Gen-X
post Jun 29 2009, 08:51 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 29 2009, 08:29 AM)
As discussed when Ambank launched this cc few months ago, we had already put a cautious remark on this cc. The reason being the rebate quota can finish in just the 1st few days of each month. The bank won't update you on the quota status on a daily basis.

I was a HLB cardholder until early this month. FYI, the cash rebate system for its Plat cc is completely worthless, as you need to carry forward your outstanding balance in order to be entitled to cash rebate.
Ambank's promotion is really misleading as it makes one believe that they are getting cash back until one reads the T&C.

Yah, HLB Plat so call cash rebate is worthless as the cash back only applies to outstanding balances.

Talking about misleading, HSBC also has "promotion" which is limited where cardmembers will get a fee samsonite bag if charge RM5K but subjected to first come first serve. Now I am waiting if I will get the samsonite bag and if I don't I would deifinately feel that I was "cheated" by HSBC.
winner
post Jun 29 2009, 09:01 AM

2,221 posts

But the previous cash back promotion for HLB Gold cc (not sure for Classic and Plat) was quite good. I was rewarded with RM50 each for 3 consecutive months, after spending RM1k++ for each month. Neverthelers, I have terminated this cc as the promotion is over.
he-sham
post Jun 29 2009, 10:29 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(memphisto @ Jun 28 2009, 11:26 PM)
hi
i would like to know if it's ok for me to use my Credit Card in Europe? i.e. just swipe like normal transactions in M'sia?
or do i have to do some procedures or get some PIN before doing so?

hope you can advice.
my CC is Citibank/CIMB
inform u cc issuer before going to oversea.... no need pin if normal retail transaction....but i suggest u to get the pin as if in emergency situation u can withdraw some cash at any ATM with VISA/Mastercard sign worldwide.....
munir
post Jun 29 2009, 10:57 AM

33 posts

hi guys,

noobs here on CC...
just ask yr guys opinion...
- want to apply a new CC (which is better - waive yearly fee or get gd redemption gift or cash rebate or etc)
- want to do balance transfer (possiblity 12months repayment with lowest interest)
- 24hrs access cash deposit machine..
- etc...

i was hardly use with gd repayment coz im using the CC for business purpose.

found from thread so far...gd respond for SCB just one

anyway thanks for helping.

This post has been edited by munir: Jun 29 2009, 11:26 AM
hye
post Jun 29 2009, 10:57 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Jun 29 2009, 10:29 AM)
inform u cc issuer before going to oversea.... no need pin if normal retail transaction....but i suggest u to get the pin as if in emergency situation u can withdraw some cash at any ATM with VISA/Mastercard sign worldwide.....
I wouldn't encourage doing this under normal circumstances and only to consider doing this in an emergency as it is expensive and painful on the finance charges. Note the Cash Withdrawal Fees (I think it is 5%) plus the finance charges starts right from the day you withdraw your cash.
pisang
post Jun 29 2009, 11:27 AM

854 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 29 2009, 08:29 AM)
As discussed when Ambank launched this cc few months ago, we had already put a cautious remark on this cc. The reason being the rebate quota can finish in just the 1st few days of each month. The bank won't update you on the quota status on a daily basis.
I was a HLB cardholder until early this month. FYI, the cash rebate system for its Plat cc is completely worthless, as you need to carry forward your outstanding balance in order to be entitled to cash rebate.
aiyar.. really kena la... vmad.gif

my DA is still not bad, get 2% on petrol every month, without fail, without any condition.
arsenal
post Jun 29 2009, 11:33 AM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 29 2009, 02:07 AM)
Yes.

By the way guys, i was at Hong Leong Bank website just now checking out the range of credit cards offered and found that Hong Leong Bank is offering up to 2% cash rebate for their Platinum cardholders on top of the RM1 = 1 Reward Point system. Any idea how does the 2% cash rebate works ? Is it something like Alliance Bank credit card ?
thanks. What time do they open normally?
bulkbiz
post Jun 29 2009, 12:01 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

One question here, let say per annum salary(12 month) is RM39k and the credit card requires RM40k income per annum, definitely the application will be rejected right, but my company provide contractual bonus(13 months salary every year instead of 12) and with this my per annum income is 42250.

Will I still eligible for the application?

This post has been edited by bulkbiz: Jun 29 2009, 12:02 PM
he-sham
post Jun 29 2009, 12:09 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Jun 29 2009, 11:27 AM)
aiyar.. really kena la...  vmad.gif

my DA is still not bad, get 2% on petrol every month, without fail, without any condition.
yerp..this was what exactly i said before..

no matter how much the percentage of rebate the're giving, if they cap us maximum rebate for each cradholder OR the maximum cash rebate pool given by them OR must have some carry forward balance in the card account , there's no point jumping for the promotion...

better get unlimited cash rebate with no condition if u're big spender....sometime the % of rebate make us excited...

if i'm the bank.... i also can give 200% cash rebate but cap to rm2/month maximum for each cardholder.....haha...its good rite.. at least get rm2 rebates with minimum spending...hahaha whistling.gif
hye
post Jun 29 2009, 12:11 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Jun 29 2009, 12:01 PM)
One question here, let say per annum salary(12 month) is RM39k and the credit card requires RM40k income per annum, definitely the application will be rejected right, but my company provide contractual bonus(13 months salary every year instead of 12) and with this my per annum income is 42250.

Quick answer is yes if the contractual bonus is reflected in yr income statement. You can provide this income statement to the bank when you apply for the card.
he-sham
post Jun 29 2009, 12:13 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 29 2009, 10:57 AM)
I wouldn't encourage doing this under normal circumstances and only to consider doing this in an emergency as it is expensive and painful on the finance charges. Note the Cash Withdrawal Fees (I think it is 5%) plus the finance charges starts right from the day you withdraw your cash.
yerp....if u got robbed & all cash gone while at oversea, let say in kenya or somewhere in south america... it's useful u know to have a cc that can withdraw cash money..... thats what i called emergency...

& FYI cash advance fee for bank islam only 3.5%...
bulkbiz
post Jun 29 2009, 12:15 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 29 2009, 12:11 PM)
Quick answer is yes if the contractual bonus is reflected in yr income statement. You can provide this income statement to the bank when you apply for the card.
It is not stated in payslip...perhaps give them the employment contract?
hye
post Jun 29 2009, 02:31 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Jun 29 2009, 12:15 PM)
It is not stated in payslip...perhaps give them the employment contract?
You can try but this depends on the bank whether they recognise the employment contract as proof of income. I'm saying this coz different bank different policy ... and no I don't know all the banks policy. Just try it out and you'll find out quick enough.
Gen-X
post Jun 29 2009, 02:47 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Jun 29 2009, 12:01 PM)

Yes, you will qualify as long as your total annual income meets the requirement. Same like taxable income which includes bonus, rental, royalties etc. Moreover, as I mentioned before, can also use EPF statement which will definately show the bonus and anyone can easily conclude your annual income.

feizaiII
post Jun 29 2009, 03:57 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

Have use citibank gold quite a long time..
Recently feel looking some cash rebate card.. on petrol ,grocery.

One day a guys come approach me HSBC Plat .. offer lifetime AF waived, 5% cash rebate.. decided to applied. End up, 2 Gold card sent to my place, AF waived if 12trasaction, cash rebate only 0.5%... mad.gif mad.gif

Feel get cheated!!
bluffy83
post Jun 29 2009, 04:03 PM

481 posts

recently public bank launch a new promotion.. 8% cash back.. still capped to RM 50 per month though.. anyway it still good for me.. swap swap swaaap!
feizaiII
post Jun 29 2009, 04:15 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(bluffy83 @ Jun 29 2009, 04:03 PM)
recently public bank launch a new promotion.. 8% cash back.. still capped to RM 50 per month though.. anyway it still good for me.. swap swap swaaap!
any promotion period? all petrol station and whatever shop?
cute_boboi
post Jun 29 2009, 04:17 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Jun 29 2009, 03:57 PM)

One day a guys come approach me HSBC Plat .. offer lifetime AF waived, 5% cash rebate.. decided to applied.  End up, 2 Gold card sent to my place, AF waived if 12trasaction, cash rebate only 0.5%...  mad.gif  mad.gif

Feel get cheated!!
Cancel it straightaway. Don't let the sales-person any chance to get commission.
winner
post Jun 29 2009, 04:17 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Jun 29 2009, 03:57 PM)

One day a guys come approach me HSBC Plat .. offer lifetime AF waived, 5% cash rebate.. decided to applied.  End up, 2 Gold card sent to my place, AF waived if 12trasaction, cash rebate only 0.5%...  mad.gif  mad.gif

Feel get cheated!!
Just cancel the card you don't need. You have the right to do so.

QUOTE(bluffy83 @ Jun 29 2009, 04:03 PM)
Yes, it's awesome. But the promotion period is too short, and it does have a max payout pool.
feizaiII
post Jun 29 2009, 04:23 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 29 2009, 04:17 PM)
Just cancel the card you don't need. You have the right to do so.
Yes, it's awesome. But the promotion period is too short, and it does have a max payout pool.
Yes I have cancel one Visa, keep the master, heard HSBC oversea spending is convenient.. anyone can clarify this?
Let say admin fee? I remember that fellow told me, no ADMIN charges for HSBC. If he cheat me again, i going to cancel both! mad.gif

Yeah, jus went pbebank website, still not prefer..
Looking something FREE for life AF, spending SHELL petrol or any shop have cash rebate, no max payout, no promotion period.. Is such card available in market? Or.. is jusst my dream...

This post has been edited by feizaiII: Jun 29 2009, 04:26 PM

125 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:49 AM