CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

zstan
post Mar 30 2011, 11:14 PM

15,856 posts

Don't worry too much of the books. Your lecturers will usually tell you which book to get.

And for attire wise, only monash mbbs have the freedom to dress in whatever way they want. The rest of the uni in Malaysia requires formal attire IINM.
Huskies
post Mar 30 2011, 11:28 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Mar 30 2011, 04:39 PM)
Guys sorry for interrupting the discussion. May I know if the medicine book is provided by the university or have to be bought beforehand? Also, is there any book that are good to read before attending any class as I almost forgot everything about biology right now sad.gif
Searching the site I found some recommend these book:
Should I read any of the book now?
Well it all depends on which university you're going to - the five-year medical degrees tend to combine anatomy, physiology, pathology, pharmacology etc. "basic sciences" all in the first 2 years, whereas some six-year courses teach anatomy, physiology, biochemistry in the first 2 years and pathology, pharmacology and microbiology for year 3.

Don't worry, you won't have to know any of the medical stuff before you actually start your course, but if you are keen on brushing up your biology knowledge, I would recommend getting Saladin's Anatomy and Physiology. It provides fairly basic stuff covering all areas including anatomy, histology, physiology and some biochemistry.

You'll probably know which book suits you best when you actually use them, so I'd suggest browsing the various titles in the university library in your first few weeks of study. Also, your seniors will most probably guide you in finding the relevant texts for your course.

wgy589
post Mar 31 2011, 12:22 AM

759 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Mar 30 2011, 11:06 PM)
Well I'm just gonna say I'm going to a well-respected university  biggrin.gif

But unfortunately the forum and website don't provide any clue sad.gif I heard that it best to go to your first day without buying anything as the lecturer might using another book. Is it true?

This might be a little bit early but do you guys know the normal attire for the class?
i wonder which well respected uni will accept A-,B,B

This post has been edited by wgy589: Mar 31 2011, 12:23 AM
plain_white
post Mar 31 2011, 12:36 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Mar 30 2011, 11:06 PM)
Well I'm just gonna say I'm going to a well-respected university  biggrin.gif

But unfortunately the forum and website don't provide any clue sad.gif I heard that it best to go to your first day without buying anything as the lecturer might using another book. Is it true?

This might be a little bit early but do you guys know the normal attire for the class?
i think u dun have to worry so much now. I believe u will have orientation and briefing etc which u might get all the ans by then. thumbup.gif

Added on March 31, 2011, 12:39 am
QUOTE(wgy589 @ Mar 31 2011, 12:22 AM)
no offense but in malaysia, as long as u have money, getting into any private medical schools is not a prob. For those who did REALLY bad still can enter as long as they complete the sure pass foundation. Not sure bout overseas though

This post has been edited by plain_white: Mar 31 2011, 12:39 AM
cckkpr
post Mar 31 2011, 11:00 AM

4,514 posts

+1
limeuu
post Mar 31 2011, 11:34 AM

12,290 posts

in a bad year, that may get you into imu......but lately i think not possible....

it will get you into pmc 6 years programme.......

it will get you into most of the upstart med schools like mahsa, cucms etc.......

any of the above is considered 'well respected'?....... smile.gif
cckkpr
post Mar 31 2011, 11:42 AM

4,514 posts

Maybe also can sneak into Perdana University (Irish programme) and Newcastle Johor.......if you consider them to be "well respected".
limeuu
post Mar 31 2011, 11:58 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Mar 31 2011, 11:42 AM)
Maybe also can sneak into Perdana University (Irish programme) and Newcastle Johor.......if you consider them to be "well respected".
i have a low opinion of irish med schools arrangements, due to their low intake requirements......they are obviously out to make money only....as they know that few, if any, graduates will go to ireland to work........

newcastle, cannot get in lah, if they stick to their 3a's policy.......of course, the reality of msian education system might have hit them, they may have realised that they cannot get enough good students at the fees they want, and will have to lower the cut off to net the rich mediocre students........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 31 2011, 12:03 PM
Ibrahimovic
post Apr 1 2011, 11:24 AM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Haha, your guys research ability is astounding biggrin.gif Didn't thought anyone remember me anymore. I was typing it on behalf of my sister so pardon my intrusion and promise won't disturb the doctors thread tongue.gif.

So no I'm not pursuing Medicine anymore. Turn out, A-,B,B can get you to UK Science courses, so probably I'm going there. (the top 10 in UK cool2.gif )

Anyway, thanks for the advice, I try to pick up the Saladin's book for her.

This post has been edited by Ibrahimovic: Apr 1 2011, 11:24 AM
onelove89
post Apr 1 2011, 09:50 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Apr 1 2011, 11:24 AM)
Haha, your guys research ability is astounding biggrin.gif Didn't thought anyone remember me anymore. I was typing it on behalf of my sister so pardon my intrusion and promise won't disturb the doctors thread tongue.gif.

So no I'm not pursuing Medicine anymore. Turn out, A-,B,B can get you to UK Science courses, so probably I'm going there. (the top 10 in UK  cool2.gif )

Anyway, thanks for the advice, I try to pick up the Saladin's book for her.
reckon you can read tortora or marieb if you're really into it. those two are pretty fundamental AnP.
cmyzhu
post Apr 2 2011, 02:22 PM

156 posts

Hey, I'm an Aimster who had just finished my foundation program. Was considering abt other Uni that offers MBBS course. But i'm having a lil financial prob and cannot afford to go to Unis such as IMU.

I have some doubts with Segi Uni that has only started their MBBS last year.
Can anyone help me with it pls?? It's that education quality and recognition that I'm worried about.
zstan
post Apr 2 2011, 03:47 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cmyzhu @ Apr 2 2011, 02:22 PM)
Hey, I'm an Aimster who had just finished my foundation program. Was considering abt other Uni that offers MBBS course. But i'm having a lil financial prob and cannot afford to go to Unis such as IMU.

I have some doubts with Segi Uni that has only started their MBBS last year.
Can anyone help me with it pls?? It's that education quality and recognition that I'm worried about.
Why don't you want to stick back with AIMST....?

cmyzhu
post Apr 3 2011, 12:21 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 2 2011, 03:47 PM)
Why don't you want to stick back with AIMST....?
Err cos i think it's a lil too far... A bit difficult for my parents..
so i was looking for other choices...
Jt2020
post Apr 3 2011, 12:25 AM

210 posts

Which surgery textbook do u all recommend to use besides of "Bailey and Love Short Practice of Surgery "?

Thx
limeuu
post Apr 3 2011, 12:34 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cmyzhu @ Apr 3 2011, 12:21 AM)
Err cos i think it's a lil too far... A bit difficult for my parents..
so i was looking for other choices...
which then begs the next question..........why go there for foundation?.......and painting yourself into a corner with a foundation few other unis recognise?.........
plain_white
post Apr 3 2011, 03:27 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(Jt2020 @ Apr 3 2011, 12:25 AM)

Which surgery textbook do u all recommend to use besides of "Bailey and Love Short Practice of Surgery "?

Thx
Essential Surgery by Burkitt. Simplified and easier to read
cmyzhu
post Apr 3 2011, 11:32 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 3 2011, 12:34 AM)
which then begs the next question..........why go there for foundation?.......and painting yourself into a corner with a foundation few other unis recognise?.........
well i'm just looking around IF there are other alternatives... And also, Foundation from Aimst is recognized by most of the unis actually.

So that is not much a big problem for me. I went there because the MBBS there is considered oe of the cheapest, so if there really arent any other choices i can always go back to AIMST. They give priority to their foundation students first.
cckkpr
post Apr 4 2011, 10:14 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(cmyzhu @ Apr 3 2011, 11:32 PM)
well i'm just looking around IF there are other alternatives... And also, Foundation from Aimst is recognized by most of the unis actually.

So that is not much a big problem for me. I went there because the MBBS there is considered oe of the cheapest, so if there really arent any other choices i can always go back to AIMST. They give priority to their foundation students first.
UCSI is one of them for last year. This year, I am not too sure coz they have their own foundation and also JPA scholars.

As a matter of fact, those still with vacancies cannot be choosy but those taking foundation must be aware of the risks.
vizvian91
post Apr 6 2011, 02:44 PM

14 posts

any UTAR MBBS student out there?
NanaLiew
post Apr 7 2011, 12:54 AM

239 posts

applied jpa medicine smile.gif hopefully can be a med student soon!

128 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:12 PM