Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

Michael_G
post Sep 8 2009, 11:04 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Sep 8 2009, 06:03 PM)
I got the same feeling aeron said they will extend the cash rebate promo for Oct,so first week Sat ans Sun of Oct just simply swipe it at petrol pump,if they really didn't renew it just cancel it. I'm using this card rightnow too,comes Oct if no promo i plan to cancel it too.
QUOTE(aeronlim @ Sep 8 2009, 09:53 PM)
If you are looking for cash rebate cc, suggest you apply for the cards below

Citibank Shell VISA Credit Card (up to 5% rebate on Petrol)
CIMB Petronas Mastercard / Islamic Mastercard (2% rebate on petrol, 0.5% other purchase)
Alliance Bank Younique Mastercard (select cash rebate option)
SCB Justone Mastercard (this is the one i see most people discussed in this thread, feeling  hmm.gif )
American Express Gold Credit Card (200 point = RM 1 rebate, recommend this as many of outlets can get 5x point)
Yeah, nowadays so many competition among banks and petrol price raised (even hard to feel that, but it is true, petrol really raised  mad.gif ), extra points and cash rebate will be one of bank's credit card features to attract customers
urm what do u think i just keep the card and dun activate it first.. until the bank renew the promotion den i only activate it. is it okie? and must i activate it by phone with the pin? yea i got another question. why rhb bank send me 2 pin? i only receive travel card. but i receive both pin for tesco and travel.. confusing. or maybe the tesco card is with the poslaju???
hye
post Sep 8 2009, 11:04 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Sep 8 2009, 09:53 PM)
If you are looking for cash rebate cc, suggest you apply for the cards below

Citibank Shell VISA Credit Card (up to 5% rebate on Petrol)
SCB Justone Mastercard (this is the one i see most people discussed in this thread, feeling  hmm.gif )
One thing about these 2 cards.
- Citibank Shell VISA rebates are only applicable if you have carry forward balance in your account. (Means you have active cc debt with Citibank)
- SCB Justone, SCB no longer accept new application for this card. (Lots of thories to this. Either issues with the dual function or people are just dumping the card on the rebate limiThe good thing about this card is that you can get rebate for just about everything (capped up to RM600 per annum) and not limited to fuel purchase. Min rebate is 2% and you'll get a 5% rebate on Fridays.
Shinichi
post Sep 8 2009, 11:10 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, for MBB credit card owner do you return signed copy of acknowledgment form back to MBB after you received your new card?

Can we use the card if we do not return? Will there be any problem?

SUSDavid83
post Sep 8 2009, 11:28 PM

52,874 posts

Usually I pick the card from branch.

I believe that I did sign some forms during the pick up. smile.gif
Shinichi
post Sep 8 2009, 11:39 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 8 2009, 11:28 PM)
Usually I pick the card from branch.

I believe that I did sign some forms during the pick up. smile.gif
Thanks David smile.gif

For those who got your MBB Cards via post, do you return the acknowledgement form?
Lis000
post Sep 9 2009, 12:10 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Sep 8 2009, 11:39 PM)
Thanks David smile.gif

For those who got your MBB Cards via post, do you return the acknowledgement form?
Nopes, didn't bother. And there was no problem using the cards ( MBB Gold Amex & Sony Visa ). So I guess it's not entirely necessary.
rickray
post Sep 9 2009, 02:52 AM

114 posts

Hi. I'm new to this credit card world. I just applied for CIMB mastercard. But the CIMB petronas mastercard seems to have more benefit (rebate on petrol), although I seldom go to petronas. So, my question is, what are the different between this 2, is there any advantage that CIMB mastercard has but CIMB petronas mastercard don't have?
Thank you
bingozero
post Sep 9 2009, 09:03 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 2 2009, 11:25 PM)
I found more details on the two newly launched Islamic based CC from Petronas MyMesra page:

http://www.mymesra.com.my/index.php?ch=mm_...mo_promo&ac=123

Alternatively, you can go to M2U for the Ikhwan CC:

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

However, details for CIMB Islamic CC is still not available on CIMB page!
CIMB Islamic Petronas Master card finally show on CIMB webpage
http://cb.cimbislamic.com/index.php?ch=ci_...pt=cimb_islamic

But minimum RM18K pa are eligible to apply, quite low the requirement blush.gif

This post has been edited by bingozero: Sep 9 2009, 09:05 AM
Michael_G
post Sep 9 2009, 01:54 PM

160 posts

i received my tesco card today.. rhb website down i need to check the details.. T_T
viqq
post Sep 9 2009, 02:52 PM

From the Eastside
1,836 posts

Hi peeps.

I have some questions about credit card thingy and would appreciate if someone could answer them.

Ok. The question is that if I have a big sum of amount owed, say RM10, 000. I have failed to pay the full amount for almost a year already, but then I've paid the minimum amount all the while.

And the bank now has canceled my credit card because I have failed to pay the minimum amount of money. Now I am forced to pay a debt of RM12, 000 including 18% interest.

The problem is that I can't pay off the RM12, 000 due to other commitments such as car loans, house loans, shop rents and etc. I can only pay around RM500 a month which in return about RM200 is the interest.

Any advise or suggestions on how to clear off my debt? Can I ask the bank to drop off my interest and pay the total amount that I have used only?
miaomiaolala
post Sep 9 2009, 03:10 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ Sep 9 2009, 02:52 PM)
Hi peeps.

I have some questions about credit card thingy and would appreciate if someone could answer them.

Ok. The question is that if I have a big sum of amount owed, say RM10, 000. I have failed to pay the full amount for almost a year already, but then I've paid the minimum amount all the while.

And the bank now has canceled my credit card because I have failed to pay the minimum amount of money. Now I am forced to pay a debt of RM12, 000 including 18% interest.

The problem is that I can't pay off the RM12, 000 due to other commitments such as car loans, house loans, shop rents and etc. I can only pay around RM500 a month which in return about RM200 is the interest.

Any advise or suggestions on how to clear off my debt? Can I ask the bank to drop off my interest and pay the total amount that I have used only?
Do you mean that you failed to pay even the minimum then the bank asked you to pay the RM12,000? blink.gif
cute_boboi
post Sep 9 2009, 03:11 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

viqq,

Option 1:
Call up the officer, tell him frankly you want to meet up to settle it.
1) Cancel and terminate the CC. Transfer the balance to a personal loan. It is lower interest than CC.
2) Pay monthly installment to settle the personal loan. No minimum payment, is a fixed monthly payment like paying car loan. Hope you do not default on this.

Option 2:
Find AKPK

ronnie
post Sep 9 2009, 03:12 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ Sep 9 2009, 02:52 PM)
Hi peeps.

This definitely a good lesson for everyone to learn from.... don't pay the minimum monthly only.
You can discuss with the bank to reduce the interest...but definitely not drop-off the interest. Banks are not charities.

Good luck... don't go borrow from Ah Long
viqq
post Sep 9 2009, 04:26 PM

From the Eastside
1,836 posts

QUOTE(miaomiaolala @ Sep 9 2009, 03:10 PM)
Do you mean that you failed to pay even the minimum then the bank asked you to pay the RM12,000?  blink.gif
RM12,000 including penalty fees etc.

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Sep 9 2009, 03:11 PM)
viqq,

Option 1:
Call up the officer, tell him frankly you want to meet up to settle it.
1) Cancel and terminate the CC. Transfer the balance to a personal loan. It is lower interest than CC.
2) Pay monthly installment to settle the personal loan. No minimum payment, is a fixed monthly payment like paying car loan. Hope you do not default on this.

Option 2:
Find AKPK
The card has been terminated and I'm turning it in to a personal loan as you said, but then I'm required to write a proposal letter. Minimum payment is already difficult for me. I think base on my commitment and such, probably I only have RM500 extra to pay out the debt each month.

What's AKPK? Is it better to find them rather than turning it to a personal loan? Which is better? Can explain more? Thanks.

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 9 2009, 03:12 PM)
This definitely a good lesson for everyone to learn from.... don't pay the minimum monthly only.
You can discuss with the bank to reduce the interest...but definitely not drop-off the interest. Banks are not charities.

Good luck... don't go borrow from Ah Long
Yes you are right. Minimum payment do no good, only increase more debts and as when you use more, it goes into a big amount. I've asked them to reduce the interest rate and they also suggest me to turn it into a personal loan or something like that. If not mistaken they are called debt consolidation loan?

I won't borrow from Ah Long la. But I have some friends are ah long lar. Maybe they can give me 0% interest loan. LOL.
cute_boboi
post Sep 9 2009, 04:57 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

viqq,

Google for AKPK. It is something similiar like turning into personal loan, but worse effect as they will highlight to all banks/etc to blacklist you until you settled the loan. But useful if you have discipline issue to commit monthly payment without fail.

Suggest to negotiate (write proposal letter) with the officer to lengthen the personal loan installment and reduce the monthly payment. Tell them frankly you can't afford and worse case is lapse payment or bankruptcy. The bank may consider it. But you yourself must commit to pay e.g. RM500 every month without fail. This is your last chance, unless you plan to run away or file for bankruptcy.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Sep 9 2009, 05:01 PM
Syd G
post Sep 9 2009, 05:24 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

@viqq
Mind telling us your expenses breakdown? Maybe we can help you on other areas to trim down.
hye
post Sep 9 2009, 05:42 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@viqq

I do respect you for being able to come up here and ask for help from the regular folks here. Unfortunately it is a bitter pill to swallow but I hope visitors coming and reading this thread would be able to learn something from your unfortunate situation.

I can't begin to say how many times have I gotten upset by those who ask about Cash Advance, buying things on cc debt / EZ installments without a clear idea on the impact of that decision. I'm not saying those facilities are all evil (Myself have done it before and I do have active EZ installments on my card) but they need to be thought through.

Abuse of the facility will only lead to serious circumstances.

I wish you all the best ... like what the folks here have mentioned. Going to AKPK is not a bad idea since the banks blocked your credit facility already and asked you to write a proposal. You must make sure to come back out from this stronger. Good luck!
winner
post Sep 9 2009, 05:53 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ Sep 9 2009, 04:26 PM)
RM12,000 including penalty fees etc.
The card has been terminated and I'm turning it in to a personal loan as you said, but then I'm required to write a proposal letter. Minimum payment is already difficult for me. I think base on my commitment and such, probably I only have RM500 extra to pay out the debt each month.

What's AKPK? Is it better to find them rather than turning it to a personal loan? Which is better? Can explain more? Thanks.
Yes you are right. Minimum payment do no good, only increase more debts and as when you use more, it goes into a big amount. I've asked them to reduce the interest rate and they also suggest me to turn it into a personal loan or something like that. If not mistaken they are called debt consolidation loan?

I won't borrow from Ah Long la. But I have some friends are ah long lar. Maybe they can give me 0% interest loan. LOL.
I think PL is an option for you. You must immediately adjust your lifestyle and cut whatever unnecessary spending. Remember, buying car is not an investment. You may consider to sell your existing car and do not own a car for the next 6 months, or buy a cheaper and low maintenance car instead. As such, the amount saved from the car loan installment can be used to pay part of your debt.

In addition, you may discuss the topic in another thread - Personal Financial Management, and you'll get lots of idea there. Good luck!
cenkudu
post Sep 9 2009, 06:22 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 8 2009, 11:04 PM)
One thing about these 2 cards.
- Citibank Shell VISA rebates are only applicable if you have carry forward balance in your account. (Means you have active cc debt with Citibank)
I heard that Shell Citibank Visa has changed a bit their policy. You will earn more rebate (5%) if you carry balance forward but if I'm not mistaken without carry balance you still be able to get 2% rebate. For those who have Maybank Islamic Ikhwan Visa you will also enjoy the same benefit as the Petronas Ikhwan Visa. info from MBB
Michael_G
post Sep 9 2009, 07:15 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Sep 9 2009, 01:54 PM)
i received my tesco card today.. rhb website down i need to check the details.. T_T
just got home.. i received another card. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif ambank realrewards card. anyone holding this card? why in d web and in d brochure state the information different..? in d brochure stated free for life. in d web Fees & Charges • RM90 for Principal Card.. may i know what is this RM90 charges for?? may i know what is the benefit for this card? very limited information in d website. sad.gif

125 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0373sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:19 AM