126 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Runnerz... #3, All about running...

dmm9394
post Jul 30 2009, 04:09 PM

73 posts

Hi all, my friend's got a 21km bib (no shirt) for sale for this sunday's KOTR, RM10 only. Lemme know if anyone's interested, cheers

afieQ
post Jul 30 2009, 04:20 PM

411 posts

do you guys always get side stitch when running? sweat.gif how do I prevent it? hmm.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Jul 30 2009, 04:35 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(afieQ @ Jul 30 2009, 04:20 PM)
do you guys always get side stitch when running?  sweat.gif  how do I prevent it?  hmm.gif
2 ways to go abt it..
i guess erm u haven been running long? u need to run longer coz at the moment ur core muscles/ abs or nt strong enough..
once u run longer, ur core muscles will get stronger..
on top of that, try ab exercises like crunches? leg raises? hip twists?

i dun do da ab exercises though (blush.gif nt practicing wat i preach)
but i do run on a regular basis tongue.gif
hanjo55
post Jul 30 2009, 09:58 PM

270 posts

Guys,

Currently when running, I'm feeling pain on the inner side of my left foot. Below the ankle. Kinda like sprain feeling but the pain is felt when I'm lifting the foot off the ground.

If based on this graph, it is at the area of Deltoid ligament and Tibialis Posterior Tendon but more to the latter. What is causing the pain? What can I do to relieve it? What shall I do to prevent it from happening again?
d3vilzzzz
post Jul 30 2009, 10:11 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

hey hanjo,

none of us here are doctors sad.gif it may be best to seek professional advice frm a certified profesional..
but judging from ur pain and where it is.. a guess would be ur shoes dun hv enuff ankle support?

when did it start happening? were u doing anything out of the ordinary?
were u trying a diff running style? happens maybe say when oni running uphill or dwnhill?

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Jul 30 2009, 10:11 PM
angrydog
post Jul 30 2009, 11:45 PM

More like "fatdog" amiright?
993 posts

Dear runners:

I'm in the market for a pedometer (it's going to be a present for a friend), but I know next to nothing about where to get 'em here or what brand/model to go for, since I'm too fat and too lazy to run in a tropical climate. Does anyone have any recommendations?

(Also, I need to buy this within the next week at the latest, so speedy replies are much appreciated.)

This post has been edited by angrydog: Jul 30 2009, 11:52 PM
jack208
post Jul 30 2009, 11:58 PM

335 posts

angrydog: there's a chap here name is akuadam (flip back a couple pages and I think you'll see his reply) who sells Garmin Forerunner stuff. What you need is a Forerunner 50 + footpod (or if budget allow a FR305 or FR405).
angrydog
post Jul 31 2009, 12:02 AM

More like "fatdog" amiright?
993 posts

QUOTE(jack208 @ Jul 30 2009, 11:58 PM)
angrydog: there's a chap here name is akuadam (flip back a couple pages and I think you'll see his reply) who sells Garmin Forerunner stuff. What you need is a Forerunner 50 + footpod (or if budget allow a FR305 or FR405).
I was kind of hoping for something along the Omron line, but thanks for the tip.
triple02
post Jul 31 2009, 07:39 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(afieQ @ Jul 30 2009, 04:20 PM)
do you guys always get side stitch when running?  sweat.gif  how do I prevent it?  hmm.gif
Side stitch is caused by a things the first as pointed out by Devilzzz, your abs/core muscles are weak secondly your breathing technique is wrong

Try incorporating more core workouts if you really plan to run, google up and check in youtube for core excercises, planks, sideplanks , bird dogs just to name a few core workouts that you can try

as for your breathing technique try to run at a comfortable pace 1st and figure out you breathing technique then notch it up higher slowly
d3vilzzzz
post Jul 31 2009, 08:31 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

@afieQ

Some say when running if u feel a stitch, take long deep breathes..
i find that that kinda helps..
Liuism
post Jul 31 2009, 11:53 AM

1,866 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Jul 30 2009, 03:27 PM)
may i assume u dun run often then?
b specific.. wat sorta shoes u use? badminton shoes?

u say u train for endurance? in wat way??..
bear in mind for us as runners it means running OFTEN to INCREASE MILEAGE hence endurance.. 10km 3/4 times a week to sum is nth smile.gif
as runners running 2.4 -5k even daily doesn't help much..

FYI, i too run 2km and 5km BUT for speed training oni once a week..
3/4 times a week i do 3x 10km and 20km as me LSD tongue.gif
WOw looks like lotsa ppl opting to run Sing smile.gif
i guess u all will see race organization in a diff light laugh.gif

for me.. m--u--st resi--st the poi---son.. biggrin.gif
i have jogging shoes, if jogging i only use them..
i meant those working shoes i wear to work everyday is kinda uncomfortable..
i train by runnning at least 2.5k within 15 within or less, after that will train for strength then continue running again...
ccube
post Jul 31 2009, 12:11 PM

1,074 posts

marvin, simple and devilzzzz, i have signed for Thee NorthFace 100k DUO Challenge in SG - 24 Oct 2009. You guys wanna join...
d3vilzzzz
post Jul 31 2009, 12:33 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Jul 31 2009, 11:53 AM)
i have jogging shoes, if jogging i only use them..
i meant those working shoes i wear to work everyday is kinda uncomfortable..
i train by runnning at least 2.5k within 15 within or less, after that will train for strength then continue running again...
working shoes? hmm.gif buy new ones?
ur nt training for running events ya? if u can do 2.5k in 15mins dats nt too bad..
hw do u feel when u run? ur knees okies? or painful even when u walk?

strength training specifically towards running or ur talking abt lifting weights and all?

QUOTE(ccube @ Jul 31 2009, 12:11 PM)
marvin, simple and devilzzzz, i have signed for Thee NorthFace 100k DUO Challenge in SG - 24 Oct 2009.  You guys wanna join...
Me afraid me nt up too dat standard yet sad.gif
Me dis focusing on halves
Nxt yr oni 42s and more tongue.gif

ccube, my heart will b with u tongue.gif
ccube
post Jul 31 2009, 01:34 PM

1,074 posts

strength training specifically towards running or ur talking abt lifting weights and all?

[/quote]

You can find a partner to do the 50k DUO (each runner do 25k)

Added on July 31, 2009, 2:04 pm Putrajaya 12hr Walk 12 - 13 Dec 2009

http://racewalkermalaysia.synthasite.com/

This post has been edited by ccube: Jul 31 2009, 02:04 PM
Simple
post Jul 31 2009, 02:19 PM

25 posts

marvin, simple and devilzzzz, i have signed for Thee NorthFace 100k DUO Challenge in SG - 24 Oct 2009.  You guys wanna join...
Hi ccube,

Ehhh... 100km huh..... it is a huge big gap between 42 ler. Let me think think first. The training quite be quite interesting and
torturing
ccube
post Jul 31 2009, 02:26 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Simple @ Jul 31 2009, 02:19 PM)
Hi ccube,

Ehhh... 100km huh..... it is a huge big gap between 42 ler. Let me think think first. The training quite be quite interesting and
torturing
Simple,

you can either do the
1) 100k DUO (ie 2 per team and each runner have to run 50k)

or

2) 50k DUO (ie 2 per team and each runner have to run 25k)

the 100k SOLO is on invitation only!!!!!
marvinct
post Jul 31 2009, 02:47 PM

117 posts

not in my consideration for now....
unless i see a vast improvement in my endurance and strength over the coming month.
hanjo55
post Jul 31 2009, 03:41 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Jul 30 2009, 10:11 PM)
hey hanjo,

none of us here are doctors sad.gif it may be best to seek professional advice frm a certified profesional..
but judging from ur pain and where it is.. a guess would be ur shoes dun hv enuff ankle support?

when did it start happening? were u doing anything out of the ordinary?
were u trying a diff running style? happens maybe say when oni running uphill or dwnhill?
I do not remember a specific occurrence when it happened. It is kind of built up bit by bit. Then only I'm feeling the pain. I'm feeling it since SCKLM. I can feel after a certain time. If running, I feel it like after 3km. Even walking for a long time can give me the pain too.
d3vilzzzz
post Jul 31 2009, 04:12 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

[quote=ccube,Jul 31 2009, 01:34 PM]

[/quote]
You can find a partner to do the 50k DUO (each runner do 25k)

Added on July 31, 2009, 2:04 pm Putrajaya 12hr Walk 12 - 13 Dec 2009

http://racewalkermalaysia.synthasite.com/
[/quote]

OoOO 12 hr walk.. hv u guys registered keke

[quote=hanjo55,Jul 31 2009, 03:41 PM]
I do not remember a specific occurrence when it happened. It is kind of built up bit by bit. Then only I'm feeling the pain. I'm feeling it since SCKLM. I can feel after a certain time. If running, I feel it like after 3km. Even walking for a long time can give me the pain too.
[/quote]

hmm.gif hurt a tendon, ligament, muscle?
i tink u may need profesional help..

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Jul 31 2009, 04:13 PM
Liuism
post Jul 31 2009, 04:24 PM

1,866 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Jul 31 2009, 12:33 PM)
working shoes? hmm.gif buy new ones?
ur nt training for running events ya? if u can do 2.5k in 15mins dats nt too bad..
hw do u feel when u run? ur knees okies? or painful even when u walk?

Buy new ones, sayang wan to buy...
yeah, i dun train for running events...
nowdays run, knees will feel discomfort,
walking still ok, but sometimes will also feel discomfort..

After running, do pushups, sit-ups, squats, and etc lor..

126 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:03 AM