161 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Panasonic Viera TV Fan Club V.1, Plasma, LCD & LED models.

nando
post May 30 2010, 01:47 PM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

posted this on other threads but no reply yet...realised that here got lots of sifu hanging around...so i am reposting here...hope dont mind

been a while since i left this forum...was into it about a year half ago...that time interested in flatscreen but didnt jump into it...
at that time...the general view was for Astro, go for Panny plasma...best value..

but today, got Astro HD, got LED LCD...

my itch is back again and will need some time to read all the threads...

okay..so for Astro HD and mostly mkv files....is it still Plasma rules? or the LED-LCD tv is more impressive...or even LCD?

thanks all the sifus...

still reading through and trying to catch up...but if anyone can help, will appreciate! blush.gif rclxms.gif
idoblu
post May 30 2010, 02:29 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

LED backlit LCD is very nice if you play HD source
if SD, the picture still cant beat Plasma...imho

later end of the year, i think you will see more flouro backlit LCD phasing out to be replaced by LED backlit.
ic-klass
post May 30 2010, 04:10 PM

959 posts

I think lcd has miles to catch up w plasma..
The only reason why we heard so much bout lcd/led is coz they are much cheaper to produce..
PS3
post May 30 2010, 04:55 PM

I wonder if the panny v series is better than the samsung PS50C6500?
PoorMan
post May 30 2010, 05:51 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

lol I don't think this thread (Panny plasma) is the right place to ask as most of us posting here are already, more or less, "poisoned" by plasma hehe.

LED LCD is still relatively high cost for smaller screen size.

On the PQ, some like realistic representation of colors and black level. Some (like my parents and older people for some reason lol) like bright, dynamic colors of the LCDs. Honestly, you will need to see it for yourself.
michaeltan1943
post May 31 2010, 09:26 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ May 30 2010, 10:45 AM)
All things said, we Asians are still being screwed when compared to the Americans and Europians, dollar for dollar. The quality and features they are getting are still much better for the same dollar.

The sad part is that we are still lapping it all up despite being screwed.
we are lapping not just overpriced plasmas but virtually everything. Why you not complaining about cars? The overpriced Proton Waja car alone can buy 10 plasmas.

Added on May 31, 2010, 9:28 am
QUOTE(PoorMan @ May 30 2010, 05:51 PM)
lol I don't think this thread (Panny plasma) is the right place to ask as most of us posting here are already, more or less, "poisoned" by plasma hehe.

LED LCD is still relatively high cost for smaller screen size.

On the PQ, some like realistic representation of colors and black level. Some (like my parents and older people for some reason lol) like bright, dynamic colors of the LCDs. Honestly, you will need to see it for yourself.
True, it all depends on the eye of the beholder. Some, like myself, feel LCD and LED to harsh on the eyes and plasma is more gentle and softer.

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: May 31 2010, 09:28 AM
PoorMan
post May 31 2010, 09:48 AM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ May 31 2010, 09:26 AM)
we are lapping not just overpriced plasmas but virtually everything.  Why you not complaining about cars? The overpriced Proton Waja car alone can buy 10 plasmas.
I am not aware that Malaysia is producing plasma TVs. The car costs so high is because of protectionism but that is another story. If interested, we can debate about this in LYN's Real World Issues lol.
michaeltan1943
post May 31 2010, 10:13 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ May 31 2010, 09:48 AM)
I am not aware that Malaysia is producing plasma TVs. The car costs so high is because of protectionism but that is another story. If interested, we can debate about this in LYN's Real World Issues lol.
actually plasma prices, Panasonic especially, has come down a lot. Infact, it is as cheap as overseas or even cheaper.

Luckily it has dropped a lot in prices. Though US is a bit cheaper but it is one item not viable to buy overseas and ship it to Malaysia due to its size and warranty issue. Power also different ie 110v.

Now the 42 inch going for RM2099, it is very affordable. hope it drops more.

I am sure the 50V also will drop a lot. Now, it is a novelty, but give it few months, it will just be slightly more expensive than the 50U

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: May 31 2010, 10:15 AM
low98944
post May 31 2010, 10:34 AM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

I wonder, did US government subsidise the TV?... hmm.gif
Jenn77
post May 31 2010, 10:58 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ May 31 2010, 10:13 AM)
actually plasma prices, Panasonic especially, has come down a lot. Infact, it is as cheap as overseas or even cheaper.

Luckily it has dropped a lot in prices. Though US is a bit cheaper but it is one item not viable to buy overseas and ship it to Malaysia due to its size and warranty issue. Power also different ie 110v.

Now the 42 inch going for RM2099, it is very affordable. hope it drops more.

I am sure the 50V also will drop a lot. Now, it is a novelty, but give it few months, it will just be slightly more expensive than the 50U
Im eyeing very closely at the 50V. Lets hope it happens. I missed the opportunity to get the S40 last time.. hmm.gif
rublik
post May 31 2010, 11:30 AM

286 posts

I think the price difference bewteen U50 and V50 will be around RM1500.

The plasma in Malaysia are cheaper than earlier because they are now assembled in Singapore and not Japan

U50 in Malaysia is cheaper compared to in Singapore (RM5299 vs S2699 - RM6260)
sunnyK
post May 31 2010, 12:00 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ May 30 2010, 01:00 PM)
Much less models to choose from and minus THX mode, that is. Even the cheaper G20 series already has THX mode in Europe and has similar features as the V series here. Somehow, I have a sneaking suspicion that our V series could be Europe's G series due to similarities to the menus/features.

See fullpanelshd site for the review of G20 and VT20. Perhaps you can verify that when you get your hands on a V20 series here.

Despite ranting, I'm still quite excited and looking forward to own a V20 here.  Sad cry.gif
on closer observation , i may concur with your opinion .

feature wise , it looks like the european G20 minus the thx mode . only difference is the power consumption which is higher for the malaysian V20 than the G20 . the bezel colors is different too as is the models release date which is sooner for the G20 series even in the UK . i like to think these factors, especially the later release date of the V20 gives panny the time to make this V20 a much improve model version from the G20

rather dissapointed the THX feature was not included

otherwise it may be just a re-labeling the models where it is still the same model . can't help thinking the malaysian consumers are always being shortchange .

the V20 is still a awesome model as the high contrast make it very watchable during daytime without having to pull the curtain unless the black level rising issues resurface again
mffa
post May 31 2010, 12:06 PM

374 posts

Hello I'm newbie in this lcd section..so I hope I can get advice from the sifu here about the LCD tv especially 42 inch FullHD..So can I know what is the current price for lcd tv..because I have survey different shop and they quoted me different price with different model.Is it okay for this model TH-L42U29K sell by rm3100 at jaya jusco..the 42 inch lcd price is ranging between 3100 to 3800..is there any significant differences in picture quality between 3100 with 3800 price tag if I use astro B-yond?

This post has been edited by mffa: May 31 2010, 12:07 PM
PoorMan
post May 31 2010, 01:41 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ May 31 2010, 10:13 AM)
The pricing of 50U20 will not be too close to the 50V20 as this will cannibalize the V20 revenue. There is a reason why Panasonic is not putting out the S20 and the G20 models here and I think it's due to segmentation and price positioning (as alluded by jitbeng's Panasonic response) earlier on.

Anyway, as long as there is very good demand (we are still lapping it up quickly), Panasonic will continue with this working strategy imho.

cucubud
post May 31 2010, 02:55 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 30 2010, 02:29 PM)
LED backlit LCD is very nice if you play HD source
if SD, the picture still cant beat Plasma...imho

later end of the year, i think you will see more flouro backlit LCD phasing out to be replaced by LED backlit.
What about when tv stations go digital?
Which one will be a better option? Plasma or LCD/LED?
julianmahadevan
post May 31 2010, 03:49 PM

QUOTE(PoorMan @ May 31 2010, 01:41 PM)
The pricing of 50U20 will not be too close to the 50V20 as this will cannibalize the V20 revenue. There is a reason why Panasonic is not putting out the S20 and the G20 models here and I think it's due to segmentation and price positioning (as alluded by jitbeng's Panasonic response) earlier on.

Anyway, as long as there is very good demand (we are still lapping it up quickly), Panasonic will continue with this working strategy imho.
There are only a "handful" of tech enthusiast that know how good the V is. Majority of buyers will see it as a waste of money because the 50U is already Full HD. Malaysian buyers, janji it is Full HD, that is all they care or know.

Eventually, V sales will be so bad because everyone will be buying the 50U and the 50V will be doomed to failure as there is no volume. So, no matter what price segmentation they do, if there is no volume sales, the product will either die or be brought down in price substantially.
sbs
post May 31 2010, 04:19 PM

19 posts

Both V and U are 1920 x 1080 panel but the U20 has only 900 moving picture resolution.
Anybody know what this means?What happen to the rest 180 lines? Not moving? is this visible to naked eye
PoorMan
post May 31 2010, 04:22 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(julianmahadevan @ May 31 2010, 03:49 PM)
There are only a "handful" of tech enthusiast that know how good the V is. Majority of buyers will see it as a waste of money because the 50U is already Full HD. Malaysian buyers, janji it is Full HD, that is all they care or know.

Eventually, V sales will be so bad because everyone will be buying the 50U and the 50V will be doomed to failure as there is no volume. So, no matter what price segmentation they do, if there is no volume sales, the product will either die or be brought down in price substantially.
Kinda agree with you there especially with the crowd. That's the kind of thinking Panasonic Malaysia is betting on and that's probably why they can get away with the segmentation. The V series will probably be priced for the enthusiasts and the U series for the upper class mass aiming for FHD. The X and the A series will be priced very competitively for the value crowd. There is no S or G series to complicate things.

IMHO, this may also explain the lack of stock for the V series. Retailers are getting confirmed orders before stocking up.

plumberly
post May 31 2010, 04:30 PM

4,761 posts

Poorman,

"The V series will probably be priced for the enthusiasts and the U series for the upper class mass aiming for FHD"

Shouldn't that be the other way round - U for enthusiast and V for upper class ?

Just a typo I assume.

This post has been edited by plumberly: May 31 2010, 04:30 PM
michaeltan1943
post May 31 2010, 04:39 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ May 31 2010, 04:22 PM)
Kinda agree with you there especially with the crowd. That's the kind of thinking Panasonic Malaysia is betting on and that's probably why they can get away with the segmentation. The V series will probably be priced for the enthusiasts and the U series for the upper class mass aiming for FHD. The X and the A series will be priced very competitively for the value crowd. There is no S or G series to complicate things.

IMHO, this may also explain the lack of stock for the V series. Retailers are getting confirmed orders before stocking up.
Wait a few more months, the segmentation lines will get blur. Go to a chinaman shop and he will give a V50 to you for less than RM5000.

One can never run from the principles and forces of demand and suppy.

Who would have ever thought one could get a good 42 inch Panasonic plasma for RM2099 just a few years ago? My first non Full HD 42 inch was nearly RM10,000.

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: May 31 2010, 04:40 PM

161 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:21 PM