192 Pages « < 182 183 184 185 186 > » Bottom

Chubbie Hamster V13

ix3Rukia
post Aug 6 2011, 11:47 PM

18 posts

Eh just wondering again~ My hamster was so clean , then suddenly the fur so dirty d!! I bought 'spray shampoo' and wipe her but her fur still dirty and its not like when i just got her so silky smooth D:. how do u guys maintain the hammies fur?
pandera999
post Aug 6 2011, 11:48 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Aug 6 2011, 11:47 PM)
Eh just wondering again~ My hamster was so clean , then suddenly the fur so dirty d!! I bought 'spray shampoo' and wipe her but her fur still dirty and its not like when i just got her so silky smooth D:. how do u guys maintain the hammies fur?
sand bath.... let them clean them self... and owez clean their place too... wink.gif
infernoaswen
post Aug 6 2011, 11:59 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Aug 6 2011, 11:47 PM)
usually they will do a good job in cleaning their fur them self. just dirty as in the bedding all over her fur? maybe she was bored so decided to dig dig everywhere. what bedding u using anyways? i use chipsi no problem also it dosent stick to hamster fur leh hmm.gif
ix3Rukia
post Aug 7 2011, 12:13 AM

18 posts

not that , its like oily?? not bedding. and i found out suddenly got black patch , her back just look like my winter pearl , but she is a winter gold and recently only get that patch D:.

Anyways , my ex-bf had my roborovski hamster , when i got it back yesterday , she was extreamly smelly and in bad condition. i dont think he ever changed her bedding.. , i used spray shampoo to clean her and she her fur is still so very very very oily like not like a normal fluffy clean robo D:
hublee91
post Aug 7 2011, 12:22 AM

90 posts

guys lets pray for my WWs to get together in their new cage!! No more fighting!!
infernoaswen
post Aug 7 2011, 12:25 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Aug 7 2011, 12:13 AM)
not that , its  like oily?? not bedding. and i found out suddenly got black patch , her back just look like my winter pearl , but she is a winter gold and recently only get that patch D:.

Anyways , my ex-bf had my roborovski hamster , when i got it back yesterday , she was extreamly smelly and in bad condition. i dont think he ever changed her bedding.. , i used spray shampoo to clean her and she her fur is still so very very very oily like not like a normal fluffy clean robo D:
hmm oily? not so sure....did u give anything different for the food? too much worms perhaps? my hamster last time his fur was quite wet coz he keep grooming...but that was long long time ago la...happened once only...

maybe that black patch is dry blood skin? hmm.gif

anyway give them sand bath...coz thats the purpose of sand bath...remove excess oil & clean their fur nod.gif

This post has been edited by infernoaswen: Aug 7 2011, 12:27 AM
markjohn
post Aug 7 2011, 12:39 AM

30 posts

not that , its  like oily?? not bedding. and i found out suddenly got black patch , her back just look like my winter pearl , but she is a winter gold and recently only get that patch D:.

june told me something about this...oily n got spot near the hips?
she said its normal...just take the sand bath n scrub on the spot..
try doing it once a day for a week n see how...

This post has been edited by markjohn: Aug 7 2011, 12:40 AM
ix3Rukia
post Aug 7 2011, 01:06 AM

18 posts

not hips , its back. its like tar like that...
babybb
post Aug 7 2011, 01:57 AM

127 posts

You might need to take a picture of your little hammy for us to see.. But as for roborovski u might need a bathing sand for your hammy.. i own a robo too & i provide him only bathing sand & i never saw his fur get oily / smelly. I brought "ALEX" bathing sand with Lemon smells & my hammy totally love it.. I tried many bathing sand before but finally felt ALEX brand sand was more fine than others..

You might need to try it on your hammy.. or it's possible on what's foods that u're giving to your hammy? I brought Vitakraft for mine as i belief it helps my hammy furs look & feel shine as well..

*dReaM FaNtaSy*
post Aug 7 2011, 04:54 AM

101 posts

@hublee91: i think you shouldnt try to put them together d since they fight till bite each other. but are you sure they are both winter whites? not russian campbell and winter white?

@ix3Rukia: buy a toilet let them sand bath if they dont sand bath on their own then you can take the sand and rub it on them
if its near the hips, its their hip gland
http://www.google.com.my/search?q=hamster%...iw=1024&bih=437
this one is normal. its their glands to mark territory and it will be more oily than other parts

it will take quite a while if its very oily and your hamster isnt that good in sand bathing
i give hamlet a sand bath twice a day and sometimes he mandi kerbau
so i have to rub the sand in the oily areas
last time when i put sand bath in his house, his fur forever fluffy
due to lack of space and very messy, i took his sand bath out
(he tends to dig the sand out of the toilet, make the whole cage sandy sandy)
also i feel not good to put sand bath in his house cause i scared he sniff too much or bath too much and have respiratory problems

im also using alex bathing sand but if possible i wanna find one that is unscented
anything scented isnt good
also be caution when purchasing things developed for other animals on hamsters, however from what i read, chincilla sand bath is alright for hamsters
cyberheross
post Aug 7 2011, 04:58 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(hublee91 @ Aug 7 2011, 12:22 AM)
guys lets pray for my WWs to get together in their new cage!! No more fighting!!
Sorry, but i don't think its wise to mix 2 MALE Winter White together.
It's best to separate them and DON'T try to introduce them after they are adult hamster.

I NEVER mix 2 same gender WW hamsters together.
The method i gave is for breeding purpose, NOT suitable in your case at all.

I Seriously advice u NOT TO mix 2 male or 2 female together.

You might cause the weak 1 to phobia of another hamster afterward.
noruddin
post Aug 7 2011, 05:27 AM

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Aug 7 2011, 01:06 AM)
not hips , its back. its like tar like that...
LOL its ok...at first when i saw my winter gold also thought that they are oil or somthing on their back...but after a few days, i just realised that its only their skin...the back skin of winter gold is dark...their colour is developing...after a week, the dark colour is barely seen...dont worry....theres nothing wrong with your gold... smile.gif

Added on August 7, 2011, 5:30 am
QUOTE(babybb @ Aug 7 2011, 01:57 AM)
You might need to take a picture of your little hammy for us to see.. But as for roborovski u might need a bathing sand for your hammy.. i own a robo too & i provide him only bathing sand & i never saw his fur get oily / smelly. I brought "ALEX" bathing sand with Lemon smells & my hammy totally love it.. I tried many bathing sand before but finally felt ALEX brand sand was more fine than others..

well for my case, the alex brand is not good...the sand is so fine...2 kali masuk mata my hamseter la...kesian hamster menagis.... sad.gif no more alex sand bath...

This post has been edited by noruddin: Aug 7 2011, 05:30 AM
mrtresynth
post Aug 7 2011, 07:51 AM

159 posts

my hammie died yesterday..so sad liao..dunn0 wat happen t0 her c0z i left it h0me wit my family, then my mum cl n said she dead already..cry.gif cry.gif
verulin
post Aug 7 2011, 08:26 AM

33 posts

this is awesome XD

http://fakescience.tumblr.com/post/8049231...e-hamster-wheel
hublee91
post Aug 7 2011, 09:58 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(*dReaM FaNtaSy* @ Aug 7 2011, 05:54 AM)
@hublee91: i think you shouldnt try to put them together d since they fight till bite each other. but are you sure they are both winter whites? not russian campbell and winter white?
I'm unsure of how to differentiate them. Guides?

QUOTE(cyberheross @ Aug 7 2011, 05:58 AM)
Sorry, but i don't think its wise to mix 2 MALE Winter White together.
It's best to separate them and DON'T try to introduce them after they are adult hamster.

I NEVER mix 2 same gender WW hamsters together.
The method i gave is for breeding purpose, NOT suitable in your case at all.

I Seriously advice u NOT TO mix 2 male or 2 female together.
You might cause the weak 1 to phobia of another hamster afterward.
Thanks for the advice. I didn't put them together, though I hoped they do well together. It would be cute to have 2 little hams chasing and playing with each other, I love it very much. But I love my hamsters more than my desire to see them doing so. It hurts to much to see my hamster getting hurt that day.
*dReaM FaNtaSy*
post Aug 7 2011, 10:14 AM

101 posts

like i said, alex is not the best brand available
thou it is widely available
i wanna try delikate's one next
saw it recommended in a site

difference between campbell and winter white:
http://www.hamsterific.com/dwarfHamsters.cfm
hublee91
post Aug 7 2011, 10:27 AM

90 posts

ok I am POSITIVELY SURE for around 80% that one of them I got is Campbell. Is that related to the fighting?

This post has been edited by hublee91: Aug 7 2011, 10:28 AM
omara86
post Aug 7 2011, 11:39 AM

0mg nicotine juice
707 posts

Hamster Update:

9 babies born on 4th Aug r all healthy until today, 3rd labour from the same female hamster (1st labour 0/5 survived, 2nd labour 2/6 survived)

Today my other female hamster beranak, got 6 babies but she ate 1 of 'em (mayb too weak bcoz her 1st time), curently taking good care of the remaining.

Cash running low but need to get more tanks for them later, hahahaha...

Total babies now (sorted by D.O.B):
25th July - 1 baby (5 died, 1st pregnancy)
4th Aug - 9 babies (all alive, 3rd pregnancy)
7th Aug - 5 babies (1 eaten, 1st pregnancy)

Total adult including the mommies: 6 hamsters

sphingx
post Aug 7 2011, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(hublee91 @ Aug 7 2011, 09:58 AM)
I'm unsure of how to differentiate them. Guides?
Thanks for the advice. I didn't put them together, though I hoped they do well together. It would be cute to have 2 little hams chasing and playing with each other, I love it very much. But I love my hamsters more than my desire to see them doing so. It hurts to much to see my hamster getting hurt that day.
If you have two winter white males together, the chances are actually quite high that they will fight when they turn adults because their behaviour changes with age. Even if they are siblings and get along well with each other, once they grow up, it's different.

Mine started out that way, but I had to separate them both when they were about 1 year old since they starting turning territorial and fighting until they drew blood.

If you REALLY want them to live together, and the hamsters are really young, you can try the split cage method. But just keep in mind you might have to separate them eventually anyway.

IF they are different species of hamster, yes, they will probably fight until one of them dies and gets eaten.
hublee91
post Aug 7 2011, 11:44 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(omara86 @ Aug 7 2011, 12:39 PM)
Hamster Update:

9 babies born on 4th Aug r all healthy until today, 3rd labour from the same female hamster (1st labour 0/5 survived, 2nd labour 2/6 survived)

Today my other female hamster beranak, got 6 babies but she ate 1 of 'em (mayb too weak bcoz her 1st time), curently taking good care of the remaining.

Cash running low but need to get more tanks for them later, hahahaha...

Total babies now (sorted by D.O.B):
25th July - 1 baby (5 died, 1st pregnancy)
4th Aug - 9 babies (all alive, 3rd pregnancy)
7th Aug - 5 babies (1 eaten, 1st pregnancy)

Total adult including the mommies: 6 hamsters
Congratulations!! But I feel sorry for the dead babies sad.gif

QUOTE(sphingx @ Aug 7 2011, 12:40 PM)
If you have two winter white males together, the chances are actually quite high that they will fight when they turn adults because their behaviour changes with age. Even if they are siblings and get along well with each other, once they grow up, it's different.

Mine started out that way, but I had to separate them both when they were about 1 year old since they starting turning territorial and fighting until they drew blood.

If you REALLY want them to live together, and the hamsters are really young, you can try the split cage method. But just keep in mind you might have to separate them eventually anyway.

IF they are different species of hamster, yes, they will probably fight until one of them dies and gets eaten.
If I add in a female, will the dude accept that female directly?? Or must special procedures be done??

192 Pages « < 182 183 184 185 186 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:42 PM