Debit Card V2

bingozero
post Oct 25 2009, 10:07 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(badSeed @ Oct 25 2009, 08:05 PM)
the maybankard visa debit seems interesting to me..
from V1 there's a lot of discussion for Public Bank card

my questions for this card are:
1. can i use this card for cinema online bookings (TGV, GSC)
2. can i make online room bookings for genting
3. if use at petrol station, will it deduct the exact amount i pumped or deduct more, heard somewhere some card deduct few hundreds then will reimburse at the end of the month..i dunno lol - found the info oredy

i'm new to cards  smile.gif
According to one lowyat former, he manage to use his PBVE Debit card for GSC's Epayment ticketing.

This post has been edited by bingozero: Oct 25 2009, 10:21 PM
bingozero
post Oct 25 2009, 11:11 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Oct 25 2009, 10:50 PM)
I think from previous threads, the conclusion was PBVE can do just about everything a CC can.
But you cannot pay bill utility by using debit card sad.gif
bingozero
post Oct 26 2009, 03:09 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 25 2009, 11:15 PM)
It is now possible with PBB D2D VISA debit card. My friend tried it just a few weeks ago. Not too sure about other types of debit card though.
Thats good to heard that, now debit card can accept in many places wub.gif
bingozero
post Oct 26 2009, 06:47 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(gomes. @ Oct 26 2009, 05:24 AM)
hi, does alot of stores/places/restaurants now accept debit cards? its not that common issit?
Major of the merchant do accept debit card smile.gif
bingozero
post Nov 21 2009, 01:54 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 20 2009, 11:03 PM)
miles atm card is link to his PB Basic Savings Account, so it's free
for normal account, it's RM8

you can open another basic savings with atm and cancel the current atm card/regular savings
What colour is your passbook? Is that yellow in colour?

This post has been edited by bingozero: Nov 21 2009, 01:57 AM
bingozero
post Nov 21 2009, 02:48 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 21 2009, 02:14 AM)
No. It's red in color. The cover design is very plain compared to my PLUS Savings Account and it is written as BASIC Savings Account on the front.
But mine one is yellow colour, written as saving account. Is that any different with the red colour that you mention?
bingozero
post Nov 21 2009, 03:53 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(bukanmain @ Nov 21 2009, 02:57 AM)
Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card doesnt need to put in pin? just sign like credit card? ohh ive been searching for this type of debit card..sometimes when we go makan2 its annoying when he ask me to go counter and put pin..so i stop using debit card when eating..
I think the cashier don't know difference between "bankcard" and also "visa/master" logo that printed at the card.
Most of the ATM card printed with "bankcard".
If you are using bankcard to purchase good, you must key in the pin at the terminal to make a transaction.
http://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/perso...ers/edebit.html

For visa and master logo card, all you need to do is sign at the receipt that printed from the terminal.
If you feel suspicious with the cashier go to check whether the terminal accept bankcard or credit card.

This post has been edited by bingozero: Nov 21 2009, 03:54 AM
bingozero
post Nov 21 2009, 05:35 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(bukanmain @ Nov 21 2009, 05:07 AM)
even if the card does appear master/visa logo they still charge it under debit instead of credit
If like this, probability they didn't know how to operate the terminal.

bingozero
post Dec 11 2009, 09:46 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(greyskyster @ Dec 11 2009, 08:04 AM)
thankyou but how does a Public Bank VISA Electron without an PB account?  hmm.gif
No need open a PB account, you only just apply for Public Bank Visa Electron.

This post has been edited by bingozero: Dec 11 2009, 09:46 AM
bingozero
post Dec 12 2009, 05:16 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Shockerz @ Dec 11 2009, 11:02 PM)
I was redirected here for further inquiry  laugh.gif  I need some help regarding on choosing a bank for a debit card.

icon_question.gif  I'm a student at the age of 18 who are finding a way to spend online so I come about that debit card able me to purchase almost anything online without the use of a credit card. If anyone is generous enough can you list down what's the advantages and disadvantages of Public Bank visa electron debit card and Maybank Visa debit card. I'm planning to transfer money from and to my paypal account. Thanks in advance to anyone who answer to my call!  rolleyes.gif
Maybank Visa Debit card
-no annual fees
-RM0.50 extra charge if you withdraw above 4 times in a month at maybank atm.
-direct link to your saving account (you must have saving account then only eligible to apply this card)
-view your e-statement online

Public Bank Visa Electron
-no need open saving account, direct deposit money into your debit card account
-RM25 annual fees
-view your e-statement online or paper statment post into your home every month
-RM10 extra charge for each time if you withdraw beside public bank atm.

Public Bank day2day debit card
-RM12 annual fees
-direct link to your saving account (you must have saving account then only eligible to apply this card)
-monthly e-statement is free

Public bank have promotion on debit card
http://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/perso.../debit1209.html

bingozero
post Dec 12 2009, 09:37 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Scud_eSpade @ Dec 12 2009, 03:26 PM)
How to activate PB mastercard debit? I hv change the pin number but still cant deposit money at the terminal
Just deposit at the cash deposit machine, and select payment for credit card.
bingozero
post Dec 22 2009, 10:11 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(greyskyster @ Dec 21 2009, 08:21 PM)
yeah i did, still though the validation is failed  cry.gif
If still cannot verify, better call the customer service hotline.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 22 2009, 05:21 PM)
Feel free to switch to a non-government controlled bank  smile.gif
But all the bank in malaysia is control by government, don't they?
bingozero
post Jan 4 2010, 07:14 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 20 2009, 11:23 PM)
Only the Public Bank MEPS ATM card needs its cardholder to enter the card's PIN number.
Yes. It comes with some T&C though. For example, i am allowed to withdraw cash from the ATM only 8 times in a month, after that there is a penalty of RM1 for each subsequent withdrawals. Unlike your current ATM card which you pay RM8 per annum, you can use it as many times as you like. Strictly no penalty at all !
That is because your savings account type is either a :
- PLUS Savings Account
- SaveLink Account
- PLUS Current Account
- CurrentLink Account
- ACE Account
- Wadiah Savings Account-i
- Wadiah Current Account-i

All the account types mentioned above all charge RM8/pa for a regular MEPS ATM card (red or blue color one) and RM12/pa for PBB Day2Day VISA. I believe yours is a PLUS Savings Account.

[attachmentid=1314906]

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 21 2009, 02:19 PM)
I thought yellow passbook is for kid's account ? Mine is totally in red. The passbook for my PLUS Savings Account is already shown in my previous post.
Of course they have to charge it under debit because it is a debit card. The machine will be automatically recognized the card as debit card without the cashier entering anything to it.

All ATM cards with either VISA/Mastercard logo printed on the front will not required you to enter your PIN number when you use it to pay for any bills.
Probably because they have ran out of Basic Savings Account passbook when you opened your Basic Savings Account then. So they just gave you the PLUS Savings Account passbook.

Anyway, have decided to scan my Basic Savings Account passbook and post it up here.
[attachmentid=1315737]
Sorry for late reply because my passbook leave at my hometown.
Here is mine passbook

I can't find any information on the publicbank on the the website and also don't know the fess and charge for my atm.
I wonder any member still holding this type of passbook?

bingozero
post Jan 9 2010, 03:51 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Jan 6 2010, 05:46 PM)
I just went to Maybank this morning with my friend. He wanted to apply for a MBB Visa Debit card as he previously didn't have any Maybank ATM card. Therefore, he should be exempted from the RM12 conversion fee. Little did I know it turned out to be quite a frustrating experience. It is quite long so open only if you can withstand my grunt.  brows.gif

If they cannot do that for you as a unacceptable reason, go to apply at second branch, or 2nd bank biggrin.gif Not just they are the only one bank that in malaysia tongue.gif

Added on January 9, 2010, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(Molotov Cocktail @ Jan 6 2010, 10:47 PM)
last i week i sent emel to public bank customer service asking why i cant apply for PBD2D using my wadiah saving account and im replied with this

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your e-mail dated 30/12/09.

We wish to thank you for the valuable feedback. We have forwarded your feedback to the relevant department for their future review. We wish to advise that currently our PB Day2Day is only for our PB PLUS Saving account holders.

Should you have further inquiries, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Service Representatives at 03 2176 8000 (24 hours) for assistance.

Yours truly
for Public Bank Berhad

but MilesAndMore earlier stated that i can apply using my wadiah account, im confuse now
Ya, if you holding the green passbook, you cannot apply for visa debit card.
The officer will tell you to convert to red passbook if you wish to have visa debit card biggrin.gif

Added on January 9, 2010, 3:57 pm
QUOTE(Mozilla-Firefox @ Jan 9 2010, 01:37 PM)
hey miles i had tried to book GSC tickets with my PBB D2D I can get through GSC but when i reaches the Verified by Visa page it fails. In that page it asks me to put my credit limit/credit line but said that if Visa Electron/Visa Debit leave it blank. The next one is my IC number. The third one is my birth date and followed by Mother's Maiden Name. Thats my mother sur name right?. i had tried few time. after 2 times it says ACCOUNT LOCKED. So how?
Mother's Maiden Name is you fill in the form in the Mother's Maiden Name section for security purpose when you apply for PBB D2D debit card,
For this case, you should call the PB helpline to solve your problem since your account is already block.

This post has been edited by bingozero: Jan 9 2010, 03:57 PM
bingozero
post Jan 28 2010, 01:51 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 28 2010, 12:11 PM)
Public Bank does offer some annual fee free debit card such as Manchester United VISA debit card, UTAR debit Mastercard and TARC debit Mastercard. But for the Manchester United VISA debit card, you must swipe the card at least 12 times in a year to get the annual fee waived which i believe is a piece of cake right ?  biggrin.gif
Is that the Public Bank MU debit card without public logo on it?
bingozero
post Jan 28 2010, 04:19 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 28 2010, 04:06 PM)
Yes. That's the one.
Just found on PB website, however mu master cc got logo while mu visa cc or dc no logo on it thumbup.gif
bingozero
post Jan 29 2010, 04:09 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(lerrymaru @ Jan 29 2010, 04:07 PM)
and i can find PBB cash deposit machines in Public Bank branches right? Thanks for your help! I was quite lost before and I think I'm getting Public Bank Visa Electron now :3
Go for Manchester United VISA debit card if you are MU die hard fans tongue.gif
bingozero
post Feb 10 2010, 07:06 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(theraving @ Feb 10 2010, 06:56 PM)
sorry if this question had been ask before, can DB card use to pay for installment ?

Debit card cannot use for pay installment, only credit card will do.
bingozero
post Feb 11 2010, 03:04 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Feb 11 2010, 01:50 PM)
Both Public Bank Day2Day VISA Debit Card and Maybank Cherry VISA Debit Card can be linked to Paypal. It wasn't possible to verify the Maybank Cherry VISA Debit Card when they first introduced it in 2008 but when Public Bank came out with the Public Bank Day2Day VISA Debit Card in June 2009, all of a sudden Maybank Cherry VISA Debit Card too, can be verified by Paypal. I guess they are aware of the huge Paypal user base here in Malaysia and afraid Public Bank might steal away all the customers, so they allow the card to be linked to Paypal as it is already a long known fact that all Public Bank range of VISA debit cards can be verified by Paypal.
I think Miles need to update this in the 1st page 1st post for a reference.
bingozero
post Apr 11 2010, 06:14 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 10 2010, 10:55 PM)
i not yet activate the visa at maybank website...

can swipe at petrol kiosk outside?
As long as you have RM200 in your account, then you can swap at the pump, if not then swap inside the counter.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:16 PM