Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

SUSDavid83
post Jun 19 2009, 11:31 PM, updated 17y ago

52,874 posts

One good site to add from http://www.bankinginfo.com.my
KNOWING YOUR CARDS (pls spend some time reading it up, especially for first time card user)

1. Visa
2. Mastercard
3. JCB
4. AMEX - Charge or Credit Card
5. Diners Club
6. China Union Pay(中国银联)
7. Etc.

1. Annual fee matters

No need to request for waiver
CIMB Direct Access Platimum and Gold - requirement Professional/Graduate. ---> http://www.directaccess.com.my/index.php?tpt=cimb_da
UOB Platinum - got to have BOTH MasterCard and Visa and swipe minimum 6 times/card.
Alliance Platinum - swipe 12 times a year or spend RM5,000/year.
RHB Evo - got to swipe once a month or RM8 is charged for that month.
OCBC Platinum Robinson - swipe 3x any amount even few ringgit also can at robinson from month on card expiry not following year basis (http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Ca...Privileges.shtm)
MBB Flex -got to swipe twice a month or else charged RM3.95
Citibank Choice - 2 transactions in a month
CIMB Mastercard Paypass - free for life without conditions

2. Tap and Go - no signature required matters

Visa Wave - MBB, UOB
Mastercard Paypass - CIMB, CIMB DA, CIMB Islamic ---> http://www.mastercard.com/sea/personal/en/...rd/paypass.html
Visa payWave - MBB Petronas, EON, MBB Petronas Ikhwan ---> http://www.visa-asia.com/ap/sea/cardholder...a_paywave.shtml

Paypass limited to RM120
Visa Wave limit should be RM150

3. Credit Card linked to Petrol Giants

BHP-UOB
Shell-Citibank
AMEX charged card gives rewards point (presently 2X if got Turbo 3X) for pumping petrol at ALL petrol stations.
Petronas-MBB Visa Gold with payWave (free for life with no conditions) ---> http://www.mymesra.com.my/index.php?ch=mm_...omo_promo&ac=75
Petronas-CIMB Mastercard Gold (free for life) ---> http://www.mymesra.com.my/index.php?ch=mm_...omo_promo&ac=75
All petrol brands with CIMB DA Mastercard with rebate up to 2% monthly and 5% on the first day of the month.
Petronas-MBB Ikhwan Visa ---> http://www.mymesra.com.my/index.php?ch=mm_...mo_promo&ac=123
Petronas-CIMB Islamic Mastercard ---> http://www.mymesra.com.my/index.php?ch=mm_...mo_promo&ac=123
AMEX credit card generally offer 2X MR/TP at ALL petrol stations that accept AMEX. The newly AMEX credit card offers 5X MR.

4. Standard financial charge (interest rate)

Retails purchases: 18% p.a or 1.5% p.m from statement date upon paying the minimum amount.
    *Malaysia had adopted tiered pricing interest rate: BNM Press Statement
    18% p.a. (now, most bank had adopted 17.5% p.a. starting Apr 09)
    17% p.a. (now, most bank had adopted 16% p.a. starting Apr 09)
    15% p.a. (now, most bank had adopted 13.5% p.a. starting Apr 09)
Cash advance: 18% p.a from the date of withdrawal.
Late payment: 1% of outstanding or RM 5 whichever is higher.
Minimum payment amount: 5% of outstanding or RM 25/RM 50 whichever is higher.

5. Complementary Cards

1) Citibank - Just deposit and maintain RM200k
2) UOB - Opening deposit of RM300k with maintenance of RM200k
3) Standard Chartered - Deposit & maintenance of RM250K effective 1st April 2009
4) OCBC - Opening deposit of RM300k with maintenance of RM200k
5) HSBC - Deposit & maintenance of RM200k

6. AMEX ---> http://www.americanexpress.com.my/amx_info...fo/home/home.do

A - Charge card

AMEX charged card gives rewards point (presently 2X if got Turbo 3X) for pumping petrol at ALL petrol stations. Another benefit AMEX have over others is that they presently have 6 months 0% installment for any transaction. AMEX is truly 0% as they is no handling or surchage fees as compared to DA and UOB.

B - Credit card

With the newly launched AMEX Gold Credit Card:
5x Membership Rewards points for every Ringgit spent on groceries, petrol, bookstores - Kinokuniya, Borders, Times and MPH - and telco charges via Express Autopay -Celcom, Digi, Maxis and Telekom.
2x Membership Rewards points for all spend elsewhere.

Link to AMEX thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/547867

7. International Transactions

Mastercard and Visa charges a surcharge on top of the exchange rate. The banks also choose to charge an additional administration charge on top of that

Maybank: 0.5% -->verified by Hye

CIMB/DA: DA - 1% (starting April 2009 - by hye)

Hong Leong: 1%

PBB: 1.25% (thanks to the link by prasys)
Transactions incurred will be converted to Ringgit Malaysia using US$ as the base currency on the date the item is received and/or processed at such exchange and at such time as may be determined by Visa International/MasterCard Worldwide at its absolute discretion plus administration cost of 1.25%. The exchange may differ from the rate in effect on the date of the transaction due to market fluctuations. Such rate imposed shall be final and conclusive and the Cardmember shall bear all exchange risks, losses, commission and other bank charges which may thereby be incurred.

http://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/perso...ates/cards.html

Citibank: 1% --> verified by tinkerbel

HSBC: 1% --> HSBC will also charge a Misc fee; bank isn't able to provide details on what that is but according to CS whom I spoke with, there's a small misc fee. (contribution by Tinkerbel)

EON: 2%

UOB: 1%

Standard Chartered: 1%

AMEX card: 2.5% (Item 13.5 of the T&C)

OCBC bank: (provided by kei18kun)
overseas transaction 1%
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Ca....shtm?bcid=M5_1

8. Credit Card Cancellation Letter

[Your name]
[Your address]
[Date]

Dear Sir or Madam:

Please let this letter serve as notice that I am terminating my credit card account effective immediately. Please close the following account:

Credit Card Company: ____________
Account Number: ________________

Please send me written confirmation that my account has been closed. Also, please confirm that you have notified all appropriate credit card bureaus that this account was closed at my request.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.

Sincerely,
[Your Signature]

9. Cash Advance fees

Citibank: 5% of cash amount (min RM20), and 18% p.a. daily interest (N/A for Ready Cash)

UOB: The cash advance fee is charged to any withdrawal of cash made. This is imposed for each cash advance transaction. 5% or RM20, whichever is higher.

Maybank: VISA/Mastercard (Both Classic and Gold) | Flat rate of 5.00% of the total amount of cash advance | Min: RM10

CIMB DA: 5% of the amount drawn, subject to a minimum of RM15, whichever is higher.

CIMB: 5% of the amount drawn, subject to a minimum of RM15, whichever is higher.

HSBC:
The cash advance fee is 5% of the amount advanced or a minimum of RM15. Whichever is higher. This is imposed for each cash advance transaction
For HSBC Amanah Charge Card, cash advance is capped at RM1,000 per transaction and a fee of RM60 per transaction will be levied
For cash advances made over the HSBC banking counter, there will be an additional charge of the following:-
- RM50 on credit cards issued by local banks other than HSBC - RM20 on credit cards issued by non-Malaysian card issuers (including JCB)
- Cards issued by HSBC Bank Malaysia and the HSBC Groupare exempted from this charge

OCBC: The cash advance fee is 5% of the amount advanced or a minimum of RM15, whichever is higher. This is imposed for each cash advance/casino chips transaction.

10. Verified by Visa and Mastercard Securecode

Verified by Visa ---> http://www.visa-asia.com/ap/sea/merchants/...vbv_intro.shtml
Participating banks: EON, MBF , HSBC, PB, MBB (MSOS)

Mastercard Securecode ---> http://www.mastercard.com/au/personal/en/c...code/index.html
Participating banks: EON, MBF , HSBC, PB, MBB (MSOS)

11. Previous versions

Credit Card V2 Thread
Credit Card V3 Thread
Credit Card V4 Thread
Credit Card V5 Thread
Credit Card V6 Thread

12. Useful information
BNM issued guidelines in 2003 that limits consumer liability in cases of fraud to only RM250. See the actual document here, page 123 has the guidelines. (Courtesy of tishaban) (thanks awaynoway for the updated link))

Credit information:
CCRIS: http://creditbureau.bnm.gov.my/
CTOS: http://www.ctos.com.my/
BRIS: http://bris.com.my/index.html

13. FMB - Financial Mediation Bureau
http://www.fmb.org.my/index.htm
The Financial Mediation Bureau (FMB) is an independent body set up to help settle disputes between you and your financial services providers who are its members..

The FMB provides you with free, fast, convenient and efficient avenue to refer your disputes for resolution as an alternative to the courts. These disputes may be Banking/Financial related as well as Insurance and Takaful related .

14. AKPK - Agensi Kaunseling Dan Pengurusan Kredit | "We understand what you go through when you are financially distressed"
http://www.akpk.org.my/Home/tabid/36/Default.aspx

Financial Education | Financial Counselling | Debt Management

Link to AKPK thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/876712

14. Other Links By Users:
Quite informative blog with links provided by Gen-X:
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...rds-cc-101.html
QUOTE(GHz @ Mar 15 2009, 12:23 AM)
If you are really interested in cash back credit card you may want to take a look this analysis of cash back credit card
Disclaimer: If there's anything one wants to update on this first page or if there's any information wrong, pls PM me and I'll update if it's relevant.

Code to add as 1st page: (click the spoiler, than copy and paste)

This post has been edited by David83: Sep 10 2009, 08:02 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jun 19 2009, 11:36 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Noyoudontcare @ Jun 19 2009, 11:34 PM)
i have just had a cimb credit card but  i dont have a savings account with them
can i open an online banking account so that i can use CIMBclicks?
No need to open saving account also can have CIMBClicks.

Apply ATM PIN for your CIMB CC.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 20 2009, 12:01 AM

52,874 posts

AmBank launches credit card drive

URL: http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...icle/index_html
SUSDavid83
post Jun 20 2009, 11:14 PM

52,874 posts

It also happens on credit card too. It depends on how fast that particular merchant clears the accounting.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 21 2009, 09:19 AM

52,874 posts

Some people use CC as cash revolving tool.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 24 2009, 08:03 PM

52,874 posts

That's why I don't apply from agent. I know that sometime, I want the card fast.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 25 2009, 09:25 AM

52,874 posts

If your card has Paypass, Paywave or Visa Wave capability and the merchant has the corresponding terminal, no signature is required.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 25 2009, 09:38 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 25 2009, 09:35 AM)
Direct Access rebates every Sunday until 30 Sep 2009 when spend at MPH (10%) and Guardian (5%)
It has more than that. There's a whole list for it.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 25 2009, 11:46 PM

52,874 posts

What is this?

Maybankard Credit Care Plan

URL: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

My guess is not FOC. Am I right?
SUSDavid83
post Jun 25 2009, 11:58 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Jun 25 2009, 11:56 PM)
Thanks bro. There's no free lunch. It's like Citibank plan last year.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 26 2009, 08:05 AM

52,874 posts

EON bank has revamped itself lately. Yesterday, I went to a branch and the environment of the branch was stunning.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 26 2009, 09:06 PM

52,874 posts

Late payment fee for credit cards reduced to maximum of RM50 from RM75

URL: http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-ne...-from-rm75.html
SUSDavid83
post Jul 1 2009, 11:21 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 1 2009, 11:18 PM)
Curious, where you got this info? Too bad I did not see your post or else I'll pump petrol today sweat.gif
Go to the following link:
http://www.directaccess.com.my/pdf/Visa%20...uper%20Card.pdf
SUSDavid83
post Jul 3 2009, 11:56 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Jul 3 2009, 11:50 PM)
Just fill in the form and send the form through fax. Thanks.
Wow. Never come across of such form. Awesome!
SUSDavid83
post Jul 12 2009, 05:57 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ Jul 11 2009, 11:14 PM)
yes it's in 1 utama new wing
There're two Maybank CC centre. One at 1 Utama and the other at Menara Maybank (Jalan Tun Perak).

That day, I went to Menara Maybank CC centre to redeem on the spot. The Smart Tag is out of stock. Therefore, I changed my mind to redeem Petronas vouchers. Waited for some time and the officer in-charged with the gift redemption is not there. I was able to check my TP point with the terminal they have. I also returned a survey form and 3000 TP will be rewarded. Let's see if I'll get this TP.
SUSDavid83
post Jul 12 2009, 09:18 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 12 2009, 06:09 PM)
Just complete a survey form and get 3000 TP in return? It sounds good! biggrin.gif
Hope it's not something like a 10-page form. smile.gif
4-page form to be exact.

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 12 2009, 09:07 PM)
@Reventon

@Tinkerbel

is it can? Amex MBB n MBB CC TP is sharing the same rewards?
For me, Ikhwan Amex loyalty programme is under TP; therefore sharing the same catelogue.

This post has been edited by David83: Jul 12 2009, 09:42 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jul 13 2009, 09:46 AM

52,874 posts

The Treats Fair correct URL is http://www.treatsfair.com/v1/
SUSDavid83
post Jul 14 2009, 02:49 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Jul 14 2009, 12:54 AM)
ohh..like that one kaa... i thought only amex charge card is different..

so that mean amex gold credit card & ikhwan amex also cant combined with normal treatpoints ?
AMEX Gold Card ---> MR
Ikhwan AMEX ---> TP

If you have both, you cannot combine them for redemption.
SUSDavid83
post Jul 15 2009, 07:53 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 14 2009, 11:59 PM)
If i'm not mistaken, remaining unclaimed Treatpoints earned from a cancelled card will be automatically forfeited. Same rule applies to all other credit cards issued by other banks.
But I talked to a banker at Maybank CC Centre at Menara Maybank. They said can be transferred to another existing card. They also said that the TP is in a large sum of basket and doesn't matter where the points are tied to.

This is so contradicting to what I got from Maybank CS (via phone). They also affirmed me that if Maybank CS cannot transfer the points; they asked me to go back to them (banker at CC centre) to perform it manually.

I'm so confused with this now.
SUSDavid83
post Jul 17 2009, 10:23 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(alex_cyw1985 @ Jul 17 2009, 10:19 PM)
if i wanna pay my citibank cc via m2u,

i enter interbank GIRO transfer right? how about the information? any info will do?
What kind of information?

Type in your credit card number and select Payment type as Credit Card.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0580sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:22 AM