127 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Debit Card V2

future80
post Nov 18 2009, 02:33 PM

1,617 posts

the most lousy thing for Maybank Cherry VISA is thier threat point, only RM3 for 1 point, it is better give cash rebate. not worth use the that much of point to change those 'gift'.
cheekiyaya
post Nov 18 2009, 02:57 PM

35 posts

I personally think debit card is better than credit card. Curb spending. It's good for students too because they can control their spendings this way.

I have seen many people going bancrupt from not being able to pay for their credit card debts...and I am really sad to know that there are still many people who doesn't know how to plan their financial future.

As for me, I am using KTAR debit card, and I like it =)
alexwsk
post Nov 18 2009, 03:03 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(cheekiyaya @ Nov 18 2009, 02:57 PM)
I personally think debit card is better than credit card. Curb spending. It's good for students too because they can control their spendings this way.

I have seen many people going bancrupt from not being able to pay for their credit card debts...and I am really sad to know that there are still many people who doesn't know how to plan their financial future.

for students, yes
for working adults, most probably no

if you do know how to plan, credit card is always better than dc
cshong
post Nov 18 2009, 03:26 PM

3,927 posts

QUOTE(cheekiyaya @ Nov 18 2009, 02:57 PM)

KTAR debit card? Never hear it before. From which bank?
TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 18 2009, 03:33 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 18 2009, 03:03 PM)
for students, yes
for working adults, most probably no

if you do know how to plan, credit card is always better than dc
Agreed !

QUOTE(cshong @ Nov 18 2009, 03:26 PM)
KTAR debit card? Never hear it before. From which bank?
Public Bank. You do not need to open a savings/current account with them as it is a standalone debit Mastercard.

Mozilla-Firefox
post Nov 20 2009, 02:25 AM

59 posts

Is it safe to put all your money to the bank account which is linked to a debit card nowadays? Or it is safer too put aside a sum of money for the card?
GHz
post Nov 20 2009, 09:30 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(Mozilla-Firefox @ Nov 20 2009, 02:25 AM)
Is it safe to put all your money to the bank account which is linked to a debit card nowadays? Or it is safer too put aside a sum of money for the card?
For me, I will put into separate account with the same bank. I can transfer it easily through internet. If fraud happen your money at risk. Its your money. Banks won't care that much unlike credit card.
TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 20 2009, 11:06 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Nov 20 2009, 09:30 AM)
For me, I will put into separate account with the same bank. I can transfer it easily through internet. If fraud happen your money at risk. Its your money. Banks won't care that much unlike credit card.
Agreed. You guys should maintain two different savings account with the same bank and don't link the accounts together with your debit card. Get a separate card instead.

future80
post Nov 20 2009, 03:53 PM

1,617 posts

Me just like to put very limited amount in debit card, only bank in when nearly rearch zero amount.
most of the time i didnt carry it go out, just put in safe place.
TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 20 2009, 08:19 PM

9,301 posts

I have two Public Bank savings account. One is PLUS Savings Account and another one a Basic Savings Account.

PLUS Savings Account is my first and original account with Public Bank. Shortly after i converted my Public Bank ATM card to Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card, i opened a Basic Savings Account and moved most of my money in my PLUS Savings Account to this account. This is to limit my exposure in case someone steal my Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card and simply charge anything into it.

The Basic Savings Account comes with an annual fee free MEPS ATM card (the old blue color card) and i am allowed to withdraw cash over any Public Bank ATM 8 times a month and for each subsequent withdrawal i'll be charged RM1. But i do not have to worry this as once i have hit the 8 times free withdrawals limit in a month, i can simply transfer the money through e-banking from my Basic Savings Account to my PLUS Savings Account and withdraw it from there thumbup.gif

When i opened the Basic Savings Account a few months ago, i was asked if i want to link it to my existing Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card. I chose not to. Besides, it's not that i have to pay for the additional MEPS ATM card since it comes free with the Basic Savings Account anyway.

For your information, linking several accounts to a single MEPS ATM card or Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card is only possible if the account holding branch for all the said accounts is from the same branch.

By the way, you must also know that if you only have a Basic Savings Account or Basic Current Account with Public Bank, they will not be able to issue you the Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card.

simplesmile
post Nov 20 2009, 09:11 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 20 2009, 08:19 PM)
I have two Public Bank savings account. One is PLUS Savings Account and another one a Basic Savings Account.

PLUS Savings Account is my first and original account with Public Bank. Shortly after i converted my Public Bank ATM card to Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card, i opened a Basic Savings Account and moved most of my money in my PLUS Savings Account to this account. This is to limit my exposure in case someone steal my Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card and simply charge anything into it.

The Basic Savings Account comes with an annual fee free MEPS ATM card (the old blue color card) and i am allowed to withdraw cash over any Public Bank ATM 8 times a month and for each subsequent withdrawal i'll be charged RM1. But i do not have to worry this as once i have hit the 8 times free withdrawals limit in a month, i can simply transfer the money through e-banking from my Basic Savings Account to my PLUS Savings Account and withdraw it from there  thumbup.gif

When i opened the Basic Savings Account a few months ago, i was asked if i want to link it to my existing Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card. I chose not to. Besides, it's not that i have to pay for the additional MEPS ATM card since it comes free with the Basic Savings Account anyway.

For your information, linking several accounts to a single MEPS ATM card or Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card is only possible if the account holding branch for all the said accounts is from the same branch.

By the way, you must also know that if you only have a Basic Savings Account or Basic Current Account with Public Bank, they will not be able to issue you the Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card.
But, I thought the thief would need to key in the PIN in order for the charge on the debit card to go through?
nanakopy87
post Nov 20 2009, 10:09 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

miles,is it really annual fee free for that atm card?
i have atm card for my public bank saving account and they charge me RM8 as annual fee leh
alexwsk
post Nov 20 2009, 11:03 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Nov 20 2009, 10:09 PM)
i have atm card for my public bank saving account and they charge me RM8 as annual fee leh
miles atm card is link to his PB Basic Savings Account, so it's free
for normal account, it's RM8

you can open another basic savings with atm and cancel the current atm card/regular savings

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Nov 20 2009, 11:04 PM
Scissorshand
post Nov 20 2009, 11:05 PM

1,691 posts

Not sure any1 mentoned, but heard from close source our Gov wants to charge RM50 to debit card as well which is MADNESS!!!!!!!!! But its not final as all commercial banks will be meetin BNM to clarify further.
alexwsk
post Nov 20 2009, 11:10 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Nov 20 2009, 11:05 PM)
Not sure any1 mentoned, but heard from close source our Gov wants to charge RM50 to debit card as well which is MADNESS!!!!!!!!! But its not final as all commercial banks will be meetin BNM to clarify further.
hehe, don't believe in rumours
there's no way it will happen
TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 20 2009, 11:23 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Nov 20 2009, 09:11 PM)
But, I thought the thief would need to key in the PIN in order for the charge on the debit card to go through?
Not the Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card. It works like a credit card. You just need to give the card to the cashier, once it's been approved, you just need to sign the receipt and then you're good to go.

Only the Public Bank MEPS ATM card needs its cardholder to enter the card's PIN number.

Yes. It comes with some T&C though. For example, i am allowed to withdraw cash from the ATM only 8 times in a month, after that there is a penalty of RM1 for each subsequent withdrawals. Unlike your current ATM card which you pay RM8 per annum, you can use it as many times as you like. Strictly no penalty at all !

That is because your savings account type is either a :
- PLUS Savings Account
- SaveLink Account
- PLUS Current Account
- CurrentLink Account
- ACE Account
- Wadiah Savings Account-i
- Wadiah Current Account-i

All the account types mentioned above all charge RM8/pa for a regular MEPS ATM card (red or blue color one) and RM12/pa for PBB Day2Day VISA. I believe yours is a PLUS Savings Account.

If you are still using the old MEPS ATM card to withdraw cash at PBB ATM, you'll see a notice on the screen to ask you to change it to the new PBB Day2Day VISA. It is not necessary to change your current MEPS ATM card to the PBB Day2Day VISA if you do not need it as annual fee for the latter is RM4 higher per annum.

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 20 2009, 11:03 PM)
thumbup.gif

you can open another basic savings with atm and cancel the current atm card/regular savings
Closing a Public Bank house savings account will attract a one time charge of RM10. Besides, only the Public Bank house savings account can be issued with PBB Day2Day VISA debit card. For the basic savings/current account, only the old regular MEPS ATM card can be issued.

Impossible lah. Definitely a false rumor, just like the rumor about the collapse of Bank of East Asia in Hong Kong last year.
alexwsk
post Nov 20 2009, 11:30 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 20 2009, 11:23 PM)
Closing a Public Bank house savings account will attract a one time charge of RM10. Besides, only the Public Bank house savings account can be issued with PBB Day2Day VISA debit card. For the basic savings/current account, only the old regular MEPS ATM card can be issued.
ic, din notice that
but i left mine with RM1 balance
TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 20 2009, 11:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 20 2009, 11:30 PM)
ic, din notice that
but i left mine with RM1 balance
Which is why most of the tellers will tell you not to close it and they will ask you to withdraw all your money and leave just RM1 inside so you can save RM10 biggrin.gif

future80
post Nov 21 2009, 12:22 AM

1,617 posts

if this is really happens, definitely will give big effects to all the banks, and then to others sectors..
bingozero
post Nov 21 2009, 01:54 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

What colour is your passbook? Is that yellow in colour?

This post has been edited by bingozero: Nov 21 2009, 01:57 AM

127 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:22 PM