128 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

tqeh
post Oct 19 2010, 08:04 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Oct 19 2010, 12:35 PM)
I've got a few friends in 2nd year in UWA too =P I failed to get in last year =( boohoo.

Exams lurking around the corner =/ All the best peps =)
If i not mistaken u'll graduate same time with them anyway!!! isnt that nice! lol
BrachialPlexus
post Oct 19 2010, 09:21 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Oct 19 2010, 07:35 AM)
I've got a few friends in 2nd year in UWA too =P I failed to get in last year =( boohoo.

Exams lurking around the corner =/ All the best peps =)
Awh, that's too bad. It really doesn't matter though; we'll all be doctors eventually. Where are you currently studying?

And ohh, you know some 2nd years? Who who? biggrin.gif
onelove89
post Oct 20 2010, 07:41 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

I reckon it ain't really ideal to disclose names on a public forum =P but both of them were doing UWAFP with me. Are you all doing musculoskeletal this semester?
BrachialPlexus
post Oct 20 2010, 11:03 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Oct 20 2010, 07:41 AM)
I reckon it ain't really ideal to disclose names on a public forum =P but both of them were doing UWAFP with me. Are you all doing musculoskeletal this semester?
It's okay, I know exactly who they are now. XD Small world. We've completed musculoskeletal early in the semester; now we're finishing up on neuro. So much to remember icon_question.gif
wgy589
post Oct 20 2010, 04:52 PM

759 posts

i came across this memory method from a hk drama. it works well for me.

http://litemind.com/memory-palace/
http://litemind.com/improve-memory-speaking-minds-language/

in order to memorise something, we need to understand it. however, there are some facts or numbers that we just have to memorise by heart.

DM will be a good example.

in order to remember the different hypoglycemic agents used in DM type 2, we have to understand that it needs to reduce the blood glucose level and insulin can reduce blood glucose. so the drugs can increase insulin secretion (insulin secretagogues) or increase insulin sensitivity (insulin sensitisers) to reduce the blood glucose. the drugs can also act directly to reduce glucose absorption into the bloodstream (insulin sparers).

so in this case our memory is based on understanding. However, we also need to know the range for impaired glucose tolerance in 2hr oGTT, which is 7.8-11.1 mmol/L (anything below is normal and above is DM)

obviously i can't understand anything to memorise the range 7.8-11.1 So in this case we can relate the numbers to something else.

you can imagine 7 looks like an open jaw from the side, and this is the jaw of a snowman (8), and this snowman is holding 3 candles (111). and this snowman is so fat to have DM. then the numbers 7.8-11.1 can be easily memorised.

U can also put this snowman in a room, and subsequently put other pictures in other rooms. and you can then visit this house full of pictures when you need the figures.

this memorisation method can also make study more interesting. really hope it helps.

tqeh
post Oct 20 2010, 09:09 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Oct 20 2010, 09:52 PM)

in order to memorise something, we need to understand it. however, there are some facts or numbers that we just have to memorise by heart.

in order to remember the different hypoglycemic agents used in DM type 2, we have to understand that it needs to reduce the blood glucose level and insulin can reduce blood glucose. so the drugs can increase insulin secretion (insulin secretagogues) or increase insulin sensitivity (insulin sensitisers) to reduce the blood glucose. the drugs can also act directly to reduce glucose absorption into the bloodstream (insulin sparers).

so in this case our memory is based on understanding. However, we also need to know the range for impaired glucose tolerance in 2hr oGTT, which is 7.8-11.1 mmol/L (anything below is normal and above is DM)

obviously i can't understand anything to memorise the range 7.8-11.1  So in this case we can relate the numbers to something else.

you can imagine 7 looks like an open jaw from the side, and this is the jaw of a snowman (8), and this snowman is holding 3 candles (111). and this snowman is so fat to have DM. then the numbers 7.8-11.1 can be easily memorised.

U can also put this snowman in a room, and subsequently put other pictures in other rooms. and you can then visit this house full of pictures when you need the figures.

this memorisation method can also make study more interesting.  really hope it helps.
that was really helpful, LOL thanks!!

PS are u graduating yet!!!
BrachialPlexus
post Oct 20 2010, 10:02 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Oct 20 2010, 04:52 PM)

obviously i can't understand anything to memorise the range 7.8-11.1  So in this case we can relate the numbers to something else.

this memorisation method can also make study more interesting.  really hope it helps.
Interesting method. A bit too much effort to devise an entire room though; I usually tackle these things by brute force. Just keep reading, chanting and reinforcing as I forget. tongue.gif
wgy589
post Oct 21 2010, 07:04 AM

759 posts

yeah, repetition is certainly another important way to get things memorised.
jylne
post Oct 21 2010, 04:24 PM

hey all,

I'm currently doing mbbs in MMMC, sem 7.

nice to meet you all.
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Oct 23 2010, 12:26 AM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Oct 21 2010, 07:04 AM)
yeah, repetition is certainly another important way to get things memorised.
i try to make the topic as interesting and applicable and as real world as possible.
however this fails when it comes to systems i dont like eg repro, respi. sad.gif

btw guys any good sites for exam preps? i've asked the imu thread for some help on EOS5.

but anything here will definitely help.

i tend troll around LYN only during exam periods!! rclxub.gif
wgy589
post Oct 23 2010, 12:31 AM

759 posts

Hi i'm not sure what are the things tested in EOS 5 but this link has lots of relevant websites.

http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=16494
CyberSetan
post Oct 23 2010, 12:44 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(jylne @ Oct 21 2010, 04:24 PM)
hey all,

I'm currently doing mbbs in MMMC, sem 7.

nice to meet you all.
Sem 7? so, you are in Melaka now? or in Manipal?
Anyway, welcome to this sub-forum.
jylne
post Oct 23 2010, 09:25 AM

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Oct 23 2010, 12:44 AM)
Sem 7? so, you are in Melaka now? or in Manipal?
Anyway, welcome to this sub-forum.
Melaka now~ =)
LYN is kinda informative with you guys here.
CyberSetan
post Oct 23 2010, 11:57 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(jylne @ Oct 23 2010, 09:25 AM)
Melaka now~ =)
LYN is kinda informative with you guys here.
Then you might be interested in this: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry32124124
jylne
post Oct 23 2010, 03:20 PM

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Oct 23 2010, 11:57 AM)
WoW! That seriously brings me back to Manipal. =)
I miss Manipal campus so much!!

Manipal is very hot during Jan-March, but it starts raining everyday in June until Sept..
And during that rainy season, Manipal will be full of mists in the mornings and very cold throughout the days.. =)
The nights will be freezing!! I miss those nights without AC nor fan!!

About the campus environment, it is fair and nice, except for the cows. =p
But when you get used to seeing them everywhere, then there is not much a problem!!
Also, the Manipal library is the best!! 7 floors in total, though usually, students use only 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors =)
The library will be packed when exams are around.. VERY PACKED!

Food..Food, I miss the food in Manipal, especially Dollops' cheese naans... thumbup.gif
And, Basil's pastas!!
Also, Cosmo cafe's chocolate tart!!! It is just not a normal chocolate tart, it has RUM in it!!
haha..suits a light drinker like me =p
Nevertheless, Indira Girls' Hostel's Rs 20 buffet breakfast!! Poori on every thursday!! My favourite!!

Oh gosh, I miss Manipal so much!!

MMMC has launched a 5-years course in Manipal campus for MBBS..
If I were to join mmmc a few years later, I would definitely get that course! haha...

This post has been edited by jylne: Oct 23 2010, 03:24 PM
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Oct 23 2010, 05:08 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Oct 23 2010, 12:31 AM)
Hi i'm not sure what are the things tested in EOS 5 but this link has lots of relevant websites.

http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=16494
thanks. alot of links there. gonna check it out now.

EOS5 consists of CNS, MSK, Repro, Endo and Renal. with Sem 3: Respi CVS GIT and Hemato consisting bout 10 questions in OBA and 2 integrated MEQ questions (ie Respi+CNS) .

OSPE no SEM3.

OSCE everything in!
CyberSetan
post Nov 9 2010, 06:44 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 17 2010, 08:28 AM)

would be an eye opening experience for some.......

but no, i would not bother to 'investigate' these claims.....

i know they are fake......... smile.gif
Hey Limeuu~

Here is something interesting:

From Utusan Malaysia:

Pusat Rawatan Keraton hadapi tuduhan

JOHOR BAHRU 7 Okt. - Pemilik Pusat Rawatan Keraton yang melakukan rawatan 'pembedahan' secara tradisional atau batin didakwa di Mahkamah Sesyen di sini hari ini atas tuduhan menjalankan operasi pusat jagaan kesihatan swasta tanpa lesen, Jun lalu.

Johari Mansor, 52, dan Rusnani Rahaman, 49, bagaimanapun mengaku tidak bersalah sebaik sahaja pertuduhan tersebut dibacakan di hadapan Hakim Norazlan Ahmad.

Mengikut kertas pertuduhan, mereka didakwa menjalankan operasi pusat jagaan ambulatori swasta tanpa lesen mengikut perenggan 3© Akta Kemudahan dan Perkhidmatan Jagaan Kesihatan Swasta 1998.

Kesalahan itu didakwa dilakukan di No. 34, Jalan Padi Emas 32, Bandar Baru Uda di sini kira-kira pukul 6.30 petang, 9 Jun lalu.

Dakwaan terhadap mereka dibuat mengikut Subseksyen 5(1) Akta Kemudahan dan Perkhidmatan Jagaan Kesihatan Swasta 1998 (Akta 586) dan boleh dihukum mengikut Subseksyen 5(1)(b)(i) akta sama.

Jika sabit kesalahan, pusat rawatan berkenaan boleh didenda maksimum RM500,000 dan pemiliknya boleh didenda tidak melebihi RM300,000 atau penjara tidak lebih enam tahun atau kedua-duanya.

Norazlan menetapkan 29 November ini untuk perbicaraan kes tersebut.

Pendakwaan dikemukakan oleh Timbalan Pendakwa Raya, Amira Suriati Zainal manakala tertuduh diwakili peguam bela, Zamri Idrus.

Sementara itu, Ketua Pengarah Kesihatan, Tan Sri Dr. Mohd. Ismail Merican dalam satu kenyataan di sini hari ini berkata, pusat rawatan berkenaan diserbu pihak kementerian pada 6 Jun lalu kerana didakwa melakukan rawatan 'pembedahan' secara tradisional atau batin.

Beliau berkata, hasil serbuan yang dijalankan Unit Kawalan Amalan Perubatan Swasta (UKAPS) Johor dan Selangor, pihaknya merampas beberapa perkakas dan peralatan yang dipercayai digunakan dalam pembedahan batin tersebut.

Mohd. Ismail mengingatkan semua pusat rawatan swasta yang menawarkan rawatan perubatan supaya mendapatkan lesen daripada Kementerian Kesihatan sebelum memulakan operasi seperti yang diperuntukkan di bawah akta tersebut.

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y...ah&pg=ma_04.htm

I missed this important news~ Very Interesting~ brows.gif

...and also and update here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=37445249

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Nov 9 2010, 06:51 AM
raul88
post Nov 16 2010, 07:34 AM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

hey

quick question to all
in Malaysia, if got TB cases in the hospital
do the doctor do DOT (direct observation theraphy)????
if yes, that mean the patient will be warded until he finished the tb drugs course?
if they discharge the patient, then how they going to make sure he/she are compliance in taking meds

thanks in advance
-just wondering
limeuu
post Nov 16 2010, 08:22 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Nov 16 2010, 07:34 AM)
hey

quick question to all
in Malaysia, if got TB cases in the hospital
do the doctor do DOT (direct observation theraphy)????
if yes, that mean the patient will be warded until he finished the tb drugs course?
if they discharge the patient, then how they going to make sure he/she are compliance in taking meds

thanks in advance
-just wondering
they used to admit them for the intensive first 2 months daily therapy..........

and there was an old regime of biweekly medications, which is served at the clinic under supervision.....if they failed to turn up, the village health team goes looking for them..... smile.gif

things have changed somewhat nowadays......
raul88
post Nov 16 2010, 12:53 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 16 2010, 08:22 AM)
they used to admit them for the intensive first 2 months daily therapy..........

and there was an old regime of biweekly medications, which is served at the clinic under supervision.....if they failed to turn up, the village health team goes looking for them..... smile.gif

things have changed somewhat nowadays......
anyone know the latest guideline?
can share pls

128 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:26 AM