Chubbie Hamster V13

cyberheross
post Jan 9 2011, 09:47 AM

143 posts

Guys,i need some help here.

I got 1 male and 1 female winter white hamster.
The female gave birth a week ago, now she's nursing the babies.
The male doesn't disturb them often too.

Here's my question:
I know it's not healthy to breed between same family.
1. Do i need to separate the babies with parent after 3 weeks?
2. Can i put them in group of same sex? (Father with son, mother with daughter...)

Advice me how to take care of them in healthy style...
cyberheross
post Jan 9 2011, 12:52 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(JXplod @ Jan 9 2011, 10:48 AM)
congrates for your WW female for giving off their new off spring at this new year.  thumbup.gif  Regarding to your question
1. separate out the male asap but dont disturb the nursing mum.
2. seperate the babies at 3 to 4 weeks of time,when u see they open their eyes, tht the best time to separate them
3 for the new litters, separate them according to their own sex. male in1 cage ,female the others. to prevent intercross breeding among family members, if the 1st 1 inter cross breeding is still ok, wont do any serious dmg, but prevent it is the best way. put the father n mother in different cage too, always dont mix with adults hamster, as this will cause in fighting due to different scent.

hamster differentiate themselves using scent.

for the nursing mum now, provide clean water every 3 alternative days, if you have LC-VIT syrup is better to mix together in the water bottle.
let the mum nurse their litters for 3 weeks without changing their bedding, i know is going to stink so make sure a good ventilation area, and less noisy area for her .
after 3 weeks separate them, let the mum rest for 1 month plus or so on, so that if can recover her body and restore bk to healthy self.
feed the food with high protein, like soak the breed with milk, but provide in small quantity, if finish top up, if got left over throw it. to prevent fungus or mold growing.
eggs can be provide too for her.  thumbup.gif

hope you have success full new ww soon, oh ya if the female cannibalism her youngs1, dont feel so sad about it, sometimes is due to her 1st time pregnancy and cut down the litters amount, or she sense the litters is not healthy to survive future. cheers mate.  thumbup.gif
Oh i see.
The father hamster seems to understand the mother and didn't disturb her much.

Is it safe to put the babies in a group of same sex?
Will they fight among each other?

By the way, they are 9 days old today. smile.gif

This post has been edited by cyberheross: Jan 9 2011, 12:55 PM
cyberheross
post Jan 10 2011, 11:35 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(Ohiki @ Jan 10 2011, 10:24 AM)
doh.gif  I think my hammy also eating his poo poo...

I came back yesterday night still a lot of poo on the toilet paper I gave him to tear but this morning gone a lot !!!

Green triangle pellet and grains too still a lot but half the bucket in his cage gone, not sure he hide it or eaten or dig out spread every where...
Ya, sometimes they eat their poops.
It's like they can't absorb 100% when 1st time they eat their food. smile.gif
cyberheross
post Jan 12 2011, 01:17 AM

143 posts

My both hamsters now sleeping outside the cage now since the female escaped and bring along the new born babies.
And the next day, the male follow her footsteps... rclxub.gif

Can't stress her at all during this 2 weeks. cry.gif
She made her own nest at a corner with bunch of tissues gave to her.
So far, all 3 babies is still healthy and uneaten. thumbup.gif
Few more days to touch them safely... rclxm9.gif
cyberheross
post Jan 13 2011, 09:04 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(Ohiki @ Jan 12 2011, 08:34 AM)
rclxms.gif  Congratulations !!

So you put the male back in when the babies are 2 weeks old ?
Actually the male is with the female too.
Just that i saw the male didnt go kacau the babies and female often,
so i left them in that way.

Gonna start separate father and mother when babies are 2 weeks old.
The mother hamster definitely need some rest alone for couple of weeks.
cyberheross
post Jan 15 2011, 02:11 AM

143 posts

Congrat! thumbup.gif
How old are your babies?
Mine just reach 14 days old. rclxms.gif

Ya,i gave my female hamster hard-boiled egg to cover back those protein she lost.
Try to feed her more of those dog biscuit which is included inside the hamster food.
It contain more protein, which is good for hamster that just gave birth.
A little bit of vegetable is good for her too.
Put the food and water near to her nest.

Separate the male hamster so that he won't be able to disturb her or babies at all.
Sometime, male hamster will try to mate with the mother hamster once she gave birth.

REMEMBER don't touch her or her babies AT ALL during this 2 weeks period or she might eat her babies.

Anything else you need to know, don't be shy to ask over here. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cyberheross: Jan 15 2011, 02:12 AM
cyberheross
post Jan 16 2011, 12:06 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(JXplod @ Jan 15 2011, 11:23 PM)
ya, cant manage to keep it any more, sayang actually. cause ill be traveling non stop. n my gf need to wash all those cage, she sure going to faint~ so finding a much better home for them to hv better care. if any 1 keen of adoption do inform me also. specially for hamster lover at here. T___T
Well, actually i plan to breed my Winter White hamsters.
But my gf dont want me to do so.
Haiz...

One of my 3 babies just passed away just now.
Surviving for 15 days d....
Hopefully the rest will be healthy.
cyberheross
post Jan 19 2011, 11:58 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Jan 17 2011, 08:15 PM)
wta here..im newbie to keep hamster.im planning on buying a hamster.
should i buy a male or a female?is it ok just one?he/she they might get lonely?
If you got the time to play with him/her, they won't be that lonely.
From what i researched, male is easier to tame compare to female.
Coz female is quite emotionally from time to time. (Like normal girls tongue.gif)

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jan 17 2011, 09:28 PM)
shocking.gif why? did something happen?
The baby seems abit weak and slow in response, i guess he was sick from the day he was born.
But he/she managed to tahan until grow fur, but then, out of sudden, the next morning i checked on them, he/she was lying on the floor freeze. cry.gif

QUOTE(Ohiki @ Jan 19 2011, 03:55 PM)
If it's manufactured for hamsters, i think it should be OK for hamsters to eat it.
It's better to feed them vegetables once or twice a week to keep them healthy.
As a responsible pet owner, you need to make sure they are healthy and happy. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by cyberheross: Jan 20 2011, 12:00 AM
cyberheross
post Jan 20 2011, 12:14 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(princess_s @ Jan 20 2011, 12:36 AM)
hi, i have a syrian hamster.
he's with me for half a year already.

and then when i saw him just now, he can't even walk properly. he cant even stand, can't even move properly. and the next thing i see is, his cage has alot of ants.

now he's lying but can't move, but he's still breathing like normal.

is he going to be okay? vet is closed at this time.

i'm worried sick.

please advise.
Ya,clean the whole cage and change a clean and dry bedding.
Make sure the water bottle doesn't drip.
Sometime ants attract to wet bedding.
cyberheross
post Jan 27 2011, 10:12 AM

143 posts

Just to share with everyone.

Thanks to the male, My WW female hamster gave birth for 2nd time CONTINUOUSLY, another 3 babies, but this time the babies are very small.(malnutrition maybe)

But the father can't get along with 26 days old babies.(The first batch, 1 male 1 female)
The father tends to bully the male and keep smelling the female's private part...zzzzzzzz
So now i put the father in a cage, both children in a cage, mother and new born babies in another box.

Now separated the father from both mother and children.
He seems very boring also. cry.gif
Just lay there and do nothing.

Gonna let the mother rest gao gao before putting back her with the father again.
If not, he sure will let her pregnant again. sweat.gif
cyberheross
post Jan 28 2011, 01:04 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(Ohiki @ Jan 27 2011, 10:59 AM)
Gratz  rclxms.gif

Picture Picture plsss  drool.gif

How many cage you got ah ?
Currently having 2 wire cages and 1 big empty printer box.
Don't have any camera to take pic. tongue.gif

cyberheross
post Jan 28 2011, 09:44 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(Ohiki @ Jan 28 2011, 08:34 AM)
printer box ? don't scared they chew it through ah ?  blink.gif

i notice a lot of paint dusk drop on my table near my hammy cage... must be when they bite it... will they get toxic/poison because sure got eaten a bit in   blink.gif
The mother just chewed it through this morning.
Just moved the mother and the new born babies into the cage then move the young hamsters in cage to another box.

Usually they will bite the boxes only, won't really eat them.
Sometime i put tissue for them to bite and play around.
Plain A4 paper is recommended too.

This post has been edited by cyberheross: Jan 28 2011, 09:53 PM
cyberheross
post Feb 4 2011, 07:07 PM

143 posts

Anyone got WW hamster for adoption?
I'm staying at Seri Kembangan.

This post has been edited by cyberheross: Feb 4 2011, 10:18 PM
cyberheross
post Feb 5 2011, 09:37 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(acam2812 @ Feb 5 2011, 05:37 PM)
i bath my 2 hamster every week. With shampoo and baby soap. hihihihihi.... if not taking bath, both of them restless. Anyone here do bath their hamster?
What i got research is we CANT bath them with water as water will wash away their skin oil or something like that.

For hamster to bath, use sand is good enough.
cyberheross
post Feb 6 2011, 01:52 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(acam2812 @ Feb 5 2011, 10:23 PM)
hahahahha.... but if i don't bath them, they will start feel restless. later i post the pic of my 2 rascal hamsters.
Well, hopefully your hamsters is the water bathing type. smile.gif
cyberheross
post Feb 6 2011, 05:22 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(acam2812 @ Feb 6 2011, 02:56 AM)
Meet Alvin

just wanna ask, is it normal they change color? encounter that both of it change color to lighter color than later to dark color.
Never encounter such thing before.
My hamsters stay the same at all time.
Maybe it's because of the water bathing?

This post has been edited by cyberheross: Feb 6 2011, 05:22 AM
cyberheross
post Feb 6 2011, 09:05 PM

143 posts

@acam2812, it's quite cool that urs actually change color.
I wish mine can change as well. tongue.gif

@infernoaswen,do you mean cabbage?
Yes, it is very healthy to feed them with cabbage as it has a little chance to prevent wet tail.
cyberheross
post Feb 9 2011, 12:37 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(mortyfish @ Feb 8 2011, 08:36 AM)
emmmmm...meal worms?

I fed them brocolli, seems find..once a week..they pretty much like it.. biggrin.gif

I got 13 pups currently, at what age should they be separated from their mother ya?currently they're on the 9 days old. Coz i'm getting a new cage for them, a bigger 1 for them to run around. Then another cage to separated the sex later on. advise anyone?
It's best to separate them at around 3-4 weeks when they're healthy and very active.
Bcoz at that time also will be able to differentiate sex more clearer.
They will only start running around the cage after 2 weeks old.

And REMEMBER to touch them only when they have opened their eyes.
After you separated them by sex, then you might wanna let the mother to stay alone up to 1 week.
Put her back to the father will cause her to get pregnant again very soon.

Try not to breed among the babies between brothers and sisters, as it's not a healthy practice.

cyberheross
post Feb 9 2011, 12:44 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(clementhui @ Feb 9 2011, 11:17 AM)
i have 2 syrian hamster i just bought lately for rm 15 each

i was wandering if i can put them 2 together??

i see that many say that there are solitary

but i've seen my friend having both of them in 1 place.. is it possible for me to do so?? i mean they are still small

if i keep them for long enough will they still fight?
For best practice, try to put them together and observe if they are fighting or not.
If any aggressive behavior detected, it's best to remove them and keep in separate cage.

Added on February 9, 2011, 12:46 pm
QUOTE(mortyfish @ Feb 9 2011, 08:24 AM)
Awesome, thanks..I'm waiting for them to open their eyes..they've already start nibbling foods.

My 13 pups, 8+5, 2 mothers..but only 1 father though..is it ok to breed the 8 to the 5 pups? I mean they're not brothers/sisters from same mother..but same father..  laugh.gif  icon_question.gif

I did separate the 2 mothers from the male, they have their own cage and only mix them when I want them to breed.
Even from different mother, but the gene is taken from the same father, means it's kinda breed between brothers and sisters as well.

It's best to breed from another different family tree to produce healthy babies.

I'm sure you don't wanna see any future new born babies without proper organs such as eyes, teeth, ears and so on...

Be a responsible breeder. smile.gif

This post has been edited by cyberheross: Feb 9 2011, 12:46 PM
cyberheross
post Feb 11 2011, 12:39 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(mortyfish @ Feb 10 2011, 07:32 PM)
what a happy family u got there...lolz..except the cannibalistic part..sadly..

I got 1 question just pop up in my mind just now while watching the pups..at what age should I separate them from their mum??
Usually 3 - 4 weeks is enough to separate them from their mum.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0501sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:30 PM