CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

raul88
post Feb 8 2010, 03:35 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Feb 2 2010, 07:38 PM)
Tropical sprue is associated with bacterial overgrowth. I don't think the term "bacterial overgrowth" is a strong and valid independent diagnosis but I'm no gastro expert and I could be wrong.

If it's angmoh then celiac would be high on the list, but that doesn't mean that non caucasians won't get celiac. Check anti-TTG and endomysial Ab, if positive then scope + biopsy. Tropical sprue would have similar biopsy results as celiac without the autoantibodies.

Also think about IBD eg Crohn's even though she doesn't seem to be febrile.

If it's a real life case, keep us updated on the progress and the diagnosis biggrin.gif
GP is a must? Nope. If I'm not mistaken, you just need a basic MBBS to become a GP. In other countries, GP is a specialisation and requires specific training programmes which often include family medicine, a bit of paeds, a bit of O&G, sometimes even a bit of psychiatry.
nope
u cant become GP with basic mbbs..u have to specialize (another 4 years of training/studying) in family medicine(if im not mistaken)
raul88
post Feb 8 2010, 05:22 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

but that is what i've been told by some doc during my GP posting
maybe malaysia i coming towards that
maybe i heard him wrong
zzz
raul88
post Feb 10 2010, 01:26 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(manking91 @ Feb 10 2010, 09:43 AM)
Hi! Everyone!! I got some questions here... Have you all heard of ZheJiang School of Medicine? How is it? Any seniors studying there?? Can give me some advices?? I chance upon an agent called chinaenglishmedium... Is it a genuine agent?? and also... Since ZheJiang School of Medicine is actually recognised by Singapore... Can I work there after I graduated? compared to those local medical universities which are not recognised by singapore... is it better to go for zhejiang university of medicine so that I can work in Singapore in the future?
this uni in singapore?
never heard of it...
thats weird
raul88
post Feb 10 2010, 08:38 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(wajibtayang @ Feb 10 2010, 03:46 PM)
How come there are no more non Muslim student here in Egypt? I checked at mmc website that they we ave a Chinese graduate back in the 80's
really?
they learnt arabic??
hm....
u mean msia chinese or other chinese(prc,taiwan blabla..)??
raul88
post Jul 29 2010, 02:53 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jul 25 2010, 07:00 AM)
...and I'm using a cheap RM25 Student Standard Stethoscope (Indian made), which, upon comparison with Littman Stethoscope not much of a difference (Littman is heavier though)...  laugh.gif
how about the quality?
can u upload pic?
raul88
post Jul 30 2010, 02:32 AM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jul 29 2010, 11:29 PM)
Quality-wise, my cheap stet is acceptable for day to day use. Even if I lost it, it wouldn't affect me much.
Here is the manufacturer's website:

http://www.lifelinemax.com/hmp.asp

The price stated in the website is slightly higher compared to buying from a medical equipment shops.
from pic,it look pretty decent
probably on par or even better than littman
but for a fraction of littman's price
damn i should ask my friends in india to buy me one

raul88
post Aug 18 2010, 07:53 AM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(OrenDUTt @ Aug 6 2010, 01:23 PM)
can anyone share lecture notes....?
what lecture note?
which uni u're in anyway?
raul88
post Nov 16 2010, 07:34 AM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

hey

quick question to all
in Malaysia, if got TB cases in the hospital
do the doctor do DOT (direct observation theraphy)????
if yes, that mean the patient will be warded until he finished the tb drugs course?
if they discharge the patient, then how they going to make sure he/she are compliance in taking meds

thanks in advance
-just wondering
raul88
post Nov 16 2010, 12:53 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 16 2010, 08:22 AM)
they used to admit them for the intensive first 2 months daily therapy..........

and there was an old regime of biweekly medications, which is served at the clinic under supervision.....if they failed to turn up, the village health team goes looking for them..... smile.gif

things have changed somewhat nowadays......
anyone know the latest guideline?
can share pls
raul88
post Nov 16 2010, 09:58 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 16 2010, 01:01 PM)
current standard therapies are all available in the net.....
i want msia guidelines one

raul88
post Nov 17 2010, 12:06 AM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Nov 16 2010, 10:39 PM)
arigato gozaimasu
raul88
post Mar 20 2011, 06:46 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

hey quick question to all
what is the normal blood pressure for boys age 3 years old?
raul88
post Mar 21 2011, 07:14 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 21 2011, 04:57 PM)
i suggest you go back to your books again, before giving out wrong information here.......

really makes me more doubtful about what the hell cucms is teaching......... shocking.gif

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Mar 21 2011, 05:23 PM)
Sorry,

My fault in giving out wrong information....

I was misled by the definition of the hypertension and think that the normal blood pressure should apply to all age groups....actually the normal blood pressure of children is not specifically in our syllabus....

It's my mistake of giving out such information about blood pressure in children.....I should read more before any comments....

onelove, yea you are right....thanks for the lesson....limmue, i should rephrase my sentence....the diagnosis of hypertension is when one meet the criteria of more than or equal140/90(I shouldn't said the age is not a main concern but it isn't one of the criteria to diagnose hypertension)....
guys
i know the fact that children BP should be lower than adult
but i need to know the specific value for each age group (newborn,infant,young children and older children)

for example: peadiatrics normal resting pulse
age -------------------------- beats/min
<1 year -------------------------110-160
2-5 years------------------------- 95-140
5-12 years-------------------------80-120
>12 years ---------------------------60-100

taken from book
but i couldnt for BP
of course BP cant be the same as adult
just look at the pulse
only child above 12 years old, the pulse value became same as adult

raul88
post Mar 21 2011, 08:25 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(plain_white @ Mar 21 2011, 08:21 PM)
the reference values are stated in paediatrics protocols for malaysian hospitals 2nd edition page 3. Seriously, if u are local student then u should really get that book. Just rm15.  Or u can download from MPA website. good luck!
lol
sold out/finish in my hospital
I will finish my paediatrics posting before new batch of that book arrive
ergo I need answer now/ASAP
raul88
post Mar 21 2011, 10:08 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(plain_white @ Mar 21 2011, 08:30 PM)
lol...just to answer your question. for child age 3-5 more or equal 116/76 is condider significant hypertension and more and equal 124/86 is severe hypertension...
http://www.mpaweb.org.my/file_dir/8863103084bc81dd1a9a73.pdf
the download link is here in case you need more details

p/s: busy and stress for my final exam now so lazy to type all
hey
thanks plain white for the info
raul88
post Jul 14 2011, 07:18 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

walao weh
so many medical student here
i thought msia scarce doctor
raul88
post Jul 20 2011, 11:48 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

noob question

cortical bone and cancellous bone which one heal faster?
raul88
post Jul 23 2011, 05:22 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

quick question

is Schatzker type VI and medial plateau fracture-dislocations the same thing?
raul88
post Aug 4 2011, 04:44 AM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

list 4 features of malignant hypertension.

1.___________________________
2.___________________________
3.___________________________
4.___________________________
raul88
post Aug 4 2011, 03:02 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

hi

can someone help me

urinalysis...
what parameter has higher predictive value of urinary tract infections?
nitrite or wbc?

thank you in advance.

0.0532sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:57 AM