CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

limeuu
post Oct 6 2010, 10:57 PM

12,290 posts

you wouldn't believe the hoohaa and protests after crimea state university was de-recognised.......especially from the indian community and mic........
haya
post Oct 7 2010, 08:20 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Oct 6 2010, 03:20 PM)
With one stroke of the pen, Indonesia can be de-recognised, considering the increasing tensions and the "hardships" created for rich Malaysians who are "maidless" now.

Not so bleak lah!
Never learn from the past eh? Rewind back to June 2005:

The deregistration of CSMU led to the suspension of then Deputy Natural Resources and Environment Minister Datuk S. Sothinathan, and opened up a massive fissure within MIC. Mind you, this is just ONE university, and pre-March 2008 Malaysia.

Much water has flowed under the bridge since then. I can tell you no government, be it BN or PR, will deregister ANY medical school in the foreseeable future. Like so many things Malaysian, its too much of a political liability. And that is the problem: foreign cheaply trained doctors (Russia, Indonesia, Bangladesh etc) will continue to flood the Malaysian medical profession. You can't just turn off the supply "with a stroke of a pen".

And I think this thread had made it clear beyond any reasonable doubt that more doctors more often than not, lead to poorer health care standards.

References:

Still think an oversupply can be resolved with a stroke of a pen?
limeuu
post Oct 7 2010, 08:34 AM

12,290 posts

i think people should realise that a certain part of the population, and many politicians, actually WANT easy access to cheap medical production line that is recognised in msia..........ie, easy to get in with lousy results, cheap, easy to pass, and fully recognised.....

they are not bothered about standards and quality.....the standard argument is the 'passion over ability' justification.....
cckkpr
post Oct 7 2010, 09:53 AM

4,515 posts

I know there will be political repercussions esp when a certain community is affected. But dont you know that they are always the target for the sake of political convenience.

Look at the "little cherries" that are being given out to the community now and the heap of praises they give in return.

Its sad but true. They are more "Mudah Lupa".

If an oversupply of docs are to occur, where do you think the axe will swing. It has to be the bottom of the quality barrel and who would these ppl be?
tqeh
post Oct 7 2010, 02:33 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Oct 7 2010, 02:53 PM)
I know there will be political repercussions esp when a certain community is affected. But dont you know that they are always the target for the sake of political convenience.

Look at the "little cherries" that are being given out to the community now and the heap of praises they give in return.

Its sad but true. They are more "Mudah Lupa".

If an oversupply of docs are to occur, where do you think the axe will swing. It has to be the bottom of the quality barrel and who would these ppl be?
Can you simplify what u have just written? So what does that mean?
cckkpr
post Oct 7 2010, 03:01 PM

4,515 posts

Look at the earlier posts.

Anyway, lets move on and not politicise the thread.
seiken
post Oct 11 2010, 12:30 AM

216 posts

I have one burning question guys...
Is it true that if you put KL/Selangor hospitals for housemanship, will you end up being thrown to Sabah once you've completed your housemanship?
zstan
post Oct 11 2010, 12:38 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Oct 11 2010, 12:30 AM)
Is it true that if you put KL/Selangor hospitals for housemanship, will you end up being thrown to Sabah once you've completed your housemanship?
er..at the current rate.. i don't think u can even get into kl/selangor for housemanship..
cckkpr
post Oct 11 2010, 10:47 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Oct 11 2010, 12:30 AM)
I would think so going by recent developments meaning the outcry on the lack of doctors in the rural areas and more so to Sabah and Sarawak if the general election is targeted for next year.
DarkNite
post Oct 11 2010, 11:35 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Oct 11 2010, 10:47 AM)
I would think so going by recent developments meaning the outcry on the lack of doctors in the rural areas and more so to Sabah and Sarawak if the general election is targeted for next year.

not politicise the thread? Why wait for GE then only want to sent!? After 50 over years, they still CAN"T get the training and distribution right? doh.gif
cckkpr
post Oct 11 2010, 12:15 PM

4,515 posts

Its a fact that demands are more likely to be met in return for favours.

The continuing congestion of housemen at hospitals also need to be addressed and this issue is not likely to be prolonged.

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Oct 15 2010, 09:51 AM
13NazJ
post Oct 18 2010, 10:40 PM

924 posts

Edited :

Can anyone tell me how to be a "Heart Surgeon" aka pakar bedah?
My friend is having mock interview tomorrow for MRSM..
She needs my help to gain information..
Any link? Much appreciate!! Thanks guys! Please give em a quick response..

This post has been edited by 13NazJ: Oct 18 2010, 10:43 PM
Hikari0307
post Oct 18 2010, 10:45 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(13NazJ @ Oct 18 2010, 10:40 PM)
Edited :

Can anyone tell me how to be a "Heart Surgeon" aka pakar bedah?
My friend is having mock interview tomorrow for MRSM..
She needs my help to gain information..
Any link? Much appreciate!! Thanks guys! Please give em a quick response..
lol just google and you shall find the answer for your questions
If your looking for info on Cardiac Surgeons
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cardiac_surgeon
limeuu
post Oct 18 2010, 10:48 PM

12,290 posts

'pakar bedah' is not 'heart surgeon'..........

going for interview and not even know what the 'medic line'?......
13NazJ
post Oct 18 2010, 10:53 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 18 2010, 10:48 PM)
'pakar bedah' is not 'heart surgeon'..........

going for interview and not even know what the 'medic line'?......
Don't blame me.. I don't know nothing about medic.. Even have no interest in it.. She asked for my help..
Then I though heart surgeon is the same as pakar bedah.. I'm sorry for my mistake.. biggrin.gif
onelove89
post Oct 18 2010, 11:10 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

thought pakar bedah literally translates to surgery specialists? I'm thinking it's referring to general surgeons? (my BM is bad, apologies if there's any misinterpretation)
zstan
post Oct 18 2010, 11:15 PM

15,856 posts

pakar=specialist

bedah=surgery/operation

so should be surgery specialist? hmm.gif
Hikari0307
post Oct 18 2010, 11:29 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

hum maybe
pakar bedah=specialist surgeon/specialist
not sure ahaha

I usually see my dad write either
Pakar Bedah Am Perunding or Consultant General Surgeon

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Oct 18 2010, 11:34 PM
BrachialPlexus
post Oct 19 2010, 12:06 AM

246 posts

Rawr! 2nd year medical student from the University of Western Australia (UWA) reporting. biggrin.gif
onelove89
post Oct 19 2010, 07:35 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(BrachialPlexus @ Oct 19 2010, 12:06 AM)
Rawr! 2nd year medical student from the University of Western Australia (UWA) reporting. biggrin.gif
I've got a few friends in 2nd year in UWA too =P I failed to get in last year =( boohoo.

Exams lurking around the corner =/ All the best peps =)

128 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0337sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:49 AM