126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~

michael9413
post Apr 1 2010, 05:38 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well the side wall height 195 is slightly thicker so slightly better lo...
well PS3 now is promo period... 195/55 R15 selling around RM220~250... try to ask a few shops should be priced around there... if 185/55 R15 i heard is around RM200...
if not mistaken a lot ppl i using that size already woh in CT... very weird to say it will hit anything coz a lot of ppl also put 16" or 17" into CT mah
F1meteor
post Apr 1 2010, 05:40 PM

1,391 posts

thanks bro
tmr will go and change 195/55/R15
papaya2
post Apr 1 2010, 05:43 PM

387 posts

michael9413, yr vios is old or new model?

michael9413
post Apr 1 2010, 05:55 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

old model y?
sleepwalker
post Apr 1 2010, 06:02 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Apr 1 2010, 05:21 PM)
hi guys

i'm driving a honda city vtec (not i-vtec version)
Currently i'm using Falken 195/55/R15, decided to change 2 sets of tyres
well, the boss recommended me Michelin PS 3 185/55/R15. She said (yes, she) Michelin 195 is bigger than Falken 195, advised me to use 185 instead.
Price wise, RM210 including nitrogen (which i think is useless tongue.gif)

So, should I go with 195 or 185?
What kind of bullshit is that? If that's case, then one of the manufacturer is not making the tyre to spec. How can she say that one tyre is bigger than the other when they are both the same size? She is trying to tell you that the Michelin is wider than the Falken by 10mm (which is alot) and have sidewalls taller by 5.5mm, therefore it is better to use the 185/55/R15 instead? I would not buy any tyres from her.
F1meteor
post Apr 1 2010, 06:21 PM

1,391 posts

LOL.. yea man.. she told me Michelin is like gwai lou's size. asian size smaller rclxub.gif so take 185...

well, i think the price she offered for 185 (RM210) is quite cheap lo.. as it's near my area, no need drive so far away.
i'll try to ask for 195 tmr, see what price she offers...
sleepwalker
post Apr 1 2010, 06:33 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Apr 1 2010, 06:21 PM)
LOL.. yea man.. she told me Michelin is like gwai lou's size. asian size smaller rclxub.gif so take 185...

well, i think the price she offered for 185 (RM210) is quite cheap lo.. as it's near my area, no need drive so far away.
She said that? wow.. I really have nothing to say.. but GTFO from her shop...
ahpaul82
post Apr 1 2010, 07:02 PM

.:保罗:.
3,795 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Mar 24 2010, 10:34 PM)
Currently i am still on RE001, clocked 22-23k km dee, still have 50% tread..3 out of 4 tyre being patched before due to screw/nails !!! still left one tyre is virgin!:(  ..next month gonna change liao together with service.  nod.gif

RE001 dry cornering is brilliant, rubber wear down to 30-40%, groove show "J" pattern..looks really Good ! thumbup.gif PP2 lose quite abit.
RE001 on damp surface(wet), when it is new..ok. I notice at wet tarmac, it can be slippery, just becareful not to drive too fast. Be patient, listen to music and drive cautiously..

RM250 Michelin PS3 is the price i ask from few Penang Michelin dealer..still haven't decide which to go for..RE001 RM295-300. AD08 got ready stock, but price aar...after negotiate still RM480 per piece. Hmm..

Still haven't decide which to go for..PS3 pricing wise is attractive, tread pattern somehow dull, design is a decade ago. rolleyes.gif Can save rm200 if buy PS3 compare to RE001..if PS3 dry traction doesn't satisfied..then next change gonna be RE001 again ! cool.gif

RE001 is also known RE760 wor..that's i found on the net.
LoL,
you so unlucky...
agreed with you on what you said on RE-001. rclxms.gif

do update me if you change to new tires,
because i want to know the RE-001 can clocked till what mileage ...

since you are using RE-001 now,
you should go for PS3 for next tire change what,
so that you can compare each other with same car setting... tongue.gif
Gouki
post Apr 1 2010, 07:09 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Apr 1 2010, 07:02 PM)
LoL,
you so unlucky...
agreed with you on what you said on RE-001.  rclxms.gif

so that you can compare each other with same car setting...  tongue.gif
i clocked less than 30000km on my prev prev re001~ lol~ 225/45/17~ tongue.gif
vios2002
post Apr 1 2010, 08:39 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Apr 1 2010, 04:39 PM)
but careful of some corners very sharp indeed u cannot se the opposite cars until last sec... got a few cars gone down the valley b4 at 1 corner... that is wat the mechanics and also my mum's colleague is telling me...
Noted, then will try early morning time less car...best time to get vege

QUOTE(Gouki @ Apr 1 2010, 05:04 PM)
the new road from Simpang Pulai is not that bad like the Tapah road~ Simpang Pulai road to Cameron consists of a lot highspeed corners~ during a downhill from Cameron~ some corners can touch 160kmh easily~ where else the Tapah is much narrow with slow corners~ that will be more challenging and risky, provided if you know what you are doing~ smile.gif
yes i hear that too few friends flat out that corner....
loong2020
post Apr 1 2010, 09:15 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

u tell her..la....she is asian smaller size than gwai lou..... laugh.gif u better go other shop...since the shop even size also wrong information
papaya2
post Apr 1 2010, 09:17 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Apr 1 2010, 05:55 PM)
old model y?
nothing, just asking only. biggrin.gif
F1meteor
post Apr 2 2010, 12:00 AM

1,391 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Apr 1 2010, 06:33 PM)
She said that? wow.. I really have nothing to say.. but GTFO from her shop...
QUOTE(loong2020 @ Apr 1 2010, 09:15 PM)
u tell her..la....she is asian smaller size than gwai lou..... laugh.gif u better go other shop...since the shop even size  also wrong information
HAHAHA
i just go there change tyres only
no need to care the story she told
the price she offered me for 185 was RM210 per pc, which is quite reasonable from what I saw at the tyre price thread

I'm going to ask her the price for 195... if below RM250 then I'll just do it at her shop
She claimed her shop is Michelin service center
michael9413
post Apr 2 2010, 09:06 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Apr 2 2010, 12:00 AM)
HAHAHA
i just go there change tyres only
no need to care the story she told
the price she offered me for 185 was RM210 per pc, which is quite reasonable from what I saw at the tyre price thread

I'm going to ask her the price for 195... if below RM250 then I'll just do it at her shop
She claimed her shop is Michelin service center
try to press her until RM200... smile.gif as i heard PS3 195/55 R15 lowest is RM220 from Klang, i got mine in PJ for RM230 and mostly in KL area RM250...
ralf
post Apr 2 2010, 09:17 AM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Apr 1 2010, 07:02 PM)
LoL,
you so unlucky...
agreed with you on what you said on RE-001.  rclxms.gif

so that you can compare each other with same car setting...  tongue.gif
As Gouki said, it is around ~30k lifespan...otherwise in wet, can go sideway easily.. blush.gif

See how first...i afraid later i change my mind change to ciplak cheap cheap tyre because i noticed they are few new construction area for new condo and residential near my house ..no wonder always hit with nails. Buy expensive tyre heart pain later.
michael9413
post Apr 2 2010, 09:24 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

wow sorry for you, ya la a bit heavy hearted to buy better tires if you always when thru those area... eh y not u try out the new MAxxis i-Pro rated AA in traction... federal is not that cheap how about Nexen???

This post has been edited by michael9413: Apr 2 2010, 09:24 AM
kcng
post Apr 2 2010, 09:59 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Apr 1 2010, 01:39 PM)
sure got turn up but now days most of the time as visitor during track day... my car too slow and limited budget...
u got good tyres ma... why u scared?

my RE001 suck in wet ma as the tire expert here say....
whistling.gif

so wanna ask u or the tire expert to come prove it lo...

if u ask me, it still has reasonable grip in wet till below 50% thread remaining
so yeah, come put your money where your mouth is...

btw my car is a junk
wink.gif
vios2002
post Apr 2 2010, 10:43 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Apr 2 2010, 09:59 AM)
u got good tyres ma... why u scared?

my RE001 suck in wet ma as the tire expert here say....
whistling.gif

so wanna ask u or the tire expert to come prove it lo...

if u ask me, it still has reasonable grip in wet till below 50% thread remaining
so yeah, come put your money where your mouth is...

btw my car is a junk
wink.gif
my tire almost bold now...
not scare need to standby few item like brake pad, clutch, engine oil, tire... alot of cost there.

ok so see you on this coming track day?
open day will be 10/4/2010 from 6pm ~ 9pm nite race.

if cant make it then next date will be on 15/4/2010 2pm~5pm.

Gouki
post Apr 2 2010, 10:47 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Apr 2 2010, 09:24 AM)
wow sorry for you, ya la a bit heavy hearted to buy better tires if you always when thru those area... eh y not u try out the new MAxxis i-Pro rated AA in traction... federal is not that cheap how about Nexen???
maxxis is always good in wet~ way better than re001~
kcng
post Apr 2 2010, 10:49 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Apr 2 2010, 10:47 AM)
maxxis is always good in wet~ way better than re001~
ok laaaaaaaaaaaa......
tongue.gif

126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top