Maybe also can sneak into Perdana University (Irish programme) and Newcastle Johor.......if you consider them to be "well respected".
CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center
Mar 31 2011, 11:42 AM
4,514 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Maybe also can sneak into Perdana University (Irish programme) and Newcastle Johor.......if you consider them to be "well respected".
Mar 31 2011, 11:58 AM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Mar 31 2011, 11:42 AM) Maybe also can sneak into Perdana University (Irish programme) and Newcastle Johor.......if you consider them to be "well respected". i have a low opinion of irish med schools arrangements, due to their low intake requirements......they are obviously out to make money only....as they know that few, if any, graduates will go to ireland to work........newcastle, cannot get in lah, if they stick to their 3a's policy.......of course, the reality of msian education system might have hit them, they may have realised that they cannot get enough good students at the fees they want, and will have to lower the cut off to net the rich mediocre students........ This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 31 2011, 12:03 PM |
Apr 1 2011, 11:24 AM
1,578 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Johor-Singapore |
Haha, your guys research ability is astounding
So no I'm not pursuing Medicine anymore. Turn out, A-,B,B can get you to UK Science courses, so probably I'm going there. (the top 10 in UK Anyway, thanks for the advice, I try to pick up the Saladin's book for her. This post has been edited by Ibrahimovic: Apr 1 2011, 11:24 AM |
Apr 1 2011, 09:50 PM
3,107 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Sarawak |
QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Apr 1 2011, 11:24 AM) Haha, your guys research ability is astounding reckon you can read tortora or marieb if you're really into it. those two are pretty fundamental AnP.So no I'm not pursuing Medicine anymore. Turn out, A-,B,B can get you to UK Science courses, so probably I'm going there. (the top 10 in UK Anyway, thanks for the advice, I try to pick up the Saladin's book for her. |
Apr 2 2011, 02:22 PM
156 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Hey, I'm an Aimster who had just finished my foundation program. Was considering abt other Uni that offers MBBS course. But i'm having a lil financial prob and cannot afford to go to Unis such as IMU.
I have some doubts with Segi Uni that has only started their MBBS last year. Can anyone help me with it pls?? It's that education quality and recognition that I'm worried about. |
Apr 2 2011, 03:47 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
QUOTE(cmyzhu @ Apr 2 2011, 02:22 PM) Hey, I'm an Aimster who had just finished my foundation program. Was considering abt other Uni that offers MBBS course. But i'm having a lil financial prob and cannot afford to go to Unis such as IMU. Why don't you want to stick back with AIMST....?I have some doubts with Segi Uni that has only started their MBBS last year. Can anyone help me with it pls?? It's that education quality and recognition that I'm worried about. |
Apr 3 2011, 12:21 AM
Apr 3 2011, 12:25 AM
210 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Ipoh |
Which surgery textbook do u all recommend to use besides of "Bailey and Love Short Practice of Surgery "? Thx |
Apr 3 2011, 12:34 AM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(cmyzhu @ Apr 3 2011, 12:21 AM) Err cos i think it's a lil too far... A bit difficult for my parents.. which then begs the next question..........why go there for foundation?.......and painting yourself into a corner with a foundation few other unis recognise?.........so i was looking for other choices... |
Apr 3 2011, 03:27 AM
444 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Apr 3 2011, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 3 2011, 12:34 AM) which then begs the next question..........why go there for foundation?.......and painting yourself into a corner with a foundation few other unis recognise?......... well i'm just looking around IF there are other alternatives... And also, Foundation from Aimst is recognized by most of the unis actually.So that is not much a big problem for me. I went there because the MBBS there is considered oe of the cheapest, so if there really arent any other choices i can always go back to AIMST. They give priority to their foundation students first. |
Apr 4 2011, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(cmyzhu @ Apr 3 2011, 11:32 PM) well i'm just looking around IF there are other alternatives... And also, Foundation from Aimst is recognized by most of the unis actually. UCSI is one of them for last year. This year, I am not too sure coz they have their own foundation and also JPA scholars.So that is not much a big problem for me. I went there because the MBBS there is considered oe of the cheapest, so if there really arent any other choices i can always go back to AIMST. They give priority to their foundation students first. As a matter of fact, those still with vacancies cannot be choosy but those taking foundation must be aware of the risks. |
Apr 6 2011, 02:44 PM
14 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
any UTAR MBBS student out there?
Apr 7 2011, 12:54 AM
239 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: Kuching |
applied jpa medicine
Apr 7 2011, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(NanaLiew @ Apr 7 2011, 12:54 AM) If you are after SPM, you still have to go thru your pre-university exams and secure a place in a med skol.STPM or A levels, I dont think JPA has such a scheme unless you secure one in the Ivy league. Even that is subjective. Anyway, good luck to you. |
Apr 7 2011, 01:47 PM
444 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Apr 10 2011, 10:22 PM
Need some help here.
Anybody knows why adding large amounts of potassium(50mM) to smooth muscle organs (uterus, stomach, bladder) results in a large contraction? |
Apr 10 2011, 10:48 PM
582 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: everywhere |
QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 10 2011, 11:22 PM) Need some help here. I guess if you give directly large amount of K+ to the smooth muscle may help the muscle to get depolarized faster...and result in "large contraction"....I guess this will lead to muscle spasm to your smooth muscle organs?!Anybody knows why adding large amounts of potassium(50mM) to smooth muscle organs (uterus, stomach, bladder) results in a large contraction? |
Apr 10 2011, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Apr 10 2011, 10:48 PM) I guess if you give directly large amount of K+ to the smooth muscle may help the muscle to get depolarized faster...and result in "large contraction"....I guess this will lead to muscle spasm to your smooth muscle organs?! from what i've researched, huge influx of potassium will cause the sarcolemma to depolarise faster. So Ca2+ concentration will increase in the cytosole? and then its the cross bridge cycle? |
Apr 11 2011, 09:15 AM
582 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: everywhere |
QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 11 2011, 12:09 AM) from what i've researched, huge influx of potassium will cause the sarcolemma to depolarise faster. So Ca2+ concentration will increase in the cytosole? Yup. The key is depolarize faster due to influx of large amount k ions into the sarcolemma. The potential will reach threshold faster and action potential will be generated in higher frequency therefore continuos contraction will be achieved.ca cycle is for cross bridging for contraction. That's why i guess muscle spasm may occur. Correct me if im wrong.and then its the cross bridge cycle? |
| Change to: | 0.0297sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:34 AM |