Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

andrekua
post Sep 14 2009, 07:01 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(mengfui @ Sep 11 2009, 06:26 PM)
Is it SCB Platinum cards so easy to get approve nowadays?
Bro,

You can rightfully said so. Show them a card with 18k limit is the easiest way to gain Plat card with them. I signed up during PC Fair for fun. It got approved when I attached my 18k limit Alliance Gold card. When I received that card today (slight delay after courier problem), they in fact issue both Mastercard and VISA as a combo. The combined limit is 43k for me. This is more than my annual salary (minus bonus). I think credit card will boom in the next 3 years.

Still thinking wanna use or not. Lowest cash back rate of all when comparing Citibank Shell Gold (0.75%), Alliance Gold (Tier upto 1.3% for first 3k) and SCB Plat (0.5%)

Added on September 14, 2009, 7:04 pm
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 14 2009, 01:48 PM)
which rate for bank negara are you using? mid rate? buying or selling?

the rate im quoting are from Reuters.

like now as at 1.43pm the USD:RM are at 3.5000

checking from Bank negara now, the selling rate is 3.5010
Not all the banks are same I think. I only spent once before in China. When I received the bill, it was in fact cheaper than buying with cash due to more favorable exchange rate. That time I was using Southern Bank mastercard.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Sep 14 2009, 07:04 PM
Gen-X
post Sep 14 2009, 07:07 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Yesterday at about midnight called MBB Petronas CS, not to happy with their 24 hours service. Previously I posted quite happy with MBB Petronas Platinum CS Tol Free service but yesterday kind of pissed me off.

I have both MBB Petronas Gold and Platinum - yes both also active cards, yet to cancel the gold card until I settle this month statement.

MBB Petronas Gold CS - put on hold for quite long and it is not TOL Free so got pissed off and called MBB Petronas Platinum TOL Free CS line but nobody picked up the damn phone!
MilesAndMore
post Sep 14 2009, 10:00 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 13 2009, 02:26 PM)
Note that several forummer have posted this info before ... the final amount would not be precisely @ 0.5%, it will be a number between 0.5%-0.8% perhaps.
Winner has done a comparison about the credit card admin fee several times. I wondered anyone has tried out HSBC Premier Mastercard ? Since HSBC Premier promise its customers preferential exchange rate and such. Maybe the admin fee and exchange rate is lower if you swipe it overseas compared to their HSBC Amanah issued VISA and conventional credit cards ?

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Sep 14 2009, 11:51 PM
tinkerbel
post Sep 14 2009, 11:02 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Hi peeps,

I know this is going to sound like a v weird request but can someone give me a walk-through as to how to setup Internet Banking with SCB? I've tried 3x and have failed and have almost given up.

The CS I've spoken with is of no help and the last one I spoke with can barely even speak English sad.gif
MoneySoSpecial
post Sep 15 2009, 12:33 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 14 2009, 09:15 AM)
Just to put up a mention here.
You can actually convert your purchases in SCB to 12 months easy payment inside their internet banking system.

Each retail transaction has to be at least RM500 and transacted in the last 30 days to be eligible for FlexiPay.

How to Apply?
To apply, simply select from the list of eligible transactions below and submit your request via Internet Banking. Your request will be processed within 5 - 7 working days.

Terms & Conditions
1. All FlexiPay Application submitted before 3.00pm (Monday - Friday) will be processed on the same business day. Any application submitted on a public holiday, Saturday and Sunday will only be processed on the next working day.
2. Please note that the Monthly Installment Amount (MYR) shown above are indicative and the amount charged and reflected on the statement may differ due to rounding differences or other reasons, as applicable.
3. Maximum conversion amount is RM40,000 per transaction.
4. The calculation of interest charge will be as follows:-
5. Flat interest of 7.99% p.a. (12 months FlexiPay)
Thanks! Good information. The rate is not attractive, better do balance transfer. tongue.gif

tgeoklin
post Sep 15 2009, 07:28 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 14 2009, 11:02 PM)
Hi peeps,

I know this is going to sound like a v weird request but can someone give me a walk-through as to how to setup Internet Banking with SCB? I've tried 3x and have failed and have almost given up.

The CS I've spoken with is of no help and the last one I spoke with can barely even speak English sad.gif
The last time I did that a few years back, all you need is a pin number. You can then proceed to register yourself and your account. All you need is to input any 1 account's number. The rest will be visible after you are securely logged in. Hope that helps. No assistance from CS required. Hope that helps smile.gif

Added on September 15, 2009, 7:33 am
QUOTE(penanghomes @ Sep 14 2009, 06:41 PM)

I have not or never used a cc before,so i am planning to apply a cc soon.

Can anyone here recomend me one which is less hassle and require the lowest mininum income?

Thanks in advance
The entry income level is fixed by BNM for all cards applicants. All financial institutions are bound to comply.

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Sep 15 2009, 07:33 AM
alexwsk
post Sep 15 2009, 08:09 AM

4,093 posts

@tinkerbel
have you registered you mobile phone with SCB? u'll need to walk in to any branch to have them key in into the system if not mistaken (the number you've filled in during CC application will not be automatically entered into the system)

after that you shud be able to register thru the website with ease
winner
post Sep 15 2009, 08:41 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 14 2009, 07:01 PM)
Not all the banks are same I think. I only spent once before in China. When I received the bill, it was in fact cheaper than buying with cash due to more favorable exchange rate. That time I was using Southern Bank mastercard.
smile.gif Southern Bank! Was your transaction done ages ago? biggrin.gif DA has long been under CIMB.

Following the inclusion of 1% admin fee on all overseas transactions, CIMB’s conversion rate has never been attractive since April 09.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 14 2009, 07:07 PM)
Yesterday at about midnight called MBB Petronas CS, not to happy with their 24 hours service. Previously I posted quite happy with MBB Petronas Platinum CS Tol Free service but yesterday kind of pissed me off.

I have both MBB Petronas Gold and Platinum - yes both also active cards, yet to cancel the gold card until I settle this month statement.

MBB Petronas Gold CS - put on hold for quite long and it is not TOL Free so got pissed off and called MBB Petronas Platinum TOL Free CS line but nobody picked up the damn phone!
That’s in fact the most annoying thing! It would ruin your mood and sometimes give you a “heart attack”. I had experienced enough with DA a few years back. Recently Alliance also gave me a little bit of problems, but what to do...I need their cash rebates.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 14 2009, 10:00 PM)
Winner has done a comparison about the credit card admin fee several times. I wondered anyone has tried out HSBC Premier Mastercard ? Since HSBC Premier promise its customers preferential exchange rate and such. Maybe the admin fee and exchange rate is lower if you swipe it overseas compared to their HSBC Amanah issued VISA and conventional credit cards ?
After all, HSBC Premier MC is still an MC. The conversion is done by MC. I guess the only thing that can be adjusted by HSBC is the admin fee, i.e. imposing a smaller percentage of admin fee compared to other HSBC cards.

joenjill
post Sep 15 2009, 09:24 AM

1,015 posts

anyone know which cc offer the best rate for cash advance? or the lower cash advance fees?
ronnie
post Sep 15 2009, 09:54 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 14 2009, 07:07 PM)

Fastest way thru MBB Credit Card line is to select Lost Card option
hye
post Sep 15 2009, 10:25 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Another news to note ... I received this notification a few days ago from AMEX.

SG Airlines KrisFlyer AMEX card holders can now enjoy complimentary access to the Plaza Premium Lounge @ KLIA, LCCT and Senai Airport by presenting the card 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Previously when they initially launched this card, they gave 2 vouchers for 2 entries to the lounge. Seems now this priviledge is now a permanent feature to the card.
vin_ann
post Sep 15 2009, 10:36 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(joenjill @ Sep 15 2009, 09:24 AM)
anyone know which cc offer the best rate for cash advance? or the lower cash advance fees?
there are no such CC...
one0202
post Sep 15 2009, 10:39 AM

429 posts

is it good to apply C.Card just to buy electrical thing like, lptop@lcd-tv etc just to get 0% interest???
or better get AEON loan for that???
santaclaus
post Sep 15 2009, 10:52 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 14 2009, 11:02 PM)
Hi peeps,

i registered a few times oso cant get it althou follow every steps ... so i call cs n they say they can do it thru the fon ... they will send a temporary pin thru ur hp n gif u a temporary log in username ...

althou they can help , u haf to say u r dissatisfied then they do for u , coz the first time i called they say will send me a temporary pin within 7 days , i asked y cant do on the spot? she said its procedure ... after more than 1 week , get nothing ... i called again , the cs say the same thing then i say wanna lodge complain coz last week already someone promise me to activate it but din send anything to me ... the cs then onli say ok , she so it on the spot ...

after she guide everything , less than 5 mins kau tim ... but the oline account show no balance until the next day la

Added on September 15, 2009, 11:00 ambtw , for the Direct Access MC petrol rebate , i c now they change to 5% on first day of the month 2% other days til 31 dec 2009.

does this means starting 1 jan 2010 , there will b no more petrol rebates???

actually this is my first card , but the credit limit never increase at all , so seldom use ( onli for petrol ) , but after got scb justone , this card already kept in my drawer , so im thinking whether i request for credit increase then i will continue to use ( provided petrol rebate stil got ) or juz cancel it off ... problem is i lazy to submit my income documents , anyway ask them to increase w/o these procedures???

the limit damn low la ... 8k onli sweat.gif

This post has been edited by santaclaus: Sep 15 2009, 11:00 AM
hye
post Sep 15 2009, 12:28 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Sep 15 2009, 10:52 AM)
does this means starting 1 jan 2010 , there will b no more petrol rebates???
We'll see whether that happens or not next year. My take is that there's a chance cc companies to continue giving out petrol rebates but on the other hand this incentive will be very expensive for the banks to sustain as oil prices goes up and the banks have to pay out more to their customers.

... Just my 20 cents

Dannyl
post Sep 15 2009, 01:32 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 13 2009, 10:39 AM)
Actually it is quite simple. The banks had it for quite a while already - these banks are allocated a certain merchant ID code/class thus it is easily detectable by the terminal open they swipe the card. This system was already in place when AMBB introduced their Islamic cc several years back.
So this is applicable for purchases worldwide?
GHz
post Sep 15 2009, 01:54 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(joenjill @ Sep 15 2009, 09:24 AM)
look at Bank Islam, they charge RM12 per RM1000 cash advanced from ATM but you also need to look at your tier interest rate. I think its either 13.5%, 16% or 18% per annum.
marky
post Sep 15 2009, 02:44 PM

xoxo
893 posts

isit possible to change my maybank flex card to the petronas 1? currently still hav 1 installment plan in the maybank flex
SUSDavid83
post Sep 15 2009, 02:55 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(marky @ Sep 15 2009, 02:44 PM)
isit possible to change my maybank flex card to the petronas 1? currently still hav 1 installment plan in the maybank flex
Conversion is not possible. Applying for additional is more possible.
WoodStock
post Sep 15 2009, 04:03 PM

543 posts

hi all..
i am using Amex gold credit card now.. i have some other Maybank credit cards also. total combined credit limit is 8k

well, i am going to buy a few laptops, for me and friends with it, on 1st October.. hopefully can win that the Longines Watch or Delsey Expandable Cabin Case..

but my credit limit is just 8k.. the laptops i am going to buy cost 9k++

is it possible to call Amex to increase my credit limit to 10k??

*i have ready cash to pay for the balance next month, just to collect point for credit card. since i saw this Amex promotion, so decide to delay my buying until 1st of Oct, stand a chance to win the Longines Watch or Delsey Expandable Cabin Case.

125 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 >Top

0.0211sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:53 AM