Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here
cRazYee
Aug 29 2009, 02:33 AM
QUOTE(John89 @ Aug 28 2009, 11:39 PM) From what I have found, the keyboard will not light up if the room is too bright. Don't know is this true or not. And for the green light thing, I just noticed there is a button beside the indicator to press on... yes, there is ambient sensor installed beside your isight to check battery you have to press on the button
aizad02
Aug 29 2009, 05:10 AM
errr...is there anyway to disable the green light indicator whenever i sight is on?
petrofsky77
Aug 29 2009, 06:08 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 29 2009, 12:08 AM) @petrofsky77, hMm.... now that's kinda long to wait but ah well...... U'll enjoy it when it comes. Did U check if it'll be definitely shipped out with SL? I suppose it should come preloaded with SL ... since it's shipping from the US ... orders shipped from Singapore doesn't take more than a week to ship to Malaysia ... it could mean that the MBP will be sent to Singapore 1st, then couriered to Malaysia ... US Apple website already show that all Macs now comes preloaded with SL.
rx330
Aug 29 2009, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(aizad02 @ Aug 29 2009, 05:10 AM) errr...is there anyway to disable the green light indicator whenever i sight is on? u wanna disable it? mine crazy punya, sometimes got light, sometimes no light.... (late 08 mbp) but my late 07 imac, no such issue
dvlzplayground
Aug 29 2009, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(aizad02 @ Aug 29 2009, 05:10 AM) errr...is there anyway to disable the green light indicator whenever i sight is on? uhhh why? want to secretly record videos of people ah?!  JK put sticker there la hehe. but i think bttr dun disable lah...maybe sometime later u THOUGHT u turned it off already but it doesnt..n ppl can see what ure doing :S
tinkerbel
Aug 29 2009, 10:51 AM
Fanaddict!
@rx330, What'd U mean by it sometimes light up and it sometimes don't?! Er.. when it lights up means it's in use lah, if not that means it's not in use. I don't use mine so muAHahAH mine's always NOT lighted up
aizad02
Aug 29 2009, 02:11 PM
haha...no lah..hav u heard of some kind of software that will trigger the alarm whenever ur MB moves?it uses ur isight lor..that means the camera will always on to detect any significant movement..btw,why would secretly take own pictures,mah..haha..
Criollo
Aug 29 2009, 02:14 PM
I seriously thought the iAlertU is triggered by the motion sensor in the hard disk... and then it takes pictures of the culprit with iSight...
terencetoo
Aug 29 2009, 02:22 PM
ohh regarding the iSight...is there any "adjustment" like logitech Webbie to adjust the saturation/ contrast/ ambiance/ lighting those kind of settings....my frens kept on saying too blur at my side where i had switch on my room lights...
another hand, im not sure am i too overreact, all my slot on the left are fully occupied where i can feel that the left panel is slightly hotter (More towards to Power Adapter) than other portion.
Is this normal?
Thanks in advanced!
cRazYee
Aug 29 2009, 02:34 PM
camera, definitely need to switch on the light
picture quality is definitely low when the lighting is at low level
your CCD/CMOS capture light the project on your face
it's normal, cuz logic board is at left side
terencetoo
Aug 29 2009, 02:59 PM
@cRazYee Thanks bro, btw any ways to optimized?
ginolo
Aug 29 2009, 03:33 PM
Hi guys, i'm new to here. Just got my mbp 15" moments ago. A new registered mac user. haha Any good screen protector/palm guard/keyboard protector to introduce?
preducer
Aug 29 2009, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(ginolo @ Aug 29 2009, 03:33 PM) Hi guys, i'm new to here. Just got my mbp 15" moments ago. A new registered mac user. haha Any good screen protector/palm guard/keyboard protector to introduce? palmguard > try moshi..
John89
Aug 29 2009, 06:38 PM
Just wondering is there any book out there for 1st time Mac, MacBook Pro users?
Can recommend some?
preducer
Aug 29 2009, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(John89 @ Aug 29 2009, 06:38 PM) Just wondering is there any book out there for 1st time Mac, MacBook Pro users? Can recommend some? why would u want to waste ur money on books ? u can get everything on the internet.
John89
Aug 29 2009, 06:47 PM
QUOTE(preducer @ Aug 29 2009, 06:42 PM) why would u want to waste ur money on books ? u can get everything on the internet. Yeah...I know they are expensive, but I don't want to miss a thing in my MBP
tinkerbel
Aug 29 2009, 07:43 PM
Fanaddict!
@John89, Just do a search and read up information available on the net. U'll find out more about ur computer when U start using it *smiles* Not necessary to purchase any reference books for it lah
dvlzplayground
Aug 29 2009, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(John89 @ Aug 29 2009, 06:47 PM) Yeah...I know they are expensive, but I don't want to miss a thing in my MBP u really dont need a book. OSX is designed to be very easy to use. just explore urself, google around a bit, and if all else fails u can just ask a question here in this forum
daydreaming
Aug 29 2009, 11:34 PM
the apple site has a lot of videos teaching u stuff u need to know about mac  i think they even teach u about the touchpads.
diners
Aug 30 2009, 11:36 AM
guys, if wanna change my uMB's hard drive, should i do any installation *software* to the new one b4 i slot it in my hard drive slot? i watched this youtube video, this person is using some connecting wires (??) to install the mac os x and apps in from old hard drive 1st only he change the hard drive.