sleepwalker
post Mar 12 2010, 08:58 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Mar 11 2010, 12:05 PM)
as micheal has verified~
every new michelin tires there's a colour marking line to code d tires n will go off after install it on the road after 2-3k kms~
No, the colour marking is not to prevent resale. These are what you call run-out markings to indicate the balance of the tyre. The tyres are not uni-formally balance and some offset is expected. This line will tell which the side the balance bias and how straight the tyre will run.

Sometimes the tyre shop fits it wrongly and have both tyres with the same weight bias and the car will not run straight, no matter how you align the tyres. This lines help the tyre shop match the balance bias of both tyres on each sides of the car to make alignment easier.

Added on March 12, 2010, 9:03 am
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 11 2010, 12:12 PM)
thanks bro CheeAnn for Verify...

can he go back to the shop to ask for replacement??? seems like the set is not new tire at all...
No. Those lines are not what cheeann said they are for. Furthermore, if those tyres were not new, you should have been able to see the scrubbing on the treads. Those lines do not appear on all tyres unless they have serious run-out issues. They are not 'new tyre' markings. If the tyre is balance out of the factory, they do not have the run-out lines or have the lines right in the middle.

Since you have already used the tyre, there is no way for you to raise the issue of them not giving you a mint tyre. That issue should have been raised at the shop if you see any scrubbing on the tyres when they were fitting it.

Anyone can see the scrubbing on 'not new' tyres and manufacturers do not need to put indicators for it. Again, the colour lines are there to indicate the balance of the tyre and not the 'new-ness' of the tyre.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Mar 12 2010, 09:05 AM
sleepwalker
post Mar 12 2010, 09:08 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Mar 12 2010, 09:04 AM)
165/55-14 if u can get rm160 then pls tell me where cuz tat tire is below cost price n i can sell it higher as actual price is lowest is rm190-210 per piece~
even goodyear eagle ducaro also rm140-160 already~
PS3 is replacing PP2  brows.gif
bro,sleepwalker~
those line is not about regarding about sale but is to tag d tires sizes cuz michelin tires they code it by lines n colours as certain saiz there's 2 lines n each tires had diff colours not jus 1 colour~
i've been selling tis brand of tires for so long n i always notice it~
Yes, they are called run-outs and comes in 2 or sometimes 3 lines. I'm surprised that as a tyre seller you do not know of this. Furthermore, if you notice, those lines differ from tyre to tyre as they indicate the run-out balance of each tyre. As a tyre seller, you are suppose to match the left and right run-outs as closely as possible so that you do not have balance issues.

So if the right tyre run-out lines are closer to the outside, you have to find the left tyre with the run-outs closer to the outside too, to prevent alignment issues and vice versa.
sleepwalker
post Mar 12 2010, 09:26 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Mar 12 2010, 09:16 AM)
then if all tires also like tat then isn't those tires got prob??
everytime my dad orders those tires n comes in a stacks of 20-40pieces every 2weeks n those lines of each sizes is identical n it doesn't effect alignment or balancing issue like wat u said~
neva i did or need to match those lines like wat u have jus said cuz michelin tires is at least 90% perfect round donuts if u would have to compare wit local's tires like silverstone,sime tires n also goodyear~
so far i have no encounter any issue of performing alignment+balancing on those donut~
It's called run-outs. Each tyre when manufactured, as perfect as it maybe, the weight is not 100% balanced. That means when you roll the tyre, it will not track in a straight line.

You will not encounter problems when balancing. The problem comes when trying to make the car track in a straightline. I can see most tyres shop align the tyre straight but the car still does not track straight. They then have to do minor adjustments to make the car track straight. The better they match the run-out lines, the less work they have to do to make the car track straight.

This is not applicable to Michelin only. All the other tyre manufacturers do the same with their tyres.
sleepwalker
post Mar 12 2010, 09:38 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 12 2010, 09:32 AM)
haiya no need to argue... it might be run in indicator, or assist ppl to do alignment and balancing... but the fact is when u purchase new tire don sit there dump fat happy... go and see whether they are putting new donut onto ur car or not, look properly the Manufacturing date...
i will walk around my car and also checking the labour work also... so pls check, it is sad that things happen... my dad even put the car at his favourite shop for tire change after a while only he come and take, still ok maybe that is ppl lo... some like to take advantage...

again sorry for bro ychwang, next time call cheeann for tire change... smile.gif
This is not even arguing. I'm just stating the facts. There is nothing to argue about the facts.
sleepwalker
post Mar 12 2010, 10:41 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 12 2010, 10:21 AM)
wait... fact is facts but still there is other point of view from different ppl la...
i understand ur stand coz i'm in that position b4 also... cheeers.....
Sorry but facts are facts and point's of view cannot be taken into consideration. This is not a negotiation or a discussion. We are not discussion about what those lines mean. We already know what those lines mean and other point of views will not change that fact.
sleepwalker
post Apr 1 2010, 12:36 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Apr 1 2010, 11:34 AM)
sepang after F1
open track day.... make sure u turn up
Only thing is we don't know what he drives. If we were to deduce the car he drives from the history of his post and his nickname and since he hangs around Sunway and Subang area, I guess I'd just have to tiong every Vios out there. I'd either find him one day or find the wrong person like michael9413. I'd like to see if he can keep up with my hopeless tires.. tongue.gif
sleepwalker
post Apr 1 2010, 03:03 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Apr 1 2010, 01:54 PM)
wah... i'm not into challenging la  sweat.gif i wan safety , play around sometimes yes but USJ area have to play around coz stupid fellow always suddenly exit from small road and slip into ur lane... but during rain or wet condition different that's y don talk so loud la... even a stock car fitted with good wet tires can do better corners than slick tires mah except they drift lo...
u guys bully small car with better tires also no use coz in dry cannot compare mah... wet maybe but again to be fair use apple to compare with apple but equipped with different tires...
The point that I'm trying to put across is that the handling of the car does not only rely on the tyres. The contact patch of the tyres are only about the size of four A4 size papers. What's more important is the rest of the car that keeps the tyres on the road. No point having the best tyre when the car can't keep them planted on the ground.

I especially like it in corners during the rain, nothing feels better than being able to put full power on all 4 wheels out of the corner. That's what you call putting the tyres to work.

Added on April 1, 2010, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(Gouki @ Apr 1 2010, 02:13 PM)
did i even quoted you in previous post? blink.gif

btw~ dont be so sure who is the cornering king~ u will be surprise of how some forumers here drive~ tongue.gif

Added on April 1, 2010, 2:15 pm
ah~ nvm~ just beware of a lowered kenari around usj subang area~ that 1 is good enuff~ dun say i didnt warn u~  tongue.gif
The one with a big mycarslowbai sticker.. biggrin.gif

Hiscarslowbai my foot.. what do you guys call it? The flying tumble dryer?

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Apr 1 2010, 03:06 PM
sleepwalker
post Apr 1 2010, 06:02 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Apr 1 2010, 05:21 PM)
hi guys

i'm driving a honda city vtec (not i-vtec version)
Currently i'm using Falken 195/55/R15, decided to change 2 sets of tyres
well, the boss recommended me Michelin PS 3 185/55/R15. She said (yes, she) Michelin 195 is bigger than Falken 195, advised me to use 185 instead.
Price wise, RM210 including nitrogen (which i think is useless tongue.gif)

So, should I go with 195 or 185?
What kind of bullshit is that? If that's case, then one of the manufacturer is not making the tyre to spec. How can she say that one tyre is bigger than the other when they are both the same size? She is trying to tell you that the Michelin is wider than the Falken by 10mm (which is alot) and have sidewalls taller by 5.5mm, therefore it is better to use the 185/55/R15 instead? I would not buy any tyres from her.
sleepwalker
post Apr 1 2010, 06:33 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Apr 1 2010, 06:21 PM)
LOL.. yea man.. she told me Michelin is like gwai lou's size. asian size smaller rclxub.gif so take 185...

well, i think the price she offered for 185 (RM210) is quite cheap lo.. as it's near my area, no need drive so far away.
i'll try to ask for 195 tmr, see what price she offers...
She said that? wow.. I really have nothing to say.. but GTFO from her shop...
sleepwalker
post Apr 12 2010, 11:58 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Apr 12 2010, 10:10 AM)
well S Drive in UHP but PS3 is Max Performance so a step higher cannot compare much lo... the bad of GY F1 Asy is only available at 17" for 16" or 15" only F1 GSD3... but again what you want lo, directional tires is not quiet though... but different tire the comfort also difference...
A directional thread pattern does not automatically make the tyre noisy. Almost all Michelin's are directional tyres but they have very quiet thread and blocks.

Edit.. let me correct this.. Michelins are mostly asymmetrical, not directional as I mentioned. Therefore if the pattern is directional, then yes, most likely it will be noisy.

One more thing.. Goodyear F1 Asymmetric is an asymmetrical but uni-directional tyre. I believe it does not have a rotation arrow on the sidewall.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Apr 12 2010, 12:11 PM
sleepwalker
post Dec 27 2010, 04:51 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Dec 26 2010, 05:46 PM)
i think you are around 25~30... dark skinny around 5'4".... am i correct???
well find la... survey nicely... BTW bro PP2 has harder side wall so it is quite bumpy...
But not hard enough. Look what I have done to my rather new PP2 (less than 10k km).

sleepwalker
post Dec 27 2010, 06:05 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Dec 27 2010, 05:41 PM)
what did u hit ? looks like ur rim also kena
Surprisingly the rim is ok. Drove right into a pothole during a rain storm in KL. Must have cut the sidewall on the edge of the pothole instead of falling straight into it as it happened at the apex of the corner as I was turning.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Dec 27 2010, 06:05 PM
sleepwalker
post Feb 18 2011, 10:23 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(e_k1117 @ Feb 18 2011, 09:39 AM)
not so sure... i just let them to decide only... btw, it was equip with N2 which mean it should be more silent compare to normal air.... am i correct.... in ur opinion, wat pressure is the best for more comfort and silent..?? 220 PSI?
N2 is nothing but dry air. They use N2 because it's the cheapest form of dry air without buying expensive scrubbers. It is the removal of water vapour in the air that stabilises the air pressure and has nothing to do with N2. Racing teams don't use N2, they use expensive scrubbers that remove the water vapour and all other contaminants since N2 does nothing to change the properties of the tyre.

0.0548sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:24 AM