Debit Card V2

TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 25 2009, 06:47 PM, updated 15y ago

9,301 posts

Version 2 of the Debit Card thread. You can carry on with your discussion anything about debit card here.

Here's the link to the previous version > Debit Card V1

To all Maybankard Cherry ATM/VISA debit card users wishing to buy something over the net using your card, please activate the MSOS first. Please read how to activate the MSOS here > MSOS

Maybank Cherry VISA debit
Click me--Maybank visa debit link

Maybank Cherry debit Mastercard Platinum
Click me-- Maybank debit mastercard platinum link

Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit
Click me- Public bank Day2Day debit card link

Public Bank Esso Mobil visa debit ## New ## oops.gif
Click me- Public bank esso mobil visa debit link

Public bank visa electron debit card
Click me- Public bank visa electron link

RHB Bank Cash Connect debit Mastercard
Click me- RHB cash connect debit mastercard link

RHB Bank Cash Connect Visa debit
Click me- RHB cash connect visa debit link

UOB Bank debit Mastercard
Click me- UOB debit mastercard

EON Bank debit Mastercard
Click me- Eon bank debit mastercard link

Allicance bank Unique prepaid mastercard
Click me- Alliance bank Unique prepaid mastercard

Bank of China (Malaysia) prepaid UnionPay
Click me- Bank of China (Malaysia) Prepaid UnionPay

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Mar 21 2011, 04:57 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 25 2009, 08:01 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 25 2009, 07:55 PM)
we need more info on DC (Debit card).
Okay. We'll start by listing down some of the more popular debit cards in circulation.
- Maybank Cherry VISA debit
- Maybank Cherry debit Mastercard Platinum
- Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit
- Public Bank VISA Electron

There are also some not so famous ones but still packed with a lot of features and very cards such as :
- RHB Bank Cash Connect debit Mastercard
- EON Bank Combi debit Mastercard
- UOB Bank debit Mastercard
and a lot more.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 25 2009, 08:02 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 25 2009, 11:15 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(badSeed @ Oct 25 2009, 08:05 PM)
2. can i make online room bookings for genting
Possible with Public Bank VISA Electron and Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card. Tried it before smile.gif

QUOTE(yiivei @ Oct 25 2009, 08:22 PM)
we need to list down which DC can be used for online transaction 2..
The confirmed ones ...
- PBB VISA Electron
- PBB ING debit Mastercard
- PBB Day2Day VISA debit card
- Maybank Cherry VISA debit card
- Maybank Cherry debit Mastercard Platinum
- EON Bank Combi debit Mastercard

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Oct 25 2009, 08:25 PM)
and oso which dc has no fees (including the acc that comes with it)
Only Maybank offer true free for life VISA debit/Mastercard debit. As for Public Bank VISA Electron and Public Bank ING Mastercard, you need to spend more than RM1200 and the annual fee will be automatically waived. All other debit cards offered by other banks have an annual fee ranging between RM8 - RM20. The most expensive one is Affin Bank debit Mastercard at RM20/pa.

QUOTE(bingozero @ Oct 25 2009, 11:11 PM)
But you cannot pay bill utility by using debit card sad.gif
It is now possible with PBB D2D VISA debit card. My friend tried it just a few weeks ago. Not too sure about other types of debit card though.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 25 2009, 11:16 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 25 2009, 11:42 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Oct 25 2009, 11:28 PM)
Any debit cards offer cash back or rebates? Or rewards?
Maybank gives you treatpoints. EON Bank will also give you some points which you will have to accumulate and redeem the gift of your choice from a catalogue. Public Bank will either give you cash rebate or points, depends on which PBB debit card you are using. RHB Bank will also give you cash rebate.

TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 26 2009, 10:33 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(gomes. @ Oct 26 2009, 05:24 AM)
hi, does alot of stores/places/restaurants now accept debit cards? its not that common issit?
You can use it at all stores displaying VISA and Mastercard logo.

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 26 2009, 08:49 AM)
im still new to debit card.

is PBB debit card = ATM card? just like what MBB doing now.
Yes. The Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card also serves as your ATM card to access your savings/current account over the ATM, just like Maybank Cherry series of debit card. The reward system for PBB D2D VISA debit card is better than Maybank Cherry series of debit card.

TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 26 2009, 07:57 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(future80 @ Oct 26 2009, 06:17 PM)
u meant he purchase ticket thru counter by card, not online purchase by card.

Yes. Exactly what he/she was trying to say.

QUOTE(future80 @ Oct 26 2009, 06:17 PM)
PBVE need any requirements to apply? at least 18 years old with address (no PO box)?
As long as you are at least 12 years old you are qualified for all range of Public Bank debit cards. However, please note that for PBVE you must keep RM25 of deposit inside the account at all time. As for Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card, the minimum deposit must be kept inside the account is only RM1 at all time.

TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 27 2009, 11:17 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(future80 @ Oct 27 2009, 09:12 PM)
which website it able to use? does the web mentioned it can use debit card?
www.malaysiaairlines.com
www.singaporeairlines.com
www.cathaypacific.com
www.airasia.com
www.amazon.com

and many more. As long as they have the VISA or Mastercard displayed then it means your debit cards are accepted.

QUOTE(banks @ Oct 27 2009, 09:47 PM)
I already have this Public Bank VISA Electron. Should I cancel it and get Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit instead? Seems more easy to use. Lazy have to go to the PB bank to reload the PBVE  sweat.gif
If you use for online transaction a lot then PBVE is actually a better card as the exposure is not as great as PBB D2D VISA. PBB D2D VISA is directly linked to your savings/current account whereas PBVE is not. You can apply for PBB e-banking and transfer the money to your PBVE online from your savings/current account whenever you need it. This way you won't have to go to PBB to reload your PBVE anymore.

TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 28 2009, 10:16 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Mozilla-Firefox @ Oct 28 2009, 04:48 AM)
Hi I will be going overseas in a few weeks time. Is my Pbb Day2Day useable overseas? And are there any additional charges? Lastly also how will be the conversion of currencies counted? Thanks
Yes. It can be used overseas. The conversion rate is according to VISA rate on the day of transaction and Public Bank will impose a 1.25% admin charge on top of that.

Let say you use it in Hong Kong, the amount charged will first be converted into USD first before they convert it back to MYR.

TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 28 2009, 11:30 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Mozilla-Firefox @ Oct 28 2009, 11:00 AM)
Okayyy thanks. Anyways does debit card deduct the amount you sign immediately from your account? Because I had come across that the amount is only deducted few days later in some transactions. For Pbb Day2Day when will be the rebate given back?it's in form of cash right?
For petrol transaction RM200 will be temporary deducted from your account. The rest of the unused balance will be refunded to you after a few days. As for all other transactions, the amount will be deducted in a few days.

The rebate will be credited back into your account on the 1st of each month.

TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 29 2009, 12:02 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(qwer312 @ Oct 28 2009, 11:34 PM)
hmm...debit card oso need to get charge rm50 each year? hope bank will absorb tat fee cos not really fair to debit card user
No. You got your information wrong. Only credit card and charge card will be charged RM50/pa.
TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 29 2009, 01:48 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Oct 29 2009, 01:32 AM)
By the way Miles, I still receive the physical statement even though already applied for online ones.
Hm, will this be the last physical statement they send to my address?
You mean you applied for the one in PDF format ? I didn't know PBB is offering online statement in PDF. Or just the regular page like the one below ? If it is the one like the screenshot attached then yes, you will continue to receive your paper statement every month.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 29 2009, 01:51 AM
TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 30 2009, 08:44 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(thken @ Oct 30 2009, 05:01 PM)
new bie on DC here
i have a PBBANK UTAR DEBIT CARD, how does it works?
how to put money inside it? can we use ATM to change the PIN no.?

There are several ways to deposit money into you PBB UTAR debit Mastercard. For example :
- via the ATM, direct transfer from your savings or current account, assume if you have a savings/current with PBB
- via CDT. You need to go to any PBB branch, key in your card 16-digit number, then when it shows your name and it is correct, press yes and deposit the money in
- Online transfer. If you are a PBB savings/current account holder, you can use your PBB e-banking to transfer money from your PBB savings/current account to your PBB UTAR debit Mastercard

i heard when put money in the debit card, i need to go cash deposit machine and select credict card payment, is that true?

If my memory serves me correctly, the PBB ATM and CDT (Cash Deposit Terminal) will show both credit card/debit card on the screen.

i also have a maybank chery debit card, never use before,
if i have money in my account, then i can use it anytime i like?
eg: my acc balance is rm200, then i can use to shop?
Yes.

TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 30 2009, 09:24 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(thken @ Oct 30 2009, 08:57 PM)
thanks for the info, but about changing the PIN, only can be done in pbbank atm machine?
Yes. It can only be done via PBB ATM smile.gif

TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 31 2009, 06:02 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Oct 31 2009, 11:33 AM)
"The credit card you entered could not be authorized for this purchase. If you feel that this failure has occurred in error, please contact your credit card company."

I have already dealt with them before. What could possibly caused me this?
What should I do? I called PB customer care today but nobody answered. Thanks.
The WorldPay system managed by Royal Bank of Scotland (RBS) can't verify all Public Bank credit and debit cards. This happened to me before a few years back. A friend of mine also faced the same problem when he used his father's PBB Gold Mastercard to pay for registration fee to a university in Manchester, UK through WorldPay. His father called Public Bank credit card centre and they told him their system showed it as timed-out. They couldn't tell him what the exact reason was but this seems only to happen to WorldPay.

May i know which site did you try to buy the thing(s) from ? The site might be using WorldPay system ...

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 31 2009, 06:03 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 31 2009, 09:04 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(qpalzm87 @ Oct 31 2009, 08:55 PM)
Hey guys
I own a PBVE card
My ques here is, how long will the authorized charges for petrol ie rm200 is gonna be refunded back to me?
I pumped last sunday
And how do I check that?
Called PB for like 10 times, no one answering the phone
Damn du lan    mad.gif
I must be lucky then. They always answer my call biggrin.gif

The RM200 deposit will be refunded to you once the petrol station owner claims their share from the bank.

TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 31 2009, 10:44 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 31 2009, 09:41 PM)
is this thread including the debit card from oversea bank?
Yes. Why not tongue.gif

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Oct 31 2009, 09:36 PM)
It is calvinkleinjeans.com.. Ai, really want to buy something there. Last time I try to buy something but since it is out of stock, they cancel my order. My card is not charged at all. Then, when I try to place new orders, this problem came up. So, how?
Erm ... If i'm not mistaken, calvinkleinjeans.com is not allowed to ship any item to countries outside USA. This could be the reason they declined your debit card because your credit card is not a US-issued debit card. May be last time they did not update their system which is why last time your debit card got through.

QUOTE(future80 @ Oct 31 2009, 10:22 PM)
.... seems like all the day the number unanswered...  are this only happened to saturday/sunday?  hmm.gif
but thier website written 24hr including public holidays, but not including saturday & sunday?
There was once i called their credit card centre around 2am. Yes. 2AM. They did answer my phone. Something wrong with my PBVE and www.singaporeairlines.com couldn't verify my PBVE.

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 31 2009, 10:37 PM)
but now when i think back, i feel like the person who called me is fake..she never ask any of my bank details like password or account number..she just say out the transaction details..and she said i cannot transfer or use money via online from now on until they issue me a new card. but i try check my bank account just now, is still usable...

so u guys think the person call me is fake or real?thr maybe some word i missed out.. rclxub.gif
She couldn't ask for your password per Reserve Bank of Australia rule. Just to be safe, you should call them and ask if there is anything wrong with your debit Mastercard because if there is, they will flag your account and they will be able to see it in their system.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 31 2009, 10:51 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Oct 31 2009, 11:44 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Oct 31 2009, 11:18 PM)
Not accepting a non US-issued debit card? drugstore.com also mentioned this, but I've already done several purchases with them. Everything works fine.

Yeah. In fact they are not allowed to shipped any items outside USA.

By the way, drugstore.com huh ? Didn't you face any problem with the custom ? I personally had imported some vitamins from USA myself as well as some fragrances and body shampoos from strawberry.net in Hong Kong. At first there wasn't any problem. Then the last time strawberry.net shipped my order to me (several bottles body shampoos inside), the health authority confiscated all of them and they sent me a letter with a super threatening tone that they can charge me in court next time i do this.

I already paid RM500+ for all the body shampoos to strawberry.net. Of course i wasn't happy and decided to fight with them. I told them if i am not allowed to import any toiletries from overseas myself even only for personal use, then why didn't they confiscate all the previous shipments. I even showed them the boxes as well as the custom clearance letter from my previous orders when i went to see them in their office. After a series of argument with them, they finally gave up and returned everything to me. They did however, warn me not to import toiletries from overseas again. The whole experience was bizarre and i do not want to go through that again. So i have not ordered any toiletries or drugs from overseas since.

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Oct 31 2009, 11:18 PM)
So, what should I do then Miles? What you did last time? Should I call PB or not?
Yes. You should call them. Only PBB can help you now smile.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 31 2009, 11:46 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 1 2009, 01:20 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Nov 1 2009, 12:15 AM)
Let me be honest ok.. I use VSHub services. They gave me a US mailing address so that it can be used whenever I want to shop things in the US.

Oh i see. So it is a thing like vPost and Globeshop biggrin.gif

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Nov 1 2009, 12:15 AM)
Can custom holds your items? Man, you even got a warning letter on that? shocking.gif
Apparently they can wink.gif

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 1 2009, 02:12 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Nov 1 2009, 01:40 AM)
Globeshop? Haven't heard of it.. Can they ship items to Malaysia? The shipping is cheaper or not?
I've known about vPost.

Globeshop is a service provided by Citibank exclusively to their credit cardholders. The is another one called Globaleshop and only American Express cardholders can use their service in Malaysia.

vPost as far as i am concerned, only provide their service to HSBC and UOB Bank credit cardholders in Malaysia. Not too sure which one is cheaper but your VSHub does look very expensive eh sweat.gif

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Nov 1 2009, 01:40 AM)
Let's just say the items are being held by custom, they'll contact us or we have to call them and check?
As of now, what debit card you use? smile.gif
They will send you a letter.

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 1 2009, 09:12 AM)
hmm..she never ask any bank details from me. when i receive the call, she ask is it *my name*, and i say yes...then she say found out got problem with my debit card..and she list out the transaction that recently made to confirm whether i got make such transaction or not..got 1 transaction i never make..and today i need pay my rental so she also called me to pay the rental first before they close my account so that i won't be late to pay the rent..so now my bank account not much money left..im not rly worry now...
actually she sounds not really fishy but to be safe, i try to ask some opinion here 1st..the number they called is private number..but in australia here, private number is too common..

but for more safety reason, i will go to bank tomorrow for more clarification
Well, usually when someone from the bank call me regarding my credit card account, they will not ask for my credit card number or billing address etc. They will only ask me if i'm Mr. XXX. So it is a normal procedure that they do not ask for your debit card details. Even here in Malaysia certain banks will also call using secured line. Meaning it will appear in our mobile phone as private number.

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Nov 1 2009, 09:27 AM)
Matters resolved! =) I called them at 6.30 am today, ahaha..
Thanks Miles for your help.
Good to know thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 1 2009, 02:15 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 1 2009, 04:26 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 1 2009, 02:57 PM)
hmm..so the caller is not rly fake then?
but i will head over the bank tomorrow anyway
Most likely not.

QUOTE(roshen43 @ Nov 1 2009, 03:06 PM)
hello everyone.. im quite new to Debit Card.. currently im using Public Bank UTAR Debit Card.. The question is, could i transfer money from my savings account to my debit card? anyone?
Yes. You can. You can do it over the ATM or through e-banking.

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Nov 1 2009, 04:18 PM)
I see, which is why I haven't heard of Globeshop..  smile.gif Have you tried those services?
QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Nov 1 2009, 04:18 PM)
What's wrong with CKJeans? Or, is it my card?
Yes. The problem lies within your card. CKJeans might not be able to process foreign issued credit or debit card because their management has imposed a restriction on it for online order. And in this case, PBVE is a foreign card to them because the company is in USA.

The reason they approved your order is probably because they were going to process your debit card offline, just like Amazon.com. They only found out it is not an American-issued debit card when they processes your debit card offline which is why they had to cancel your order.

29 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:05 AM