Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~

Gouki
post Aug 11 2009, 02:38 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Aug 11 2009, 01:21 PM)
many unknown brand will surface  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Well, some cheap tires aint as bad as u guys think. Consider trying Maxxis and Federal, value for money. smile.gif
Gouki
post Aug 11 2009, 04:30 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 11 2009, 04:09 PM)
well Federal i heard is model 535 ar... not that bad...
but of course there is some pros and cons...
Hankook V12 also not that bad... but Noise is a bit louder than PP2 at new...
well depends lo... as long as it provides me good grip in wet and dry...
but like NCT5 which is very poor in Hydroplanning...  smile.gif
which is F**king dangerous... especially you always drive more than 80km/h and also ppl whom always traveling up and down slopes and hills...
NCT5 cant do much favour for me even in dry, let alone wet which almost kill me twice. tongue.gif
Gouki
post Aug 11 2009, 04:32 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Oly @ Aug 11 2009, 04:31 PM)
to me noise is not the main prob...cos my car oledi noisy...tongue.gif
same here. tongue.gif
Gouki
post Aug 11 2009, 05:54 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Aug 11 2009, 05:11 PM)
federal 595 berapa??.. dat day saw got 195/45/r15 size... tempted sial... wub.gif
it killed me before sad.gif
for my size, 225/45/17 was 290. ask Oly, his place kinda cheap.
Gouki
post Aug 12 2009, 12:07 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Oly @ Aug 12 2009, 10:31 AM)
last time using re001...doing 200 on wet at sepang track...brows.gif
When its new, yes, you can do that, but once reaching 60 or 50% of its lifespan, i have a hard time maintain grip in wet even at 120kmh. Even sunnyboi can drift with a 90% re001 in wet in 5th gear. tongue.gif
Gouki
post Aug 12 2009, 03:03 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 12 2009, 01:28 PM)
haha... better u go for Michelin PP2 then... after safety mark it still grip when i drive it during raining...
of course i'll not drive more than 100km/h if the tire wears until that stage la...
To be honest, used the PP1 and PP2, they just do fine with me. Not that justify for the price imho. Or maybe coz of my driving style prob. tongue.gif
Gouki
post Aug 12 2009, 03:38 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 12 2009, 03:09 PM)
yea... the price is a bit steep... i used in total 3 set already...
but the quality did not disappointed... smile.gif
its okay, but not for me when i push it to the limit since i travel touge/trunk roads a lot. smile.gif
Gouki
post Aug 12 2009, 10:38 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

Pirelli? Ewww.
Gouki
post Sep 22 2009, 11:05 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Sep 22 2009, 10:40 PM)
BFGoodrich G sport, any comments?
Quite good tires. thumbup.gif
Gouki
post Oct 7 2009, 10:10 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Oct 7 2009, 08:46 AM)
Some feedback on Lim Tayar TTDI and Weng Tat SS14 Subang Jaya.  Went to Lim Tayar to do alignment and balancing, was told by the boss one of the rims bent, need to replace.  I ignored it, plan to repair later.

Few months later, went to Weng Tat, told the guy there about my bent rim and asked for repair cost.  He said test first.  After testing, alignment, balancing, he said that the rim was not bent, just tyre not properly fitted (guess Lim Tayar just wanted to promote their own rims).  Happy with Weng Tat.

Few months later, need to do alignment and balancing again, went to Weng Tat again.  The previous guy had left.  Now another guy did for me.  After did everything (plus the usual camber sales pitch), we went for a test spin together.

Him:  Wow your tyres very noisy!  You should use quieter tyres.  I'm using PP2 on my Kenari, you can tell I'm so selective!
Me:  I'm using Falken Ziex 912 wor.
Him:  *quiet*
Me:  10k+ km only.
Him:  Oh Falken 912 lifespan is 30k+ km only.  Gets very noisy about mid-lifespan.  You should try Bridgestone AR-10 next time.

Few weeks later, went Penang with frens.  One of my fren sat in my car.  Fetched him for <1 minute, he said, "Something wrong with your wheels.  Bearing must be faulty.  Seems like coming from the left."  Went to SC after that for checkup, indeed left front bearings faulty, replaced under warranty.  Car nicely quiet again.

No more Lim Tayar (fake diagnosis to promote own products) and Weng Tat (lousy diagnosis for tyre man) for me ever again.
No idea about Weng Tat, but Lim Tayars are famous for their never ending con sales on asking you to do camber nuts and camber setting. Never go to them. I know my own needs on the alignment setting i like. smile.gif
Gouki
post Oct 27 2009, 11:41 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Oct 27 2009, 06:29 AM)

160kmh at Karak highway? wow~ notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Gouki: Oct 27 2009, 11:42 AM
Gouki
post Oct 27 2009, 03:01 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

cheeann, PP2 not that good ler. rolleyes.gif
Gouki
post Oct 27 2009, 04:07 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Oct 27 2009, 03:14 PM)
r u sure? ?
in term of handling it's better than wat he state lo~
but in term of wear n tear sure not tat good  la~  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
for me its so so UHP tires only. tongue.gif
Gouki
post Apr 1 2010, 12:21 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Apr 1 2010, 11:34 AM)
sepang after F1
open track day.... make sure u turn up
come Cameron or Genting or UY lar~ tok so much~ whistling.gif
Gouki
post Apr 1 2010, 12:52 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Apr 1 2010, 12:36 PM)
Only thing is we don't know what he drives. If we were to deduce the car he drives from the history of his post and his nickname and since he hangs around Sunway and Subang area, I guess I'd just have to tiong every Vios out there. I'd either find him one day or find the wrong person like michael9413. I'd like to see if he can keep up with my hopeless tires..  tongue.gif
eh~ u sure he hang out in Sunway and Subang area? i hang out a lot in usj~ and pj~ i guess its time to spread my territory~ tongue.gif
anw~ dont lar go tiong all vios~ kesian lar~ u big bully sia~ although i always do that last time~ blush.gif
Gouki
post Apr 1 2010, 02:13 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Apr 1 2010, 01:39 PM)
yes Tarmac road test, for gravel no issue last use to friend buggy with turbo... slide in and out ... so hard to control in corner but good to improve skill and understand the control level slide and over do it...
sure got turn up but now days most of the time as visitor during track day... my car too slow and limited budget...

Added on April 1, 2010, 1:53 pm

he really a taiko here ta pau all the little car...
u sure, pls let me know when u wan? up hill or down hill?
sunway / subang becarefull there are few high power vios and not to forget michael is cornering king ... dont play play ...
now days alot bully big or small
did i even quoted you in previous post? blink.gif

btw~ dont be so sure who is the cornering king~ u will be surprise of how some forumers here drive~ tongue.gif

Added on April 1, 2010, 2:15 pm
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Apr 1 2010, 01:54 PM)
wah... i'm not into challenging la  sweat.gif i wan safety , play around sometimes yes but USJ area have to play around coz stupid fellow always suddenly exit from small road and slip into ur lane... but during rain or wet condition different that's y don talk so loud la... even a stock car fitted with good wet tires can do better corners than slick tires mah except they drift lo...
u guys bully small car with better tires also no use coz in dry cannot compare mah... wet maybe but again to be fair use apple to compare with apple but equipped with different tires...
ah~ nvm~ just beware of a lowered kenari around usj subang area~ that 1 is good enuff~ dun say i didnt warn u~ tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gouki: Apr 1 2010, 02:15 PM
Gouki
post Apr 1 2010, 03:14 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Apr 1 2010, 03:03 PM)
The point that I'm trying to put across is that the handling of the car does not only rely on the tyres. The contact patch of the tyres are only about the size of four A4 size papers. What's more important is the rest of the car that keeps the tyres on the road. No point having the best tyre when the car can't keep them planted on the ground.

I especially like it in corners during the rain, nothing feels better than being able to put full power on all 4 wheels out of the corner. That's what you call putting the tyres to work.

Added on April 1, 2010, 3:06 pm
The one with a big mycarslowbai sticker..  biggrin.gif

Hiscarslowbai my foot.. what do you guys call it? The flying tumble dryer?
err~ the flying washing machine lor~ XD
seriously~ stock kenari~ easily kena tapau by vios~ but how the driver put those vios in shame with his kenari is~ sweat.gif
Gouki
post Apr 1 2010, 03:43 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy @ Apr 1 2010, 03:29 PM)
where do i sign up for tapao course? biggrin.gif
u have been tapao-ing a lot vios lately wat~ tongue.gif
Gouki
post Apr 1 2010, 05:04 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Apr 1 2010, 04:39 PM)
but careful of some corners very sharp indeed u cannot se the opposite cars until last sec... got a few cars gone down the valley b4 at 1 corner... that is wat the mechanics and also my mum's colleague is telling me...
the new road from Simpang Pulai is not that bad like the Tapah road~ Simpang Pulai road to Cameron consists of a lot highspeed corners~ during a downhill from Cameron~ some corners can touch 160kmh easily~ where else the Tapah is much narrow with slow corners~ that will be more challenging and risky, provided if you know what you are doing~ smile.gif
Gouki
post Apr 1 2010, 07:09 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Apr 1 2010, 07:02 PM)
LoL,
you so unlucky...
agreed with you on what you said on RE-001.  rclxms.gif

do update me if you change to new tires,
because i want to know the RE-001 can clocked till what mileage ...

since you are using RE-001 now,
you should go for PS3 for next tire change what,
so that you can compare each other with same car setting...  tongue.gif
i clocked less than 30000km on my prev prev re001~ lol~ 225/45/17~ tongue.gif

0.0548sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:26 PM