4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!

pierreye
post Jan 24 2010, 01:24 AM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jan 23 2010, 01:15 PM)
Epik is not gonna ship to Malaysia. Koyak...
You try VPOST and see how much they charge you. Now got 20% discount on shipping fee.
pierreye
post Mar 17 2010, 10:51 PM

1,308 posts

I'm considering the eD Dual 13Av.2 Sealed DIY Kit. Ship with all the parts that is similar to A7s-650. I check the shipping is around USD 500!!!. Check the forum that this sub is comparable to Submersive.
pierreye
post Mar 21 2010, 02:03 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 17 2010, 10:58 PM)
Wow.... USD500. That's probably due to the crate size and not to mention the weight.
I got the total weight for shipping break into 4 package. The shipping charges is actually USD 560.

The kit ships as 4 packages.

2 QTY: 18.25" x 18.25" x 16.5" Each Weighing 60 lbs (the woofer)
1 QTY: 17" x 17" x 9.5" Weighing 42 Lbs (amplifier)
1 QTY: 11" x 40" x 17" Weighing 60 Lbs. (DIY pre cut panel)

Total is 220lbs. Calculate the kit is around USD 1125 + 560 = USD 1685 x 3.5 = MYR 5897.50 + 25% tax = MYR 7371.80 + MYR 500 (for labor and veneer by carpenter) = MYR 7871.80.

Now the final question... to buy or not to buy rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by pierreye: Mar 21 2010, 02:04 PM
pierreye
post Mar 22 2010, 09:59 AM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 22 2010, 09:10 AM)
Taikor, pierreye did consider the PB13-Ultra before smile.gif . However, he is looking at other alternatives. DIY path is always fascinating and that it doesn't 'cost' as much. Each has his/her own preference  wink.gif

Btw, still finding time to go up North and audition the monster Submersive sweat.gif  Been busy with acoustic treatment. Now, thinking of DIY a 2x 6" thick frame (2' x 4') to house 4" high density rockwool.
I almost pull the trigger on PB13-Ultra but I still think a sealed sub is better for it's musical characteristic. If you want an all out LFE, PC13 or PB13 Ultra would be a good buy. Submersive sub seems like a final sub for most people. Seldom I heard from the forum they want to upgrade to another sub, only add on more submersive. I too do consider submersive but Mark never reply my email so I give up on Submersive. eD seems like a good alternative with cheaper price. There is a guy who bought both submersive and eD sub for comparison in avsforum.

Added on March 22, 2010, 10:02 am
QUOTE(taqies @ Mar 22 2010, 07:46 AM)
And if you want to try something different, you might want to try these kits http://www.aespeakers.com/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2441, P series cabinet with drivers, you need to buy the amp though, these kits do not come with amp.  I have the AV15X in 3.5cu ft sealed, and it goes down pretty low in my room.
Holy shit. 2 x 15" and 4 x 18" sub in a cabinet!!! Amp is quite cheap if you get EP2500 or EP 4000.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Mar 22 2010, 10:02 AM
pierreye
post Mar 22 2010, 04:08 PM

1,308 posts

I send him 3 emails in 2 months without any reply. eD reply me in a day. So this is part of the consideration just in case if I need replacement parts.
pierreye
post Mar 26 2010, 12:05 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Mar 26 2010, 12:59 AM)
Not exactly know the model, i think its DD Series.. hmm.gif
If you really interested in DD series, I might want to sell my DD-12 if I get eD sub. Can pm me, we talk offline.
pierreye
post Apr 14 2010, 12:01 AM

1,308 posts

All this sub research is going to make me sick. I'm currently looking into another option, dual Epik Empire sub. But the investment would be expensive as I need to get SVS EQ1 due to the dual sub tuning.

eD currently is out of the question as there are some reported problem with LT1300 amp plus long waiting (some wait for 3-6 months to get the sub). Currently a single Empire is at USD 799.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Apr 14 2010, 12:03 AM
pierreye
post Apr 26 2010, 09:29 AM

1,308 posts

You guys still entertain him?
pierreye
post Apr 27 2010, 09:38 AM

1,308 posts

If Ronnt88 want the shootout, I don't mind hosting the event again. We can watch avatar again. Is it 200lbs in total for submersive? I'll get Anfieldude to bring the SVS AS-EQ1 to try out.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Apr 27 2010, 09:39 AM
pierreye
post Apr 27 2010, 10:14 AM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Apr 27 2010, 09:49 AM)
if ronnt88 wants the shootout pula?? rclxub.gif

OK. I admit it's me. Anyway, I just got news from eD that they can ship out the kits in 1.5 weeks with the new LT1300 amp which had solved the circuit breaker trip issue. So, maybe instead of DD-12, might be eD-A7s650. Need to talk to my carpenter how much total for assembly and veneer.

pierreye
post Apr 27 2010, 10:47 AM

1,308 posts

Not the best. Everyone still take Submersive as the sub to beat. There is another monster DIY sub, Danley DTS-10 which is a horn design. This sub is huge and I dont' have the space for that sub.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Apr 27 2010, 10:47 AM
pierreye
post Apr 27 2010, 10:58 AM

1,308 posts

Maybe end of this week. Total quoted damage is USD 1725 x 3.25 = RM 5600. Not including Ketam damage yet and carpenter workmanship.
pierreye
post Apr 27 2010, 11:01 AM

1,308 posts

I don't think can make it before May 13. Anyway this is Danley DTS-10, look at the size.

http://www.avrev.com/home-theater-news/sub...urself-kit.html

This post has been edited by pierreye: Apr 27 2010, 11:03 AM
pierreye
post Apr 27 2010, 12:11 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Apr 27 2010, 11:23 AM)
great price=as long as we are not the one paying for it
great decision= as long as the sub is not available in malaysia and we get to try it:)
Haha... this forum is to goreng people to spend money. As long as anyone is buying, we tumpang happy.

Anyway, part of the reason I go for eD A7s650 is I want a sealed sub with ability to play loud and clean with gradual slope at lower end freq. (min +-3db from 20hz to 100hz and able to hit 115db). Also foot print must not be huge due to space constraint. This sub is tall but only 16" W x 16" D. If compare to local purchase sub, with the tax built-in still a good buy. Only disadvantage is no built in EQ.

pierreye
post Apr 27 2010, 12:25 PM

1,308 posts

Then need to spend more money loh. Budget dry up for this year.
pierreye
post Apr 27 2010, 02:09 PM

1,308 posts

Might go for dual sub. As I look for dual sub options, after searching locally I found those that can complement DD-12 cost me at least RM 4k and above. I'll try out one eD sub first, then add in DD-12 to see if there is any benefit. If not, then I will move DD-12 to my living hall as I'm changing my YSP-4000 to Axiom In wall/On wall speakers.

Interested in my DD-12?

This post has been edited by pierreye: Apr 27 2010, 02:11 PM
pierreye
post Apr 27 2010, 10:04 PM

1,308 posts

Sure. Any equipment you want to sponsored to poison Penang kia?
pierreye
post Apr 28 2010, 01:40 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Apr 28 2010, 11:26 AM)
since u handle svs all the time then my svs will be moved up and down the 3rd floor by u:)

Added on April 28, 2010, 11:48 am

bro u confirm buying ED liao izt.. if confirm buying then no need shootout liao.. we just go enjoy your new subby enuf..
Should be the one. Waiting for their banking info. Shootout is just for comparison between different tech and pros or cons of each design. Once we know our preferences, then it's easier to make the right purchase in the future.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Apr 28 2010, 01:42 PM
pierreye
post Apr 29 2010, 04:16 PM

1,308 posts

The best part is when the titan speak, you can feel the low bass shaking. The sound reinforce that titan is huge and had high volume of air.
pierreye
post Jun 2 2010, 07:21 AM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 29 2010, 10:38 AM)
ron,

That guy stopped replying my mails after promising to get back to me....I'm a little tired. Now considering my choices.
If you seriously considered the subM, you should try to wake up at 5am and give Mark a call. Small ID company communication is kind of slow and you need to followup with them. I too need to call eD to get a confirmation on shipment and finally they are going to ship the item tomorrow.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0365sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:43 AM