Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

diners
post Aug 2 2009, 06:07 PM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

i wonder what had happened to my uMB? hmmmm, kept on showing the rainbow circle.
diners
post Aug 2 2009, 07:29 PM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Aug 2 2009, 07:05 PM)
too hot?

you guys tend like always have system problems
mine one was always hardware related issues
mine don't have too hot issue. just only the exhaust run at its full speed only. my system is once in a blue moon will sot once =='
diners
post Aug 9 2009, 09:03 PM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(heyrussell @ Aug 9 2009, 08:28 PM)
I recently ordered a 17" MacBook Pro matte display from Hong Kong and had a friend pick it up for me. Unfortunately, the unit died on me the next day. Ran all the usual diagnostics I can think of but finally sent it to VR Tech. They knew the unit was bought in HK when they checked the serial number against their database. So I presumed I was going to be charged for labour.

In the meantime, the shop in HK asked me to bring the unit back and they can give me a replacement unit. But I had to wait for a week since the matte display needs to be specially ordered. That didn't work for me.

Anyway VR Tech called later to inform me that the issue was with the logic board and it needed to be replaced but they have to order from S'pore. Was surprised that the part only took a day to arrive. I collected the unit  3 days later and no charges from VR Tech. I guess Apple picked up the tab. Thank god for Apple's Int'l warranty! So why did I risk getting it from HK. Because the price difference is about RM870 and its the cheapest place in the world to buy a Mac. If you can get a friend to bring it down for you, then by all means go for it!
i tot its canada?

-- edit --
oops, sorry. counted, hk is 8k+ while canada is 9k+

This post has been edited by diners: Aug 9 2009, 09:07 PM
diners
post Aug 19 2009, 07:43 AM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Aug 19 2009, 01:30 AM)
anybody has experience with warped unibody macbooks?

i was reading and found some postings in the web

eg.

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m173/le...nd/DSCN4318.jpg

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_-tnlEqRsOM0/SdjqEcXk...00/P1040565.JPG
i have this abit on my batter cover. but not obvious. maybe 1mm
diners
post Aug 19 2009, 09:59 PM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(ujoewong @ Aug 19 2009, 02:57 PM)
My protection on my aluminum MacBook 13" >> Moshi Codex 13 White SE > Speck See-Thru Clear> Moshi iVisor 13AG> Moshi Clearguard > Moshi Palmguard > Moshi Shieldpad.

LOL protection kaw kaw. Don't know why I just love Moshi stuff. Very apple-ish and simple.

Come to think of it. RM219+RM138+RM180+RM110+RM120= RM757 respectively. Moshi Shieldpad comes free with the Codex. Damn I spend a lot. Some more add another RM550 for my Crumpler King Single. =Rm1307.  rclxub.gif  Haven't add the price of cases I got for my iPhone 3G and Apple  Mouse and Keyboard. Both Wireless.  thumbup.gif

Next target Sony Cybershot DSC-T900 !!
wah, rich ppl can buy so many protections. but i dun even give a shit to buy those stuffs la, i got one protect leather cover thinggie, but i will take it off when i'm using it. i wanna have the "original" uMB feel. not the uMB with lotsa lotsa lotsa.....condoms =='

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Aug 19 2009, 05:20 PM)
I didn't bother with all those protection. A sleeve is all I use, and slot into my deuter backpack while inside the sleeve when I need to take it out.
i only got a leather cover thinggie looks like an organizer, and that's all.
diners
post Aug 20 2009, 07:10 AM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 19 2009, 10:43 PM)
im a moshi fan as well haha. but y u get speck seethru AND codex? kind of redundant ;p n i never knew got codex white SE haha
that "original" uMB will be gone once it is covered with dents, stains and scratches
haha. i seldom bring my uMB out anyway, i leave it alone on my 6feet long table. so i dun think there's be anything will harm it unless my house runtuh. and the day its with fully dented, stained, scratched = the day i change a new one rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by diners: Aug 20 2009, 07:10 AM
diners
post Aug 30 2009, 11:36 AM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

guys, if wanna change my uMB's hard drive, should i do any installation *software* to the new one b4 i slot it in my hard drive slot? i watched this youtube video, this person is using some connecting wires (??) to install the mac os x and apps in from old hard drive 1st only he change the hard drive.
diners
post Sep 20 2009, 06:55 PM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(aegis`- @ Sep 20 2009, 05:39 PM)
if ur always in indoor i think anti glare is not a must to get le
unless your always using ur mbp outdoor.
i just love the trackpad smoothness hesitate to get a protector for it bcoz it feels so good using it biggrin.gif
the only thing i need is a cover to protect the aluminium body
i cover nothing to my uMB. i love the originality of it. and i'm a carefull person, so no harm will be done XD
diners
post Sep 25 2009, 05:05 PM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(sallyx @ Sep 25 2009, 05:02 PM)
Hi Guys

Just wondering can a MAC book pro support a 24inches LCD monitor ?
I know the resolution  for mac is lower than 24inches alot.
Is it still possible for me to use MAC on a big wide screen?

Appreciate for you input here Thanks ^^
Dual display and video mirroring: Simultaneously supports full native resolution on the built-in display and up to 2560 by 1600 pixels on an external display, both at millions of colors

hope it helps =) blush.gif

This post has been edited by diners: Sep 25 2009, 05:06 PM
diners
post Sep 25 2009, 07:03 PM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(sallyx @ Sep 25 2009, 05:21 PM)
Thanks for your help, but i forgot to mention the macbook pro is 13inches.
So isit still possible to have full native resolution on  24inches?
yeap. its the same cuz every MB using 9400M~
diners
post Oct 2 2009, 09:55 AM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Oct 2 2009, 09:31 AM)
Just asking,

What difference macbook aluminium 13 2.0Ghz and macbook pro 13 2.2ghz?
faster processor, longer battery life, there's another "pro" word under the screen, additional SD card reader and FW800 and the audio in out port combine into 2 in 1. kensington lock moved to sit with dvd slot.
diners
post Oct 3 2009, 08:52 AM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(hildagarde @ Oct 3 2009, 01:12 AM)
120gb for me is more than enough as i don't store much things. Can the ram be added?
[attachmentid=1228186]

its says "2GB of 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM onboard"
diners
post Oct 15 2009, 05:07 PM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

just now i suddenly clicked into some vids in youtube. and i saw some guy modded his white mb with black k/b with backlit.
i was wondering if i could mod my uMB 2.0Ghz with backlit after my warranty leh... brows.gif
just for the sake of fun.
diners
post Oct 21 2009, 07:55 AM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

for the new imac - 16:9.. okay... but others seems no special for me....
for the new macbook white - its abit too round and i kinda like the bottom thinggie which i forget what isit... the others is okay okay....

for the new mouse - i'm in love with it!
diners
post Oct 23 2009, 08:41 AM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 22 2009, 11:01 PM)
@Kernkraft400,
U don't haf to keep telling people that U just got an MBP and don't want Apple to update their products.  If Apple don't keep coming up with new re-engineered products, how then do u think they're going to be doing so well in their profits?! tongue.gif
hahaha... don't make me laugh XD
anyway, Apple, Inc considered quite good already. I dunno if i'm right or not, i found out that others brands update thier product like, how many N times in half a year?
diners
post Oct 23 2009, 03:20 PM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Oct 23 2009, 09:47 AM)
Hmm, just now when i pointing my mouse over my dock there, the dock dint enlarge and those expose functions are all off. Then i decided to restart my it, but it stuck at the shutting down screen for quite a time. So i press my power button to force it off, but then when i trying to switch it on again, my mac stuck at the white apple screen for few mins. the loading circle is not moving at all. And i do force it off and switch it on. luckily this time my mac back to normal. just want to ask that is this thing caused by 72hours running of machine?
72hrs non stop? my machine is already on for 7d 20h~
diners
post Oct 24 2009, 10:13 AM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(SheepMekk @ Oct 23 2009, 11:11 PM)
Wow what did you do with your mac laugh.gif Not afraid of it getting hot?

Mbp is amazing, I don't hear any fan sound(maybe new laptops are mostly like that) nor feel anything blowing out from the laptop. I am not really a laptop user until now, and I was from windows. So this is my first laptop and my first mac laugh.gif So if I am not mistaken, the fan is behind the laptop? smile.gif

tinkerbel> Wow amazing biggrin.gif Hopefully what you said will be in long term!

I don't know why but I just laugh when my program crashes on mbp laugh.gif Maybe because I heard too much that mac doesn't crash or get virus
nope, not afraid of getting hot. the mini little fan will run up to 6200rpm to cool my system down.
and last time i get freaked out and nervous that my uMB will burst or something, but oh well...
i don't really care anymore, cuz i know its reliable rclxms.gif

my mac crashes a few times. most time (or can say everytime?) is crash on safari...
oh wait.. no crash.. just lag.. flex.gif

OH YA!! sifus.... wonder why sometimes i send songs via email using MAIL app in my uMB,
after i attach the song, the whole MAIL app will hang and unfortunately, i need to force quit it.
why? icon_question.gif

diners
post Oct 24 2009, 01:46 PM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Oct 24 2009, 12:56 PM)
Hmmm are you sending a legit song? Just joking hehehe... I don't think it hanged. Its just not responding because its attempting to upload the file onto the email server. And we know our upload links are slow, so its waiting for it to finish. Give it some minutes? But I agree... this shouldn't happen. I'm using Entourage and I don't see such a problem.
the beach ball just occurs after i select the song to attach, i wonder why. but oh well, i just don't send songs that all. haha. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on October 24, 2009, 2:59 pmi realize something..
last time b4 i install SL.... when playing facebook with external monitor, clamshell closed... the fan will go up to 6200rpm and 60'c
even clamshell open with internal screen also around that...

but now, same thing but in SL.... external monitor, clamshell closed, fan is 6200rpm and 50'c+ only
and clamshell open with internal screen, fan is 3200rpm+ and 50'c....

cool? javascript:emoticon(':blush:')

This post has been edited by diners: Oct 24 2009, 02:59 PM
diners
post Oct 28 2009, 10:04 PM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

my MAIL is going cuckoo nowadays. it kept on pop up this thing.
[attachmentid=1277142]
i kept on need to key in my password even i already tick the keychain thing.
what happened huh?
diners
post Nov 17 2009, 08:10 AM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Nov 16 2009, 10:54 PM)
Hi Guys, anyone of you use screen protector for Macbook Pro? Is the screen easily get scratches? Due to the screen is glossy I am afraid that it will get scratch if wipe using cleaning clothes provided. Any comments?

Not yet getting my Macbook Pro. Hopefully during pc fair will get some good deals. Currently just look out for the accessories needed.

Besides screen, how about body protection? Is Speck See-Thru Satin good? Will it scratch the body if always put on and off for cleaning once a week? Should I get the Speck See-Thru Satin or just get the sleeve will do?

Hope Macbook Pro owner can give some advice. Thank you very much.  icon_question.gif
about that issue, i've been seeing people asking everytime b4 pc fair.
apple won't have any nice promo in pc fair, unless they sell cheap for old stock or they sell same price with some freebies.

correct me if i'm wrong..

screen protedtor - need not. cuz its glass if i'm not wrong, won't get scratched so easily. they provide u the cloth of cuz can use w/o scratches la. if got scratch, why they provide? unless apple got high strategy by....... u scrtach screen - consumer change screen - revenue for apple.

speck-thru satin - i like the purple one, very glam. but i heard some people claiming that open in and out the case with ACTUALLY SCRATCH ur mbp. and or either the case with just crack at the lets there where it holds the mbp.

i not macbook pro owner, but macbook owner. but i believe u wanted the 13.3" one? anyway, it still the same alu body <3

0.0395sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:53 PM