104 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!

kianwee
post Jun 3 2010, 01:12 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Jun 3 2010, 01:04 PM)
i dont have SPL Meter  sad.gif
i need front speaker just 75db or above but i need bass very louder for subwoofer too
i know last time i go cinema movie i see music also have songs to much bass but very great i dont know how many dB i dont have SPL if i buy SPL i can test but they will light off so cannot see dB  sad.gif  so waste to buy SPL hehe
You go youtube search for cinema scene, see got loud loud boom boom boom coming from your logitech speaker or not maybe 300-500db also got.
gilbertlhl
post Jun 3 2010, 01:40 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Jun 3 2010, 01:04 PM)
i dont have SPL Meter  sad.gif
i need front speaker just 75db or above but i need bass very louder for subwoofer too
i know last time i go cinema movie i see music also have songs to much bass but very great i dont know how many dB i dont have SPL if i buy SPL i can test but they will light off so cannot see dB  sad.gif  so waste to buy SPL hehe
Use Iphone la.... No light also can see... tongue.gif
chewkl
post Jun 3 2010, 02:47 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

I'm letting go of either my Wharfedale SW-150 or SW-250 to make way for an SVS or Velodyne. Anyone who is interested please PM me. smile.gif
TShtkaki
post Jun 3 2010, 02:49 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Not selling both, Latuk? Maybe you sell to Mr Logitech
chewkl
post Jun 3 2010, 02:58 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Taikor, still need to keep a Wharfy for my in-law's TV room. So only letting go of either 1...

Mr Boomy boom boom pow won't be interested in such peasant sub lah. Maybe he can use those 10" sub as tweeter niah. biggrin.gif
SUSlogit85
post Jun 3 2010, 03:16 PM

1,814 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Jun 3 2010, 01:11 PM)
Oh, then also bring in small torchlight to read the SPL meter... remember when buy the SPL meter to also buy small torchlight. I think some Handphone also got light, so can use to read also.. but remember put Handphone on vibrate mode when watch movie...
Maybe you can buy many many subwoofer.. as many many add together sure lots lots of Bass... if still not enough just add more...
Like in cinema, small cinema you see lesser speaker hanging on wall.. those big one... many many speaker one...
As you no need Front Speaker loud.. then but only 1 set.. but buy many many subwoofer......  biggrin.gif
i also need front speaker two most left and right
last time i go cinema its not smail but its big cinema and big screen i cannot see speaker because hiden sad.gif when movie finish they light on but i see no speaker that is mean hiden sigh
cinema sound is great for bass dont know dB hehe i dont want buy SPL hehe
chewkl
post Jun 3 2010, 03:18 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Why don't U just go to cinema and ask to talk to the manager... ask them what sub they use? Solve your problem (and our problems as well).

dirtrun
post Jun 3 2010, 03:34 PM

3,136 posts

Man..

Tis discussion is gettin nowhere..
But since I m stuk in d ofis wif nuthin to do .. cool2.gif

In d cines, except on certain efx laden scenes.. its not tat loud at all.. I do hv a SPL mtr but hvnt really taken in there to measure.. but if I go by 'feel' in comparison to my own HT, certain scenes might hit 120db, maybe a tad louder .. tat is where I usually sit sumwhere smack at d ctr of d cinema.. if u sit closer to d subs[ which shld be in frnt] of cos it would be even louder..
In comparison to d HT at home.. certain scenes can hit 100db too .. sumtimes even more

D
scsoo
post Jun 3 2010, 03:51 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Jun 3 2010, 04:16 PM)
i also need front speaker two most left and right
last time i go cinema its not smail but its big cinema and big screen i cannot see speaker because hiden  sad.gif  when movie finish they light on but i see no speaker that is mean hiden sigh
cinema sound is great for bass dont know dB hehe i dont want buy SPL hehe
Yeah.. front speaker left and right need.. maybe get one more put in middle also can...
Me go to small cinema can see speaker one.. maybe big cinema they got budget to hide speaker rclxms.gif
Yeah.. you go big cinema.. hidden speaker.. must be expensive cinema.. sure great for Bass....
If you don't buy SPL Meter how to measure? to know need to measure.. so need to spent money and buy...

Or, like I suggested earlier.. buy one subwoofer first.. test and add until enough bass.. if up to 100 subwoofer also no Bass.. then rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

1 sub 2db = 100 sub 200db... hope my matematik correct...... (assumption of 1 sub output 2db)

If 1 sub 20db.. then 10 Sub enough... think my matematik correct, if wrong then do inform me biggrin.gif

mpyw
post Jun 3 2010, 04:03 PM

3,603 posts

OOOOIII, F Head.....with your unlimited budget...just go buy a f-king cinema!!!!
tolorati
post Jun 3 2010, 05:08 PM

596 posts

really Home Entertainment thread la this tongue.gif
pierreye
post Jun 3 2010, 06:01 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Jun 3 2010, 03:51 PM)
Yeah.. front speaker left and right need.. maybe get one more put in middle also can...
Me go to small cinema can see speaker one.. maybe big cinema they got budget to hide speaker  rclxms.gif
Yeah.. you go big cinema.. hidden speaker.. must be expensive cinema.. sure great for Bass....
If you don't buy SPL Meter how to measure? to know need to measure.. so need to spent money and buy...

Or, like I suggested earlier.. buy one subwoofer first.. test and add until enough bass.. if up to 100 subwoofer also no Bass.. then  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

1 sub 2db = 100 sub 200db... hope my matematik correct...... (assumption of 1 sub output 2db)

If 1 sub 20db.. then 10 Sub enough... think my matematik correct, if wrong then do inform me  biggrin.gif
db don't add up like mathematics. If you co locate similar sub, normally the gain is max 6db. Every 3 db need to double the wattage.

If you want to calculate theoretical SPL you can achieve, look at your speaker sensitivity, goto below website and plug in the number.

http://myhometheater.homestead.com/splcalculator.html

Note that this only show you max SPL your speaker can achieve. Some speaker/sub start to distort when exceed certain wattage.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Jun 3 2010, 06:05 PM
maxizanc
post Jun 3 2010, 08:09 PM

5,909 posts

Hi all sifus,

I was quoted RM1400 +/- for Velodyne Impact 10 subwoofer at A&L. Is this a good price?

anfieldude
post Jun 3 2010, 09:50 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jun 3 2010, 08:09 PM)
Hi all sifus,

I was quoted RM1400 +/- for Velodyne Impact 10 subwoofer at A&L. Is this a good price?

I had a friend who bought one recently below RM1300 but he bought speakers as well. If u can get them to RM1300 it shd be a decent deal.
maxizanc
post Jun 3 2010, 10:35 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jun 3 2010, 09:50 PM)
I had a friend who bought one recently below RM1300 but he bought speakers as well. If u can get them to RM1300 it shd be a decent deal.
Oh i forgot. RM1400 with free Audioquest subwoofer cable. smile.gif

Maybe i'll ask him more discount.

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Jun 3 2010, 10:35 PM
scsoo
post Jun 3 2010, 11:03 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jun 3 2010, 07:01 PM)
db don't add up like mathematics. If you co locate similar sub, normally the gain is max 6db. Every 3 db need to double the wattage.

If you want to calculate theoretical SPL you can achieve, look at your speaker sensitivity,  goto below website and plug in the number.

http://myhometheater.homestead.com/splcalculator.html

Note that this only show you max SPL your speaker can achieve. Some speaker/sub start to distort when exceed certain wattage.
Oh, was thinking too peasantly, hoping to "help" our friend.... was also bored in the office....

Look like our friend would find it hard to achieve his "dream SPL"
kumario9
post Jun 8 2010, 06:20 PM

136 posts

Need to get some feedback. Planning to setup 5.1 (budget) and my preference;

1) Denon AVR 1910
2) Front (Wharfedale 10.1) x 2
Surround (Wharfedale 10.0) x 2
Center (Wharfedale Diamond 10CM) x 1
Subwoofer (Velodyne IMPACT 10") x 1

Is the setup good for movies/music- can advise? Any MAJOR sound impact difference between Velodyne IMPACT 10 and Velodyne CHT-10Q?

Which shop can get GOOD PRICE for Wharfedale & Velodyne Subwoofer speakers?

Thanks for replying.
mikapoh
post Jun 8 2010, 06:33 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(kumario9 @ Jun 8 2010, 06:20 PM)

Need to get some feedback. Planning to setup 5.1 (budget) and my preference;

1) Denon AVR 1910
2) Front (Wharfedale 10.1) x 2
    Surround (Wharfedale 10.0) x 2
    Center (Wharfedale Diamond 10CM) x 1
    Subwoofer (Velodyne IMPACT 10") x 1

Is the setup good for movies/music- can advise? Any MAJOR sound impact difference between Velodyne IMPACT 10 and Velodyne CHT-10Q?

Which shop can get GOOD PRICE for Wharfedale & Velodyne Subwoofer speakers?

Thanks for replying.
Get at least 12-inch subwoofer or else you can hear distortion when crank a little hot.

C.T. Seong
post Jun 9 2010, 09:35 AM

494 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jun 3 2010, 09:09 PM)
Hi all sifus,

yes, it is

geforce1999
post Jun 9 2010, 10:51 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(C.T. Seong @ Jun 9 2010, 09:35 AM)
yes, it is
Looks who is talking. rclxms.gif I thought our Director Seong will give a better price tongue.gif

104 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:48 PM