobic and aerobic pathways at the same time.

Tabata can be done with a variety of exercises front squat, thrusters, pullups, etc.

HIIT don't have to be the usual say 15 sec work, 45 sec recovery on the treadmill or rower or stepper or whatever. Go outdoors

For example I like to do these for HIIT instead
Results Circuit:
Complete as many circuits as you can in 10 minutes.
Prowler Push: 25 steps
Medicine Ball Slam: 10-20 reps
Kettlebell Swing: 10-20 reps
Hurdle Jump: 10-20 reps
Sledgehammer Smash On tires: 10-20 reps

This post has been edited by ken86: May 25 2010, 09:03 AM
ken86
post May 25 2010, 02:36 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(eye_knoxville @ May 25 2010, 01:25 PM)
this is the routine if u go to Defrenco Gym. hahaha.
no, everything is available here .
ken86
post Jun 2 2010, 09:21 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Jun 2 2010, 01:22 AM)
omg...so boring

what can i do while resting my injured wrist especially my left wrist? sad._.

any suggestion?
http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article...bows_amp_wrists this is really helpful

and you got to be very patient with wrist injuries. I am not a Dr. but if it hurts I think you should not lift. try the R.I.C.E. + H method Rest Ice, Compression Elevation + heat. It will get better with time
ken86
post Jun 3 2010, 01:00 AM

406 posts

U r overanalyzing buddy. Just start doing something, everything works seriously.

Read the stickies and follow simple rules

1) eat more dead animal flesh
2) lift something heavy
3) rest

and it takes quite some time to build a lean and strong physique.

HIIT is nothing special, you don't have to confine to sprinting or running on a treadmill. You can do it on a recumbent bike or elliptical

For starters

Treadmill Intervals: After a five minute warm-up, move treadmill to
15% incline grade and adjust the speed to a level where you’re walking
at a VERY brisk pace. Walk for 15 seconds, then step on side rails
for 30 seconds. Repeat for 20 minutes, then finish with 10-15 minutes
of steady-state walking (0-3% grade at 3.0 – 3.5 RPM). If you decide to
increase the work time, try to keep the rest ratio at exactly twice the
time you spend working.

Sled Dragging (something i've been doing a lot lately)
Drag sled for 50 steps, then rest 60-90 seconds. Repeat for 20 minutes, then finish with 5-10 minutes of steady-state cardio.

keep it simple.
ken86
post Jun 3 2010, 06:56 PM

406 posts

that's synthol and it looks really bad.

some BBers are known to inject this oil to bring up lagging body parts and that looks really terrible. ugh sad.gif

a good example would be gregg valentino

This post has been edited by ken86: Jun 3 2010, 06:56 PM
ken86
post Jun 4 2010, 01:11 PM

406 posts

ur solution is very simple.

Pair push exercises (bench) with a pull exercise (row)

EAT way more, lift and be patient.

It's still gonna be flat one month from now if u worry so much. quit worrying and start eating and lifting
ken86
post Jun 5 2010, 01:25 AM

406 posts

I need to admit the unflavoured BCAA taste pretty terrible, I try to mask it by adding it into my shakes, it totally alters the flavour.

best solution is getting those sugar free flavour packs by weight watchers or whatever generic brands, I tried that a while and decided to switch to Xtend and I still have a tub of unflavoured BCAA left
ken86
post Jun 7 2010, 09:04 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Jun 6 2010, 11:48 PM)
so gotta squeeze the back at peak contraction n hold? i havent had my spine part of the back sore yet.. lats got, upper bak kinda  got but spine there don have.. i dono if i do my rows correctly..
why do you want the spine part to be sore ?! the spine is really long and essential to life and has cervical (neck), thoracic (upper) and lumbar (lower) areas. u might wanna reevaluate and soreness is not the best indicator.

This post has been edited by ken86: Jun 7 2010, 09:05 AM
ken86
post Jun 11 2010, 03:41 PM

406 posts

More Vince Gironda exercises to spice up training a little. i have more but will post later

This post has been edited by ken86: Jun 11 2010, 03:46 PM
ken86
post Jun 11 2010, 05:10 PM

406 posts

swks - these are variations not staples. A lot of things work smile.gif

no you will not get cut or bleed. If u are refering to getting more chiselled, is your diet and bodyfat levels.
ken86
post Jun 16 2010, 11:48 PM

406 posts

tango:

The point is you should not get ahead of yourself. If you are on something productive that is netting gains on a weekly basis, then don't stop doing it. Stick with simple until simple stops working.

I realized those biggg muscular guys in the gym tend to just go into the weightroom with SFW (smash f*cking weights) attitude instead of worrying what pre-workout NO muscle pumping shirt tearing formula should they take

and don't forget to EAT in the process
ken86
post Jun 23 2010, 09:17 AM

406 posts

best peanut butter choices
user posted image @ village grocer bout 14.50
user posted image i think most places carry these at 15 +

I LOVE PEANUT BUTTER OM NOM NOM NOM

and France was terrible practically no defence at all

This post has been edited by ken86: Jun 23 2010, 09:18 AM
ken86
post Jun 30 2010, 05:24 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jun 30 2010, 10:55 AM)
Shit.... Syukri's legs are insane! His outer quad sweep!
reminds me of tom platz's legs !!

Kmaru - congrats man, u did and looked awesome despite the controversy
ken86
post Jul 6 2010, 11:52 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(Disciple @ Jul 6 2010, 11:41 AM)
yo sup

wanna ask about conditioning. what are conditioning exercises for? i dont get it
Many times people get so caught up in the idea of trying to get stronger that they forget about everything else. They may work out every day, feel strong and think that they’re in great shape, but they can’t walk across the room without having to stop and catch their breath

conditioning increases GPP -> the greater the athlete’s GPP, the easier it will be for them to adapt to the exercises and demands of a sport or whatever endeavours

GPP work can be done many different ways. One of the most common ways is to use a weighted sled that what i use on a regular basis

wrong section though biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ken86: Jul 6 2010, 11:53 AM
ken86
post Jul 13 2010, 09:43 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(theCrab @ Jul 12 2010, 11:38 PM)
helo
just to ask
can i use keto diet for bulking ?
i thought when we try to bulk we requires carbs X (
and when there is not enough carbs wheres the energy sources
you can use any diet for bulking, optimal dieting is about calories in versus calories out with macronutrient manipulation. Whenever u encounter stick points (zero changes in 1 - 2 weeks/no visual progress/scale stalling), u increase the calories.

There is a plethora of scientific literature showing the benefits of low carb dieting (ketogenic dieting). There is also a plethora of data showing benefits from other types of diets (carb cycling for instance). Which is better? It depends. Not everyone’s concerned about their carbs, as some people eat them at-will without affecting strength, muscle mass or waistline. That’s not me and maybe not you ? you need to experiment with this sort of stuff.

about the energy sources on low carbs -

For the most part, it’s the availability of carbohydrates: when carbs are available (because you’re eatingplenty of them), those tissues will use carbohydrates, in the form of glucose, for fuel.When carbs are not available (because you’re restricting them), the body will switch to using fat for fuel. A few tissues in your body such as the brain/central nervous system and one or two others can’t use fatty acids for fuel; they can only use glucose. and this is true if you only consider glucose, amino acids, and fat as potential fuel sources. But this leaves out a fourth, extremely important, fuel source: ketones (also known as ketone bodies). Ketones are made from the breakdown of fat in the liver and function as a fat-derived fuel for the brain during periods of starvation/carbohydrate restriction.

summary - when carbohydrates are being restricted for whatever reason, some proportion of protein will be used to make glucose, leaving less to be used for building blocks. This has an important implication for dieting, namely that protein requirements go up when you’re restricting either calories or carbohydrates.

I can go on and on with this but if you are asking this and I can surely assume the fact you are new to this whole dieting scene. you should focus on quality. Most people don’t need a fancy pansy diet. They just need to focus on the quality of the foods they’re eating. Go from eating fast food and junk (frankenstein food/cardbox food) to cooking and eating foods that have one ingredient and you’ll make really good progress
ken86
post Jul 14 2010, 09:51 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(Kmaru @ Jul 14 2010, 07:36 AM)
why not?
exactly ...

Sodium is an essential nutrient helps with fullness when glycogen levels are low and critical to a host of important bodily functions

The only time people should limit sodium intake is prior to a competition or showtime (photoshoot or make girls wanna hang out with u again). This dry hard look isn't something u want to maintain though, it is dangerous and interferes with performance.

Keeping water + sodium level high = zero problems with water retention. It is beaten to death over and over and over again that sodium is not the culprit unless well u have issues with hypertension or reading stuffs from the prehistoric era

Keeping it high on a consistent basis also teaches your body to "flush" it (along with water) more readily, making manipulations to it the final week even more drastic.

Added on July 14, 2010, 9:53 am
QUOTE(chuakz @ Jul 14 2010, 12:44 AM)
so creatine will cause our muscles to become bloated with water? is it temporary? for slimming down and getting lean at the same time wat supplements would you recommend? thx...
i recommend increasing frequency of consumption dead animal flesh and green vegetables. stop worrying so much and lift some heavy stuff in the gym

This post has been edited by ken86: Jul 14 2010, 09:53 AM
ken86
post Jul 15 2010, 10:45 AM

406 posts

eating outside can be healthy

for instance

go to mamak and order tandoori ayam - the breast part and one capati and wrap it like a tortilla
or
order 10 eggs for like RM 3 -5 and eat it with some yolks
or
buying milk and canned tunas from convenient store

tao reminds me of the place in solaris - was it genji or something ? great idea initially but it goes downhill pretty fast.

I still like rakuzen for jap food though price and quality wise - not many can beat them imho

This post has been edited by ken86: Jul 15 2010, 10:47 AM
ken86
post Aug 11 2010, 11:12 PM

406 posts

The question to cut or bulk is easily one of the most common conundrum. The Answer is surprisingly SIMPLE

Most agonizing over these tend to share some very common characteristics:
- don't have a vagina
- Under 30 Y/o, definitely high teens/early 20s
- Less than 2 years of consistent training
- Obsessed with unrealistic target physique
- A tendency to jump from program to program to program

The answer is very simple -> Go with personal preference. The threshold bodyfat percentage varies greatly for most. Some say bulking should stop at a certain %BF and vice versa.

One surefire way to overcomplicate to get an outsider's opinion (that probably look like crap himself aka mindless folks pitching their two cents). They project their personal preferences and biases including their own personal agendas. Realize this is PERSONAL DECISION and at the end of day, it's you who are dealing with the consequences.

A quick solution to your ultimate question of cut or bulk ?
Get naked and look into the mirror. depending upon the reaction of EWWW or AHHH determines your ultimate cut or bulk decision.

When it comes to muscle gain or fat loss, it makes life much easier to pick a single focus, you can't serve two masters at once. This brings to an important point about beginners worried about cutting or bulking. MOST of them have the luxury merely training progressively and eating sensibly (making better food choices) can see both goals (gain muscle while losing fat) simultaneously. The solution for the pick a program and focus on it and eating to support it.

The term culking which is an alternate to body recomp is possible for beginners and to a certain degree intermediate. Can advanced trainee the magical culking? Of course but it's typically possible after an extended layoff (like u see in the ads OR KEVIN LEVRONE !) or drastic changes in habitual training and nutritional protocol.

Confused beginner should KISS , eat right, train smart and enjoy the results. More advanced trainees, the decision is ultimately your own personal preference and being brutally honest with yourself (the fat 19 inch guns ain;t working)

The end

This post has been edited by ken86: Aug 11 2010, 11:13 PM
ken86
post Aug 20 2010, 11:54 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(elvenchou1987 @ Aug 20 2010, 10:45 AM)
Just had a small conversation with my friend. He asked why am I coming late for our outing later tonight. I told him I had to go to gym and workout 1st and will feel guilty if I skip my workout session.

He gave me a "wtf" and said that I'm turning into gay. He even said that most buffed guys are GAYs. I replied by gaving him a LOL and told him I live the way I like....

The funniest part is, this guy is a fat, overweight and near obese guy who tells me I'm turning into gay by working out!

these reminds of a term toxic people

A toxic person is basically anyone who holds you back, cuts you down, makes you experience any number of negative emotions on a regular basis, and generally causes you to feel like a piece of toilet paper, and not that nice triple-quilted stuff either. A toxic person can be a friend, a co-worker, a family member, and even a girlfriend or spouse.

So why do they do it? Well, they may be doing it consciously or unconsciously. It can be done out of hatred or competition, but the usual culprits are jealously and fear. In your case he sees you losing fat and getting more muscular. Your body is looking better and better so he tries to sabotage you in order to rationalize his fat-self.

DELUSIONAL ? hell yes but frighteningly common.

Nothing pisses off a toxic person more than seeing someone else succeed! they behave this way to make them feel better, so they rationalize by bringing one down and making plausible excuses to justify his muffin-top. you see it's sort of self ego-defence mechanism.

No need to lash out or shoot back at him in your case. The fact that u are making a concious effort to make yourself better proves a lot.

ken86
post Aug 22 2010, 11:28 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Aug 22 2010, 10:53 PM)
ok. will try. thx
guess i will have to eat more oats before workouts. : )
ok. thx for advice. ill try on the next workout. btw do i rest between sets?
what's up with all this chasing fatigue dogma ?

I find it funny u asking if u need to rest between sets after looking at the amount of work pizzaboy prescribed, have u given that a honest try to even ask that question ?
of course u need to rest between sets (almost impossible to do it straight)and the end result is you are gonna be so sore that every other training session during the week will be hampered.

just focus on the 5 primal lifts (squat, deadlift, bench, pullups and dips) especially for those just starting out and add other exercises as deemed necessary.

For the person asking for a bigger back, why not try doing some pullups, I have yet to see anyone in my gym with a solid 20 pullups (kip or not) with a bad back development

This post has been edited by ken86: Aug 22 2010, 11:36 PM

0.0495sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:06 PM