104 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!

cslee007
post Jun 9 2010, 12:34 PM

33 posts

Hi, all sifus

I'm a newcomer.
I want to setup a HT in my new house and need to get some advise.

My HT consists of

1. Onkyo TX-SR507
2. Speaker system: Jamo S606 HSC3

My listening area is 20 ft x 24 ft x 10 ft.
Is actually the living hall connected directly to dinning hall.

Would Jamo Sub 300 Or Wharfy SUB 250 good enough for this kind of application?

ronnt88
post Jun 9 2010, 01:26 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(cslee007 @ Jun 9 2010, 12:34 PM)
Hi, all sifus

I'm a newcomer.
I want to setup a HT in my new house and need to get some advise.

My HT consists of

1. Onkyo TX-SR507
2. Speaker system: Jamo S606 HSC3

My listening area is 20 ft x 24 ft x 10 ft.
Is actually the living hall connected directly to dinning hall.

Would Jamo Sub 300 Or Wharfy SUB 250 good enough for this kind of application?
of coz not coz ur listening area is huge... get 2 x PB13Ultras or 2 x Sub25 thumbup.gif
maskedchan
post Jun 9 2010, 01:40 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jun 9 2010, 01:26 PM)
of coz not coz ur listening area is huge... get 2 x PB13Ultras or 2 x Sub25 thumbup.gif
not match with the puny speaker..how? whistling.gif
ronnt88
post Jun 9 2010, 01:43 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jun 9 2010, 01:40 PM)
not match with the puny speaker..how?  whistling.gif
can upgrade puny speakers later whistling.gif
chewkl
post Jun 9 2010, 02:12 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

My hall is 14*18*10 and trust me Wharfy SW-250 is not up to that task.

Buy if U insist U want SW-250 PM me I am selling mine. biggrin.gif
anfieldude
post Jun 9 2010, 03:18 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Jun 9 2010, 02:12 PM)

I agree that the smaller subs probably cannot fill the area, however, with some time taken to consider proper placement, it shd be no pushover. Might not get the slam u r looking for, but still u will feel the presence.
chewkl
post Jun 9 2010, 03:40 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Bro Anfieldude, yes I agree if I walk around the room to find the optimum place to put it, the presence is indeed felt. But the thing is I have a 2 1/2 year old toddler running around all the time so I need my place to be safe as well. So only place I can put it is in the front together with the rest of the gear. sad.gif

Hence, the need for a bigger sub. laugh.gif
TShtkaki
post Jun 9 2010, 03:45 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

bigger sub such as? tongue.gif

With the addition of sub and proper tuning, it does make a difference in movie watching as compare to a typical 5.0 system. A lot of time, many people overlook the .1 in their setup. It's not about 'whoompa whoompa'. It's all about integration to the rest of the spkrs that would enhance the sound enjoyment. It's not all about Loud Boomy Boom Boom (sorry, i can't help it) whistling.gif sweat.gif
anfieldude
post Jun 9 2010, 03:49 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Jun 9 2010, 03:40 PM)
Bro Anfieldude, yes I agree if I walk around the room to find the optimum place to put it, the presence is indeed felt. But the thing is I have a 2 1/2 year old toddler running around all the time so I need my place to be safe as well. So only place I can put it is in the front together with the rest of the gear. sad.gif

Hence, the need for a bigger sub. laugh.gif
2 1/2year old kids rule! I agree.
TShtkaki
post Jun 9 2010, 03:56 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I seldom let my 3 y.o. son to go into my HT room. He normally plays with his toys in master room. Only when he want to watch cartoon movies, he will go into HT room.
scsoo
post Jun 9 2010, 04:22 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 9 2010, 04:56 PM)
I seldom let my 3 y.o. son to go into my HT room. He normally plays with his toys in master room. Only when he want to watch cartoon movies, he will go into HT room.
In my situation, can be said ... worse.... I am using KEF3005SE and the Subwoofer HTB2SE have both the driver and passive driver expose.. KEF do not make cover/grill for it.... Lifestyle thingy .. supposed to be seen.....
Imagine the placement issue.. if put in the middle of the room standing up with both driver expose.. very nice to look at... but any mishap.. then that the end of one lifestyle subwoofer.....

chewkl
post Jun 9 2010, 05:10 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 9 2010, 03:56 PM)
Taikor U elite got HT room mah. I live in peasant atap niah have to put all my HT stuff in the living room. rolleyes.gif
TShtkaki
post Jun 9 2010, 05:27 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Jun 9 2010, 05:10 PM)
Taikor U elite got HT room mah. I live in peasant atap niah have to put all my HT stuff in the living room. rolleyes.gif
Fuyoo, really low profile and humble notworthy.gif

It's a matter of want or not since there are plenty of rooms in your mansion. Probably HM did not give approval, is it? tongue.gif

chewkl
post Jun 9 2010, 05:36 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

HM will approve of anything if my wallet approves, but sadly...cry.gif
cslee007
post Jun 10 2010, 08:20 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Jun 9 2010, 02:12 PM)

How long u had been using the SW-250?
And how much u want to sell?
If the price is attractive, then may consider to buy and use it temporarily.
Plan to upgrade to Sub 25 later on as now really not afford coz just move to new house.

TShtkaki
post Jun 10 2010, 08:32 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Fuyoo..... Sub25 sweat.gif Elite notworthy.gif The 'touted' SubM killer. IIRC, it is on order basis. Takes abt 2-3 months to get one as the local distri did not stock it.

cslee07, your other loudspeakers must be drool.gif One of the best setup belongs to shuto1 and there is another forumer who is very low profile with his system too.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 10 2010, 08:35 AM
chewkl
post Jun 10 2010, 08:32 AM

Peasant
2,170 posts

SW250 was purchased late last year but only opened up and used mid last month when I moved into the new pad. Kiasu so sapu first biggrin.gif

Frankly I am also not sure how much I bought mine and how much a new one is selling for now. Let me check and get back to U, but I would expect to sell it around 80% the price of a new one. Condition is perfect.
cslee007
post Jun 10 2010, 10:07 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 9 2010, 03:45 PM)
bigger sub such as?  tongue.gif

With the addition of sub and proper tuning, it does make a difference in movie watching as compare to a typical 5.0 system. A lot of time, many people overlook the .1 in their setup. It's not about 'whoompa whoompa'. It's all about integration to the rest of the spkrs that would enhance the sound enjoyment. It's not all about Loud Boomy Boom Boom (sorry, i can't help it)  whistling.gif  sweat.gif
Agree........

Added on June 10, 2010, 10:11 am
QUOTE(chewkl @ Jun 10 2010, 08:32 AM)
SW250 was purchased late last year but only opened up and used mid last month when I moved into the new pad. Kiasu so sapu first biggrin.gif

Frankly I am also not sure how much I bought mine and how much a new one is selling for now. Let me check and get back to U, but I would expect to sell it around 80% the price of a new one. Condition is perfect.
Let me know when u confirm the price.

Added on June 10, 2010, 11:07 am
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jun 9 2010, 03:18 PM)
I agree that the smaller subs probably cannot fill the area, however, with some time taken to consider proper placement, it shd be no pushover. Might not get the slam u r looking for, but still u will feel the presence.
Which is better?
Velodyne CHT12-R or Wharfy SW250?
Will other brands of subwoofer unable to match with my current Jamo S606?

Added on June 10, 2010, 11:33 amAny comment on Jamo or Yamaha subwoofer?

This post has been edited by cslee007: Jun 10 2010, 11:33 AM
chewkl
post Jun 10 2010, 02:14 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(cslee007 @ Jun 10 2010, 10:07 AM)
Which is better?
Velodyne CHT12-R or Wharfy SW250?
Will other brands of subwoofer unable to match with my current Jamo S606?

Added on June 10, 2010, 11:33 amAny comment on Jamo or Yamaha subwoofer?
Bro, cannot compare 12" to 10", of course 12" will have more slam and since Velo is ported it is more efficient. But SW250 is more musical and accurate I would say.

And of course, CHT12-R is more expensive than SW250.

Just my 2 sen, wait for subwoofer taikors to comment. thumbup.gif

Dunno bout Jamo sub, but Yammy sub more suitable as footstool. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by chewkl: Jun 10 2010, 02:15 PM
TShtkaki
post Jun 10 2010, 05:47 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

CHT-12Q costs a whole lot more than SW250. IIRC, it sld be around RM2.8K mark.

Yes, CHT-Q primarily for movie. SW250 would sounds cleaner but losing out in tactile. These entry level subs will not overpower the Jamo.

104 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:12 PM