Before question let you all know my SPECS of desktop
AMD Phenom II X2 555(3.2GHz)
Kingston DDR3 1333MHz 2GB
WD HDD 1TB
Sapphire ATI RADEON HD5670 1GB DDR5
MOBO MSI 785G-E53
PSU C/M Extreme 460W

Question
1.What is adjust CPU FSB frequency ? (Meaning adjust Front Side Bus speed )
2.What is adjust CPU ratio ? (Adjust CPU GHz speed ?)
3.What is adjust CPU-NB frequency (Meanig North Bridge ?)
4.What is Memory-Z
5.What is FSB/DRAM Ratio (Adjust RAM MHz or RAM and NB between FSB ?)
6.How to OC desktop to stabilize and will not Hang or other problem like restart or shut down thing ?
7.Want to ask why at BIOS and Windows 7 see my Processor is 3.2GHz.But check at CPU-Z core speed there only got 800MHz. Are this MOBO BIOS problem disturb, meaning that AMD Cool'n'Quiet ? I never set it before just let it default. Or my MOBO or processor got problem ?

Sorry,my question like self ask self answer. =.=" (I just a newbie for OC)

Help me pls.
Thank You.
monsh
post Jun 22 2010, 04:14 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

huarghhh this thing is bugging me !
today i ran 50 iteration for linX and it doesn't encounter any error but the Gflops really fluctuating .

at first few iteration, it was getting ~16Gflops <-- normal
after that it drops down to ~5Gflops

so i left the PC until it ends the stress test to see if any error occurs but no error .

it finished all 50 iterations with fluctuating Gflops but no error .

again im asking, is this stable, unstable overclock ?
-pWs-
post Jun 22 2010, 05:37 AM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(selferino @ Jun 22 2010, 12:54 AM)
how to count how many percent OC eh?
(Overclock CPU Clock Speed / Base CPU Clock Speed) x 100%

@ monsh
If stock speed, will Linx fluactuate?
Sorry. Cannot help. Never experience before. hmm.gif

-pWs-
XiuKeong
post Jun 22 2010, 06:37 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(xavierkang @ Jun 22 2010, 02:02 AM)

6. Use prime95 for the system stability test
7. Drop to 800Mhz due to C&Q. Disable it if you want to OC nod.gif
dafreak
post Jun 22 2010, 08:03 AM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(xavierkang @ Jun 22 2010, 02:02 AM)
Before question let you all know my SPECS of desktop
AMD Phenom II X2 555(3.2GHz)
Kingston DDR3 1333MHz 2GB
WD HDD 1TB
Sapphire ATI RADEON HD5670 1GB DDR5
MOBO MSI 785G-E53
PSU C/M Extreme 460W

Question
1.What is adjust CPU FSB frequency ? (Meaning adjust Front Side Bus speed )
2.What is adjust CPU ratio ? (Adjust CPU GHz speed ?)
3.What is adjust CPU-NB frequency (Meanig North Bridge ?)
4.What is Memory-Z
5.What is FSB/DRAM Ratio (Adjust RAM MHz or RAM and NB between FSB ?)
6.How to OC desktop to stabilize and will not Hang or other problem like restart or shut down thing ?
7.Want to ask why at BIOS and Windows 7 see my Processor is 3.2GHz.But check at CPU-Z core speed there only got 800MHz. Are this MOBO BIOS problem disturb, meaning that AMD Cool'n'Quiet ? I never set it before just let it default. Or my MOBO or processor got problem ?

Sorry,my question like self ask self answer. =.=" (I just a newbie for OC)

Help me pls.
Thank You.
there are guides in the first page, even more if you Google it! doh.gif
dont expect us to spoonfeed although you are new to this, all of us start from 0 and use those guides. we only ask when we encounter problems that only experience can help dry.gif
monsh
post Jun 22 2010, 09:09 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

woot i never try stress test with stock one yet >.<"
anyway, seems like my FSB walled at somewhere arnd 300 .
i cant even load windows at 305 .
no matter how much voltage i pump to HT or vNB .
PCIe frequency also not helping much .

anyway, will try out .
the weird thing is that i get non fluctuate reading when im running 260 HT ref .
but at 300 it goes Ga Ga !
ah_khoo
post Jun 22 2010, 11:09 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Jun 21 2010, 11:10 AM)
no come back la... no more time to spent on oc nowadays
bro, is it bcoz bz w/ makin baby? tongue.gif

QUOTE(cdlim87 @ Jun 21 2010, 01:11 PM)
:/dob: ah_khoo  :/cheers:

wish ur dream come true!!  :/P
thx ah lim bro, i wish u to gimme an x6, u can make it come true... icon_question.gif

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Jun 21 2010, 08:00 PM)
I face endless unlucky before can achieve that.. you're too humble bro :/wub: if i'm a gay woman, for sure I give full attention and heart to you :/lol:

bg peha nak tapak kaki </_< :/lol:
lol... i've been cravin for above average chip to test d capability of my fren's ahsos mobo, his sempron 140 just ain't cut it... 0922 mali2... drool.gif

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 21 2010, 11:19 PM)
Guess my CPU's FSB is like 300Mhz only :/(
Can't see to boot any higher than 300Mhz GEEZ....but 3.3Ghz from 2.2Ghz is already quite satisfying hahaah

SuperPI, after tweaking, best got is 20.686 for 1MB
r u still on igp bro? if so that's a massive oc to me... thumbup.gif

1.1GHz oc on am2+ deneb is awesome, i dun think that can be easily done on 920/940. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(cdlim87 @ Jun 21 2010, 11:33 PM)
good luck adik yg disayangi..  :/D
ah lim bro, u sounds gay...

QUOTE(^KamilskaZ^ @ Jun 21 2010, 11:57 PM)
tinggal 3 minit lagi...selamat hari beranak jadi ah khoo
thx bro... wink.gif

QUOTE(monsh @ Jun 22 2010, 04:14 AM)
huarghhh this thing is bugging me !
today i ran 50 iteration for linX and it doesn't encounter any error but the Gflops really fluctuating .

at first few iteration, it was getting ~16Gflops <-- normal
after that it drops down to ~5Gflops

so i left the PC until it ends the stress test to see if any error occurs but no error .

it finished all 50 iterations with fluctuating Gflops but no error .

again im asking, is this stable, unstable overclock ?
why not try prime blend test instead? stability is very subjective, so it depends how u define stability yaself. for me, atleast an hour of blend test @ 1min (instead of 15 by default). any stricter, i'll go 24h. laugh.gif

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jun 22 2010, 08:03 AM)
there are guides in the first page, even more if you Google it! :/x
dont expect us to spoonfeed although you are new to this, all of us start from 0 and use those guides. we only ask when we encounter problems that only experience can help </_<
dafreak bro got pms ah??? be gentle to newbie leh... if ppl ask nicely we reply nicely loh, i can't see his post bein demandin, so more he did put in some effort in listin down his spec... not bad ledi if u ask me... nod.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jun 22 2010, 05:25 PM
shinjite
post Jun 22 2010, 11:18 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 22 2010, 11:09 AM)
r u still on igp bro? if so that's a massive oc to me...  thumbup.gif
1.1GHz oc on am2+ deneb is awesome, i dun think that can be easily done on 920/940.  notworthy.gif
Yeah I am still on IGP smile.gif
After numerous tweaking, got 20.686s 1MB SuperPI
Prime95 Blend test started last night at 2am and running fine till now

Full load at 52c-53c smile.gif
Funny thing is the Vcore, set 1.44V in BIOS, full load it goes up till 1.48V in Windows (auto overvolts, damn smart) rclxub.gif
But idle, no problems at 1.44V, cilaka but nvm, full load temps below 60c is good enough brows.gif

ah_khoo
post Jun 22 2010, 11:56 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 22 2010, 11:18 AM)
Yeah I am still on IGP smile.gif
After numerous tweaking, got 20.686s 1MB SuperPI
Prime95 Blend test started last night at 2am and running fine till now

Full load at 52c-53c smile.gif
Funny thing is the Vcore, set 1.44V in BIOS, full load it goes up till 1.48V in Windows (auto overvolts, damn smart)  rclxub.gif
But idle, no problems at 1.44V, cilaka but nvm, full load temps below 60c is good enough brows.gif
woot!!! impressive, i'm pretty sure there's still some headroom in d chip if u move to discrete graphic. nod.gif

i noticed am2+ deneb are a tad hotter than its am3 brothers. not surprisin at all to see boards overvolt, especially those on budget line. as long as no very frequent fluctuation, it's safe. my fren's ahsos mobo w/ 8+2 pwm oso encounter undervolt... doh.gif

one thing to note is to have ya mosfets actively cooled w/ that kinda volt. i used 770-g45 before, primin @ high volt (1.6Xv) on dual cores, i heard screamin chokes... not sayin msi is bad, but i've heard few cases that their boards died of burn mosfet(s)... sweat.gif
shinjite
post Jun 22 2010, 01:01 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

Yeah will look into it as well.....
and I got a bogus temp reading from the AUX as well, can go over 100c ~_~

This post has been edited by shinjite: Jun 22 2010, 01:03 PM
8tvt
post Jun 22 2010, 01:03 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

how high shinjite when load?
shinjite
post Jun 22 2010, 01:04 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 22 2010, 01:03 PM)
how high shinjite when load?
I think the AUX is a bogus value......can hit as high as >100c
Idle around 90c

Added on June 22, 2010, 1:06 pm
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 22 2010, 11:56 AM)
woot!!! impressive, i'm pretty sure there's still some headroom in d chip if u move to discrete graphic.  nod.gif

i noticed am2+ deneb are a tad hotter than its am3 brothers. not surprisin at all to see boards overvolt, especially those on budget line. as long as no very frequent fluctuation, it's safe. my fren's ahsos mobo w/ 8+2 pwm oso encounter undervolt...  doh.gif

one thing to note is to have ya mosfets actively cooled w/ that kinda volt. i used 770-g45 before, primin @ high volt (1.6Xv) on dual cores, i heard screamin chokes... not sayin msi is bad, but i've heard few cases that their boards died of burn mosfet(s)...  sweat.gif
ASUS is famous for flunctuating voltages
Same with Abit as well during my P4 overclocking days 7 years ago

This post has been edited by shinjite: Jun 22 2010, 01:06 PM
cdlim87
post Jun 22 2010, 02:13 PM

AMD
2,220 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 22 2010, 11:09 AM)

thx ah lim bro, i wish u to gimme an x6, u can make it come true...  :/help:

ah lim bro, u sounds gay...

i will pass u some number in ur dream, hope u see it.. tongue.gif

mana ada gay??!! i treat him macam adik sendiri maa.... laugh.gif
selferino
post Jun 22 2010, 04:20 PM

joe cole = english samba!
1,219 posts

i bought my stuff at pc-zone, still under 1 year, do i hav 2 wait long 4 the rma? can i get on the spot?

another question not answered, why i set in bios the cpu volt as 1.55v, but when in windows i stress using prime95, the volts shown in both HWmonitor n Everest are 1.6v?
dafreak
post Jun 22 2010, 04:28 PM

1,064 posts

hwmonitor suppose to be able to show accurate to 2 decimals, caused by mobo? hmm.gif

are these suitable for mobo pwm area?
cloudwan
post Jun 22 2010, 05:04 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jun 22 2010, 04:28 PM)
hwmonitor suppose to be able to show accurate to 2 decimals, caused by mobo? hmm.gif

are these suitable for mobo pwm area?
I used to use them for my old biostar mobo, the thing is that the included thermal tape is doh.gif doh.gif
it would fall off every other week doh.gif
My advise if ur gonna use it, change the tape laugh.gif

When i change to my Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P, i used this:

Its an old coolermaster little chipset cooler, bought it for RM10/10pcs pack...
I found this relic in a small logitech shop in KL, can't remember what shopping complex it was doh.gif

selferino
post Jun 22 2010, 06:17 PM

joe cole = english samba!
1,219 posts

update: my proc tested at my friends AM2+ mobo, still working(fuh)!, tetsed his AMD Athlon II X4 620 on my mobo, not working at all, so now my mobo is the only thing rosak i guess sad.gif
dafreak
post Jun 22 2010, 06:26 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jun 22 2010, 05:04 PM)
I used to use them for my old biostar mobo, the thing is that the included thermal tape is  doh.gif  doh.gif
it would fall off every other week doh.gif
My advise if ur gonna use it, change the tape laugh.gif

When i change to my Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P, i used this:

Its an old coolermaster little chipset cooler, bought it for RM10/10pcs pack...
I found this relic in a small logitech shop in KL, can't remember what shopping complex it was doh.gif
yours looks more suitable than the one i found in GS doh.gif

the last time i went to sri comp i couldnt find any
saturn85
post Jun 22 2010, 06:41 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(selferino @ Jun 22 2010, 06:17 PM)
update: my proc tested at my friends AM2+ mobo, still working(fuh)!, tetsed his AMD Athlon II X4 620 on my mobo, not working at all, so now my mobo is the only thing rosak i guess sad.gif
then this time get a good motherboard la, like DFI.
and don't push too extreme la. biggrin.gif

108 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0585sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:42 PM