5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!

anfieldude
post Jan 5 2010, 11:41 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 5 2010, 11:37 AM)
This is the only link u will need and one simple enough that hopefully even u will understand.

CLICK HERE
I have to admit...u guys are very patient....
anfieldude
post Jan 15 2010, 02:37 PM

3,858 posts

For bass freaks...

Not sure if it has been mentioned, Australia has some pretty good scenes with very good LFE (Buffalo scene comes to mind, Japanese plane attack among others). Can't say much for the movie, wife enjoyed it though.
anfieldude
post Jan 15 2010, 03:25 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Jan 15 2010, 03:12 PM)
bro when r u getting svs eq1.. maybe i can pass u antimode 8033 for a shootout
Not sure, will check with htkaki....
anfieldude
post Jan 19 2010, 12:56 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Jan 19 2010, 12:39 PM)
ya i understand tax to much expensive
i dont like Hi-fi system i prefer 5.2 speakers
i can wait SB-16Ultra will resuit grap FR if good then i can take two SB-16Ultra
do u sure that sealed so be good for playing music ??? the SVS Sealed subwoofer
Do all of us a favour and get a blo**dy sub already!

U keep waiting an you tubing u will be waiting forever, select one and buy and put us out of our misery.
anfieldude
post Jan 20 2010, 04:34 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jan 20 2010, 12:10 PM)
Fixed! Changed the decoder board and now everything is ok.  smile.gif 

ps: cannot expect too much since it's a 'China mari' product.  tongue.gif
They sent u a new decoder board or did u send it back for repair?

Also if u sent it back for repair, any problems bringing it in?
anfieldude
post Jan 22 2010, 09:00 AM

3,858 posts

Check out the Epik's new sub!

Dual 15in drivers and the intro price of USD799! I wish they ship to Malaysia..

Epik New Sub

anfieldude
post Jan 22 2010, 09:36 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jan 22 2010, 09:31 AM)
When do they start taking order??
They do not to ship overseas and u got to contact them for early order. They state very clearly their reasons on why they do not want to support overseas order, so I'm not sure its such a good idea to get it. Also this is 1st gen product, not sure of the fall out, but the price is pretty good.

Maybe someone here can become an unnofficial dealer....hint hint.... smile.gif
anfieldude
post Jan 22 2010, 09:42 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jan 22 2010, 09:37 AM)
Dealer with no warranty.... tongue.gif
Anyone want to do a mini bulk on this?

Added on January 22, 2010, 9:38 am
Yeah then it's worth lor 800+300+ketam
If the dealer could also offer warranty, then I think it is pretty good. Also once the price goes up back to USD1400, its not as great compared to maybe the upcoming SB16? Maybe?

Seriously, after looking at the stuff, I think we are pretty lucky to have a local SVS dealer. Prices are pretty good compared to the risks. Now if we could only get some guy to look at Epik and some others.
anfieldude
post Apr 18 2010, 12:07 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(fatfat @ Apr 18 2010, 11:52 AM)
Hi all sifus, can recommend a budget sub-woofer for me?
Price is around 1k, my bedroom is around 4 x 5m and my AVR is Yamaha RX-V565..

Thanks.. biggrin.gif
Take a look at what klimal is selling, seems like a good start.
anfieldude
post Apr 18 2010, 01:39 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(fatfat @ Apr 18 2010, 01:28 PM)
I am sorry, I don't know who is klimal.. tongue.gif
Subwoofer for Sale (klimal)

klimal is a lyn forumer, u can search his id or use the link above.
anfieldude
post Apr 25 2010, 10:19 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(asherteoh @ Apr 25 2010, 09:03 PM)
i just bought a Sunfire HRS-12... what are your thoughts guys?
U shd be telling us ur thoughts....we are waiting for a review.
anfieldude
post Apr 27 2010, 09:58 AM

3,858 posts

I'm game. Just let me know when. I can bring the as-eq1.
anfieldude
post Apr 27 2010, 01:28 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Apr 27 2010, 12:25 PM)
Then need to spend more money loh. Budget dry up for this year.
pierreye,

Dual sub? Or DD-12 going up for sale?
anfieldude
post May 21 2010, 09:10 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ May 21 2010, 08:55 AM)
My sub can't set to bypass.
My other speakers setting at AVR was "Small"(bookshelf).
So, that means I need to set the sub and AVR crossed at same freq?
ie 100 Hz for both?
Jimmy,

What is the exact labelling on ur sub for this cutoff? I believe this is a low pass filter, meaning anything above this it will not play on the sub.

Also on the AVR what is the exact labelling of the sub? This shd also be a low pass filter so essentially they shd be set the same.

What I would advise u to do would be to decide the frequency of the mains/centre and the sattelite. What are they set at?

Also what is the rating on ur sub?

What is ur AVR? Does it have Audyssey? Or any room correction?

This post has been edited by anfieldude: May 21 2010, 09:11 AM
anfieldude
post May 21 2010, 10:24 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ May 21 2010, 09:39 AM)
Above are my settings. Anfield, thks for advice.
What is the exact labelling on ur sub for this cutoff? I believe this is a low pass filter, meaning anything above this it will not play on the sub.
It's called Cut-off Freq as stated in the manual, from 50Hz - 100Hz. I agreed, is a low pass filter.

Also on the AVR what is the exact labelling of the sub? This shd also be a low pass filter so essentially they shd be set the same.
It's called Crossover Freq(AVR Denon 2309)

What I would advise u to do would be to decide the frequency of the mains/centre and the sattelite. What are they set at?.
I set the crossover freq. for all speakers(FL,FR,C,SR,SL) at 100Hz in the Speaker Advance Setting menu.

Also what is the rating on ur sub?
I think is 170Watts.

What is ur AVR? Does it have Audyssey? Or any room correction?
Denon 2309 and I don't use the Audyssey and room correction.

Jimmy,

As htkaki said, set both to 100Hz. How low does ur Sony sub go? Was this a standalone sub or something from a HTIB?

Why don't u use Audyssey? Did u run into any problems? If u did run Audyssey, could u let me know the settings that Audyssey suggested?

Also as htkaki asks, pls let us know what speakers u use?
anfieldude
post May 21 2010, 11:28 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ May 21 2010, 11:19 AM)
The lowest setting for my sub is 50Hz, max is 100Hz. It's a standalone sub.

I'm not really study on how to use the Audyssey yet. Will try it out when I'm free.

My speakers very old liao...pai seh...he..he..
I'm using BMB Custom for FL,FR and C. They were a big taller than normal bookshelf(still use speaker stand), with 2 mid speakers and a tweeter.
My RS and LS is from Acoustic Energy(AE100).

Thks.
Ok. BMB speakers are normally for karaoke as such, high effeciency but also distortion. So u need to watch the volume. Since they are high efficiency, what speaker level trims did u set since u do not use Audyssey? If u do not have a SPL meter, it is difficult to set correctly and this could spoil ur HT experience as u could be overpowering ur surrounds or vice versa. Audyssey will take away all the guess work unless u are planning to set everything by ear and are happy with it.

Also these speakers don't normally go low as its meant for vocals. So I would suggest to let Audyssey do its thing and see how it sounds. I believe ur settings of 100Hz are not too far off, but I also believe u would not have adjusted the trims, unless u did. Audyssey automates this whole process of setting the speaker trims, crossovers and also checks if u set the phase correctly. If u run into any problems with Audyssey, let me know. Also pls use a tripod when u do Audyssey calibration. Read the instructions and carry out the 8 points if it allows. Then see how it sounds. It shd be more balanced and since it also has filters to fix the frequency issues in ur room, shd sound more correct.
anfieldude
post May 21 2010, 11:46 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ May 21 2010, 11:39 AM)
Thanks for valuable advice.

What is "speaker level trims" as u mentioned?

FYI, these BMB speakers are not for karaoke, they were a specially custom made meant for home theatre used. Maybe I snap some photos later.

Will definitely try out the Audyssey.
Cool. What is the technical specs on them?
anfieldude
post May 24 2010, 09:11 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ May 24 2010, 09:02 AM)
Sifu, any abnormalities?
Is the front L/R same speakers as the centre?

Did u use a tripod when measuring?

Was the room quiet when u did it? Was there extraneous noise when the fronts were being measured?

If there were no measurement errors, and ur fronts are the same models and specs as ur centre, then ur primary seating place is causing the xovers to be set very high for ur fronts. There is some cancelation. Based on this and ur subwoofer not being able to handle below 100Hz, u will lose some impact from the fronts as they are crossed over at 150Hz, and ur sub at 100Hz.

However, my main suspicion is ur placement. U might need to move the fronts slightly forward and tilted to get rid of the null in ur seating position.

Also are the fronts rear ported? or front ported?
anfieldude
post May 24 2010, 09:27 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ May 24 2010, 09:22 AM)

Yes, toe in and bring it slightly forward. Ur results indicate that the room is causing some issues.

I would not modify the xovers for now. Needs some investigating. Also I would advise against using the mic on a chair.

Pls PM me, since u r in Pg, maybe we can check it out.
anfieldude
post May 29 2010, 07:44 AM

3,858 posts

Spent some time listening to asherteoh's sunfire. I must say that when properly set, it is really pretty good. Small footprint. Big on bass. Difficult to localize, and all this with no Audyssey. Definately can go pretty low and loud if u want. However, when properly setup, I think its accurate.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0488sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:45 AM