Yeah that's why they have come out with their own foundation programmes instead to go around the rules I suppose.
CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center
Oct 22 2011, 11:45 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
Yeah that's why they have come out with their own foundation programmes instead to go around the rules I suppose.
Oct 23 2011, 12:00 AM
12,291 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
they still need to meet the 5b's in spm....although that would cast the net a lot wider than 3b's/3.0.......
yes, i foresee that to be the next BIG thing......in-house foundation/pre-med programmes leading to their own degrees.....un-moderated....it's easy to give everybody minimum bbb/3.0......... it's already happening in some foundation programmes anyway.... |
Oct 23 2011, 10:49 AM
2,527 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Im a Medical Officer in /K. I'm here to lepak. |
QUOTE(debbieanne1988 @ Oct 23 2011, 10:38 AM) Hi there to all, This is a medical student thread - you should look for the pharmacy thread~Would like to know if everybody from this post is from or have medical background? Pharmacist or anything? Because e are currently looking for a pharmicist whose interested to earn a reasonable income. With a basic salary and bonus. Basically become their own boss and run their own store. Its a really good oppoturnity to start now. Rather than looking for a job with other farmasies than cant pay well. Here is your chance to earn more right away. Were looking for Graduates mostly. Those who have experience in medical background. Kindly email me right away if your interested to know more. My email address is deb_1988@live.com or destiny1988@ymail.com. Kindly please let me know. Thank You. Its somewhere in this subtopic~ |
Oct 23 2011, 11:14 AM
2,214 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 23 2011, 12:00 AM) they still need to meet the 5b's in spm....although that would cast the net a lot wider than 3b's/3.0....... Very possible then that JPA med scholars will be doing their courses in the country, a win-win situation for the government and the uni/college stakeholders. In the process of reaching an equilibrium (a moving target in this case), the country will be inundated with doctors with questionable standards. Private practice will soar further, as those with means will naturally sought out private specialists. Medical insurance will get even more competitive and innovative as well. Medical care between the haves and have-nots will definitely be vastly different. Policy makers (read useless minister) are only interested in short term gains to benefit their political agenda. It should be a governemnt policy that the Agung, PM etc receive medical treatment only from government specialist hospitals, no flying off to Singapore etc.yes, i foresee that to be the next BIG thing......in-house foundation/pre-med programmes leading to their own degrees.....un-moderated....it's easy to give everybody minimum bbb/3.0......... it's already happening in some foundation programmes anyway.... |
Oct 23 2011, 07:46 PM
2,280 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: マレーシア |
Hi all
I have to find clinic to do my GP posting in few weeks time not sure whether you guys have to do it or not so, anyone here can share any clinic in shah alam that willing to take student? I went to 4 clinic already and all reject my application thank you |
Oct 23 2011, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(raul88 @ Oct 23 2011, 07:46 PM) Hi all shouldn't this be arranged by your uni, as is usually the case.....?I have to find clinic to do my GP posting in few weeks time not sure whether you guys have to do it or not so, anyone here can share any clinic in shah alam that willing to take student? I went to 4 clinic already and all reject my application thank you which med school are you in?.... |
Oct 24 2011, 09:05 PM
58 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
QUOTE(raul88 @ Oct 23 2011, 07:46 PM) Hi all must arrange yourself ah??wow sure susah..I have to find clinic to do my GP posting in few weeks time not sure whether you guys have to do it or not so, anyone here can share any clinic in shah alam that willing to take student? I went to 4 clinic already and all reject my application thank you even hospital when see med student they become irrtate..lagi for clininc surely terus tak kasi.. |
Oct 24 2011, 11:37 PM
2,280 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: マレーシア |
QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 23 2011, 10:01 PM) shouldn't this be arranged by your uni, as is usually the case.....? which med school are you in?.... QUOTE(zombieaa @ Oct 24 2011, 09:05 PM) must arrange yourself ah??wow sure susah.. this is part of family medicine postingeven hospital when see med student they become irrtate..lagi for clininc surely terus tak kasi.. but instead of going to klinik kesihatan which is government, need to "experience" general practitioner/clinic (private) the bold part is so true this sucks...I hate rejection |
Oct 25 2011, 12:51 AM
58 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
QUOTE(raul88 @ Oct 24 2011, 11:37 PM) this is part of family medicine posting so sad la..but for the private also the uni should already arrange for the student..which uni/college are u??but instead of going to klinik kesihatan which is government, need to "experience" general practitioner/clinic (private) the bold part is so true this sucks...I hate rejection |
Oct 26 2011, 08:52 PM
3,107 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Sarawak |
really? O.o I thought clinics love students? I mean in my hometown I have a lot of friends attaching to clinics during their break. Not sure if they are related or not though =P I'm thinking of attaching during the holidays as well.
Oct 27 2011, 09:22 AM
4,518 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
But I thought it is easier to do it at private hospitals. I helped to arrange for two attachments at a private hospital for two weeks and 3 months and it was ok.
I guess you need a reference and a strong one will help a lot. |
Oct 27 2011, 09:38 AM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
What happens if you failed to secure a spot at all?
Oct 27 2011, 10:18 AM
if these postings are part of the course, it is the duty of the med school to arrange for it, and assign accordingly....otherwise, they are failing in their duties...
if it is however, not part of the official postings, and is like an elective, then you will have to arrange it yourself.... family/primary health means different things in different countries.....in uk/oz, that means gp's......in msia, where a big portion of primary healthcare is provided by the public sector, it can mean one of the gov walk-in polyclinics..... however, it is quite different, the way things are done in a gp clinic compared to a gov clinic, so exposure to both is useful, and i know some ipta that includes both in their rotations.... |
Oct 27 2011, 12:42 PM
@limeuu, onelove, huskies, any tips for MMI interviews?
Oct 27 2011, 01:21 PM
what is mmi?
Oct 27 2011, 02:03 PM
Multiple Mini Interviews - Monash Clayton and a few aus unis do this as well for applicants.
Oct 27 2011, 02:16 PM
this relative of mine went through this earlier at sunway for clayton entry....if it is the same thing (it should be), it is then just a series of scenarios and you are asked to give your opinions....eg, how much do you think your parents should make decisions for you?....2 interviewers, one talking, the other just observing.....
Oct 27 2011, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 27 2011, 02:16 PM) this relative of mine went through this earlier at sunway for clayton entry....if it is the same thing (it should be), it is then just a series of scenarios and you are asked to give your opinions....eg, how much do you think your parents should make decisions for you?....2 interviewers, one talking, the other just observing..... I reckon it's the same, 2 interviewers too! |
Oct 27 2011, 04:57 PM
4,518 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(podrunner @ Oct 27 2011, 02:44 PM) Sunway Monash also does such interview and they asked question on what you know abt diabetes. Is it too technical for a potential student or they are looking for other positive factors?Added on October 27, 2011, 5:00 pm QUOTE(podrunner @ Oct 27 2011, 02:44 PM) Sunway Monash also does such interview and they asked question on what you know about diabetes. Is it too technical for a potential student or they are looking for other positive factors?This post has been edited by cckkpr: Oct 27 2011, 05:00 PM |
Oct 27 2011, 05:58 PM
Validating
11 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
| Change to: | 0.0348sec